DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Figs 1-2, claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that none of the present claims are directed to patentably distinct species. This is not found persuasive because the election is based on an election of species and not on an election of claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2023/0158274 to Justus et al. (Justus).
Regarding claim 1, Justus discloses a tray comprising a first layer (38) having a plurality of compartments, a second layer (34), non-removably coupled to the first layer, a container is positioned within interior of the second layer, a cover (32) attachable to an opening of the second layer, the cover (32) having a passageway (40) extending through the cover (32) and into interior of the second layer (34) (Fig 4).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 8,177,123 to Voute et al. (Voute).
Regarding claim 1, Voute discloses a tray (117) comprising a first layer (204) having a plurality of compartments (221), a second layer (85), non-removably coupled to the first layer, a container is positioned within interior of the second layer, a cover (115) attachable to an opening (80) of the second layer (85), the cover (115) having a passageway (420) extending through the cover (115) and into interior of the second layer (85) (Fig 3).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 4,687,096 to Mansur.
Regarding claim 1, Mansur discloses a tray (12) comprising a first layer (16) having a plurality of compartments (28), a second layer (18), non-removably coupled to the first layer (16), a container (compartment) is positioned within interior of the second layer, a cover (14) attachable to an opening (top) of the second layer (18), the cover (14) having a passageway (50) extending through the cover (14) and into interior of the second layer (18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0196922 to Hughett, Sr (Hughett) in view of US 2015/0375937 to McIntosh.
Regarding claim 1, Hughett discloses a tray (Fig 6a) comprising a first layer (110) having a plurality of compartments (114, 116), a second layer (120), non-removably coupled to the first layer (110) (€0054), a container (storage tray) is positioned within interior of the second layer (120), a cover (A, Fig 6a below) attachable to an opening (121) of the second layer (120). Hughett does not teach cover having a passageway as recited. However, McIntosh discloses a container (Fig 1) and in particular discloses the container comprising a cover (200), the cover (200) having a passageway (410) extending through the cover (200) and into interior of the container (Figs 1-3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an opening extending through the Hughett cover as suggested by McIntosh in order to provide a form of indicia for the contents in the second layer of the tray (McIntosh, €0030). The modification would have resulted in the opening capable of being a passageway into interior of the second layer since it has the structure as recited and the cover extends in the second layer in its entirety (Fig 6a).
Regarding claim 2, Hughett further discloses the first layer (110) being a frame (Fig 6a).
Regarding claim 3, Hughett further discloses plurality of compartments includes a first, second, third and fourth compartment (118, 114, 116, 112).
Regarding claim 4, Hughett further discloses first compartment (116) positioned between second (114) and third compartment (112).
Regarding claim 5, Hughett further discloses first compartment (116) including a first barrier wall (A, Fig 1a below) and second barrier wall (B, Fig 1a below).
Regarding claim 6, Hughett further discloses first barrier wall and second barrier wall forming a first opening (C, Fig 1a below).
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735