DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Applicant’s arguments filed in the reply on August 21, 2026 were received and fully considered. Claim 1 was amended. Clam 11 is new. The current action is FINAL. Please see corresponding rejection headings and response to arguments section below for more detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112B
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the infrared camera captures up to 60 measurements per a second, detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter”, which is not further limiting independent claim 1 already recites these limitations. Accordingly, these limitations raise indefiniteness issues as they are redundant/duplicative, and should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims, as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 1 follows.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a process for credibility analysis. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine/product, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The following limitations set forth a judicial exception:
“A process for credibility analysis…calculating, by the one or more processors, a cognitive load of the subject using the collected oculomotor movement data received by the processor from the eye tracking device; determining, by the one or more processors, a first credibility score of the subject using the collected physiological data received by the processor from the set of physiological sensors; performing, by the one or more processors, a logistic regression analysis on the first credibility score to calculate a probability of deception; and comparing the probability of deception to a cutoff score and designates the subject as pass, fail, or inconclusive based on the cutoff score.”
These limitations describe a mathematical calculation. Furthermore, the limitations also describe a mental process as the skilled artisan is capable of performing the recited limitations and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner also notes that nothing from the claims suggest that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a human, or using simple pen/paper.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, integrates the identified judicial exception into a practical application.
For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
“…transmitting, by one or more processors, a series of questions to a subject as a credibility assessment; continuously capturing oculomotor movement data related to eye movement of the subject during the credibility assessment via an eye tracking device comprising an infrared camera, wherein the infrared camera captures up to 60 measurements per a second and detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter’ capturing via a set of physiological sensors, physiological data regarding physiological responses of the subject during the credibility assessment, wherein the set of physiological sensors comprises at least one cardiovascular sensor, a respiration sensor, and an electrodermal sensor…”
These additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the additional limitations are each recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to insignificant extra-solution activity, i.e., mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the identified judicial exception do not integrate claims into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations also do not add significantly more to the identified judicial exception because they pertain to widely-understood, routine, and conventional techniques for obtaining physiological data. It is conventional to utilize the recited sensors for the purposes of assessing credibility (polygraphs routinely assess credibility via physiological data, eye movement, heart rate, breathing/respiration, sweating/electrodermal, etc.). See also prior art cited in the current office action for example teachings. Moreover, a general-purpose processor that merely executes the judicial exception is not a particular machine. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 706-17 (Fed. Cir. 2014), cited in MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I).
Dependent claims 2-11 also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they merely further limit the abstract idea, recite limitations that do not integrate the claims into a practical application for substantially similar reasons as set forth above, and/or do not recite significantly more than the identified abstract idea for substantially similar reasons as set forth above.
Therefore, claims 1-11 are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuestas Rodriguez (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0383621 A1) (hereinafter “Rodriguez”), Twyman et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2017/0119295 A1) (hereinafter “Twyman”), and Wilde et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0160959 A1) (hereinafter “Wilde”).
Rodriguez was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claim 1, Rodriguez teaches a process for credibility analysis (title, abstract) comprising: transmitting, by one or more processors, a series of questions to a subject as a credibility assessment (par.0032 “text-like visual stimulus can be a question or a mathematical operation presented in the form of text”); continuously capturing oculomotor movement data related to eye movement of the subject during the credibility assessment via an eye tracking device comprising an infrared camera (par.0021 “infrared LEDs… to track the relative position of the user’s gaze on the screen, using the cornea’s reflection detected with a video camera”; see also par.0023, 26, 30, 45); ; capturing via set of physiological sensors, physiological data regarding physiological responses of the subject during the credibility assessment, wherein the set of physiological sensors comprises at least one cardiovascular sensor, a respiration sensor, and an electrodermal sensor (par.0018 “sensors that can be heart rate sensors, skin conductivity sensors”); calculating, by the one or more processors, a cognitive load of the subject using the collected oculomotor movement data received by the processor from the eye tracking device (abstract “correlating the physiological information… and determining the user's level of cognitive load and stress in response to the different types of stimulus”); determining, by the one or more processors, a first credibility score of the subject using the collected physiological data received by the processor from the set of physiological sensors (par.0037 “perform a pre-calculation for each combination of sensor”; see also par.48); performing, by the one or more processors, a logistic regression analysis on the first credibility score to calculate a probability of deception
However, Rodriguez does not explicitly teach wherein the infrared camera captures up to 60 measurements per a second and detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter… comparing the probability of deception to a cutoff score and designates the subject as pass, fail, or inconclusive based on the cutoff score.
Twyman teaches wherein the infrared camera captures up to 60 measurements per a second and detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter (abstract “detect when a person is hiding important information”; par.0101 “thermal camera… fast (60 frames per second) near-infrared camera measured pupil dilation and blink responses, and an ultra-fast (250 frames per second) infrared blink camera measured blink intensity during presentation of startle stimuli”).
WIlde teaches comparing the probability of deception to a cutoff score and designates the subject as pass, fail, or inconclusive based on the cutoff score (abstract “electronic lie and emotion detection system… prediction of lies”; par.0075 “process of receiving and analyzing sensor data 402… incoming sensor data will be weighted and by which the system can determine if the threshold for validity has been reached… can analyze against overlying norms as well as individual reactions of the subject using algorithmic analysis to determine if the subject is engaging in deceit, or the emotional state of the subject, as applicable.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) when the invention was filed to modify Rodriguez to utilize an infrared camera that captures up to 60 measurements per a second and detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter for the purpose of assessing high blink rates thereby suggesting a person is hiding important information (deception), as evidence by Twyman (abstract; par.0101). Additionally, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Rodriguez to assess deception utilizing a threshold (cutoff score) in the manner recited to determine if the subject is engaging in deceit based on assessment of data from multiple physiological sensors, as evidence by Wilde (par.0075-76). Lastly, PHOSITA would have had predictable success when the invention was filed to combine Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde because all the references relate to the same narrow field of endeavor, i.e., assessing deception via analysis of multiple physiological parameters.
With respect to claim 2, Rodriguez teaches further comprising receiving, by the one or more processors, a pupil size of a subject from the eye tracking device during the credibility assessment (par.0017 “determine changes in dilation of the pupils”).
With respect to claim 5, Rodriguez teaches wherein transmitting, by one or more processors, the series of questions to a subject as a credibility assessment comprises presenting questions to the subject with a plurality of different time intervals between questions (par.0032, 37, 38, 48, 49).
With respect to claim 6, Rodriguez teaches wherein transmitting, by one or more processors, the series of questions to a subject as a credibility assessment comprises transmitting the series of questions to the subject aurally (par.0032, 33).
With respect to claim 8, Rodriguez teaches wherein transmitting, by one or more processors, the series of questions to a subject as a credibility assessment comprises presenting questions to the subject directed to four issues of interest presented in a series of sessions, with only questions directed to two of the four issues of interest presented in each session (par.0037, 38, 48, 49).
With respect to claim 10, Rodriguez teaches wherein receiving, by the one or more processors, from a set of physiological sensors, data regarding physiological responses of the subject during the credibility assessment further receiving data from a body movement sensor tracking body movements of the subject during the assessment protocol (par.0027, 29, 45).
With respect to claim 11, Twyman teaches wherein the infrared camera captures up to 60 measurements per a second, detects changes in eye movement as small as one-tenth of a millimeter (abstract; par.0101). Although Twyman does not explicitly teach a +/- 20o /-40o vertical range at a predetermined distance from the subject, further modification to incorporate these feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Waldorf et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2009/0216092 A1) (hereinafter “Waldorf”).
Waldorf was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claims 3, 4, and 7, Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde teach a process for credibility analysis, as established above.
However, Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde do not explicitly teach the limitations further recited in claims 3, 4, and 7.
Regarding claim 3, Waldorf suggests wherein the processor is presenting to the subject one or more questions to obtain an emotional assessment, and calculating, by the one or more processors, an emotional assessment using the physiological measurements of the subject (par.0019 “polygraph machine measures various physiological changes… to determine when the subject is getting anxious”).
Regarding claim 4, Waldorf suggests wherein computing an overall probability of deception from the calculated cognitive load and the first probability of deception further comprises computing an overall probability of deception from the emotional assessment, the calculated cognitive load, and the first probability of deception (201-211 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Waldorf suggests wherein the overall probability of deception is calculated by comparing data collected from the subject to preestablished cutoffs to classify the assessment outcomes as credible or deceptive (par.0024 “compares it with various metrics to make an automatic determination of deception”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Rodriguez to incorporate obtaining an emotional assessment in order to determine when the subject is getting anxious during deception detection, as evidence by Waldorf (par.0019). Furthermore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Rodriguez when the invention was filed to incorporate computing an overall probability of deception and comparing data in the manner recited in order to accurately detect deception, as evidence by Waldorf (title, abstract).
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of He et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2015/0112606 A1) (hereinafter “He”).
He was applied in the previous office action.
With respect to claim 9, Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde teach a process for credibility analysis, as established above.
However, Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde do not explicitly teach the limitations further recited in claim 9.
He teaches wherein the cardiovascular sensor detects pulse transit time of the subject during the assessment (abstract; par.0913-914).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Rodriguez, Twyman, and Wilde to incorporate detection of pulse transit time in order to gather a baseline for the wearer’s vital signs and thereby increase the accuracy of the polygraph test, as evidence by He (par.0913-914).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections were fully considered, but they were not persuasive. Examiner maintains that the claimed invention, even as amended and when considered as a whole, recites an abstract idea (mathematical calculations and/or mental process) that is not integrated into a practical application. While the claims recite structural limitations (one or more processors, infrared camera… captures up to 60 measurements per second… at least one cardiovascular sensor, a respiration sensor, and an electrodermal sensor), these additional limitations merely amount to extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05g, which sets forth that mere data gathering does not integrate claims into a practical application). As to whether the additional limitations equate to a particular machine, Examiner is not convinced. Rather, the additional limitations are recited at a high level of generality. Moreover, it is widely known in the art of deceit detection (e.g. lie detector tests) to utilize physiological sensors of many kinds in order to assess whether a person is lying. See prior art cited in the current office action for example teachings. Moreover, and as the recited structural limitations are recited at a high level of generality and function in a conventional manner (e.g. obtaining physiological data from corresponding physiological sensor), any purported improvement to the claimed invention lies within the judicial exception itself. However, an alleged better way to perform a calculation/probability of deceit (as argued by applicant) is still a calculation nonetheless and would not be patent eligible. For at lease these reasons, the 35 USC 101 rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections raised in the previous office action have been considered, but are moot in view of the current combination of references that were necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art section above for more detail, updated citations (new Twyman and Wilde references), and updated obviousness rationale.
As the claims continue to be amended, Examiner withdraws the double patenting rejections and will revisit (if necessary) once all other issues have been overcome.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG Pub. No. 2020/0335032, par.0005
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791