Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “wherein the at least one receiver comprises: an inboard groove disposed between the inboard hook and the ridge; and an outboard groove disposed between the outboard hook and the ridge” in lines 17-19 is vague and indefinite. Since the limitations (a) and (b) are in the alternative, and (a) does not require “an inboard hook” or “a ridge” it is unclear what structure applicant intends to claim as the combination of the limitations recited in Claim 1, section (a) and the limitations recited in lines 17-19 of Claim 1.
Claims 3-7, and 9-15 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Odawara, US4796422.
Regarding independent claim 1, Odawara discloses a fiber catching device ("an apparatus for treating tail yarns" Abstract, line 1) comprising: a base (5,7, 8, 10, Fig. 3) having an inboard portion (5, 6, 7, 8, Fig. 3) and an outboard portion (10, 10', Fig. 3); an external wall (4, 5, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the inboard portion of the base (5 extends upwardly from 7, 8, Fig. 3); an outboard hook (10, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the outboard portion of the base and extending to a height above the external wall (10 extends from 10' upwards and further than external wall 5, Fig. 3); and at least one receiver disposed between the external wall and the outboard hook (11, Fig. 3 between 4, 5, and 10, Fig. 3) further comprising: (a) a plurality of protrusions (4, Fig. 3, 4) disposed on the external wall (5, Fig. 3) and defining a plurality of gaps there between (S, P, Fig. 3, 4), wherein: the plurality of gaps further comprise radial gaps (S, P, Fig. 3, 4) arranged progressively closer to a top of the external wall (P is closer to top of 5, than S, Fig. 3, 4); or the plurality of gaps (S, P, Fig. 3) further comprise circumferential gaps arranged circumferentially along the external wall (S, P are arranged circumferentially around 5, Fig. 3, 4); or (b) an inboard hook extending upwardly from the inboard portion of the base (hook 4 extends upwardly from inboard base 5, Fig. 3); and a ridge (6, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the base between the inboard hook and the outboard hook (6 extends upward from base 5, Fig. 3 between hooks 4 and 10), wherein the at least one receiver comprises: an inboard groove disposed between the inboard hook and the ridge (11, between 4 and ridge 6, Fig. 3); and an outboard groove disposed between the outboard hook and the ridge (7, 10', between 6 and 10, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of gaps further comprise radial gaps (S, P, Fig. 3, 4) arranged progressively closer to a top of the external wall (P is closer to top of 5, than S, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 4, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of gaps (S, P, Fig. 3) further comprise circumferential gaps arranged circumferentially along the external wall (S, P are arranged circumferentially around 5, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the external wall (5, Fig. 3) is angled towards the outboard hook (4, 5 is angled towards outboard hook 10, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the at least one receiver is a groove (11 is a groove, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and an inboard hook extending upwardly from the inboard portion of the base (hook 4 extends upwardly from inboard base 5, Fig. 3); and a ridge (6, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the base between the inboard hook and the outboard hook (6 extends upward from base 5, Fig. 3 between hooks 4 and 10), wherein the at least one receiver comprises: an inboard groove disposed between the inboard hook and the ridge (11, between 4 and ridge 6, Fig. 3); and an outboard groove disposed between the outboard hook and the ridge (7, 10', between 6 and 10, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the inboard portion of the base defines an inclined edge (4, 5 is inclined edge, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the base further comprises opposed circumferential extensions (base 5, 7, 8, 10 extends circumferentially, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 12, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and an internal recess extending radially below the base (2, and area central to 5, Fig. 3, 4) and configured to receive an outboard edge of a tube (1, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and a ring extending between circumferential end portions of the base (base 5, 7, 8, 10 extends circumferentially in a ring, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 14, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein the base and the ring are a single unitized piece (base 5, 7, 8, 10 extends circumferentially in a unitized ring, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 15, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and a tube (1, Fig. 3); wherein the fiber catching device is configured to direct a continuous fiber into the at least one receiver of the fiber catching device (configured to direct fiber 12 into 11, Fig. 7) and around an exterior surface of the tube during a fiber winding operation (Fig. 8).
Regarding independent claim 16, Odawara discloses a fiber catching device ("an apparatus for treating tail yarns" Abstract, line 1) comprising: a base (5,7, 8, 10, Fig. 3) having an inboard portion (5, 6, 7, 8, Fig. 3) and an outboard portion (10, 10', Fig. 3);an external wall (4, 5, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the inboard portion of the base (5 extends upwardly from 7, 8, Fig. 3); an outboard hook (10, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the outboard portion of the base and extending to a height above the external wall (10 extends from 10' upwards and further than external wall 5, Fig. 3); and at least one receiver disposed between the external wall and the outboard hook (11, Fig. 3 between 4, 5, and 10, Fig. 3); a plurality of protrusions (4, Fig. 3, 4) disposed on the external wall (5, Fig. 3) and defining a plurality of gaps there between (S, P, Fig. 3, 4); an inboard hook extending upwardly from the inboard portion of the base (hook 4 extends upwardly from inboard base 5, Fig. 3); an internal recess extending radially below the base (2, and area central to 5, Fig. 3, 4) and configured to receive an outboard edge of a tube (1, Fig. 3) and a ridge (6, Fig. 3) extending upwardly from the base between the inboard hook and the outboard hook (6 extends upward from base 5, Fig. 3 between hooks 4 and 10), wherein the at least one receiver comprises: an inboard groove disposed between the inboard hook and the ridge (11, between 4 and ridge 6, Fig. 3); and an outboard groove disposed between the outboard hook and the ridge (7, 10', between 6 and 10, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 16, and wherein the at least one receiver is a groove (11 is a groove, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Odawara discloses the limitations of claim 16, and wherein the base further comprises opposed circumferential extensions (base 5, 7, 8, 10 extends circumferentially, Fig. 3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odawara, US4796422 in view of Couchey, US20040000607.
Regarding claim 11, Odawara discloses a fiber catching device substantially as claimed as described above in claim 10 and opposed circumferential extensions. Odawara does not disclose wherein each of the opposed circumferential extensions comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a mechanical fastener. However, Couchey teaches wherein each of the opposed circumferential extensions comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a mechanical fastener (ring 44 is opposed circumferential extensions having apertures 67 configured to receive a mechanical fastener 65, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circumferential extensions of Odawara to have the apertures configured to receive a mechanical fastener as taught by Couchey "so that the end ring can be secured and aligned with the body of the tube" (Paragraph [0009], lines 7-8; Couchey). One would have been motivated to make this modification for ease of assembly (Paragraph [008], line 2; Couchey).
Regarding claim 20, Odawara discloses a fiber catching device substantially as claimed as described above in claim 19 and opposed circumferential extensions. Odawara does not disclose wherein each of the opposed circumferential extensions comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a mechanical fastener. However, Couchey teaches wherein each of the opposed circumferential extensions comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a mechanical fastener (ring 44 is opposed circumferential extensions having apertures 67 configured to receive a mechanical fastener 65, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circumferential extensions of Odawara to have the apertures configured to receive a mechanical fastener as taught by Couchey "so that the end ring can be secured and aligned with the body of the tube" (Paragraph [0009], lines 7-8; Couchey). One would have been motivated to make this modification for ease of assembly (Paragraph [008], line 2; Couchey).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a single, fixed component”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that on page 6 of Remarks filed 3/24/2026 that element 10 of Odawara does not function as a hook to direct and capture a fiber, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 6 of Remarks filed 3/24/2026, that Odawara fails to disclose an outboard hook extending upwardly from the outboard portion of the base and extending to a height above the external wall, it is noted, that element 10 of Odawara extends from 10' upwards and further than external wall 5, Fig. 3. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument on pages 6 and 7 of Remarks filed 3/24/2026 that element 11 of Odawara is not the “receiver” as claimed, it is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, element 11 of Odawara is a receiver because Odawara states that element 11 is a “tail yarn gripping means” which means it receives the yarn, and is thus a receiver. Applicant further asserts that element 11 is not a “groove”, however Fig. 1 of Odawara shows element 11 is a groove between elements 4 and 6. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments on page 7 of Remarks filed 3/24/2026, against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As stated above, Odawara does in fact disclose the features as claimed, and therefore Examiner does not rely on Couchey to teach such features as set forth in the arguments on page 7 regarding the rejections of claims 11 and 20. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654