DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statements filed 8/15/2024 and 3/25/2025 have been considered and are included in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a through hole included in the bottom wall and the side walls recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a through hole that is included in one of the bottom wall and the side walls”. It is unclear if the through hole is in either the bottom wall or the side walls, or if the through hole is partially through both.
Claims 2-13 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabowski et al. (DE 102019123446, hereinafter “Grabowski ‘446”, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Grabowski ‘446 discloses a vehicle front trunk ((3), Fig. 1) comprising: a storing portion (9) having a box shape (Fig. 9) that opens upward, the storing portion being disposed in front of a vehicular compartment (passenger compartment (11)) and having a storing space (compartments (14), (15), (16), (17) within the interior of (9)) therein, the storing portion including a bottom wall (12) and side walls (13) extending upward from the bottom wall (Fig. 2), the bottom wall and the side walls defining the storing space, and a through hole ((23), (21)) that is included in one of the bottom wall and the side walls and through which the storing space is communicated with an outer space outside the storing portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 1, and discloses wherein the through hole (23) is in the bottom wall (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 1, and discloses wherein the through hole (21) is in a lower edge portion of one of the side walls (Fig. 3, at least one of the through holes (21) is in a lower section of the side wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabowski et al. (DE 102019123446, hereinafter “Grabowski ‘446”, machine translation attached) in view of Grabowski et al. (DE 102021112621, hereinafter “Grabowski ‘621”, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 1, and discloses wherein the through hole is included in one of the bottom wall (23) and a lower edge portion of tone of the side walls (21). However, Grabowski ‘446 does not explicitly disclose wherein the bottom wall is inclined downward as it extends toward the through hole.
Grabowski ‘621, like Grabowski ‘446, teaches a front vehicle component having a bottom wall, and further teaches the bottom wall (37) is inclined downward as it extends toward the through hole ((38), paragraph [0081] of the machine translation, Figs. 2, 10 show a bottom wall inclined downward towards through holes for draining purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front trunk of Grabowski ‘446 to provide an inclined bottom as taught by Grabowski ‘621, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a pathway for drainage (Grabowski ‘621: paragraph [0081] of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 2, and discloses wherein the through hole (23) is in the bottom wall (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 2, and discloses wherein the through hole (21) is in a lower edge portion of one of the side walls (Fig. 3, at least one of the through holes (21) is in a lower section of the side wall).
Claims 5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabowski et al. (DE 102019123446, hereinafter “Grabowski ‘446”, machine translation attached) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 10384726).
Regarding claim 5, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 3. However, Grabowski ‘446 does not explicitly disclose wherein the storing portion includes a protrusion protruding from the bottom wall and being adjacent to the through hole.
Nakamura et al., like Grabowski ‘466, teaches a storing portion (21), and further teaches wherein a protrusion protruding (31) from the bottom wall (21a) and being adjacent to the through hole ((H), Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front trunk of Grabowski et al. to include a protrusion protruding from the bottom wall and adjacent to the through hole as is taught by Nakamura et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to help incline the floor towards the drain hole to prevent further sitting water if entered into the storing portion.
Regarding claim 11, Grabowski ‘446 as modified by Nakamura et al. teaches the vehicle front trunk of claim 5, and teaches (references to Nakamura et al.) wherein the side walls (21c) include two side walls that are opposite each other with respect to a vehicular width direction, a front wall, and a rear wall, and the protrusion extends along one of the two side walls (Fig. 5, protrusion includes the convex portions (31) that include the portion along the side wall in the figure, col. 6, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 12, Grabowski ‘446 as modified by Nakamura et al. teaches the vehicle front trunk of claim 11, and teaches (references to Nakamura et al.) wherein the protrusion extends from the front wall to the rear wall (Figs. 4-5 show that the portion along side wall (21c) extends from the front wall to the rear wall).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabowski et al. (DE 102019123446, hereinafter “Grabowski ‘446”, machine translation attached) in view of Eckert et al. (US 10710424).
Regarding claim 8, Grabowski ‘446 discloses the vehicle front trunk of claim 1, and disclose wherein the side walls include two side walls that are opposite each other with respect to a vehicular width direction, a front wall, and a rear wall (Fig. 2).
However, Grabowski ‘446 does not disclose wherein a motor for moving a vehicle is disposed outside the rear wall of the storing portion.
Eckert et al., like Grabowski ‘446, teaches a vehicle front trunk, and further teaches the motor (201) for moving a vehicle is disposed outside the rear wall of the storing portion (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front trunk of Grabowski ‘446 to provide the motor outside of the rear wall of the storing portion, so that one can have access to the storing portion without having to deal with the heat, etc. of the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show features similar to those of Applicant’s vehicle front trunk, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the combined limitations of applicant’s claimed invention. Specifically, a hollow member disposed above the through hole, which is expandable and contractable, and between a side wall and the protrusion, along with the other limitations.
Conclusion
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643