DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2024 and 12/31/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference US 10,901,663 B2 is a general background reference covering: There is provided an apparatus that executes a first control program plugged in to an application to cause a printer to print data generated in the application and a second control program to be executed when a printing instruction is made, wherein the apparatus comprises a setting unit which sets, using the first control program, a predetermined sheet size which can include the data in one page to the application, and executes margin deletion setting to the second control program to cause margin deletion, a margin deletion unit which generates print data based on the data generated by the application and included in the one page having the predetermined sheet size, and deletes a margin in the generated print data, and an output unit which outputs, to the printer, the print data in which the margin has been deleted. (see abstract).
Reference US 2015/0002565 A1 is a general background reference covering: An apparatus individually selects a width and a length corresponding a margin setting from among respective widths and lengths of a plurality of candidates of print medium which are obtained by a sensor detecting the size of the print medium. Then, the apparatus causes a print unit to print an image in a size corresponding to the selected width and length and the margin setting. (see abstract).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: a limitation “wherein the acquirer is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding toto a type of the medium” with a word toto is non-meaning. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 1 and 12, claims 1 and 12 are the claimed invention is directed to an image forming device and a method of forming image data respectively without significantly more. The claim recites an image forming device. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the image forming device does not have hardware/software structure such as CPU/processor and any hardware interface. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claims 1 and 12, limitations are mental process practically be performed in the human mind.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 are rejected on 101, because it is lack of hardware/software structure such as CPU/processor and any hardware interface of independent claims 1 and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claims 1 and 12 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “an acquirer and a former” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: an acquirer configured to acquire setting information, the setting information including width information indicating a printable width range in which the image data is formable in a width direction of the medium, and length information indicating a printable length range in which the image data is formable in a length direction of the medium, wherein the acquirer is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding toto a type of the medium; and a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that there is no corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is a method claim with limitations similar to limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 depend on rejected claims 1 and 12 respectively. Therefore, dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 limitation(s) ((an acquirer configured to acquire setting information, the setting information including width information indicating a printable width range in which the image data is formable in a width direction of the medium, and length information indicating a printable length range in which the image data is formable in a length direction of the medium, wherein the acquirer is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding toto a type of the medium; and a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer in claim 1.)) invoke(s) 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions of the (an acquirer configured to acquire setting information, the setting information including width information indicating a printable width range in which the image data is formable in a width direction of the medium, and length information indicating a printable length range in which the image data is formable in a length direction of the medium, wherein the acquirer is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding toto a type of the medium; and a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer in claim 1.). Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim(s) so that the claim limitation(s) will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is a method claim with limitations similar to limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 depend on rejected claims 1 and 12 respectively. Therefore, dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 are rejected as they depend on rejected independent claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terakado (US 2019/0126651 A1) in view of Yano (US 11,973,918 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Terakado discloses an image forming device that forms image data on a medium (e.g., FIG. 1 is a view schematically illustrating a schematic structure of a printer 10 according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 1, a printer 10 includes a sheet storage unit 101, a stepping motor 102, a platen roller 103, a thermal head 104, and a sensor unit 105, paragraph 17), the device comprising:
an acquirer configured to acquire setting information, the setting information including width information indicating a printable width range in which the image data is formable in a width direction of the medium, and length information indicating a printable length range in which the image data is formable in a length direction of the medium, wherein the acquirer is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding toto a type of the medium (e.g., FIGS. 3A and 3B are views illustrating an example of the roll sheet PR. Here, FIG. 3A is a view schematically illustrating the label sheet PR1 that is an example of the roll sheet PR. The label sheet PR1 is formed by sticking labels LB, which are peelable thermal sheets, on a long sheet P1 (backing sheet) at predetermined intervals and winding the sheet P1 in a roll shape. In the label sheet PR1, the label LB is the printing area, and the area excluding the label LB is the margin area. In this case, a size of the label LB is set as an effective printing size SZ1. Specifically, a length L1a of the label LB in the width direction is set as the effective printing width and a length L1b of the label LB in the height direction is set as the effective printing length. Therefore, a printable range on the label sheet PR1 can be limited to the size of the label LB. If a margin portion is provided around the label LB, the remaining area (printing area) excluding the margin portion is set as the effective printing size SZ1, paragraph 29).
Terakado does not specifically disclose a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer.
Yano discloses a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer (e.g., the image forming apparatus 10 and the image processing apparatus 20 have a function of forming an image on a recording medium, such as a paper or plastic sheet (hereinafter referred to as a “sheet”), in response to a print request received from the client PC 30 (printing function), paragraph 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Terakado to include a former configured to form an image on the medium based on the setting information acquired by the acquirer as taught by Yano. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Terakado by the teaching of Yano to effectively form/print image on the medium.
Regarding claim 2, Terakado discloses wherein: the length information indicates one of a fixed length or a variable length, and when the length information indicates the fixed length, the former is configured to form the image data such that a center of a length of the image data coincides with a center of the fixed length (e.g., the sheet storage unit 101 stores a roll sheet PR formed by winding a sheet P that is a printing medium in a roll shape. The roll sheet PR is, for example, a label sheet PR1 or a tag sheet PR2 which are described later, or the like (see FIGS. 3A and 3B). The roll sheet PR is stored in the sheet storage unit 101 in a state of being capable of rotating around an axis of a roll shaft R1 (which is that a center of a length of the image data coincides with a center of the fixed length), paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 3, Terakado discloses wherein the length information indicates one of a fixed length or a variable length, and
when the length information indicates a variable length, the former is configured to repeatedly form the image data on the medium in the length direction (e.g., The printer 10 may store the effective printing size for each type of the roll sheet PR in the nonvolatile memory 114, and the effective printing size is automatically or manually set depending on types of the roll sheet PR to be used. To achieve the automatic setting, for example, the printer 10 may determine the type of the roll sheet PR based on a sensing result of the sensor unit 105, paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 4, Terakado discloses wherein the setting information further comprises a proximity interval, and when the length information indicates the variable length, the proximity interval defines a distance between adjacent image data formed on the medium (e.g., FIG. 3B is a view schematically illustrating the tag sheet PR2 that is an example of the roll sheet PR. The tag sheet PR2 is formed by winding a long heat sensitive sheet P2 in a roll shape. In the heat sensitive sheet P2, the marks MK are provided on a back side of a printing surface at predetermined intervals and each area partitioned between the marks MK corresponds to one tag sheet (which is similar to a proximity interval), paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 5, Terakado discloses wherein the setting information further includes scaling information indicating to enlarge or reduce the image data, and
when the length information indicates a variable length, the former determines a length of the image data to be formed on the medium based on each of the width information and the scaling information (e.g., The printer 10 may store the effective printing size for each type of the roll sheet PR in the nonvolatile memory 114, and the effective printing size is automatically or manually set depending on types of the roll sheet PR to be used, paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 6, Terakado discloses wherein the scaling information indicates one of invalid, fitting, or reduction only (e.g., To achieve the automatic setting, for example, the printer 10 may determine the type of the roll sheet PR based on a sensing result of the sensor unit 105. In addition, the printer 10 may determine the type of the roll sheet PR by reading type information that can identify the type from a code symbol, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, or the like previously attached to the roll sheet PR via a reader device (not illustrated), paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 7, Terakado discloses wherein when the scaling information indicates invalid, the former is configured to print the image data without enlarging or reducing the image data (e.g., Specifically, a length L1a of the label LB in the width direction is set as the effective printing width and a length L1b of the label LB in the height direction is set as the effective printing length. Therefore, a printable range on the label sheet PR1 can be limited to the size of the label LB. If a margin portion is provided around the label LB, the remaining area (printing area) excluding the margin portion is set as the effective printing size SZ1, paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 8, Terakado discloses wherein when the scaling information indicates fitting, the image forming device is configured to enlarge or reduce the image data,
wherein when the length information indicates the variable length and when an original size of the image data exceeds the printable width range, the image forming device is configured to reduce the image data based on the printable width range (e.g., The preprocessing unit 12 compares the printing size of the printing data with the effective printing size to execute processing for causing the printing size to fall within the effective printing size if the printing size does not fall within the effective printing size, paragraph 42), and
wherein when the length information indicates the variable length and the original size of the image data is less than the printable width range, the image forming device is configured to enlarge the image data based on the printable width range (e.g., If the lengths of the printing size in the width direction and the height direction are equal to or less than the lengths of the effective printing size, the preprocessing unit 12 determines that the printing size falls within the effective printing size. In this case, the preprocessing unit 12 outputs the image indicated by the printing data as it is to the print control unit 13, paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 9, Terakado discloses wherein when the scaling information indicates fitting, the image forming device is configured to enlarge or reduce the image data, wherein when the length information indicates the fixed length, the image forming device is configured to: set a reference, the reference being one of the printable length range or the printable width range, and enlarge or reduce the image data based on the reference while maintaining an aspect ratio of the image data (e.g., The preprocessing unit 12 compares the printing size of the printing data with the effective printing size to execute processing for causing the printing size to fall within the effective printing size if the printing size does not fall within the effective printing size, paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 10, Terakado discloses wherein when the printable length range is the reference and the image data is enlarged based on the reference, if a width of the enlarged image data exceeds the printable width range, the image forming device is configured to enlarge the image data based on the printable width range (e.g., Specifically, the preprocessing unit 12 compares the lengths of the effective printing size with those of the printing size included in the printing data in the width direction and the height direction to determine whether or not the printing size falls within the effective printing size. If the lengths of the printing size in the width direction and the height direction are equal to or less than the lengths of the effective printing size, the preprocessing unit 12 determines that the printing size falls within the effective printing size. In this case, the preprocessing unit 12 outputs the image indicated by the printing data as it is to the print control unit 13, paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 11, Terakado discloses wherein the length direction is orthogonal to the width direction (e.g., The printing direction indicates the printing direction of the image when the image (image data) is printed. In an embodiment, the printing direction may indicate any one side (reference side) from which printing starts in a rectangular area surrounding the image (which is width and length orthogonal), paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 12, Terakado discloses a method of forming image data on a medium (e.g., an embodiment provides a printer apparatus, a printing method, and a computer readable medium, which are capable of efficiently printing the entire image of a printing target within an effective printing area defined for a printing medium, paragraph 14), the method comprising: receiving, by an information processing device, an input by a user (e.g., In the printer 10, the CPU 111 is connected to a nonvolatile memory 114, an input device controller 115, a display controller 116, and the head driver 117. In the printer 10, the input device controller 115 is connected to an input device 106, paragraph 25) comprising width information indicating a printable width range in which the image data is formable in a width direction of the medium, and length information indicating a printable length range in which the image data is formable in a length direction of the medium, wherein the information processing device is configured to switch a formation position of the image data based on the length information corresponding to a type of the medium (e.g., FIGS. 3A and 3B are views illustrating an example of the roll sheet PR. Here, FIG. 3A is a view schematically illustrating the label sheet PR1 that is an example of the roll sheet PR. The label sheet PR1 is formed by sticking labels LB, which are peelable thermal sheets, on a long sheet P1 (backing sheet) at predetermined intervals and winding the sheet P1 in a roll shape. In the label sheet PR1, the label LB is the printing area, and the area excluding the label LB is the margin area. In this case, a size of the label LB is set as an effective printing size SZ1. Specifically, a length L1a of the label LB in the width direction is set as the effective printing width and a length L1b of the label LB in the height direction is set as the effective printing length. Therefore, a printable range on the label sheet PR1 can be limited to the size of the label LB. If a margin portion is provided around the label LB, the remaining area (printing area) excluding the margin portion is set as the effective printing size SZ1, paragraph 29);
transmitting, by the information processing device (e.g., FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the control system of the printer 10, paragraph 23), setting information including the received width information and the received length information to an image forming device (e.g., The effective printing size may be defined as a rectangular area. In this case, the effective printing size is defined by the length in the width direction (hereinafter, referred to as an effective printing width) and the length in the height direction (hereinafter, referred to as an effective printing length), paragraph 28);
acquiring, by the image forming device, the setting information transmitted from the information processing device; and forming, by the image forming device, an image on the medium based on the setting information (e.g., the printer 10 may store the effective printing size for each type of the roll sheet PR in the nonvolatile memory 114, and the effective printing size is automatically or manually set depending on types of the roll sheet PR to be used, paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 13, Terakado discloses further comprising: prior to receiving the input, displaying, by the information processing device, a print setting screen; and prompting the user to provide the input (e.g., FIG. 2, the input device 106 has various operation keys. The input device controller 115 outputs a signal corresponding to an input made on the input device 106 to the CPU 111. The display device 107 is a display device such as a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD). Under the control of the CPU 111, the display controller 116 displays various kinds of information on the display device 107, paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 14, Terakado discloses further comprising: determining, by the image forming device, that the length information indicates a fixed length; and determining, based on the setting information, whether to change a scale of the image data (e.g., The printer 10 may store the effective printing size for each type of the roll sheet PR in the nonvolatile memory 114, and the effective printing size is automatically or manually set depending on types of the roll sheet PR to be used, paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 15, Terakado discloses further comprising: in response to determining not to change the scale, printing an original size of the image data based on the setting information (e.g., The preprocessing unit 12 compares the printing size of the printing data with the effective printing size to execute processing for causing the printing size to fall within the effective printing size if the printing size does not fall within the effective printing size, paragraph 42);
in response to determining to the change the scale, determining if a scaling condition is met; in response to the scaling condition being met, scaling the image data; and printing the scaled image data (e.g., the preprocessing unit 12 compares the lengths of the effective printing size with those of the printing size included in the printing data in the width direction and the height direction to determine whether or not the printing size falls within the effective printing size. If the lengths of the printing size in the width direction and the height direction are equal to or less than the lengths of the effective printing size, the preprocessing unit 12 determines that the printing size falls within the effective printing size. In this case, the preprocessing unit 12 outputs the image indicated by the printing data as it is to the print control unit 13, paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 16, Terakado discloses further comprising: in response to the scaling condition not being met, printing the image data based on an original size of the image data and the setting information (e.g., when the length of the printing size in the width direction exceeds the length of the effective printing size in the height direction or the length of the printing size in the height direction exceeds the length of the effective printing size in the width direction, the preprocessing unit 12 reduces the printing size so that the printing size falls within the effective printing size, paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 17, Terakado discloses further comprising: determining, by the image forming device, that the length information indicates a variable length; and repeatedly forming the image data on the medium in the length direction (e.g., The effective printing size may be defined as a rectangular area. In this case, the effective printing size is defined by the length in the width direction (hereinafter, referred to as an effective printing width) and the length in the height direction (hereinafter, referred to as an effective printing length), paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 18, Terakado discloses wherein the medium is a continuous label sheet (e.g., FIGS. 3A and 3B are views illustrating an example of a roll sheet according to an embodiment, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 19, Terakado discloses further comprising, determining a proximity interval, wherein the proximity interval is a distance between adjacent image data; and minimizing the proximity interval to a minimum distance between adjacent image data (e.g., FIG. 3B is a view schematically illustrating the tag sheet PR2 that is an example of the roll sheet PR. The tag sheet PR2 is formed by winding a long heat sensitive sheet P2 in a roll shape. In the heat sensitive sheet P2, the marks MK are provided on a back side of a printing surface at predetermined intervals and each area partitioned between the marks MK corresponds to one tag sheet (which is similar to a proximity interval), paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 20, Terakado discloses further comprising: determining whether to change a scale of the image data; in response to determining to change the scale, determine if a scaling condition is satisfied (e.g., The preprocessing unit 12 compares the printing size of the printing data with the effective printing size to execute processing for causing the printing size to fall within the effective printing size if the printing size does not fall within the effective printing size, paragraph 42);
in response to the scaling condition being satisfied, determining a length of the image data to be formed on the medium based on each of the width information and the scaling information; and in response to the scaling condition not being satisfied, printing the image data based on an original size of the image data and setting information (e.g., Specifically, the preprocessing unit 12 compares the lengths of the effective printing size with those of the printing size included in the printing data in the width direction and the height direction to determine whether or not the printing size falls within the effective printing size. If the lengths of the printing size in the width direction and the height direction are equal to or less than the lengths of the effective printing size, the preprocessing unit 12 determines that the printing size falls within the effective printing size. In this case, the preprocessing unit 12 outputs the image indicated by the printing data as it is to the print control unit 13, paragraph 43).
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683