DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to a Request for Continued Examination filed on June 12, 2026 regarding Application No. 18/664,629. Applicants amended claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, and 14-17, canceled claims 19-20, and added new claims 21-22. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendment to claim 14 and remark (Remarks/Arguments, p. 9) regarding claim objections are acknowledged. In view of the amendment, the objection is moot.
Applicants’ arguments filed on May 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. in US 2022/0329149 A1 (hereinafter Fong) in view of Hoon Lee et al. in US 2022/0415256 A1 (hereinafter Hoon Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Fong teaches:
A method (700 in FIG. 7) for powering a display of an electronic device (800 in FIG. 8) including multiple direct current to direct current (DCDC) converters (208 (210-216) in FIG. 2), each DCDC converter being characterized with a predefined power conversion efficiency condition (corresponding to, e.g., 35W, 65W, 100W, and 200W), the method comprising (Fong: FIGs. 2 and 7-8, “[0028]... [T]he group of converters 208 [in FIG. 2] may include four DC-to-DC converters: a 35 W converter 210, a 65 W converter 212, a 100 W converter 214, and a 200 W converter 216. Four converters are included in this example for simplicity but any number of converters may be used. The power values in watts assigned to the four converters may represent their most efficient power output levels....”, [0079] (power supply method 700 in FIG. 7), “[0080] In act 702 [of power supply method 700 in FIG. 7], a signal may be detected. The signal may be indicative of the power load of a device. For instance, a power supply may monitor or sense one or more parameters of a device that relate to the current or future power consumption by the device. Such parameters may include, for example,... display brightness... current, voltage, power, etc.”, and “[0088] FIG. 8 illustrates an example device 800, consistent with the present concepts.... [T]he device 800 may include a... workstation, desktop personal computer (“PC”), laptop, notebook, tablet, smartphone, video game console, appliance, appliance console, kiosk,... automobile navigation or entertainment system, virtual reality simulator, wearable, printer, television, camera, programmable electronics, etc.”, see also FIGs. 3A-D and 6A, [0043], [0071], and [0096]-[0097]):
determining a brightness for at least one zone of the display, wherein the brightness corresponds to a select voltage applied to the at least one zone of the display (Fong: FIG. 7 and “[0080] In act 702 [of power supply method 700 in FIG. 7], a signal may be detected. The signal may be indicative of the power load of a device. For instance, a power supply may monitor or sense one or more parameters of a device that relate to the current or future power consumption by the device. Such parameters may include, for example,... display brightness... current, voltage, power, etc.”, see also [0081]-[0083] and [0086]);
responsive to determining the brightness, selecting multiple selected DCDC converters of the multiple DCDC converters in the electronic device to concurrently generate, from an input voltage applied to the multiple selected DCDC converters, the select voltage to apply to the at least one zone of the display such that concurrent operation of each of the multiple selected DCDC converters to generate the select voltage satisfies the predefined power conversion efficiency condition corresponding to the selected DCDC converter (Fong: FIGs. 2 and 7, “[0028]... The power values in watts assigned to the four converters [in FIG. 2] may represent their most efficient power output levels. These four DC-to-DC converters may be arranged in parallel so that the total power output of the haystack power supply 200 may be the sum of the power outputs from the individual DC-to-DC converters....”, and “[0084] In act 706 [of power supply method 700 in FIG. 7], the converters to be activated or deactivated may be determined. Depending on the power ratings for the available converters, the power supply may determine... a combination of multiple converters that can be activated to meet the power load determined in the act 704 at the highest possible power efficiency.... [T]he power supply may select a set of... converters that would meet the power load at the highest power efficiency among all available sets of converters that could meet the load.”, see also FIG. 3A-6B and “[0060]... [Referring to FIG. 5,] [w]hen the output load increased above 200 W, the haystack power supply 200 may operate in the load balancing mode, in which multiple converters may be activated together at the same time. In the load balancing mode, the output power levels of the haystack power supply 200 may be the sum of the power levels from all of the activated converters.”); and
applying the select voltage to the at least one zone of the display using the multiple selected DCDC converters concurrently (Fong: FIG. 7 and “[0085] In act 708 [of power supply method 700 in FIG. 7], the set of converters determined in the act 706 may be activated and the rest of the converters deactivated. Accordingly, the set of activated converters may supply power to the device.”, see also FIGs. 4-5 and 6B, [0080]-[0083], and [0086]-[0087]).
However, it is noted that Fong does not teach:
the display of the electronic device is a light-emitting diode (LED) array of the electronic device; and
the brightness for the at least one zone of the display is a brightness setting for at least one zone of the LED array.
Hoon Lee teaches:
a light-emitting diode (LED) array of an electronic device (2 in FIG. 1 and “[0017]… Examples of device 2 include, but are not limited to, a mobile phone,… a tablet computer, a smart display, a laptop computer, [and] a desktop computer….”, “[0020]… [D]isplay 12 may include a matrix of pixels that are individually controllable. Examples of display 12 include, but are not limited to… light emitting diode (LED) displays….”); and
determining a brightness setting for at least one zone of the LED array (all of the LED array zone), wherein the brightness setting corresponds to a select voltage (corresponding to a current level) applied to the at least one zone of the LED array (Hoon Lee: determining corresponding to estimating the current level; FIG. 1, “[0033]… [C]ontroller 10 may estimate the current level based on... a display brightness setting and content to be displayed by display 12….”, see also FIG. 3, [0026] (normal, dark, and lock brightness modes), and “[0036] As shown in FIG. 3,… controller 10 may receive… brightness settings…. … The brightness settings may indicate a general brightness level for operation of display 12. The brightness settings may be user controlled… and/or may be automatically controlled by device 2….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Hoon Lee, such that Fong as modified teaches:
A method for powering a light-emitting diode (LED) array of an electronic device including multiple direct current to direct current (DCDC) converters, each DCDC converter being characterized with a predefined power conversion efficiency condition, the method comprising (method and display of Fong combined with the LED array of Hoon Lee): determining a brightness setting for at least one zone of the LED array, wherein the brightness setting corresponds to a select voltage applied to the at least one zone of the LED array (determining a brightness and display of Fong combined with determining a brightness setting and LED array of Hoon Lee); responsive to determining the brightness setting, selecting multiple selected DCDC converters of the multiple DCDC converters in the electronic device to concurrently generate, from an input voltage applied to the multiple selected DCDC converters, the select voltage to apply to the at least one zone of the LED array such that concurrent operation of each of the multiple selected DCDC converters to generate the select voltage satisfies the predefined power conversion efficiency condition corresponding to the selected DCDC converter (response to determining the brightness, selecting, concurrently generate, apply to, display, concurrent operation, generate, and satisfies of Fong combined with the brightness setting and LED array of Hoon Lee); and applying the select voltage to the at least one zone of the LED array using the multiple selected DCDC converters concurrently (applying and display of Fong combined with the LED array of Hoon Lee), to display images.
Regarding claim 2, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the brightness setting corresponds to a select luminance level of a plurality of luminance levels in the at least one zone of the LED array, each luminance level resulting from a different select voltage applied to the at least one zone of the LED array, wherein the select voltage generated by the multiple selected DCDC converters causes the at least one zone of the LED array to output light at the select luminance level of the brightness setting (Fong: FIG. 7, “[0080] In act 702 [of power supply method 700 in FIG. 7], a signal may be detected. The signal may be indicative of the power load of a device. For instance, a power supply may monitor or sense one or more parameters of a device that relate to the current or future power consumption by the device. Such parameters may include, for example,... display brightness... current, voltage, power, etc.”, “[0084] In act 706 [in FIG. 7]... [d]epending on the power ratings for the available converters, the power supply may determine... a combination of multiple converters that can be activated to meet the power load determined in the act 704 at the highest possible power efficiency.”, “[0085] In act 708, the set of converters determined in the act 706 may be activated and the rest of the converters deactivated. Accordingly, the set of activated converters may supply power to the device.”; Hoon Lee: “[0026] … [I]n addition to a normal mode in which images are displayed with normal brightness and display 12 consumes a normal operating current level (e.g., between approximately 50 mA and 200 mA), device 2/display 12 may operate in a dark mode in which images are altered so as to appear darker (e.g., with a lower brightness than the normal mode) and display 12 consumes a reduced operating current level (e.g., between approximately 10 mA and 50 mA), a lock mode in which limited information is displayed (e.g., just the time, date, etc.), and/or any other mode in which the operating current level of display 12 is different than the normal operating current level.”, and “[0033]… [C]ontroller 10 may estimate the current level based on… a display brightness setting and content to be displayed by display 12....”, see also FIG. 3 and “[0036] As shown in FIG. 3,… controller 10 may receive… brightness settings…. ... The brightness settings may indicate a general brightness level for operation of display 12. The brightness settings may be user controlled... and/or may be automatically controlled by device 2....”).
Regarding claim 8, Fong is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 8 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 8 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
A computing system..., the computing system comprising:
one or more hardware processors;
a memory;
a pool selector stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured to...; and
a DCDC converter activator stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured to....
Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
A computing system (800 in FIG. 8 of Fong)..., the computing system comprising (Fong: FIG. 8 and “[0088] FIG. 8 illustrates an example device 800, consistent with the present concepts. The device 800 may be any system that consumes DC power converted from an AC source by a power supply 802 or any system that uses an AC source to charge a battery that supplies DC power. For example, the device 800 may include a... workstation, desktop personal computer (“PC”), laptop, notebook, tablet, smartphone, video game console, appliance, appliance console, kiosk,... automobile navigation or entertainment system, virtual reality simulator, wearable, printer, television, camera, programmable electronics, etc.”; claim 1 above):
one or more hardware processors (804) (Fong: FIG. 8 and [0092] (including: “... [T]he device 800 may include a central processing unit (CPU) 804.... The CPU 804 may be a single processor, a multi-processor, single-core units, and/or multi-core units....”), see also “[0101] Generally, any of the functions described herein can be implemented using... hardware (e.g., fixed-logic circuitry)....”);
a memory (806) (Fong: FIG. 8 and [0093] (including: “The device 800 may include a storage drive 806 for storing data, including programs... [and/or] other machine-executable instructions.... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”));
a pool selector stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured to... (Fong: [0093] (including: “... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”) and “[0101] Generally, any of the functions described herein can be implemented using software,... hardware (e.g., fixed-logic circuitry), or a combination of these implementations.... In the case of a software implementation of an aspect of the present concepts, these may represent program code that performs specified tasks when executed by a processor. The program code can be stored in one or more computer-readable memory devices, such as computer-readable storage media....”; claim 1 above); and
a DCDC converter activator stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors, and configured to.... (Fong: [0093] (including: “... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”) and “[0101] Generally, any of the functions described herein can be implemented using software,... hardware (e.g., fixed-logic circuitry), or a combination of these implementations.... In the case of a software implementation of an aspect of the present concepts, these may represent program code that performs specified tasks when executed by a processor. The program code can be stored in one or more computer-readable memory devices, such as computer-readable storage media....”; claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 11, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The system of claim 8, wherein a first subset (e.g., 210, 212, and 216 in FIG. 2 of Fong) of the multiple DCDC converters is resident on a first portion (corresponding to 210, 212, and 216) of the electronic device, wherein a second subset (e.g., 214) of the multiple DCDC converters is resident on a second portion (corresponding to 214) of the electronic device separate from the first portion (Fong: see FIG. 2, see also FIG. 8, [0030], [0063]-[0065], [0067], and [0091]).
Regarding claim 12, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the pool selector is configured to select the multiple selected DCDC converters by being configured to select the multiple selected DCDC converters from the first subset of the multiple DCDC converters only, if a number (e.g., 2, or 3) of the multiple selected DCDC converters is less than or equal to a number (e.g., 3) of the multiple DCDC converters in the first subset and being configured to select all of the first subset of the multiple DCDC converters and one or more of the second subset of the multiple DCDC converters, if the number (e.g., 4) of the multiple selected DCDC converters is greater than the number of the multiple DCDC converters in the first subset (Fong: FIG. 5 (200W-235W, 235W-300W, and 300W-400W), FIG. 7, and [0093] (including: “... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”), see also [0101]; i.e., the multiple selected DCDC converters correspond to the first subset (e.g., 2 (200W-235W) or 3 (235W-300W)), and to the first and second subsets (4 (300W-400W)), see also [0030], [0063]-[0065], and [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Fong is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 15 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 15 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
One or more tangible processor-readable storage media embodied with instructions for executing on one or more processors and circuits of a computing device a process..., the process comprising:.
Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
One or more tangible processor-readable storage media (806 in FIG. 8 of Fong) embodied with instructions for executing on one or more processors (804) and circuits of a computing device a process..., the process comprising: (Fong: FIG. 8, [0092] (including: (“[T]he device 800 may include a central processing unit (CPU) 804 for executing instructions, for example, machine-executable instructions that implement various aspects of the present concepts described herein. Although only one CPU 804 is shown in FIG. 8 for simplicity, the device 800 may include multiple CPUs.... The CPU 804 may perform processing to implement the present concepts, including all or part of the power supply method 700....”), [0093] (including: “The device 800 may include a storage drive 806 for storing data, including programs... [and/or] other machine-executable instructions.... The storage drive 806 may include computer readable storage media, such as magnetic disks, optical disks,... [and] solid state drives,... among others.... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”), and “[0101] Generally, any of the functions described herein can be implemented using software,... hardware (e.g., fixed-logic circuitry), or a combination of these implementations.... In the case of a software implementation of an aspect of the present concepts, these may represent program code that performs specified tasks when executed by a processor. The program code can be stored in one or more computer-readable memory devices, such as computer-readable storage media....”, see also FIG. 7 and [0094]; claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 21, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the multiple selected DCDC converters jointly generate an output current corresponding to the brightness setting (Fong: FIGs. 2 and 7, “[0028]... These four DC-to-DC converters [in FIG. 2] may be arranged in parallel so that the total power output of the haystack power supply 200 may be the sum of the power outputs from the individual DC-to-DC converters....”, and “[0080] In act 702 [of FIG. 7], a signal may be detected. The signal may be indicative of the power load of a device. For instance, a power supply may monitor or sense one or more parameters of a device that relate to the current or future power consumption by the device. Such parameters may include, for example,... display brightness,... current, voltage, power, etc.”, “[0084] In act 706,... [d]epending on the power ratings for the available converters, the power supply may determine... a combination of multiple converters that can be activated to meet the power load determined in the act 704 at the highest possible power efficiency.”, and “[0085] In act 708, the set of converters determined in the act 706 may be activated and the rest of the converters deactivated. Accordingly, the set of activated converters may supply power to the device.”, see also FIG. 5 (LOAD BALANCED MODE), FIG. 6B, and “[0060]... [Referring to FIG. 5,] [w]hen the output load increased above 200 W, the haystack power supply 200 may operate in the load balancing mode, in which multiple converters may be activated together at the same time. In the load balancing mode, the output power levels of the haystack power supply 200 may be the sum of the power levels from all of the activated converters.”; claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 22, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting operation further includes:
evaluating multiple distinct candidate sets of DCDC converters of the multiple DCDC converters, including determining, for each distinct candidate set of the multiple distinct candidate sets, that a respective power conversion efficiency condition is satisfied for each of the DCDC converters of the distinct candidate set (Fong: FIGs. 2 and 5, “[0028]... The power values in watts assigned to the four converters [in FIG. 2] may represent their most efficient power output levels....”, [0060], “[0061] In one example implementation illustrated in FIG. 5, the range of output load between 200 W and 400 W may be divided into the following ranges: {200 W-235 W, 235 W-300 W, 300 W-400}. If the signal detect component 224 determines that the output load is greater than 200 W but less than 235 W, then the converter control component 228 may activate the 35 W converter 210, deactivate the 65 W converter 212, deactivate the 100 W converter 214, and activate the 200 W converter 216. If the signal detect component 224 determines that output load is greater than 235 W but less than 300 W, then the converter control component 228 may activate the 35 W converter 210, activate the 65 W converter 212, deactivate the 100 W converter 214, and activate the 200 W converter 216. If the signal detect component 224 determines that output load is greater than 300 W, then the converter control component 228 may activate all of the 35 W converter 210, the 65 W converter 212, the 100 W converter 214, and the 200 W converter 216.”, and “[0063] Many alternative implementations of the converter enable and balancing logic 400 are possible. For example, the range from 200 W to 400 W can be divided in several different ways {200 W-235 W, 235 W-300 W, 300 W-400}, {200 W-235 W, 235 W-335 W, 335 W-400 W}, {200 W-265 W, 265 W-300 W, 300 W-400 W}, {200 W-265 W, 265 W-365 W, 365 W-400 W}, {200 W-300 W, 300 W-335 W, 335 W-400 W}, or {200 W-300 W, 300 W-365 W, 365 W-400 W}. Thus, other combinations of the group of converters 208 may be activated above 200 W than the combinations described above. For example, if the output load is between 200 W and 300 W, the 100 W converter 214 and the 200 W converter 216 may be activated. If the output load is between 300 W and 335 W, then the 35 W converter 210, the 100 W converter 214, and the 200 W converter 216 may be activated.”, see also FIGs. 3A-D and 6A-7, [0030], [0064]-[0067], and [0084]); and
selecting, from the evaluated multiple distinct candidate sets, a particular distinct candidate set, the particular distinct candidate set including the multiple selected DCDC converters (Fong: FIGs. 2 and 5, [0061]-[0061], and [0063], see also FIG. 7, [0030], [0064]-[0067], and [0084]).
Claims 3-6, 10, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Hoon Lee, in further view of Hunt in US 2022/0189381 A1 (hereinafter Hunt), and in further view of Shofner et al. in US 2007/0044355 A1 (hereinafter Shofner).
Regarding claim 3, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The method of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Fong as modified by Hoon Lee does not teach:
wherein selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters of the multiple DCDC converters further comprises:
determining that a temperature of a component of the electronic device is greater than a threshold temperature; and
based at least upon determining that the temperature is greater than the threshold temperature, selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters based at least in part on a proximity of each of the multiple DCDC converters to the component.
Hunt teaches:
determining that a temperature of a component of an electronic device (e.g., smartphone) is greater than a threshold temperature (Hunt: FIGs. 1-3, “[0064] Referring first to FIG. 2a, the method, which is performed in the device, comprises a first step 210 of obtaining a representation of temperatures to which different areas of the display are subjected. The different areas of the display may comprise two or more areas into which the display may be divided. As illustrated in FIG. 2a, this obtaining step may comprise obtaining temperature readings from one or more temperature sensors positioned relative to the different areas of the display [e.g., a smartphone)]....”, “[0065] The location of the temperature sensors relative to the display may be chosen according to particular constraints or requirements of a given implementation. As illustrated in step 212, temperature representations may be obtained from one or more temperature sensors positioned on at least one component of the display.... In another example, temperature sensors may be positioned on individual pixels of the display.... As illustrated in step 214, in another example, temperature representations may be obtained from one or more temperature sensors positioned on components adjacent the display.”, “[0066] As discussed above, the device performing the method may comprise a Printed Circuit Board (PCB), which may be substantially adjacent to the OLED display, and temperature sensors may be positioned on components of the printed circuit board. A PCB typically comprises one or more shield cans arranged to at least partially protect components within the shield can from electro-magnetic and radio frequency interference, and one or more temperature sensors may be positioned relative to one or more shield cans on the PCB. The one or more temperature sensors positioned relative to one or more shield cans may be positioned on an external or internal surface of a shield can, or inside a shield can, for example on a part of the PCB that is contained within the shield can....”, “[0067] Referring still to FIG. 2a, the method comprises a second step 220 of generating a display heat map from the obtained representation. As illustrated in step 220, this may comprise combining the obtained representation of temperatures with a representation of the physical arrangement of the different areas of the display. As illustrated in step 222, in a device comprising a PCB, the different areas of the display may correspond to areas occupied by different components on the PCB. These components may be heat generating components responsible at least in part for the temperatures to which the different areas of the display are subjected. In a device comprising one or more shield cans, the different areas of the display may correspond to areas occupied by different shield cans. Such an arrangement may be appropriate for example if one or more temperature sensors are mounted on or in each shield can, allowing the formation of a heat map in which the physical area corresponding to each shield can is represented by the average temperature recorded by the one or more temperatures mounted on or in the shield can....”, “[0073] As illustrated in sub-step 238a, the adjusting sub-step may comprise, for pixels for which the temperature and required pixel current combination in the combined representation exceed the maximum temperature and current combination in the operational specification, reducing the current to be passed through the pixels such that the maximum temperature and current combination in the operational specification is respected....”, and “[0075] FIG. 3 is an illustration of a PCB for a smartphone, and demonstrates an example of how temperature sensors may be positioned on the PCB according to aspects of the present disclosure. In one example, the thermistors may be placed on the PCB.... Placing the thermistors close to the heat generating components may provide a good overview of temperatures experienced by the display, as the size of the heat generating components is known and an estimation may be made that the entire component has the same distributed heat. At least one thermistor in or on each shield can may also provide useful results, as the heat distribution will be contained within one shield can area, thus providing a well-defined limitation for the physical space occupied by the associated hot-spot. Referring to FIG. 3, 5 shield cans 302 can be seen, with each shield can provided with at least one thin film thermistor 304. The area of each shield can may translate to an area or zone on the generated heat map, with the average temperature across the area of the shield can being populated into the area corresponding to the shield can on the heat map. In some cases, a shield can having more than one thermistor may be divided into two areas on the heat map, each area being populated with the temperature of the corresponding thermistor. Thus, referring to FIG. 3, the 5 shield cans may be translated into between 5 and 7 areas on the heat map.”); and
based at least upon determining that the temperature is greater than the threshold temperature, selecting multiple areas based at least in part on a proximity of each of the areas to the component (Hunt: Figs. 2a-b, “[0071] In sub-step 236, the method comprises comparing the combined representation of an image and display heat map to an operational specification for pixels of the display. The operational specification may specify maximum current as a function of pixel temperature, so providing an indication of maximum temperature and current combination, to which the temperature and current indicated in the combined representation may be compared, as illustrated in sub-step 236a.”, “[0072] In sub-step 238, the method comprises adjusting the luminance of the pixels of the display as a function of a result of the comparison....”, and “[0073] As illustrated in sub-step 238a, the adjusting sub-step may comprise, for pixels for which the temperature and required pixel current combination in the combined representation exceed the maximum temperature and current combination in the operational specification, reducing the current to be passed through the pixels such that the maximum temperature and current combination in the operational specification is respected....”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Hunt, to manage luminance of different areas of a display screen as taught by Hunt. (Hunt: [0086]).
However, it is noted that Fong as modified by Hoon Lee and Hunt does not teach:
based at least upon determining that the temperature is greater than the threshold temperature, selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters based at least in part on a proximity of each of the multiple DCDC converters to the component.
Shofner teaches:
a proximity of each of multiple DCDC converters (214A-M in FIG. 2) to at least one zone of an LED array (216AA-MP) (Shofner: FIG. 2 and “[0029] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a representative panel 210... of a matrix sign display system. The panel 210 comprises an array of LED pixel boards 216AA-MP arranged in a 16 columnx30 row logical array. (12 representative pixel boards of the 16x30 logical array are shown in the Figure).... Each of the 30 rows has a DC-DC converter 214A-M associated therewith....”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Shofner, such that Fong as modified teaches: wherein selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters of the multiple DCDC converters further comprises (claim 1 above): determining that a temperature of a component of the electronic device is greater than a threshold temperature (electronic device taught by Fong as modified combined with determining of Hunt); and based at least upon determining that the temperature is greater than the threshold temperature, selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters based at least in part on a proximity of each of the multiple DCDC converters to the component (i.e., selecting multiple selected DCDC converters of Fong as modified combined with selecting areas based on a component with a temperature greater than a threshold temperature in proximity to the areas of Hunt and DCDC converters in proximity to a zones of Shofner – selecting multiple selected DCDC converters corresponding to reducing current of light emitting elements with corresponding DCDC converters in areas corresponding to excess temperature of a component, where the areas and corresponding DCDC converters are in proximity to the component), to increase device compactness.
Regarding claim 4, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein a first subset (e.g., 210, 212, and 216 in FIG. 2 of Fong) of the multiple DCDC converters is resident on a first portion (corresponding to 210, 212, and 216) of the electronic device, wherein a second subset (e.g., 214) of the multiple DCDC converters is resident on a second portion (corresponding to 214) of the electronic device separate from the first portion (Fong: see FIG. 2, see also FIG. 8, [0030], [0063]-[0065], [0067], and [0091]).
Regarding claim 5, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters comprises:
selecting the multiple selected DCDC converters from the first subset of the multiple DCDC converters only, if a number (e.g., 2, or 3) of the multiple selected DCDC converters is less than or equal to a number (e.g., 3) of the multiple DCDC converters in the first subset (Fong: FIG. 5 (200W-235W and 235W-300W); i.e., the multiple selected DCDC converters correspond to, e.g., 2 (200W-235W) or 3 (235W-300W), see also [0030], [0063]-[0065], and [0067]); and
selecting all of the first subset of the multiple DCDC converters and one or more of the second subset of the DCDC converters, if the number (e.g., 4) of the multiple selected DCDC converters is greater than the number of the multiple DCDC converters in the first subset (Fong: FIG. 5 (200W-235W, 235W-300W, and 300W-400W); i.e., the multiple selected DCDC converters correspond to the first subset (e.g., 2 (200W-235W) or 3 (235W-300W)) and to the first and second subsets (4 (300W-400W)), see also [0030], [0063]-[0065], and [0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the first portion comprises a display portion (corresponding to DC-DC 1 to DC-DC ‘M’ portion in FIG. 2 of Shofner) of the electronic device (100 in FIG. 1) (Shofner: FIGs. 1-2, “[0027]... [A] matrix sign display 100...”., and “[0029]... The panel 210 [of a matrix sign display system] comprises an array of LED pixel boards 216AA-MP… Each… row[] [of the array of LED pixel boards] has a DC-DC converter 214A-M….”).
Regarding claim 10, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee is further modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 3 above. Thus, claim 10 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 3 above.
However, it is noted that claim 10 differs from claim 3 above in that the following are recited:
a thermal output monitor stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors and configured to…, wherein the pool selector is further configured to….
Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner teaches:
a thermal output monitor stored in the memory, executable by the one or more hardware processors and configured to… (Hunt: FIGs. 8-10, “[0077] The values of the thermistors are fed back to a processor or processing circuitry where the method is being carried out. This may for example be a CPU.... As discussed in further detail below with reference to FIG. 8, in some examples, different steps of the method may be conducted in different processing units. The thermistor values are gathered and together with the size and positions of the components close to the thermistors a heat map is generated, which may for example be based on heat areas or zones corresponding to components, as illustrated in FIG. 3.”, “[0082] FIG. 8 is a block diagram illustrating functional components of a device 800 that may cooperate to conduct one or more steps of the methods described herein. The device 800 comprises thermistors 810 that supply temperature values to a CPU 830.... In one example, the CPU may generate the heat map from the temperature values and a physical layout of the PCB and thermistors retrieved from a memory 860. In other examples, heat map generation may be performed in a GPU 850. If the heat map is generated in the CPU 830, management of the luminance of the display 840 may also be conducted in the CPU, or this may be carried out in a GPU 850. For example, the heat map generated in the CPU 830 may be supplied to the GPU 850, which may then combine the heat map with aa representation of an image to be shown on the display 840 and adjust the luminance of areas of the display according to the combined representation in order to respect an operational specification for the display 840.”, “[0083] Referring back to FIGS. 2a and 2b, the CPU (and/or APU) may conduct steps 210, 220 and 230 (obtaining temperature representations, generating a heat map and managing luminance). In other examples, a CPU or APU may conduct steps 210 and 220 (obtaining temperature representations and generating a heat map), and step 230 (managing luminance) may be conducted in a GPU, VPU and/or ISP.”, “[0084] FIG. 9 illustrates another example of device 900, which may implement some or all of the steps of method 100 and/or 200, for example on receipt of suitable instructions from a computer program 950. The device may be any electrical device comprising a LED display.... Referring to FIG. 9, the device 900 comprises a processor or processing circuitry 902, a memory 904 and interfaces 906. The memory 904 contains instructions executable by the processor 902 such that the deice 900 is operative to conduct some or all of the steps of the method 100 and/or 200.... The instructions may be stored in the form of the computer program 950. In some examples, the processor or processing circuitry 902 may include one or more microprocessors or microcontrollers, as well as other digital hardware, which may include digital signal processors (DSPs), special-purpose digital logic, etc....”, and “[0085] FIG. 10 illustrates another example of device 1000, which may also be any electrical device comprising a LED display.... Referring to FIG. 10, the device 1000 comprises a plurality of functional modules, which may execute some or all of the steps of method 100 and/or 200 on receipt of suitable instructions for example from a computer program. The functional modules of the device 1000 may be realised in any appropriate combination of hardware and/or software. The modules may comprise one or more processors and may be integrated to any degree. The device 100 comprises a temperature module 1002 for obtaining a representation of temperatures to which different areas of the display are subjected. The device further comprises a generating module 1004 for generating a display heat map from the obtained representation and a managing module 1006 for managing the luminance of the different areas of the display on the basis of the display heat map. The device 1000 also comprises interfaces 1008.”; claims 3 and 8 above), wherein the pool selector is further configured to… (Fong: [0093] (including: “... The storage drive 806 may store instructions... for implementing the present concepts, including all or a part of the power supply method 700....”), see also [0101]; claims 3 and 8 above).
Regarding claim 17, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee is further modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 3 above. Thus, claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 4 above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Hoon Lee, in further view of Hunt, in further view of Shofner, and in further view of Yin et al. in US 2016/0358545 A1 (hereinafter Yin).
Regarding claim 7, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner teaches:
The method of claim 4.
However, it is noted that Fong as modified by Hoon Lee, Hunt, and Shofner does not teach:
wherein the first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of the electronic device.
Yin teaches:
wherein a first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of an electronic device (Yin: see FIG. 3, “[0045]… [T]he power supply voltages are applied by the voltage application unit (not shown) located outside the effective display region….”, [0053], and [0076]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Yin, such that Fong as modified teaches: wherein the first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of the electronic device (first portion of Fong as modified comprises a region as taught by Yin), to reduce noise by placing DCDC converters away from light-emitting elements.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Hoon Lee, in further view of Shofner.
Regarding claim 13, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The system of claim 11.
However, it is noted that Fong as modified by Hoon Lee does not teach:
wherein the first portion comprises a display portion of the electronic device.
Shofner teaches:
wherein a first portion comprises a display portion (corresponding to DC-DC 1 to DC-DC ‘M’ portion in FIG. 2) of an electronic device (100 in FIG. 1) (Shofner: FIGs. 1-2, “[0027]… [A] matrix sign display 100….”, and “[0029]… The panel 210 [of a matrix sign display system] comprises an array of LED pixel boards 216AA-MP… Each… row[] [of the array of LED pixel boards] has a DC-DC converter 214A-M….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Shofner, such that Fong as modified teaches: wherein the first portion comprises a display portion of the electronic device (first portion and electronic device of Fong as modified combined with the first portion, display portion, and electronic device of Shofner), to increase device compactness by locating DCDC converters near light-emitting elements.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Hoon Lee, in further view of Yin.
Regarding claim 14, Fong as modified by Hoon Lee teaches:
The system of claim 11.
However, it is noted that Fong as modified by Hoon Lee does not teach:
wherein the first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of the electronic device.
Yin teaches:
wherein a first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of an electronic device (Yin: see FIG. 3, “[0045]… [T]he power supply voltages are applied by the voltage application unit (not shown) located outside the effective display region….”, [0053], and [0076]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Yin, such that Fong as modified teaches: wherein the first portion comprises a region outside of a display portion of the electronic device (first portion of Fong as modified comprises a region as taught by Yin), to reduce noise by placing DCDC converters away from light-emitting elements.
Conclusion
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 8/17/26B