DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the scope of the claims is unclear because it recites a second opening; however, a first opening has not been recited. It is unclear if applicant is claiming one opening or a plurality of openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0196922 to Hughett, Sr (Hughett) in view of US 2015/0375937 to McIntosh.
Regarding claim 1, Hughett discloses a tray (Fig 6a) comprising a first layer (110) having a first compartment (114) and second compartment (116), first compartment includes a first compartment first barrier wall (A, Fig 6b) and first compartment second barrier wall (B, Fig 6b), first compartment first barrier wall and first compartment second barrier wall form a second opening (C, Fig 6b) extending through both first compartment (114) and second compartment (116), a second layer (120), non-removably coupled to the first layer (110) (€0054), a container (storage tray) is positioned within interior of the second layer (120), a cover (A, Fig 6a below) attachable to an opening (121) of the second layer (120). Hughett does not teach cover having a passageway as recited. However, McIntosh discloses a container (Fig 1) and in particular discloses the container comprising a cover (200), the cover (200) having a passageway (410) extending through the cover (200) and into interior of the container (Figs 1-3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an opening extending through the Hughett cover as suggested by McIntosh in order to provide a form of indicia for the contents in the second layer of the tray (McIntosh, €0030). The modification would have resulted in the opening capable of being a passageway into interior of the second layer since it has the structure as recited and the cover extends in the second layer in its entirety (Fig 6a).
Regarding claim 2, Hughett further discloses the first layer (110) being a frame (Fig 6a).
Regarding claim 3, Hughett further discloses plurality of compartments includes a third and fourth compartment (112, 118).
Regarding claim 4, Hughett further discloses first compartment (114) positioned between the second (116) and third compartment (112).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that previous claim 7 was not rejected in the prior action and thus the claims as amended overcome the applied prior art of record. This is not persuasive because the claims as currently amended do not recite all the limitations of previous claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735