DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz et al. (“HyperDreamBooth: HyperNetworks for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models”, arXiv:2307.06949v1 [cs.CV] 13 Jul 2023, “Ruiz”, hereinafter) in view of Alaluf et al. (“ReStyle: A Residual-Based StyleGAN Encoder via Iterative Refinement”, IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2021, “Alaluf”, hereinafter).
As per claim 1, Ruiz teaches a method comprising:
obtaining an input prompt (page 4, section 3 Preliminaries, subsection Latent Diffusion Models (LDM), obtaining a text prompt T);
adding a customized residual to a base parameter of an image generation model based on an element of the input prompt to obtain an updated parameter, wherein the customized residual is determined based on the element of the input prompt (4.1 Lightweight DreamBooth (LiDB), pages 5-6, i.e., adding LoRa (low-rank adaptation) residuals which is customized for generating the personalized subset of weights to the diffusion network shown in Fig. 4. The updated parameter is described in section 4.2 HyperNetwork for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models according supervisory text prompt. See further Alaluf addressed below); and
generating, using the image generation model with the updated parameter, a synthesized image depicting the element based on the input prompt (Fig. 5, page 7, and Fig. 6, page 8).
Ruiz does not explicitly teach adding a customized residual to a base parameter of an image generation model even though this teaching is implicitly included therein as addressed above. However, Alaluf is recited for further clarification.
Alaluf, in a very similar method of generating synthesized image from input prompt (see Fig. 2, page 3), wherein the method further includes, “The predicted residual is then added to the previous latent code wt to obtain the updated latent code prediction wt+1 (shown in green). Finally, passing the newly computed latent code to the generator G results in an updated reconstruction ˆyt+1, which is then passed as input in the following step”, see Fig. 2, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method as taught by Alaluf into the method as taught by Ruiz addressed above, the advantage of which is for learning to perform a small number of steps in a residual-based manner (page 2, left column).
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of Ruiz and Alaluf also include the element of the input prompt indicates an object depicted in a reference image used to learn the customized residual (see Ruiz, section 4.2, subsection Supervisory Text Prompt, page 6, the object is a face).
As per claim 3, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf also teaches encoding the input prompt to obtain a text embedding, wherein the synthesized image is generated based on the text embedding (Ruiz, page 4, subsection Fast T2I Personalization, “learn encoders that predicts initial text embeddings”. See also subsection Latent Diffusion Models (LDM), page 4).
As per claim 4, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf also teaches the base parameter is in a transformer layer of the image generation model (Ruiz, Fig. 4, page 6, Visual Transformer).
As per claim 8, as addressed in claim 1, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf does teach the customized residual comprises a low rank adaptation of the base parameter.
As per claim 10, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf does also teach wherein generating the synthesized image comprises: performing a diffusion process on a noise input (Ruiz, page 4, subsection Latent Diffusion Models (LDM), “Text-to-Image (T2I) diffusion models Dθ(ϵ, c) iteratively denoises a given noise map ϵ ∈ Rh×w into an image I following the description of a text prompt T…”).
As per claim 11, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf does further teach the input prompt includes a nonce token representing the element and an additional token representing a target action of the element; and the synthesized image depicts the element performing the target action (at best understood by the examiner as the claimed element is not clear to be referred to. See Ruiz, page 6, subsection Supervisory Text Prompt, i.e., learned tokens embedded for the task of generating synthesized image addressed above).
As per claim 12, as addressed in claim 1, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a training set including a reference image depicting an element (Ruiz, Fig. 2, page 3, hypernetwork training. It is not clear what is meant by an element, thus interpreted as a human face shown in Figure); and
training, using the training set, an image generation model to generate images depicting the element of the reference image by determining a customized residual to be added to a base parameter of the image generation model (as addressed in claim 1).
Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 8 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf also teaches the image generation model comprises a pre-trained model (Ruiz, section 4.2 HyperNetwork for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models, page 6, pre-trained T2I model) and the base parameter is fixed while learning the customized residual (Alaluf, page 3, under section 3.1. Encoder-Based Inversion Methods, “…during training, the pre-trained generator network G typically remains fixed”. Thus, claim 14 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 15, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf also teach computing a diffusion loss based on the reference image; and updating the customized residual based on the diffusion loss (Ruiz, page 6, section 4.2 HyperNetwork for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models, vanilla diffusion denoising loss, and page 7, section 4.3 Rank-Relaxed Fast Finetuning).
Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, as addressed above in claim 1, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf does also teach the image generation model comprises a diffusion model.
As per claim 20, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf the base parameter is located within a projection block of a transformer layer (Ruiz, Fig. 4, page 6, in Visual Transformer Encoder).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz et al. (“HyperDreamBooth: HyperNetworks for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models”, arXiv:2307.06949v1 [cs.CV] 13 Jul 2023) in view of Alaluf et al. (“ReStyle: A Residual-Based StyleGAN Encoder via Iterative Refinement”, IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2021) further in view of Hu et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0080693, “Hu”.
As per claim 7, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf fails to explicitly teach the base parameter comprises a parameter of a one-by-one convolutional block. However, Hu teaches a method of denoising an image for better quality image (see Abstract, Fig. 1, ¶ [61]), in which the method further includes convolutional layer of 1 x1 (see Fig. 4, ¶ [212]).
Since the combined Ruiz-Alaluf also teaches denoising input image (addressed in claim 10 above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the one-by-one convolutional block taught by Hu addressed to the combined Ruiz-Alaluf, the advantage of which is for the noise reduction is accurate and the denoise performance is improved (¶ [88]).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz et al. (“HyperDreamBooth: HyperNetworks for Fast Personalization of Text-to-Image Models”, arXiv:2307.06949v1 [cs.CV] 13 Jul 2023) in view of Alaluf et al. (“ReStyle: A Residual-Based StyleGAN Encoder via Iterative Refinement”, IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2021) further in view of Karpman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,995,803, “Karpman”).
As per claim 9, the combined Ruiz-Alaluf does not expressly teach adding customized residuals to a plurality of different layers of the image generation model at a plurality of different resolutions, respectively.
However, in a similar method of text-to-image diffusion model as shown in Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 51 to col. 3, line 36), Karpman teaches this feature (see col. 5, lines 36-62, “In some implementations, each high-resolution diffusion model 116 in the set of high-resolution diffusion models 116 defines a deep learning network configured to receive a low-resolution base image (e.g., 64 pixels by 64 pixels, 256 pixels by 256 pixels) and generate a higher-resolution version (e.g., copy) of the base image (e.g., 256 pixels by 256 pixels, 1024 pixels by 1024 pixels)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method as taught by Karpman to the combined Ruiz-Alaluf method as addressed above, the advantage of which is to upscale original image to high resolution image (col. 18, lines 31-42).
Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 9 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken singly or in combination does not teach or suggest, a method, among other things, comprising:
…wherein generating the synthesized image comprises:
generating a foreground map and a background map using an attention layer of the image generation model;
generating a first preliminary output using the base parameter and the background map;
generating a second preliminary output using the updated parameter and the foreground map; and
combining the first preliminary output and the second preliminary output to obtain an intermediate output.
Conclusion
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAU H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611