DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grothe (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0203284 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grothe discloses a method of calibration of mass spectrometry data comprising:
Obtaining at least one peak detected mass spectrum (paragraph 0049);
Generating theoretical m/z values for all elemental compositions consistent with any specified rules over a restricted m/z range or ranges (paragraph 0055);
Determining possible matches between the theoretical m/z values and peaks in the mass spectrum (paragraph 0056);
Adjusting a set of calibration parameters based on the matches (paragraph 0056); and
Choosing calibration parameters which optimize the likelihood of the mass spectral data given the calibration parameters and the set of possible matches, or which optimize the posterior probability of the calibration parameters given the data and the set of possible matches (paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Grothe discloses wherein determining possible matches between the theoretical m/z values and peaks in the mass spectrum comprises using a weighted least square method (paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 5, Grothe discloses wherein the theoretical m/z values comprise a reference set of possible organic molecules (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 6, Grothe discloses wherein the reference set of possible organic molecules have a composition in the form Cn1Hn2Nn3On4 (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 7, Grothe discloses wherein n1<=N2<=2n1+2 (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 8, Grothe discloses wherein n3+n4<=4N, wherein N is 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 or 12 (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 9, Grothe discloses wherein the step of adjusting a set of calibration parameters is made without reference to adding one or more intrinsic or internal calibrants to the sample (abstract, paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 10, Grothe discloses wherein the step of adjusting a set of calibration parameters is made without reference to mass analyzing one or more extrinsic or external calibrants or lock masses (abstract, paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 12, Grothe discloses applying the method to a method of mass spectrometry (paragraph 0010).
Claim 13 is drawn to the apparatus for performing the method of claim 1, and the same rejection applies mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grothe.
Regarding claim 4, Grothe discloses the method of claim 1; although Grothe does not specifically teach wherein the theoretical m/z values have a maximum mass or mass-to-charge ratio selected from the group consisting of <100; 100-200; 200-300; 300-400; and 400-500, Grothe does teach that the method may be used “to analyze any number of different types of samples that will be readily apparent to those of skill in the art. Other examples of chemical compounds or elemental compositions that may be analyzed in this manner include but are by no means limited to polynucleotides, hydrocarbon or petroleum products, combinatorial libraries, and polymeric samples. Further, the calibration system may also be used to analyze the compounds or elemental compositions present in liquids such as wine or other beverages (paragraph 0059). Selecting a reference set of possible or predicted elemental compositions with a maximum mass or mass to charge ratio selected from the claimed group would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention as a matter of routinely adjusting result-effective variables to achieve predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2, Grothe fails to teach wherein determining possible matches between the theoretical m/z values and peaks in the mass spectrum comprises using matching criteria, wherein the matching criteria is a function of peak mass and amplitude. Regarding claim 11, Grothe fails to teach excluding form the theoretical m/z values one or more elemental compositions which are determined either to have or likely to have a low or relatively low abundance, or to be relatively unlikely to be present in the sample.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MASKELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878 25 September 2026