Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 5/12/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Abstract, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 2/12/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 5/12/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9, filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 provisionally on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of Pichler et al. US20220128381A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9, of the remarks, filed on 5/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 provisionally on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of Pichler et al. US20220128381A1, that “Claims 1-20 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of Pichler et al. US20220128381A1. Although Applicant does not necessarily agree with the Examiner, Applicant is willing to file a terminal disclaimer to obviate the rejection once the Examiner indicates that Claims 1-20 of this Application are otherwise allowable in their current form.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9 (stated above), filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 provisionally on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of Pichler et al. US20220128381A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive because to overcome the rejection there should be terminal disclaimer. However, applicant has amended the claims and therefore Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 and in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-12, filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10-11, of the remarks, filed on 5/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, that “Pichler does not disclose or suggest determining a state of an industrial automation device component that transitions between on, off, and trip states. The on, off, and trip states are operational states specific to electrical protective devices such as circuit breakers. Pichler's vehicle steering and brake systems do not have "on," "off," or "trip" states, and Pichler does not teach or suggest determining such states, let alone determining the states based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Independent claims 7, 10, and 16 have been amended to recite substantially similar limitations regarding state detection of an industrial automation device component. For at least the same reasons set forth above for claim 1, Pichler fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation in claims 7, 10, and 16 (Remarks-Page 10).
In view of the foregoing, claims 1, 7, 10, and 16 are submitted to be patentable over the cited reference. Withdrawal of the rejections and allowance of claims 1, 7, 10, and 16 are therefore respectfully requested.
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-20 depend directly or indirectly from claims 1, 7, 10, and 16 respectively and are submitted to be patentable over the cited references for at least the same reasons. Withdrawals of the rejections and allowance of claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are therefore likewise respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 11).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-11 (stated above), filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target” which overcomes the present rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. HARRISON in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1, as set forth below. Similarly, Independent claims 7, 10 and 16 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1, as set forth below, because of the same reason as stated for claim 1 as claims 7, 10 and 16 has similar amendment to independent claim 1 as explained above. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1, as set forth below because of the same reason as stated above. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 11-12, of the remarks, filed on 5/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, that “Additionally, the Examiner rejects claim 5 as being anticipated by Pichler, mapping the claimed "spacer for spacing the electrically conductive target apart from the sensor portion" to Picher's rotating shaft 9. See, the Examiner's modified version of FIG. 2 of Pichler below. Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection.
………
The purpose of the spacer of claim 5 is "for spacing the electrically conductive target from the sensor portion." The Examiner characterizes Pichler's rotating shaft 9 as the spacer. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Pichler's rotating shaft 9 is not a spacer. Pichler discloses at paragraph 0081 that "[t]he target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should (Remarks-Page 11) be detected." The shaft is the object being measured, not the structural spacing element. The shaft's function is to transmit rotatory motion to the target, not to maintain spacing being the target and the sensor portion.
Furthermore, claim 5 as amended recites "wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch." Applicant respectfully submits that Pichler is silent regarding an industrial automation device that comprises a handle or a switch. In contrast, Pichler describes targets mounted to rotating shafts and wheels for detecting rotary motion in automotive steering and braking systems.
For at least the reasons presented above, claim 5 is submitted to be patentable over the cited art. Withdrawal of the rejection and allowance of claim 5 are therefore respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 12)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11-12 (stated above), filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Claim recites inductive sensor comprising a spacer. Claim does not recite any structure or spacer. Claim only recites spacer for spacing the electrical conductive target apart from the sensor portion. Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft 9 which makes a space for spacing between the electrically conductive target [8] apart from the sensor portion. Although shaft has different purpose and function different than the spacer. However, claim does not recite any function or structure of the spacer. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation shaft as it creates a spacing between the two elements can be function as a spacer. Applicant needs to explain the structure of the spacer to differentiate the present application from the prior art reference. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument, “Applicant respectfully submits that Pichler is silent regarding an industrial automation device that comprises a handle or a switch” is persuasive because, applicant has amended the claim and added the limitation, “wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch” which necessitates a new ground of rejection as it overcomes the present rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. HARRISON in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 5. Therefore claim 5 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 and in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present application is anticipated by claims 1-9 and 11-20 of the ‘156 copending application, as shown in the table below:
Present application (18664670)
18806156
1. An inductive sensor configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the inductive sensor comprising: a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA, the transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized; a plurality of receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the receiver coils each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil when energized; and an integrated circuit on the PCBA electrically connected to the transmitter coil, the integrated circuit configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals on each of the receiver coils; wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
1. An inductive sensor configured for measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the inductive sensor comprising: a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA, the transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized; a plurality of receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the receiver coils each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil when energized; and an integrated circuit on the PCBA electrically connected to the transmitter coil, the integrated circuit configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals on each of the receiver coils; wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output
signals of the receiver coils responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
2. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the transmitter coil comprises a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.
2. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein each of the transmitter coil and receiver coils
comprise a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA.
3. The inductive sensor of claim 2, wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
3. The inductive sensor of claim 2, wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second
receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
4. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive target is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap; and wherein the electrically conductive target at least one of comprises the industrial
automation device component or is coupled to the industrial automation device component.
4. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive target is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
5. The inductive sensor of claim 1, further comprising a spacer for spacing the electrically conductive target apart from the sensor portion; and wherein the industrial
automation device component comprises a handle or a switch.
5. The inductive sensor of claim 1, further comprising a spacer for spacing the electrically conductive target apart from the sensor portion.
6. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
6. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
7. An electrical protective device for an industrial automation system, the electrical protective device comprising: a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertically along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap; an electrically conductive target mounted on the target portion of the PCBA; the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and an inductive sensor on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the inductive sensor configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor; wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; wherein the electrical protective device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
7. An electrical protective device for an industrial automation system, the electrical protective device comprising: a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertically along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap; an electrically conductive target mounted on the target portion of the PCBA; and an inductive sensor on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the inductive sensor configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor; wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the
one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
8. The electrical protective device of claim 7, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
8. The electrical protective device of claim 7, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to
at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
9. The electrical protective device of claim 8, further comprising an industrial automation device processor configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals.
9. The electrical protective device of claim 8, further comprising an industrial automation
device processor configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals.
10. A redundant inductive sensor system configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the redundant inductive sensor system comprising: a plurality of inductive sensors wherein each of the inductive sensors are on one of a plurality of sensor portions of the PCBA, the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising a transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized, each of the inductive sensors comprising a plurality of receiver coils connected to the respective transmitter coil of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by each respective transmitter coil when energized; and a plurality of integrated circuits on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA, each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coils of the inductive sensors, the integrated circuits configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coils to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portions, the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals on the respective receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors; wherein each magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein at least one of the inductive sensors is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
11. A redundant inductive sensor system configured for measuring linear motion of an
electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an
electrical protective device, the redundant inductive sensor system comprising: a plurality of inductive sensors wherein each of the inductive sensors are on one of a
plurality of sensor portions of the PCBA, the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising a transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized, each of the inductive sensors comprising a plurality of receiver coils connected to the respective transmitter coil of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by each respective transmitter coil when energized; and a plurality of integrated circuits on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA, each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coils of the inductive sensors, the integrated circuits configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coils to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portions, the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals on the respective receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors; wherein each magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
11. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 10, wherein each of the inductive sensors are configured to detect a unique range of angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
12. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 11, wherein each of the inductive sensors are configured to detect a unique range of linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
12. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 10, wherein each transmitter coil comprises a conductive trace integrated onto the respective sensor portion of the PCBA.
13. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein the receiver coils of the inductive sensors each comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
13. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein each of the transmitter coil and receiver coils comprise a conductive trace integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein the receiver coils of the inductive sensors each comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
14. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein the sensor portions are each spaced apart from the target along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
14. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein the sensor portions are each spaced apart from the target along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
15. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein the integrated circuits are configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
15. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein the integrated circuits are configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
16. A method for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the method comprising: transmitting, by an integrated circuit on the PCBA, a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA such that the transmitter coil produces a magnetic field; inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA; inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target; producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; determining, based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component corresponding to the electrically conductive target, the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state.
16. A method for measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the method
comprising: transmitting, by an integrated circuit on the PCBA, a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA such that the transmitter coil produces a magnetic field; inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils on the
sensor portion of the PCBA; inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target; producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals.
18. The method of claim 17, comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position.
18. The method of claim 17, comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein external signal processing comprises converting the altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein external signal processing comprises converting the
altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With respect to claim 1, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 1 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target; wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13, wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
However, ‘156 and Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein the inductive sensor [12] is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 7, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 7 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the electrical protective device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
However, ‘156 and Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the electrical protective device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein the electrical protection device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 10 of the present application ‘670, claim 11 of the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 10 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
However, ‘156 and Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein at least one of the inductive sensors is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein at least one of the inductive sensor [12] is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 16, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 16 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target; determining, based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component corresponding to the electrically conductive target, the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state.”
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
However, ‘156 and Pichler fails to teach determining, based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component corresponding to the electrically conductive target, the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
determining (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12), based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] corresponding to the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9),
the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 2, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 2 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation, “wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.”
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13),
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8). he purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to include a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 4, the copending application ‘156 and Pichler discloses the elements of claim 4 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation, “wherein the electrically conductive target at least one of comprises the industrial automation device component or is coupled to the industrial automation device component.”
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch [18, 20] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Figure 1 shows rotary component coupled with the switches 18, 20) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the industrial automation device component of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include a handle or a switch, because Harrison teaches to include a handle or a switch allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 5, the copending application ‘156 and Pichler discloses the elements of claim 5 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation, “wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch.”
However, ‘156 and Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target at least one of comprises the industrial automation device component or is coupled to the industrial automation device component.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch [18, 20] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Figure 1 shows rotary component coupled with the switches 18, 20) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the industrial automation device component of ‘156 and Pichler in view of Harrison to include a handle or a switch, because Harrison teaches to include a handle or a switch allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 12+13 of the present application ‘670, claim 13 of the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 12+13 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation ““wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.”
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13),
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8). he purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to include a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Similarly dependent claims 3-6, 8-9, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6, 8-9, 11, 12, 14-15 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 and further in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1 in view of HARRISON et al. (Hereinafter, “Harrison”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20230027707 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1] configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the inductive sensor [1] comprising:
a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]),
the transmitter coil [4] configured for producing a magnetic field when energized (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9);
a plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]),
the receiver coils [2, 3] each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil [4] via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil [4] when energized (They are arranged such that the transmitter coil 4 induces a secondary voltage in the two receiver coils 2, 3, which depends on the position of the target 8 above the coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0080] Line 6-9; An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field. This high frequency magnetic field is picked up by the receiver coils, particularly the sine receiver coil and the cosine receiver coil; Paragraph [0010] Line 2-7); and
an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4]),
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler
the integrated circuit [6] configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil [4] to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals (Figure 1) on each of the receiver coils [2, 3] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils [2, 3] responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
However, Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein the inductive sensor [12] is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the transmitter coil [4] comprises a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6), and
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13).
Regarding claim 4, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the electrically conductive target [8] is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap (the gap between the target and PCBA is the predetermined spacing gap) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft is spaced apart from the sensor portion by the shaft 9 along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap).
However, Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target at least one of comprises the industrial automation device component or is coupled to the industrial automation device component.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target at least one of comprises the industrial automation device component [shaft of aircraft] or is coupled to the industrial automation device component (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Figure 1 shows rotary component coupled with the switches 18, 20) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of Pichler in view of Harrison to include the industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include the industrial automation device component improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
further comprising a spacer [9] (rotating shaft 9 as the spacer as it makes spaces between the sensor portion and the target 8) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4) for spacing the electrically conductive target [8] apart from the sensor portion (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft 9 for spacing the electrically conductive target [8] apart from the sensor portion).
However, Pichler fails to teach wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the industrial automation device component comprises a handle or a switch [18, 20] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Figure 1 shows rotary component coupled with the switches 18, 20) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the industrial automation device component of Pichler in view of Harrison to include a handle or a switch, because Harrison teaches to include a handle or a switch allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device for an industrial automation system (modern vehicle steering and brake systems are increasingly considered industrial automation devices) (In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4; The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3), the electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] comprising:
a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap),
Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler
an electrically conductive target [8] (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7] (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows that a n electrically conductive target [8] mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7]),
an inductive sensor [1] (The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows an inductive sensor [1] on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] r above shows that a n electrically conductive target [8] mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7]), the inductive sensor [1] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5) configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil (sensor portion) to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4 (sensor portion), which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9),
the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically
conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of
the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
However, Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the electrical protective device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein the electrical protection device is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device,
wherein the inductive sensor is configured to at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device,
further comprising an industrial automation device processor (output interface 13 as the automation device processor) configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals (The different aspects of present invention may refer to the following twelve aspects: [0190] 1. Position sensor having two or more sets 2, 3 of receiver coils 2, 3 on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7, providing information of both sensors by means of output interfaces 13, such as, but not limited to analog voltage, current modulation, PSI-5, Pulse Width Modulation (PWM), Single Edge Nibble Transmission Protocol (SENT), I2C protocol, Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI), Universal Asynchronous Receiver Transmitter (UART), CAN, or LIN; Paragraph [0189-[0190]; output interface 13 as the industrial automation device processor which communicates with the inductive sensor).
Regarding claim 10, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system [1] configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the redundant inductive sensor [1] (a. redundant sensors measuring the same physical property; Paragraph [0027] Line 1) comprising:
a plurality of inductive sensors (In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used; Paragraph [0118] Line 1) wherein each of the inductive sensors [1] are on one of a plurality of sensor (position sensor #1 and position sensor #2) in Figure 11 portions of the PCBA [6], the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising
a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5; Figure 12; Figure 1 shows one inductive sensors of the plurality of inductive sensors and therefore the description is same) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) configured for producing a magnetic field when energized (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9); each of the inductive sensors comprising
a plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) connected to the respective transmitter coil [4] of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil [4] when energized (They are arranged such that the transmitter coil 4 induces a secondary voltage in the two receiver coils 2, 3, which depends on the position of the target 8 above the coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0080] Line 6-9; An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field. This high frequency magnetic field is picked up by the receiver coils, particularly the sine receiver coil and the cosine receiver coil; Paragraph [0010] Line 2-7); and
a plurality of integrated circuits [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA [7],
each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coil [4] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4]),
the integrated circuits [6] configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coil [4] to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portion (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals (Figure 1) on the respective receiver coils [2, 3] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
However, Pichler fails to teach wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein at least one of the inductive sensors is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
wherein the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] corresponds to an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9) that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states), and
wherein at least one of the inductive sensor [12] is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component [rotary component] based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [14+18+20] (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system,
wherein each of the inductive sensors [1] are configured to detect a unique range (over a 360 degree as the unique range) of angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system [1],
wherein each transmitter coil [4] comprises a conductive trace integrated onto the respective sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor [1],
wherein each of the receiver coils comprise a sinusoidal conductive trace (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6) integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4), and
wherein the receiver coils [2. 3] of the inductive sensors [1] each comprise
first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13).
Regarding claim 14, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the sensor portions are spaced apart from the target [8] along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap (the gap between the target and PCBA is the predetermined spacing gap) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft is spaced apart from the sensor portion by the shaft 9 along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap).
Regarding claim15, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Pichler teaches a method for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the method comprising:
transmitting, by an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit), a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14);
producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more
output signals of the receiver coils [2, 3] responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
However, Pichler fails to teach determining, based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component corresponding to the electrically conductive target, the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state.
Harrison teaches systems for detecting over travel of a rotary component and systems for preventing over travel of a rotary component. This disclosure also relates to a method of detecting over travel of a rotating component (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5),
determining (The states and operating modes of the switches 18, 20 are independent of the electrical signal that is generated by the RVDT 12 to indicate the angular position of the rotary component and is received, for example, by a central control system to monitor and/or control the rotation of the rotary component. This may be achieved by having no electrical connection between the switches 18, 20 and the output of the RVDT 12. This means that the system 10 allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal, for example by a central control system; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-12), based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target, a state of an industrial automation device component [a shaft of an aircraft and switches] corresponding to the electrically conductive target [rotary component with switches] (a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings) (Referring to FIG. 1, a system 10 for detecting over travel comprises an angular position sensor 12 and switches 18, 20 arranged within the angular position sensor 12 comprising a rotor 14, i.e. a core, coupled to a rotary component (not shown). The rotary component may be a shaft of an aircraft, for example a shaft which controls the leading edge droop of the aircraft wings; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-9),
the state indicative of at least one of an on state, a trip state, and an off state (Switches 18, 20 are positioned at the angular positions 22, 24 so that the rotor 14 changes the state of a switch 18, 20 when the rotor 14 is rotated beyond the corresponding angular position 22, 24 to indicate over travel of the rotary component. The state of a switch 18, 20 may correspond to an operating mode of the switch 18, 20, such that changing the state of a switch 18, 20 from a first state to a second state causes the switch to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, for example, “on” and “off” modes; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-10; transition from on the off and off to on is the trip states). The purpose of doing so is to improve the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems, to allow the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel”, to allow independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the conductive target of Pichler in view of Harrison to include to an industrial automation device component, because Harrison teaches to include to an industrial automation device component improves the ability to detect over travel in rotating systems (Paragraph [0007]), allows the operation of a rotary component to be controlled and monitored, for example to detect faults such as the component rotating beyond its range of normal travel, i.e., “over travel” (Paragraph [0005]), allows independent detection of rotational over travel that is protected from errors/malfunctions in the receiving and processing of the angular position electrical signal (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, Pichler teaches a method,
further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils [2, 3] 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates:
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-8; This is the ratiometric sine and cosine signals).
Regarding claim 18, Pichler teaches a method,
comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm (as the mathematical sequence), transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates:
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-8; This is the ratiometric sine and cosine signals; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090-0091]).
Regarding claim 19, Pichler teaches a method,
further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit [6] the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor [1] and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Pichler teaches a method,
wherein external signal processing (output interface) comprises converting the altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target [8] ((After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates;
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kreit et al. (US 8020453 B2) discloses, “Inductive Position Sensor- This invention relates to an inductive displacement detector, operable to measure the displacement of relatively moveable bodies (Column 1 Line 9-11). FIG. 9 shows a rotary user element [12] with a push button switch [13]. Such an arrangement might be used, for example, in a user interface so that a user might scroll through a menu structure in a graphical user interface and make a selection. The user element [12] is operable to rotate under the action of a user. The user element [12] contains a rotary electrical intermediate device [1] whose position is measured by an antenna (not shown) positioned on the underside of an impermeable fascia panel [15]. The electrical intermediate device [1] also contains a push button switch [14] which is normally open but closed under the action of a user depressing the push button [13]. Such an arrangement is advantageously deployed when the transmission of switch status is required to be communicated in a non-contact fashion, for example, through an impermeable membrane containing a fluid or providing a hermetic seal. Advantageously, the user element [12] may be held against the fascia panel [15] under the action of two or more magnets--the first in the user element [12], the second in or beneath the fascia panel [15]. In such an arrangement the user element [12] may be readily removed so that an impermeable fascia [15] is left to facilitate ease of cleaning or sterilisation and during which no ingress of fluid to the host equipment is possible. Further user interaction with the host equipment is prevented which is useful in preventing accidents caused by improper use by children, vandals or untrained personnel. Additional magnets may be used to provide tactile feedback as the user element [12] is operated (Column 8 Line 57-67 & Column 9 Line 1-17)-However Kreit does not disclose wherein the electrically conductive target corresponds to an industrial automation device component that is configured to transition between on, off, and trip states, and wherein the inductive sensor is configured to determine the state of the industrial automation device component based on the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858