DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wood (20190298547).
With regards to claim 1, Wood discloses a prosthetic system (FIG 4) comprising: an inner socket (1) configured to receive a residual limb (FIG 4), the socket (1) comprising at least one socket window (105); and an outer frame (2a, 2b) configured to receive the socket (FIG 4), the frame (2a, 2b) comprising at least one frame window (FIG 4), wherein the socket window is configured to align with the frame window when the socket is received within the frame (FIG 4), and wherein the frame window and the socket window are together configured to releasably receive a sensor for the residual limb ([0067]).
With regards to claim 7, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 1, wherein the socket comprises a proximal end (FIG 4) and a distal end (FIG 4), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 4).
With regards to claim 12, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 1, wherein the frame (2a, 2b) comprises a frame proximal end (FIG 4) and a frame distal end (FIG 4), the frame proximal end including a frame open portion configured to allow a residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 4).
With regards to claim 15, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 1, wherein the socket is configured to receive a residual arm limb (FIG 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marrs (5590567).
With regards to claim 2, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the socket window comprises at least one window tooth configured to engage a corresponding sensor tooth when the sensor is placed into the socket window. Marrs discloses a snap retainer system (FIG 5) comprising a receiving window (56). Marrs teaches the receiving window (56) comprises at least one window tooth (58) configured to engage a corresponding insert tooth (54) when the insert (52) is placed in the receiving window (56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s socket window to include at least one window tooth configured to engage a corresponding sensor tooth when the sensor is placed into the socket window, as taught by Marrs, in order to have low insertion force and strong resistance to unwanted removal (col 1 line 32).
With regards to claim 3, Wood discloses prosthetic system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the frame window (FIG 4) comprises at least one window tooth configured to engage a corresponding sensor tooth when the sensor is placed into the frame window.
Marrs discloses a snap retainer system (FIG 5) comprising a receiving window (56). Marrs teaches the receiving window (56) comprises at least one window tooth (58) configured to engage a corresponding insert tooth (54) when the insert (52) is placed in the receiving window (56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s frame window to include at least one window tooth configured to engage a corresponding sensor tooth when the sensor is placed into the frame window, as taught by Marrs, in order to have low insertion force and strong resistance to unwanted removal (col 1 line 32).
With regards to claim 4, Wood as modified by Marrs discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 2, wherein the socket window (105) and/or frame window (FIG 4) comprise a plurality of window teeth (Marrs 58), the space between adjacent window teeth being configured to provide a snap-fit (Marrs FIG 5) for a sensor tooth (Marrs 54), such that the sensor tooth is configured to move in sequential snap-fits between adjacent window teeth when a user exerts a force on the sensor (Marrs FIG 5).
With regards to claim 5, Wood as modified by Marrs discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 2, wherein the prosthetic system further comprises the sensor ([0067]), wherein the sensor comprises at least one tooth (Marrs 54) for engaging the window tooth (Marrs 58).
With regards to claim 6, Wood as modified by Marrs discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 2, wherein the sensor is an electromyography sensor ([0067]).
Claim(s) 8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) as applied to claims 7 and 12 above, and further in view of Hurley (20130123940).
With regards to claim 8, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 7, but fails to disclose that the socket comprises a socket slit, the socket slit extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket, and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket.
Hurley discloses a prosthetic system (FIG 1) comprising an inner socket (FIG 1) with a proximal end (upper end of FIG 1) and a distal end (lower end of FIG 1), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 1). Hurley teaches that the socket (FIG 1) comprises a socket slit (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1), the socket slit (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1) extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket (FIG 1), and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket (when band 4 is tightened the width of the socket slit at the proximal end will change while the width of the socket slit at the distal end will remain substantially the same). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the socket comprises a socket slit, the socket slit extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket, and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket, as taught by Hurley, in order to be able to tighten and loosen the prosthetic ([0185]).
With regards to claim 13, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 12, wherein the socket comprises a proximal end (FIG 4) and a distal end (FIG 4), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 4), but fails to disclose the socket comprises a socket slit, the socket slit extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket, and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket, and wherein the frame comprises a frame slit, the frame slit extending from an edge of the frame open portion and substantially towards the frame distal end, the frame slit being configured to be disposed adjacent to the socket slit when the socket is received within the frame.
Hurley discloses a prosthetic system (FIG 1) comprising an inner socket (FIG 1) with a proximal end (upper end of FIG 1) and a distal end (lower end of FIG 1), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 1). Hurley teaches that the socket (FIG 1) comprises a socket slit (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1), the socket slit (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1) extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket (FIG 1), and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket (when band 4 is tightened the width of the socket slit at the proximal end will change while the width of the socket slit at the distal end will remain substantially the same), and wherein the frame comprises a frame slit (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1, where the frame may correspond with the structure of the socket ([0143]), the frame slit extending from an edge of the frame open portion and substantially towards the frame distal end (FIG 1, where the frame may correspond with the structure of the socket ([0143]), the frame slit being configured to be disposed adjacent to the socket slit when the socket is received within the frame ([0143]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the socket comprises a socket slit, the socket slit extending from an edge of the open portion and substantially towards the distal end of the socket, and wherein the width of the socket slit at the edge of the open portion is configured to change relative to the width of the socket slit at the end of the socket slit that substantially approaches the distal end of the socket and wherein the frame comprises a frame slit, the frame slit extending from an edge of the frame open portion and substantially towards the frame distal end, the frame slit being configured to be disposed adjacent to the socket slit when the socket is received within the frame, as taught by Hurley, in order to be able to tighten and loosen the prosthetic ([0185]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) in view of Hurley (20130123940) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dillingham (20200352748).
With regards to claim 9, Wood as modified by Hurley discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 8, but fails to disclose that the socket comprises a tongue extending along the length of the socket slit, and wherein the tongue is configured to be disposed adjacent to the residual limb.
Dillingham discloses a prosthetic system (FIG 20b) comprising an inner socket (178) with a proximal end (upper end of FIG 20b) and a distal end (lower end of FIG 20b), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 20b), and a socket slit (portion covered by 176 in FIG 20b). Dillingham teaches that the socket (178) comprises a tongue (176) extending along the length of the socket slit (FIG 20b), and wherein the tongue is configured to be disposed adjacent to the residual limb (socket 178 with tongue 176 in FIG 20b is configured to directly receive the residual limb). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the socket comprises a tongue extending along the length of the socket slit, and wherein the tongue is configured to be disposed adjacent to the residual limb, as taught by Dillingham, in order to more comfortable receive the limb ([0204]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miller (20230100239).
With regards to claim 10, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 1, wherein the frame (2a, 2b) comprises one or more channels (202) configured to receive a cable ([0065]), but fails to disclose that the frame (2a, 2b) further comprises an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device (201).
Miller discloses an adjustable tensioning device (FIG 25) configured for placement in a prosthetic frame (231). Miller teaches that the frame (231) further comprises an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device (251; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as being a hole, see [0018] of the instant application, and equivalents thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the frame further comprises an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device, as taught by Miller, in order to ensure that the device is properly centered ([0144]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) and Miller (20230100239) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Forester (20140243996).
With regards to claim 11, Wood in view of Miller discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 10, wherein the prosthetic system comprises the cable (tensioning cable located within 202, [0065]) and the cable tensioning device (201), the cable being coupled to the cable tensioning device (tensioning dial 201 configured to actuate tensioning cable, so they must be coupled [0065]), but fails to disclose that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket.
Forester discloses a prosthetic system (1) with a slit (14), a cable ([0034]), and a cable tensioning device (30). Forester teaches that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket ([0034]) and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket ([0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prosthetic system of Wood in view of Miller to include operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket, as taught by Forester, in order to adapt the prosthetic to the user ([0036]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (20190298547) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Miller (20230100239), Forester (20140243996), and Hurley (20130123940).
With regards to claim 14, Wood discloses a prosthetic system according to claim 12, wherein the frame comprises one or more channels (202) configured to receive a cable ([0065]), wherein the prosthetic system (FIG 4) comprises the cable ([0065]) and the cable tensioning device (201), the cable being coupled to the cable tensioning device (tensioning dial 201 configured to actuate tensioning cable, so they must be coupled [0065]), but fails to disclose that the frame further comprising an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device, that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket, and that the frame proximal end comprises a gap, the gap being configured to narrow when the cable tensioning device is operated in the first direction, the gap being configured to widen when the cable tensioning device is operated in the second direction.
Miller discloses an adjustable tensioning device (FIG 25) configured for placement in a prosthetic frame (231). Miller teaches that the frame (231) further comprises an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device (251; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as being a hole, see [0018] of the instant application, and equivalents thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the frame further comprises an engagement means configured to receive a cable tensioning device, as taught by Miller, in order to ensure that the device is properly centered ([0144]).
Wood as modified by Miller fails to disclose that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket. Forester discloses a prosthetic system (1) with a slit (14), a cable ([0034]), and a cable tensioning device (30). Forester teaches that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket ([0034]) and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket ([0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that operating the cable tensioning device in a first direction urges the frame to tighten about the socket and operating the cable tensioning device in a second direction urges the frame to loosen about the socket, as taught by Forester, in order to adapt the prosthetic to the user ([0036]).
Wood as modified by Miller and Forester fails to disclose that the frame proximal end comprises a gap, the gap being configured to narrow when the cable tensioning device is operated in the first direction, the gap being configured to widen when the cable tensioning device is operated in the second direction. Hurley discloses a prosthetic system (FIG 1) comprising an inner socket (FIG 1) and a support frame ([0143]) with a proximal end (upper end of FIG 1) and a distal end (lower end of FIG 1), the proximal end including an open portion configured to allow the residual limb to be inserted into the socket or removed from the socket (FIG 1). Hurley teaches that the frame proximal end comprises a gap (between two of struts 7 in FIG 1, where the frame may correspond with the structure of the socket ([0143]), the gap being configured to narrow when the cable tensioning device is operated in the first direction (when band 4 is tightened the width of the socket and frame slits will narrow), the gap being configured to widen when the cable tensioning device is operated in the second direction (when band 4 is tightened the width of the socket and frame slits will widen). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wood’s prosthetic system to include that the frame proximal end comprises a gap, the gap being configured to narrow when the cable tensioning device is operated in the first direction, the gap being configured to widen when the cable tensioning device is operated in the second direction, as taught by Hurley, in order to be able to tighten and loosen the prosthetic ([0185]).
Conclusion
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774