DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, “306” should be deleted to maintain claim consistency since other claim elements are not identified numerically. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “310” should be deleted to maintain claim consistency since other claim elements are not identified numerically. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: In line 7, the phrase “store related information” is not clear on what the information is related to. In line 8, the phrase “activation” is not clear on what is being activated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gatz et al. U.S. PGPub 2013/0160284 (hereinafter “Gatz”).
Regarding claim 14, Gatz discloses a die verification system, the system comprising: a crimp machine controller to operate a crimp machine (e.g. ¶9-11, 19 and 29; Fig. 1 and 3); a die set for a fitting and hose assembly (e.g. ¶11, 17, 26-33 and 40); and a die identification system that verifies the die set for the fitting and hose assembly (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32).
Regarding claim 15, Gatz discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the die set further comprises die circuitry having a die identification, wherein the die identification compares the die identification with a database to verify the die set (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32).
Regarding claim 16, Gatz discloses a method of operating a die identification system, the method comprising: storing a die identification into a memory of circuitry (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32); storing die set additional information into the memory (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32); positioning the circuitry into a die set (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32); inserting the die set into a die holder of a crimp machine (e.g. ¶21-23, 25-27 and 32-33; Fig. 2-3); and providing the die identification and the additional information to a crimp machine controller (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatz as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Baran et al. U.S. PGPub 2018/01328382 (hereinafter “Baran”).
Regarding claim 1, Gatz discloses a crimp machine die identification system comprising: a body (e.g. ¶19; Fig. 1 and 3); circuitry positioned within the body (e.g. ¶19; Fig. 1 and 3); a controller that holds the circuitry (e.g. ¶19; Fig. 1 and 3); wherein the circuitry comprises one or more processors configured to: store an identification for a die set (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32); store related information (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32); and transfer the die identification and the related information based on activation (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Regarding claim 1, Gatz discloses a controller that holds circuitry, but does not explicitly disclose a PCB that holds the circuitry and the PCB having a contact configured to generate activation of the circuitry.
Baran discloses an industrial controller having a PCB that holds circuitry that uses contacts to activate circuitry (e.g. ¶27, 29 and 39).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for Gatz’s crimp controller to have a PCB. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since processors typically are mounted on PCBs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Gatz with Baran to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 9-11.
Regarding claim 4, Gatz discloses the system of claim 2, the contact activates when proximate a die holder and uses near field communication to provide the die identification (e.g. ¶20, 27 and 31).
Regarding claim 5, Gatz discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to store crimp parameters as the related information to a memory (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Regarding claim 6, Gatz discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to store crimp parameters as the related information to a database (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Regarding claim 9, Gatz discloses the system of claim 1, the circuitry further comprises a transceiver to communicate the die information (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Regarding claim 10, Gatz discloses the system of claim 1, the circuitry further communicates an interface for power and/or data (e.g. ¶27-29, 31 and 43).
Regarding claim 11, Gatz discloses the system of claim 1, the circuitry comprises a memory in the form of a register to store and program the die identification (e.g. ¶11 and 27-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 7, 8, 12 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not disclose the contact being a spring loaded metal contact that engages a metal contact of a die holder. Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose a system further comprising a protective cap that encloses the circuitry and the PCB. Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose the body being positioned within a die of the die set and the body is removable. Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose the body is screwed into a hole within a die of the die set.
Conclusion
CK
September 16, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116