DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner appreciate the time and effort of the Applicant and Mr. Persino in the compact prosecution of this case. The claim objections and the 112 rejections have been withdrawn. During the last Interview, we discussed the invention and compared the invention with the prior art. While the amendments tend to slightly distinct the invention, it has not put the claims in condition for allowance.
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-9, 16-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20200365972) in view Huang et al. (US 20160351995).
Regarding claim 1:
Jeon et al. disclose that (in Figs. 3A-3C, 5, 6A-6B, 7 and 8A-8B) an electronic device (300) comprising: a housing (310) including a conductive member (321) and a non-conductive member (322) coupled to the conductive member (321); a conductive portion split (3221a) from the conductive member (321) through at least one split portion (defined by 3221a); an antenna structure (AR1) disposed in an inner space of the housing (310) to be at least partially capacitively coupled to the conductive portion (3221a); a wireless communication circuit (595) configured to at least one of transmit or receive a wireless signal in at least one predetermined frequency band via the antenna structure (AR1; Para. 0116, Lines 4-6; Para. 0203, Lines 23-26) and the conductive portion (3221a);wherein the conductive portion (3221a) is disposed to be invisible from an outside of the electronic device (300) through the non-conductive member (322), wherein the housing (310) includes an opening (308).
Jeon et al. are silent on that the housing includes an electronic component disposed in the inner space of the housing and an opening, wherein at least a portion of the opening is provided through at least a portion of the conductive portion, and wherein the electronic component is connected to the outside of the electronic device through the opening.
Huang et al. disclose the housing (1) includes an electronic component (2/5) disposed in the inner space of the housing (1) and an opening (111/113), wherein at least a portion of the opening (111/113) is provided through at least a portion of a conductive portion (11), and wherein the electronic component (2/5) is connected to the outside of the electronic device (100) through the opening (111/113).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the housing includes an electronic component disposed in the inner space of the housing and an opening, wherein at least a portion of the opening is provided through at least a portion of the conductive portion, and wherein the electronic component is connected to the outside of the electronic device through the opening as taught by Huang et al. into the device of Jeon et al. for the benefit of allowing for a socket connection (Para. 0023, Lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 2:
Jeon et al. disclose the at least one split portion (defined by 3221a) is filled with the non-conductive member (322; Para. 0138, Lines 17-20).
Regarding claim 4:
Jeon et al. disclose a device substrate (3211) disposed in the housing (310); and an antenna carrier (590) disposed to at least partially overlap the device substrate (3211), wherein the antenna structure (AR1) is disposed on the antenna carrier (590).
Regarding claim 8:
Jeon et al. disclose the wireless communication circuit (595) is disposed on the device substrate (3211), and wherein the antenna structure (AR1) is electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit (595) through placement operation of the antenna carrier (590).
Regarding claim 9:
Jeon et al. disclose a device substrate (3211, 3222) disposed in the inner space of the housing (310), wherein the antenna structure (AR1) includes a conductive pattern (510-540) disposed on the device substrate (3211, 3222).
Regarding claim 16:
Jeon et al. does not specifically disclose the electronic component includes at least one of a socket device, a speaker device, a microphone, or a connector port.
Huang et al. disclose the electronic component (2/5) includes at least one of a socket device (Para. 0023, Lines 1-2; Para. 0035, Lines 4-6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the at least one electronic component includes at least one of a socket device, a speaker device, a microphone, or a connector port as taught by Huang et al. into the device of Jeon et al. in order to allow for a socket connection without increasing the size of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 17:
Jeon et al. disclose further comprising a display (301) disposed in the inner space of the housing (310) and disposed to be visible from the outside of the electronic device (300) through at least a portion of the housing (310; Para. 0134, Lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 18:
Jeon et al. disclose (in Figs. 3A-3C, 5, 6A-6B, 7 and 8A-8B) an electronic device (300) comprising: a front cover (302); a rear cover (311) opposite to the front cover (302); a lateral member (320) disposed to surround an inner space between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311), the lateral member (320) including a conductive member (321) and a non-conductive member (322) coupled to the conductive member (321); a device substrate (3211) disposed in the inner space between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311); a display (301) disposed in the inner space between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311) to be visible from outside of the electronic device (300) through at least a portion of the front cover (302; Para. 0134, Lines 27-30); an antenna carrier (590) disposed between the device substrate (3211) and the rear cover (311), the antenna carrier (590) including at least one antenna structure (AR1); a conductive portion (3221a) disposed to be coupled with the at least one antenna structure (AR1) and split from the conductive member (321) by at least one split portion (defined by 3221a); a wireless communication circuit (595) configured to at least one of transmit or receive a wireless signal via the antenna structure (AR1; Para. 0116, Lines 4-6; Para. 0203, Lines 23-26) and the conductive portion (3221a), an electronic component (452) disposed in the inner space between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311), wherein the conductive portion (3221a) is disposed to be invisible from the outside of the electronic device (300) through the non-conductive member (322), wherein the lateral member (320) includes an opening (308/309) provided through at least a portion of the conductive member (322), wherein the conductive portion (3221a) is disposed on at least the portion of the conductive member (322) provided with the opening (308/309).
Jeon et al. are silent on that the electronic component is connected to the outside of the electronic device through the opening.
Huang et al. disclose the electronic component (2/5) is connected to the outside of the electronic device (100) through the opening (111/113).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electronic component is connected to the outside of the electronic device through the opening as taught by Huang et al. into the device of Jeon et al. in order to allow for additional electronic components such as a socket connection without increasing the size of the electronic device. Regarding claim 19:
Jeon et al. disclose the at least one split portion (defined by 3221a) is filled with the non-conductive member (322; Para. 0138, Lines 17-20).
Regarding claim 21:
Jeon et al. are silent on that the electronic component includes at least one of a socket device.
Huang et al. disclose the electronic component (2/5) includes at least one of a socket device (Para. 0023, Lines 1-2; Para. 0035, Lines 4-6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the at least one electronic component includes at least one of a socket device, a speaker device, a microphone, or a connector port as taught by Huang et al. into the device of Jeon et al. in order to allow for additional electronic components such as a socket connection without increasing the size of the electronic device.
Claims 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20200365972) in view Huang et al. (US 20160351995).
Regarding claim 3:
Jeon as modified are silent on that the at least one split portion includes a pair of split portions spaced apart at a predetermined interval, and wherein the conductive portion is separated from the conductive member through the pair of split portions.
HAN et al. disclose (in Fig. 1) the at least one split portion includes a pair of split portions (221, 222) spaced apart at a predetermined interval, and wherein the conductive portion (22) is separated from the conductive member (21) through the pair of split portions (221, 222).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the at least one split portion comprises a pair of split portions spaced apart at a predetermined interval, and wherein the conductive portion is separated from the conductive member through the pair of split portions as taught by HAN et al. into the modified device of Jeon for the benefit of achieving efficient mounting structure for increasing an antenna gain, and realize a related new antenna module (Para. 0004, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 5:
Jeon as modified are silent on that the antenna structure includes a laser direct structuring (LDS) pattern provided on the antenna carrier.
HAN et al. disclose the antenna structure includes a laser direct structuring (LDS) pattern provided on the antenna carrier (Para. 0037, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna structure comprises a laser direct structuring (LDS) pattern provided on the antenna carrier as taught by HAN et al. into the modified device of Jeon for the benefit of enhancing design freedom for complex 3D shapes, miniaturization and weight reduction through component integration, and improved performance such as better RF performance.
Regarding claim 6:
Jeon as modified are silent on that the antenna structure includes a conductive plate or a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) attached to the antenna carrier.
HAN et al. disclose the antenna structure includes a conductive plate or a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) attached to the antenna carrier (Para. 0037, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna structure comprises a conductive plate or a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) attached to the antenna carrier as taught by HAN et al. into the modified device of Jeon for the benefit of achieving efficient mounting structure for increasing an antenna gain, and realize a related new antenna module (Para. 0004, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 7:
Jeon et al. disclose injection-molded method for designing the non-conductive portion to be structurally combined with the conductive portion to form a single housing (Para. 0006, Lines 1-3; Para. 0134, Lines 7-10).
Jeon as modified are silent on that the antenna structure is at least partially embedded in the antenna carrier made of an injection-molded material.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna structure is at least partially embedded in the antenna carrier made of an injection-molded material for the benefit of enhancing design freedom for complex 3D shapes, miniaturization and weight reduction through component integration, and improved performance such as better RF performance.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20200365972) in view Huang et al. (US 20160351995) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Iellici et al. (US 20140347227).
Regarding claim 10:
Jeon et al. disclose the housing (310) includes: a front cover (302), a rear cover (311), a lateral member (320), disposed to surround the inner space of the housing (310) between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311), including the conductive member (321) and the non-conductive member (322).
Jeon et al. (in Figs. 3A-3C, 5, 6A-6B, 7, 8A-8B and 10) are silent on that a frame member made of a dielectric material coupled to the lateral member, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to be invisible from the outside of the electronic device through the frame member.
Jeon et al. (in Fig. 18) disclose a frame member (621) coupled to the lateral member (622, 623), and wherein the lateral member (622, 623) is disposed to be invisible from the outside of the electronic device (600) through the frame member (621).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a frame member made of a dielectric material coupled to the lateral member, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to be invisible from the outside of the electronic device through the frame member as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 18 of Jeon et al. for the benefit of preventing degradation of sensitivity in the electronic device (Para. 0188, Lines 1-8).
Jeon et al. are silent on that the frame member made of a dielectric material.
lellici et al. disclose (in Figs. 1 and 4) the frame member made of a dielectric material (404) coupled to the lateral member (defined by 106, 108, 110, and 112)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the frame member made of a dielectric material as taught by lellici et al. into the device of Jeon et al. for the benefit of allowing the antenna to resonate at a particular frequency, and/or, for certain applications, may be designed to radiate very limited, or substantially zero, power at a particular frequency or set of frequencies (Para. 0023, Line 18-21).
Regarding claim, 11:
Jeon et al. disclose the conductive portion (3221a) is coupled to at least one of the non-conductive member (322) or the frame member (318) through an injection molding method (Para. 0006, Lines 1-3; Para. 0134, Lines 7-10; Para. 0138, Lines 17-20).
Regarding claim 12:
Jeon as modified are silent on that the frame member is made of a ceramic material.
Iellici et al. disclose the frame member (defined by 404) is made of a ceramic material (Para. 0027, Lines 1-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the frame member is made of a ceramic material as taught by lellici et al. into the device of Jeon et al. for the benefit of allowing the antenna to resonate at a particular frequency, and/or, for certain applications, may be designed to radiate very limited, or substantially zero, power at a particular frequency or set of frequencies (Para. 0023, Line 18-21).
Regarding claim 14:
Jeon et al. disclose the housing (310) includes: a front cover (302), a rear cover (311), and a lateral member (320), disposed to surround the inner space of the housing (310) between the front cover (302) and the rear cover (311), including the conductive member (321) and the non-conductive member (322), wherein the lateral member (320) includes the opening (308).
Jeon et al. (in Figs. 3A-3C, 5, 6A-6B, 7, 8A-8B and 10) are silent on that at least another portion of the opening is provided through at least a portion of the conductive member, and wherein the conductive portion is disposed on at least a part of the conductive member.
Jeon et al. (in Fig. 18) disclose at least another portion of the opening (formed by 602, 621 and 622) is provided through at least a portion of the conductive member (defined by 621), and wherein the conductive portion (620) is disposed on at least a part of the conductive member (defined by 621).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a frame member made of a dielectric material coupled to the lateral member, and wherein the lateral member is disposed to be invisible from the outside of the electronic device through the frame member as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 18 of Jeon et al. for the benefit of preventing degradation of sensitivity in the electronic device (Para. 0188, Lines 1-8).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20200365972) in view Vazquez et al. (US 20190393586).
Regarding claim 13:
Jeon et al. disclose (in Figs. 3A-3C, 5, 6A-6B, 7 and 8A-8B) an electronic device (300) comprising: a housing (310) including a conductive member (321) and a non-conductive member (322) coupled to the conductive member (321); a conductive portion (3221a) split from the conductive member (322) through at least one split portion (3221a); an antenna structure (AR1) disposed in an inner space of the housing (310) to be at least partially capacitively coupled to the conductive portion (3221a); a wireless communication circuit (595) configured to at least one of transmit or receive a wireless signal in at least one predetermined frequency band via the antenna structure (AR1; Para. 0116, Lines 4-6; Para. 0203, Lines 23-26) and the conductive portion (3221a); wherein the conductive portion (3221a) is disposed to be invisible from outside of the electronic device (300) through the non-conductive member (322).
Jeon et al. are silent on that a switching circuit disposed in an electrical path electrically interconnecting the wireless communication circuit and the antenna structure, the switching circuit being configured to selectively switch at least two matching elements; and a processor configured to control the switching circuit.
Vazquez et al. disclose (in Figs. 3, 8 and 9A-9D) a switching circuit (42) disposed in an electrical path (56) electrically interconnecting the wireless communication circuit (26) and the antenna structure (40), the switching circuit (42) being configured to selectively switch at least two matching elements (L3-L7); and a processor (28) configured to control the switching circuit (42; Para. 0106, Lines 1-8; Para. 0143, Lines 8-11; Para. 0144, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a switching circuit disposed in an electrical path electrically interconnecting the wireless communication circuit and the antenna structure, the switching circuit being configured to selectively switch at least two matching elements; and a processor configured to control the switching circuit as taught by Vazquez et al. into the device of Jeon et al. for the benefit of turning the device to provide improved wireless communications circuitry for wireless electronic devices (Para. 0005, Lines 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845