DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 recites: “on plurality of solder patterns” which should be changed to “on the plurality of solder patterns” for readability.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210111153 A1.
Referring to claim 11, Lin discloses in Figs. 1G and 12 a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution substrate (110, Fig. 1G, para [33] (paragraph(s) [0033]); not-labeled redistribution substrate in Fig. 12);
a first lower semiconductor chip (120, Fig. 1G, para [38]; 620, Fig. 12, para [77]) disposed on a top surface of the redistribution substrate (110; said not-labeled redistribution substrate);
a plurality of conductive posts (copper 112, para [37]; not-labeled conductive posts, similar to conductive post 613, Fig. 10, which is similar to conductive post 112, para [76]) disposed on the top surface of the redistribution substrate (110; said not-labeled redistribution substrate), and including at least a portion laterally spaced apart from the first lower semiconductor chip (120; 620);
an upper semiconductor chip (150, para [39]; 23, para [88]) disposed on the first lower semiconductor chip (120; 620) and the plurality of conductive posts (112; said not-labeled conductive post); and
a plurality of solder patterns (low-temperature solder indium tin 152, Fig. 1G, para [42]; solder ball 180, Fig. 12, para [85]) disposed between a first conductive post of the conductive posts (112; said not-labeled conductive post) and the upper semiconductor chip (150; 23),
wherein the plurality of solder patterns (152; 180) include a different metal material (indium tin, para [42]) than the conductive posts (112, made of copper), and
the first conductive post (112; said not-labeled conductive post) is (inherently) configured to supply a voltage to the upper semiconductor chip (150; 23).
Referring to claim 13, Lin further discloses a second lower semiconductor chip (620, Fig. 12) laterally spaced apart from the first lower semiconductor chip (620) and the conductive posts (said not-labeled conductive post), and wherein the upper semiconductor chip (23) is disposed on the second lower semiconductor chip (620).
4. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220302002 A1.
Referring to claim 11, Kim discloses in Fig. 7 a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution substrate (110, para [21]);
a first lower semiconductor chip (121, para [21]) disposed on a top surface of the redistribution substrate (110);
a plurality of conductive posts (via 132, para [54], similar to via 113, which is formed of copper, para [26]) disposed on the top surface of the redistribution substrate (110), and including at least a portion laterally spaced apart from the first lower semiconductor chip (121);
an upper semiconductor chip (220, para [56]) disposed on the first lower semiconductor chip (121) and the plurality of conductive posts (132); and
a plurality of solder patterns (low-melting-point tin 214, para [58]) disposed between a first conductive post (132) of the conductive posts (132) and the upper semiconductor chip (220),
wherein the plurality of solder patterns (214) include a different metal material (tin, para [58]) than the conductive posts (132, made of copper), and
the first conductive post (132) is (inherently, via circuit 213 and wire WB, para [56, 57]) configured to supply a voltage to the upper semiconductor chip (220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220302002 A1.
Referring to claim 15, Kim further discloses a passive device (170, para [21]) on a bottom surface of the redistribution substrate (110), wherein the passive device is electrically connected to the first conductive post (132) through the redistribution substrate (1100. Although Kim does not specifically disclose a relative position as claimed (the passive device vertically overlaps the first conductive post), the claimed relative position will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (Kim indicates in Fig. 7 that the passive device 170 is positioned on a bottom surface of the redistribution substrate 110 where there is available space) unless there is evidence indicating such a relative position is critical.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 12 and 14, insofar as in compliance with the claim objections detailed above, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a semiconductor package with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 1, 12, 14 and 16, which may be characterized (claim 1), in that each of the plurality of first bumps, which are disposed between the conductive post and the upper semiconductor chip, includes a first pillar pattern and a first solder pattern disposed on the first pillar pattern, (claim 16), in that each of the first bumps, which are disposed between the conductive posts and the upper semiconductor chip, comprises a first pillar pattern and a first solder pattern disposed between the first pillar pattern and the conductive posts, (claim 12) a plurality of pillar patterns is disposed on the plurality of solder patterns and electrically connected to the upper semiconductor chip, and in that the plurality of solder patterns include a different metal material than the plurality of pillar patterns, and (claim 14) in that an upper interconnection structure is on the lower interconnection structure, and in that a width of the upper interconnection structure is less than a width of the lower interconnection structure.
Conclusion
06-23-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818