The response filed 10/31/2024 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabet et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160112181 A1), hereafter referred to as Tabet.
In regard to Claim 1, Tabet teaches A data transmission method (FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10), wherein the method is performed by a first apparatus (base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and the method comprises: sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches monitoring for second data on a second resource (The UE may transmit additional user data at sub-frame 918 which may be received by the base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10) associated with the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH at sub-frame 912b, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10) in response to determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource (The UE may transmit ACK/NACK associated with HARQ_DL_1 at sub-frame 916, Para. 122, FIG. 10), wherein the determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource comprises determining whether first control information indicating the first apparatus to retransmit the first data is not received or determining that acknowledgment information of the first data is received (The UE may transmit ACK/NACK associated with HARQ_DL_1 at sub-frame 916, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and wherein a time offset of the second resource (sub-frame 918, Para. 122, FIG. 10) relative to the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) is a first time offset (FIG. 10 shows 5 sub-frames between sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918).
In regard to Claim 2, Tabet teaches before the sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), the method comprises: sending the first data on a preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches receiving second control information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), wherein the second control information indicates the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows that reception of the ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 907 points to sub-frame 911b) on which the first apparatus retransmits the first data (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, and, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10).
In regard to Claim 3, Tabet teaches before the sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), the method comprises: sending the first data on a preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches the sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10) comprises: when second acknowledgment information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10) of the first data sent on the preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) is received (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), and the second acknowledgment information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10) indicates that the first data fails to be received (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10), retransmitting the first data (which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. And, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10) on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10), wherein the first resource is preconfigured (FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
In regard to Claim 4, Tabet teaches the preconfigured third resource is used for initial transmission (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) or retransmission.
In regard to Claim 5, Tabet teaches the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) and the preconfigured third resource (sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) are resources comprised in a periodic resource set (In current LTE specifications, the HARQ RTT is 8 ms and each TTI is 1 ms. Thus, the RV versions may be sent every 8 ms (i.e., every 8 TTIs or sub-frames), Para. 167, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows 8ms from sub-frame 901b to sub-frame 911b).
In regard to Claim 12, Tabet teaches A data transmission method, wherein the method is performed by a second apparatus (UE, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and the method comprises: monitoring for first data on a third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10), wherein the third resource is a resource preconfigured (FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10) by the second apparatus (UE, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches determining that the first data is not received on the third resource (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10), and in response sending second control information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), wherein the second control information indicates a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows that reception of the ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 907 points to sub-frame 911b) on which the first data is retransmitted (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, and, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10).
Tabet teaches monitoring for the first data on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches determining that the first data is received on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and in response sending second data on a second resource (The UE may transmit additional user data at sub-frame 918 which may be received by the base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10) associated with the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH at sub-frame 912b, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10), wherein a time offset of the second resource (sub-frame 918, Para. 122, FIG. 10) relative to the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) is a first time offset (FIG. 10 shows 5 sub-frames between sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918).
In regard to Claim 13, Tabet teaches the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) and the third resource (sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) are resources comprised in a periodic resource set (In current LTE specifications, the HARQ RTT is 8 ms and each TTI is 1 ms. Thus, the RV versions may be sent every 8 ms (i.e., every 8 TTIs or sub-frames), Para. 167, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows 8ms from sub-frame 901b to sub-frame 911b).
In regard to Claim 14, Tabet teaches A communication apparatus (base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10) comprising at least one processor (processor(s) 404, Para. 83, FIG. 4) coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (processor(s) 404 which may execute program instructions for the base station 102. The processor(s) 404 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 440, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 404 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 460 and read only memory (ROM) 450), Para. 83, FIG. 4) to cause the communication apparatus to perform: sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches monitoring for second data on a second resource (The UE may transmit additional user data at sub-frame 918 which may be received by the base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10) associated with the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH at sub-frame 912b, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10) in response to determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource (The UE may transmit ACK/NACK associated with HARQ_DL_1 at sub-frame 916, Para. 122, FIG. 10), wherein the determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource comprises determining whether first control information indicating the communication apparatus to retransmit the first data is not received or determining that acknowledgment information of the first data is received (The UE may transmit ACK/NACK associated with HARQ_DL_1 at sub-frame 916, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and wherein a time offset of the second resource (sub-frame 918, Para. 122, FIG. 10) relative to the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) is a first time offset (FIG. 10 shows 5 sub-frames between sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918).
In regard to Claim 15, Tabet teaches before the sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to perform: sending the first data on a preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches receiving second control information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), wherein the second control information indicates the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows that reception of the ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 907 points to sub-frame 911b) on which the communication apparatus retransmits the first data (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, and, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10).
In regard to Claim 16, Tabet teaches before the sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to perform: sending the first data on a preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches sending first data on a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10) comprises: when second acknowledgment information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10) of the first data sent on the preconfigured third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) is received (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), and the second acknowledgment information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10) indicates that the first data fails to be received (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10), retransmitting the first data (which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. And, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10) on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10), wherein the first resource is preconfigured (FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10).
In regard to Claim 17, Tabet teaches the preconfigured third resource is used for initial transmission (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) or retransmission.
In regard to Claim 18, Tabet teaches the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) and the preconfigured third resource (sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) are resources comprised in a periodic resource set (In current LTE specifications, the HARQ RTT is 8 ms and each TTI is 1 ms. Thus, the RV versions may be sent every 8 ms (i.e., every 8 TTIs or sub-frames), Para. 167, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows 8ms from sub-frame 901b to sub-frame 911b).
In regard to Claim 19, Tabet teaches A communication apparatus (UE, Para. 122, FIG. 10) comprising at least one processor (processor(s) 302, Para. 75, FIG. 3) coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions (The processor(s) 302 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 302 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 306, read only memory (ROM) 350, NAND flash memory 310), Para. 75, FIG. 3) to cause the communication apparatus to perform: monitoring for first data on a third resource (the base station (i.e., eNB 102) may send a first TTI bundle (Tx0 and Tx1) for a first downlink HARQ process (HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10), wherein the third resource is a resource preconfigured (FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10) by the communication apparatus (UE, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches determining that the first data is not received on the third resource (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10), and in response sending second control information (at sub-frame 906 and the UE may transmit ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) on the PUSCH which may be received by the base station at sub-frame 907, Para. 120, FIG. 10), wherein the second control information indicates a first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows that reception of the ACK/NACK (A/N) (associated with HARQ_DL_1) at sub-frame 907 points to sub-frame 911b) on which the first data is retransmitted (If this first redundancy version is not properly received, the receiver will return a negative acknowledge (NACK), which results in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), i.e., a retransmission of a new, typically different, redundancy version, Para. 98, FIG. 10. The UE may transmit a NACK if any one of the HARQ processes fails, and, in response, the base station may retransmit all the HARQ processes, Para. 112, FIGS. 6, 10).
Tabet teaches monitoring for the first data on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10).
Tabet teaches determining that the first data is received on the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH, Para. 122, FIG. 10), and in response sending second data on a second resource (The UE may transmit additional user data at sub-frame 918 which may be received by the base station, Para. 122, FIG. 10) associated with the first resource (At sub-frame 911b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH at sub-frame 912b, Para. 122, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling, Para. 117, FIG. 10), wherein a time offset of the second resource (sub-frame 918, Para. 122, FIG. 10) relative to the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) is a first time offset (FIG. 10 shows 5 sub-frames between sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918).
In regard to Claim 20, Tabet teaches the first resource (sub-frame 911b, Para. 122, FIG. 10) and the third resource (sub-frame 901b, Para. 117, FIG. 10) are resources comprised in a periodic resource set (In current LTE specifications, the HARQ RTT is 8 ms and each TTI is 1 ms. Thus, the RV versions may be sent every 8 ms (i.e., every 8 TTIs or sub-frames), Para. 167, FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows 8ms from sub-frame 901b to sub-frame 911b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet in view of Khude et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140269541 A1), hereafter referred to as Khude.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the second data.
Tabet fails to teach sending third acknowledgment information of the second data on a fourth resource associated with the first resource and/or the second resource.
Khude teaches sending third acknowledgment information of the second data on a fourth resource associated with the first resource and/or the second resource (Referring to FIG. 9A, the eNB 1002 may receive a first transmission ("Rx1") in subframe 0 ("SF0") and a second transmission ("Rx2") in subframe 1 ("SF1"). In FIG. 9A, if the delay period is six subframes with respect to the subframe in which the first transmission was received, the eNB 1002 may send ACK1 and ACK2 in subframe 6 ("SF6"), Para. 75, FIG. 9A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khude with the teachings of Tabet since Khude provides a technique for a base station to transmit a successive acknowledgement for a successive subframe reception, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet to permit base station to transmit an ACK/NACK for successive sub-frame data received after other sub-frame data.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the first resource.
Tabet fails to teach a time offset of the fourth resource relative to the first resource is a second time offset, and/or a time offset of the fourth resource relative to the second resource is a third time offset.
Khude teaches a time offset of the fourth resource relative to the first resource is a second time offset, and/or a time offset of the fourth resource relative to the second resource is a third time offset (Referring to FIG. 9A, the eNB 1002 may receive a first transmission ("Rx1") in subframe 0 ("SF0") and a second transmission ("Rx2") in subframe 1 ("SF1"). In FIG. 9A, if the delay period is six subframes with respect to the subframe in which the first transmission was received, the eNB 1002 may send ACK1 and ACK2 in subframe 6 ("SF6"), Para. 75, FIG. 9A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khude with the teachings of Tabet since Khude provides a technique for a base station to transmit a successive acknowledgement for a successive subframe reception, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet to permit base station to transmit an ACK/NACK for successive sub-frame data received after other sub-frame data.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet in view of Khude, and further in view of Yoshimoto et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190223208 A1), hereafter referred to as Yoshimoto.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the second data.
Tabet fails to teach when the first apparatus fails to receive the second data on the second resource, the third acknowledgment information indicates that the second data fails to be received; and the method comprises: monitoring for the second data on a fifth resource.
Yoshimoto teaches when the first apparatus fails to receive the second data on the second resource, the third acknowledgment information indicates that the second data fails to be received; and the method comprises: monitoring for the second data on a fifth resource (a reason for NACK may be associated with information about a retransmission resource/information about a retransmission timing. The second NACK is transmitted in a case of a request for retransmission of the uplink data on the time resource/frequency resource different from the initial transmission, Para. 206, FIG. 12. The base station apparatus transmits the second NACK to the UE 1 to the UE 8 at a prescribed transmission timing (ACK/NACK #0), Para. 212, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimoto with the teachings of Tabet in view of Khude since Yoshimoto provides a technique for resources associated with negative acknowledgments in relation to retransmissions of failed transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet in view of Khude to permit NACKs of successive transmissions to associate to certain resources for retransmissions.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the second data.
Tabet fails to teach before the monitoring for the second data on a fifth resource, the method comprises: receiving third control information, wherein the third control information indicates the fifth resource on which a second apparatus resends the second data.
Yoshimoto teaches before the monitoring for the second data on a fifth resource, the method comprises: receiving third control information, wherein the third control information indicates the fifth resource on which a second apparatus resends the second data (a reason for NACK may be associated with information about a retransmission resource/information about a retransmission timing. The second NACK is transmitted in a case of a request for retransmission of the uplink data on the time resource/frequency resource different from the initial transmission, Para. 206, FIG. 12. The base station apparatus transmits the second NACK to the UE 1 to the UE 8 at a prescribed transmission timing (ACK/NACK #0), Para. 212, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimoto with the teachings of Tabet in view of Khude since Yoshimoto provides a technique for resources associated with negative acknowledgments in relation to retransmissions of failed transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet in view of Khude to permit NACKs of successive transmissions to associate to certain resources for retransmissions.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the second data.
Tabet fails to teach sending, on a sixth resource, fourth acknowledgment information of the second data monitored on the fifth resource, wherein the third control information further indicates the sixth resource, or a time offset of the sixth resource relative to the fifth resource is a fifth time offset.
Yoshimoto teaches sending, on a sixth resource, fourth acknowledgment information of the second data monitored on the fifth resource, wherein the third control information further indicates the sixth resource, or a time offset of the sixth resource relative to the fifth resource is a fifth time offset (a reason for NACK may be associated with information about a retransmission resource/information about a retransmission timing. The second NACK is transmitted in a case of a request for retransmission of the uplink data on the time resource/frequency resource different from the initial transmission, Para. 206, FIG. 12. The base station apparatus transmits the second NACK to the UE 1 to the UE 8 at a prescribed transmission timing (ACK/NACK #0), Para. 212, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimoto with the teachings of Tabet in view of Khude since Yoshimoto provides a technique for resources associated with negative acknowledgments in relation to retransmissions of failed transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet in view of Khude to permit NACKs of successive transmissions to associate to certain resources for retransmissions.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Tabet teaches the second data.
Tabet fails to teach before the monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource, the method comprises: monitoring for the second data on a seventh resource associated with the first resource; and the monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource comprises: when the second data fails to be received on the seventh resource, monitoring for the second data on the second resource associated with the first resource.
Yoshimoto teaches before the monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource, the method comprises: monitoring for the second data on a seventh resource associated with the first resource; and the monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource comprises: when the second data fails to be received on the seventh resource, monitoring for the second data on the second resource associated with the first resource (a reason for NACK may be associated with information about a retransmission resource/information about a retransmission timing. The second NACK is transmitted in a case of a request for retransmission of the uplink data on the time resource/frequency resource different from the initial transmission, Para. 206, FIG. 12. The base station apparatus transmits the second NACK to the UE 1 to the UE 8 at a prescribed transmission timing (ACK/NACK #0), Para. 212, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimoto with the teachings of Tabet in view of Khude since Yoshimoto provides a technique for resources associated with negative acknowledgments in relation to retransmissions of failed transmissions, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tabet in view of Khude to permit NACKs of successive transmissions to associate to certain resources for retransmissions.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that The Applicant traverses the rejection of independent claim 1 because Tabet does not teach or suggest the following sending first data on a first resource; and monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource in response to determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource. This argument is not persuasive. Two subframes in FIG. 10 of Tabet that are in a same HARQ timeline for the same connection between the same UE and eNB, can be interpreted having a form of association between each other. Tabet shows in FIG. 10 that a transmission from eNB 102 in sub-frame 911b is received at sub-frame 912b, which is in the same HARQ timeline of UE 106 as sub-frame 918, which in turn provides a transmission to the same eNB 102. A sub-frame 918 providing a transmission to the same eNB 102 that provides a transmission to UE 106 in sub-frame 911b in a same HARQ timeline of Tabet, is substantively the same as a second resource associated with the first resource of Claim 1. Claim 1 does not contain limitations precluding such an interpretation of the word associated. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying how a second resource is associated with the first resource, that is not taught by Tabet, such clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, the independent claim 1 specifically recites that the second resource is associated with the first resource, and the Examiner has made no attempt to show such an association, nor does one exist. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 cites Para. 122 and FIG. 10 of Tabet as teaching: “At sub-frames 911a and 911b, and similarly, at sub-frames 913a and 913b, the base station may send TTI bundled transmissions and the UE may receive the transmissions on the PDSCH at sub-frames 912a and 912b” (emphasis added). Tabet shows in FIG. 10 that a transmission from eNB 102 in sub-frame 911b is received at sub-frame 912b, which is in the same HARQ timeline of UE 106 as sub-frame 918, which in turn provides a transmission to the same eNB 102. A sub-frame 918 providing a transmission to the same eNB 102 that provides a transmission to UE 106 in sub-frame 911b in a same HARQ timeline of Tabet, is substantively the same as a second resource associated with the first resource of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that As explained in Applicant's Specification [0006], In the foregoing solution, after sending the first data on the first resource, the first device may monitor for the second data on the second resource associated with the first resource. In other words, because the second resource is associated with the first resource, the first device directly monitors for the second data on the second resource, so that power consumption caused by blind detection can be avoided, or power consumption caused by detection based on a DRX function can be avoided, thereby reducing power consumption of the first device. [emphasis supplied]. This argument is not persuasive. The language of Claim 1 does not positively recite features clearly requiring that a second resource being associated with the first resource as causing a monitoring for second data. Claim 1 recites: “monitoring for second data on a second resource associated with the first resource in response to determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource” (emphasis added). Claim 1 requires determining that the first data is successfully sent on the first resource as causing a monitoring for second data. In other words, Claim 1 does not clearly require any association as causing a step of monitoring, and Claim 1 does not positively recite how a second resource is associated with the first resource, that is not taught by Tabet.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Tabet teaches no such association. In fact, in Tabet, sub-frames 911b and 918/919 are associated with different HARQ processes HARQ_UL_1 and HARQ_DL_2, and are therefore not associated in this sense as well. This argument is not persuasive. Although sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918 of Tabet each have some form of association with respective HARQ processes, this does not preclude that fact that sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918 have a form of association with each other, since both sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918 are involved in the same HARQ timeline for communications between the same eNB 102 and UE 106. Claim 1 does not positively recite features of how a second resource is associated with the first resource, that is not taught by Tabet.
Pages 8-9 of the Remarks present the argument that In other words, the cited subframes of Tabet FIG. 10 are shown in the context of different HARQ processes, further demonstrating that Tabet does not disclose a resource relationship in which the second resource is associated with the first resource as claimed. This argument is not persuasive. Two subframes in FIG. 10 of Tabet that are in a same HARQ timeline for the same connection between the same UE and eNB, can be interpreted having a form of association between each other. Tabet teaches in Para. 117 and FIG. 10: “FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary HARQ timeline supporting multiple uplink HARQ processes and downlink TTI bundling” (emphasis added). Although sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918 of Tabet each have some form of association with respective HARQ processes, this does not preclude the fact that FIG. 10 of Tabet shows sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918 are involved in a same HARQ timeline in the same communications between the same eNB 102 and UE 106, and as a result, there is a form of association between sub-frame 911b and sub-frame 918. Claim 1 does not contain limitations precluding such an interpretation of the word associated. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying how a second resource is associated with the first resource, that is not taught by Tabet, such clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-9-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477