Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2025, 3/20/2025, 7/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should be in narrative form within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present application is anticipated by claims 1-9 and 11-20 of the ‘156 copending application, as shown in the table below:
Present application (18664670)
18806156
1. An inductive sensor configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the inductive sensor comprising: a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA, the transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized; a plurality of receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the receiver coils each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil when energized; and an integrated circuit on the PCBA electrically connected to the transmitter coil, the integrated circuit configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals on each of the receiver coils; wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
1. An inductive sensor configured for measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the inductive sensor comprising: a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA, the transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized; a plurality of receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the receiver coils each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil when energized; and an integrated circuit on the PCBA electrically connected to the transmitter coil, the integrated circuit configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals on each of the receiver coils; wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output
signals of the receiver coils responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
2. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the transmitter coil comprises a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.
2. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein each of the transmitter coil and receiver coils
comprise a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA.
3. The inductive sensor of claim 2, wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
3. The inductive sensor of claim 2, wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second
receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
4. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive target is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
4. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive target is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
5. The inductive sensor of claim 1, further comprising a spacer for spacing the electrically conductive target apart from the sensor portion.
5. The inductive sensor of claim 1, further comprising a spacer for spacing the electrically conductive target apart from the sensor portion.
6. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
6. The inductive sensor of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
7. An electrical protective device for an industrial automation system, the electrical protective device comprising: a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertically along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap; an electrically conductive target mounted on the target portion of the PCBA; and an inductive sensor on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the inductive sensor configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor; wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
7. An electrical protective device for an industrial automation system, the electrical protective device comprising: a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertically along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap; an electrically conductive target mounted on the target portion of the PCBA; and an inductive sensor on the sensor portion of the PCBA, the inductive sensor configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion, the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor; wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the
one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
8. The electrical protective device of claim 7, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
8. The electrical protective device of claim 7, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to
at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
9. The electrical protective device of claim 8, further comprising an industrial automation device processor configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals.
9. The electrical protective device of claim 8, further comprising an industrial automation
device processor configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals.
10. A redundant inductive sensor system configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the redundant inductive sensor system comprising: a plurality of inductive sensors wherein each of the inductive sensors are on one of a plurality of sensor portions of the PCBA, the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising a transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized, each of the inductive sensors comprising a plurality of receiver coils connected to the respective transmitter coil of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by each respective transmitter coil when energized; and a plurality of integrated circuits on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA, each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coils of the inductive sensors, the integrated circuits configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coils to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portions, the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals on the respective receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors; wherein each magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
11. A redundant inductive sensor system configured for measuring linear motion of an
electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an
electrical protective device, the redundant inductive sensor system comprising: a plurality of inductive sensors wherein each of the inductive sensors are on one of a
plurality of sensor portions of the PCBA, the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising a transmitter coil configured for producing a magnetic field when energized, each of the inductive sensors comprising a plurality of receiver coils connected to the respective transmitter coil of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by each respective transmitter coil when energized; and a plurality of integrated circuits on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA, each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coils of the inductive sensors, the integrated circuits configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coils to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portions, the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals on the respective receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors; wherein each magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
11. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 10, wherein each of the inductive sensors are configured to detect a unique range of angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
12. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 11, wherein each of the inductive sensors are configured to detect a unique range of linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
12. The redundant inductive sensor system of claim 10, wherein each transmitter coil comprises a conductive trace integrated onto the respective sensor portion of the PCBA.
13. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein the receiver coils of the inductive sensors each comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
13. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein each of the transmitter coil and receiver coils comprise a conductive trace integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA, and wherein the receiver coils of the inductive sensors each comprise first and second receiver coils physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another, thereby defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils of each of the inductive sensors such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
14. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein the sensor portions are each spaced apart from the target along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
14. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein the sensor portions are each spaced apart from the target along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap.
15. The inductive sensor of claim 10, wherein the integrated circuits are configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
15. The inductive sensor of claim 11, wherein the integrated circuits are configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
16. A method for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the method comprising: transmitting, by an integrated circuit on the PCBA, a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA such that the transmitter coil produces a magnetic field; inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils on the sensor portion of the PCBA; inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target; producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.
16. A method for measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) for an electrical protective device, the method
comprising: transmitting, by an integrated circuit on the PCBA, a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil on a sensor portion of the PCBA such that the transmitter coil produces a magnetic field; inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils on the
sensor portion of the PCBA; inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target; producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils responsive to linear displacement of the electrically conductive target.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals.
18. The method of claim 17, comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position.
18. The method of claim 17, comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein external signal processing comprises converting the altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein external signal processing comprises converting the
altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With respect to claim 1, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 1 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13, wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 7, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 7 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 10 of the present application ‘670, claim 11 of the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 10 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 16, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 16 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation “measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target”.
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13), wherein
measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3; Depending on the requirement, these coils can be designed for linear, arc or rotary motion; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-2) and determining an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to measure angular motion of an electrically conductive target creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
With respect to the limitation “measuring linear motion of an electrically conductive target “in the copending application, ‘156 is not required by the present application, “670.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 2, the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 16 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation, “wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.”
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13),
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8). he purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to include a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 12+13 of the present application ‘670, claim 13 of the copending application ‘156 discloses the elements of claim 12+13 of the present application ‘670 except for the limitation ““wherein each of the receiver coils comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA.”
Pichler teaches a position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils (Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13),
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8). he purpose of doing so is to create a high frequency magnetic field, to allow the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects, to compensate possible errors resulting from target eccentricity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify ‘156 in view of Pichler, because Pichler teaches to include a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA creates a high frequency magnetic field, allows the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects (Paragraph [0010]), compensates possible errors resulting from target eccentricity (Paragraph [0188]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Similarly dependent claims 3-6, 8-9, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6, 8-9, 11, 12, 14-15 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18806156 in view of PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PICHLER et al. (Hereinafter, “Pichler”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220128381 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1] configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the inductive sensor [1] comprising:
a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]),
the transmitter coil [4] configured for producing a magnetic field when energized (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9);
a plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]),
the receiver coils [2, 3] each electrically coupled to the transmitter coil [4] via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil [4] when energized (They are arranged such that the transmitter coil 4 induces a secondary voltage in the two receiver coils 2, 3, which depends on the position of the target 8 above the coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0080] Line 6-9; An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field. This high frequency magnetic field is picked up by the receiver coils, particularly the sine receiver coil and the cosine receiver coil; Paragraph [0010] Line 2-7); and
an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4]),
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler
the integrated circuit [6] configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing the transmitter coil [4] to produce the magnetic field on the sensor portion (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals (Figure 1) on each of the receiver coils [2, 3] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the receiver coils [2, 3] responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
Regarding claim 2, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the transmitter coil [4] comprises a conductive trace integrated on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6), and
wherein each of the receiver coils [2, 3] comprises a sinusoidal conductive trace integrated onto the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the receiver coils comprise first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13).
Regarding claim 4, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the electrically conductive target [8] is spaced apart from the sensor portion along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap (the gap between the target and PCBA is the predetermined spacing gap) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft is spaced apart from the sensor portion by the shaft 9 along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap).
Regarding claim 5, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
further comprising a spacer [9] (rotating shaft 9 as the spacer as it makes spaces between the sensor portion and the target 8) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4) for spacing the electrically conductive target [8] apart from the sensor portion (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft 9 for spacing the electrically conductive target [8] apart from the sensor portion).
Regarding claim 6, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from the receiver coils and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device for an industrial automation system (modern vehicle steering and brake systems are increasingly considered industrial automation devices) (In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4; The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3), the electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] comprising:
a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4) comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] comprising a sensor portion and a target portion spaced apart vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap),
Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler
an electrically conductive target [8] (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7] (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows that a n electrically conductive target [8] mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7]),
an inductive sensor [1] (The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (Figure 2 (1): Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows an inductive sensor [1] on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] r above shows that a n electrically conductive target [8] mounted on the target portion of the PCBA [7]), the inductive sensor [1] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5) configured to produce a magnetic field on the sensor portion (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil (sensor portion) to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4 (sensor portion), which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9),
the magnetic field inducing one or more output signals of the inductive sensor (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces a plurality of eddy currents in the electrically
conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of the inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of
the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
Regarding claim 8, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device,
wherein the inductive sensor is configured to at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Pichler teaches an electrical protective device,
further comprising an industrial automation device processor (output interface 13 as the automation device processor) configured to communicate with the inductive sensor to receive and process the altered one or more output signals (The different aspects of present invention may refer to the following twelve aspects: [0190] 1. Position sensor having two or more sets 2, 3 of receiver coils 2, 3 on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7, providing information of both sensors by means of output interfaces 13, such as, but not limited to analog voltage, current modulation, PSI-5, Pulse Width Modulation (PWM), Single Edge Nibble Transmission Protocol (SENT), I2C protocol, Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI), Universal Asynchronous Receiver Transmitter (UART), CAN, or LIN; Paragraph [0189-[0190]; output interface 13 as the industrial automation device processor which communicates with the inductive sensor).
Regarding claim 10, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system [1] configured for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the redundant inductive sensor [1] (a. redundant sensors measuring the same physical property; Paragraph [0027] Line 1) comprising:
a plurality of inductive sensors (In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used; Paragraph [0118] Line 1) wherein each of the inductive sensors [1] are on one of a plurality of sensor (position sensor #1 and position sensor #2) in Figure 11 portions of the PCBA [6], the plurality of inductive sensors each comprising
a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5; Figure 12; Figure 1 shows one inductive sensors of the plurality of inductive sensors and therefore the description is same) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) configured for producing a magnetic field when energized (An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field; Paragraph [0010] Line 3-5; An oscillator 10 in Figure 9 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-9); each of the inductive sensors comprising
a plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) connected to the respective transmitter coil [4] of each of the inductive sensors via the magnetic field produced by the transmitter coil [4] when energized (They are arranged such that the transmitter coil 4 induces a secondary voltage in the two receiver coils 2, 3, which depends on the position of the target 8 above the coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0080] Line 6-9; An oscillator generates a radio-frequency signal, which is applied to the transmitter coil to create a high frequency magnetic field. This high frequency magnetic field is picked up by the receiver coils, particularly the sine receiver coil and the cosine receiver coil; Paragraph [0010] Line 2-7); and
a plurality of integrated circuits [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on one or more of the sensor portions of the PCBA [7],
each of the integrated circuits electrically connected to at least one of the transmitter coil [4] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler below shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] electrically connected to the transmitter coil [4]),
the integrated circuits [6] configured to transmit a high frequency time varying signal for energizing each of the transmitter coil [4] to produce the magnetic fields on the sensor portion (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
the magnetic fields each inducing one or more output signals (Figure 1) on the respective receiver coils [2, 3] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
wherein the magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14),
the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
Regarding claim 11, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system,
wherein each of the inductive sensors [1] are configured to detect a unique range (over a 360 degree as the unique range) of angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor system [1],
wherein each transmitter coil [4] comprises a conductive trace integrated onto the respective sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Pichler teaches a redundant inductive sensor [1],
wherein each of the receiver coils comprise a sinusoidal conductive trace (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6) integrated into the respective sensor portion of the PCBA (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4), and
wherein the receiver coils [2. 3] of the inductive sensors [1] each comprise
first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), thereby
defining a 90° phase shift between the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] such that the one or more output signals of the first and second receiver coils [2, 3] also comprise a 90° phase shift in relation to the angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13).
Regarding claim 14, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the sensor portions are spaced apart from the target [8] along a vertical axis of the PCBA at a predetermined spacing gap (the gap between the target and PCBA is the predetermined spacing gap) (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4. The target 8 is mounted to a rotating shaft 9, which rotary motion should be detected; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows the electrically conductive target [8] is placed in the shaft is spaced apart from the sensor portion by the shaft 9 along a vertical axis of the PCBA [8] at a predetermined spacing gap).
Regarding claim15, Pichler teaches an inductive sensor [1],
wherein the integrated circuit is configured to receive the altered one or more output signals from at least one of the inductive sensors and at least one of amplify, filter, and output the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Pichler teaches a method for measuring angular motion of an electrically conductive target [8] in Figure 1 or 2 (Usually, an inductive sensor system comprises a metallic target; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2) (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 9-13; FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-3) mounted on a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) [7] for an electrical protective device [safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems] (In a practical implementation the three coils, one transmitter coil and two receiver coils are typically provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0005] Line 1-3; In these cases, two or more inductive sensors are used in prior art. Particularly in high safety relevant applications, such as vehicle steering or brake systems, a redundancy is often required in fail-safe or fail operational systems; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-5; The position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1 is an inductive position sensor system; Paragraph [0078] Line 2-4),
the method comprising:
transmitting, by an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit) on the PCBA [7] (The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is located on the same printed circuit board (PCB) 7 as the three coils 2, 3, 4; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-4; The signal conditioning and processing unit 5 is contained in an integrated circuit 6; Paragraph [0078] Line 8-9; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Pichler above shows an integrated circuit [6] (the integrated circuit 6 as the integrated circuit), a high frequency time varying signal for energizing a transmitter coil [4] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on a sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that a transmitter coil [4] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; Claim 4. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the signal conditioning and processing unit comprises an oscillator configured to generate a radio-frequency signal for the at least one transmitter coil),
inducing, by the magnetic field, one or more output signals on receiver coils [2, 3] (Figure 1 is an inductive position sensor system comprising a receiver coil set 2, 3, a transmitter coil 4; Paragraph [0078] Line 3-5) on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7] (FIG. 2 shows a practical implementation of the position sensor system 1 shown in FIG. 1, for detecting rotary motion. In this practical implementation, the three coils 2, 3, 4, namely the one transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 may be provided as copper traces on a printed circuit board (PCB) 7; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-6; Figure 2 shows that plurality of receiver coils [2, 3] on the sensor portion of the PCBA [7]) (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; Claim 11. The position sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the position sensor system is configured to generate a high-resolution position signal from the at least two receiver coil sets or a differential signal from the at least two receiver coil sets);
inducing, by the magnetic field, eddy currents in the electrically conductive target [8] (The position sensor system 1 implements a magnet-free technology, utilizing the physical principles of eddy currents or inductive coupling to detect the position of a target 8 that is moving above a set of coils 2, 3, 4, including, for example, the transmitter coil 4 and the two receiver coils 2, 3 as shown in FIG. 1; Paragraph 0078] Line 9-14);
producing, by the eddy currents, a counter magnetic field to alter the one or more
output signals of the receiver coils [2, 3] responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target [8] (An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; A second or third receiver coil set 2, 3, designed to measure radial displacement may be used to indicate and to compensate possible errors resulting from target 8 eccentricity; Paragraph [0188] Line 6-9; The secondary voltage changes in amplitude and phase and which is the counter magnetic field effect that alters the output voltages).
Regarding claim 17, Pichler teaches a method,
further comprising physically shifting the receiver coils [2, 3] 90° on the PCBA with respect to one another (The receiver coil set 2, 3 of the position sensor system 1 of FIG. 1 comprises a sine receiver coil 2 and a separate cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0078] Line 6-8; Therefore one receiver coil 2 is sine receiver coil and another receiver coil 3 is a cosine receiver coil and first and second receiver coils [2, 3] physically shifted 90° as one receiver coil is sine and another receiver coil is cosine), to apply a 90° phase shift to the altered one or more output signals to generate one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals (FIG. 1 further shows the output signals of the position sensor system 1 over a 360° movement of the rotating target 8 for the sine receiver coil 2 and the cosine receiver coil 3; Paragraph [0079] Line 1-4; An oscillator 10 of the signal conditioning and processing unit 5 generates a radio-frequency signal, which creates a high frequency magnetic field by the transmitter coil 4, which is picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 with terminals R1N/R1P and R2N/R2P. Depending on the position of the target 8 over the coils 2, 3, 4, the secondary voltage picked up by the receiver coils 2, 3 is changing in amplitude and phase, allowing the determination of the target's position by analysing these effects; Paragraph [0089] Line 4-13; After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates:
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-8; This is the ratiometric sine and cosine signals).
Regarding claim 18, Pichler teaches a method,
comprising applying a mathematical sequence to the one or more ratiometric sine and cosine signals to convert the altered output signals into an absolute position (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm (as the mathematical sequence), transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates:
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-8; This is the ratiometric sine and cosine signals; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090-0091]).
Regarding claim 19, Pichler teaches a method,
further comprising receiving at the integrated circuit [6] the altered one or more output signals from the inductive sensor [1] and at least one of amplifying, filtering, and outputting the altered one or more output signals for external signal processing (After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; See Paragraph [0090]; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Pichler teaches a method,
wherein external signal processing (output interface) comprises converting the altered one or more output signals into digital data for characterizing at least one of position, velocity, and acceleration of the electrically conducive target [8] ((After filtering, the receiver signals are demodulated and amplified, then converted to a digital signal by an analog-to-digital converter and further processed in a digital signal processor, like being converted from sine and cosine signals into an angle representation by means of a CORDIC algorithm, transforming rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates;
; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-7; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils is available in digital format and fed to an output interface; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; Following this digital signal processing, a signal representative of the target's position over the coils 2, 3, 4 is available in digital format and fed to the output interface 13 in Figure 9; Paragraph [0091] Line 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Romero et al. (US 20230060295 A1) discloses, “ANGLE SENSOR USING EDDY CURRENTS-[0003] a magnetoresistance-based angle sensor that includes sensing elements configured to detect quadrature components of a reflected magnetic field generated by eddy currents in a target. [0024] FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example of a system 100 according to aspects of the disclosure. System 100 includes an angle sensor 110 and a conductive, rotatable target 120. The sensor 110 includes at least one coil 130, magnetic field sensing elements 134, and a processor 138. The coil 130 is configured to generate a first magnetic field 112 (herein a “direct magnetic field 112”) that induces eddy currents in the conductive target 120. The eddy currents result in generation of a second magnetic field 122 (herein a “reflected magnetic field 122”). [0025] Sensor 110 can detect the reflected magnetic field 122 and determine the angular position of the target 120 based on the magnetic flux density of the reflected magnetic field. In order to permit detection of the angular position of the target 120, the reflected field 122 can have a symmetric gradient with respect to an axis of rotation 124 of the target 120 so that the amplitude of the detected magnetic field varies with rotational angle of the target. [0026] The angle sensor 110 can take the form of an integrated circuit, with the coil 130 and the magnetic field sensing elements 134 supported by a semiconductor die and the axis of rotation 124 can be centered with respect to the sensing elements 134. The target 120 can have an inclined, or beveled surface 128 proximate to the semiconductor die or can otherwise present conductive properties adjacent to the coil that vary with rotational angle. With this configuration, the reflected field 122 can have a symmetric gradient with respect to the axis of rotation 124 of the target 120 and can correspond to conductive properties of the inclined surface of the target-However Romero does not disclose wherein each magnetic field induces eddy currents in the electrically conductive target, the eddy currents producing a counter magnetic field configured to alter the one or more output signals of at least one inductive sensor responsive to an angular displacement of the electrically conductive target.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858