Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “have” in line 2 of the claim to —having—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “pillows” in line 1 of the claim to —pillow—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prince (US 2022/0395109).
Regarding Claim 1, Prince discloses a pillow (300), comprising: a body have a top, a bottom, and a plurality of sides, wherein at least a portion of the body is formed by a 3 dimensional (3D) printed matrix (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Prince discloses wherein the 3D printed matrix is formed by a plurality of cells, each cell of the plurality of cells having a plurality of struts and nodes interconnecting the struts (see Figs. 3 and 4 and para. [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, Prince discloses wherein one or more regions of the pillow has a construction characteristic different from a construction characteristic of one or more other regions of the pillow (“variable density lattice structure”, see para. [0044], and claim 4 of Prince) .
Regarding Claim 4, Prince discloses wherein one of the one or more regions is a central region (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Prince discloses wherein one of the one or more regions is other than a central region (see para. [0044] and Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Prince discloses wherein an entirety of the body is formed by the 3D printed matrix (see Figs. 3 and 4 and para. 0057]).
Regarding Claim 12, Prince discloses wherein the top is formed by the 3D matrix (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Prince discloses wherein a portion of the top is formed by the 3D matrix (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Prince discloses wherein the plurality of sides are formed by gusset panels and wherein one or more of the gusset panels are formed by the 3D matrix (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Prince discloses wherein the 3D printed matrix is formed from thermoplastic elastomers (TPEs), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), thermoplastic co-polyester (TPC), polyurethane (PU), polyurethane-like and polyurethane-based materials, polypropylene (PP), polyamide (nylon) and combinations thereof (see para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 16, Prince discloses wherein the pillow is a travel pillows, a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) pillow, a cervical pillow, a pregnancy pillow, a chiropractic pillow, or a body pillow (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 17, Prince discloses wherein the pillow has differing support characteristics at different zones of the pillow (see claim 4 of Prince).
Regarding Claim 18, Prince discloses wherein the pillow has a same support characteristics in all of the zones of the pillow (see para. [0057], i.e. constant or variable firmness).
Regarding Claim 19, Prince discloses wherein the body or portion of the body is printed by vat polymerization, stereolithography, digital light processing (see para. [0029]). Examiner notes that claim 19 is a product-by process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” [citations omitted] See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prince (US 2022/0395109) in view of Ho (US 2020/0205589)
Regarding Claim 5, Prince fails to explicitly disclose wherein the central region has a greater softness than the one or more other regions of the pillow. Prince discloses in Figs. 3 and 4 a pillow with a central region bordered by a perimeter region that has a different construction (see Figs. 3 and 4). Prince is concerned with varying the firmness of different locations across the pillow to minimize pressure points for various types of sleepers (see Claim 4 of Prince and [0006]). Ho teaches a pillow formed by a similar lattice structure with different regions of varying stiffnesses (see Figs. 7-9 and para. [0029]). Prince and Ho are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. pillows. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the central region of Prince with a greater softness than other regions of the pillow. The motivation would have been to tailor and customize a pillow to a user’s desired feel and/or comfort level as taught by Ho.
Regarding Claim 6, Prince discloses wherein the one or more other regions surround the central region (see Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Prince discloses wherein the central region is formed by the 3D matrix having one or more of a lesser density of cells forming the matrix, a lesser volume of material in at least some of the cells, and a different type or shape of the cells that form the central region (see Figs. 3 and 4, “variable density lattice structure”, see para. [0044], and claim 4 of Prince).
Regarding Claim 9, Prince fails to explicitly disclose wherein the other than the central region has a greater softness than a central region of the pillow. Using the same analysis which was used in the rejection of Claim 5, above, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the other than the central region Prince with a greater softness than the central region of the pillow. The motivation would have been to tailor and customize a pillow to a user’s desired feel and/or comfort level as taught by Ho.
Regarding Claim 10, Prince discloses wherein the other than the central region is formed by the 3D matrix having one or more of a lesser density of cells forming the matrix, a lesser volume of material in at least some of the cells, and a different type or shape of the cells that form the central region (see Figs. 3 and 4, “variable density lattice structure”, see para. [0044], and claim 4 of Prince).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619