DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 3. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US 10534203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US with obvious variation. See the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18664930
US 10534203
1. Glasses comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
2. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
3. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
5. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame.
6. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry.
7. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch.
12. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
14. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
15. The glasses of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a second input, a second switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and transmitting radio-frequency signals with the wireless communication circuitry and the antenna.
16. The glasses of claim 15, further comprising: a third switch supported by the frame, the third switch coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the third switch is configured to generate the first input and the second input.
1. A wearable device, comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements; a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition in which the wearable device is wearable by a user to hold the one or more optical elements within user view; onboard electronics components comprising: at least a pair of electronics components carried by the frame and the temple respectively, one or more processors, near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry coupled to the electrical switch and at least a first processor of the one or more processors, and wireless charging match and controller circuitry coupled to the electrical switch and at least a second processor of the one or more processors; an antenna coupled to a first portion of the frame, wherein the first portion of the frame is configured to hold a first optical element of the one or more optical elements in a lens area, and wherein the antenna is disposed around the lens area for inductive coupling; and an electrical switch in an electrical connection between the antenna and the onboard electronics components, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna between the NFC match and controller circuitry and the wireless charging match and controller circuitry; wherein the temple further comprises a battery coupled to the electronics components carried by the temple; and a coupling mechanism that is incorporated in an articulated joint and that is configured to electrically connect the antenna across the articulated joint to the battery carried by the temple when the temple is in the collapsed condition, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the temple is in the collapsed position, and wherein the coupling mechanism is configured to isolate the antenna from the battery when the temple is in an open position.
4. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
17. The device of claim 16 further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the NFC match and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the NFC match and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
8. The glasses of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
6. The wearable device of claim 5, wherein the electronics components are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna.
9. The glasses of claim 7, further comprising: a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera.
10. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronics components comprise one or more of a camera, a microphone, and a display device.
10. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in one or more loops around a portion of the frame.
4. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in an incomplete loop around the lens area.
11. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame.
4. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in an incomplete loop around the lens area.
13. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a second antenna coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the second antenna supported by the frame.
8. The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a second antenna coupled to a second portion of the frame, wherein the second portion of the frame is configured to hold a second optical element of the one or more optical elements in a second lens area, and wherein the second antenna is disposed around the second lens area for inductive coupling.
17. A wearable device comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
18. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
19. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
20. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
11. A wearable device, comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements; onboard electronics components comprising: at least a pair of electronics components carried by the frame, one or more processors, near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry coupled to the electrical switch and at least a first processor of the one or more processors, and wireless charging match and controller circuitry coupled to the electrical switch and at least a second processor of the one or more processors; an antenna coupled to a first portion of the frame, wherein the first portion of the frame is configured to hold a first optical element of the one or more optical elements in a lens area, and wherein the antenna is disposed around the lens area for inductive coupling; and an electrical switch in an electrical connection between the antenna and the onboard electronics components, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna between the NFC match and controller circuitry and the wireless charging match and controller circuitry; wherein the frame comprises a portion of a coupling mechanism as part of an articulated joint that is configured to electrically connect the antenna across the articulated joint and that is configured to electrically connect the antenna across the articulated joint to a battery when the articulated joint is in a collapsed condition, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the articulated joint is in the collapsed position, and wherein the coupling mechanism is configured to isolate the antenna from the battery when the articulated joint is in an open position.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US 11415818. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US with obvious variation. See the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18664930
US 11415818
1. Glasses comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
2. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
1. A mobile device comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition; an electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
3. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
9. The mobile device of claim 1 further comprising a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
4. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
13. The mobile device of claim 12 further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
5. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame.
2. The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame.
6. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry.
3. The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry.
7. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch.
4. The mobile device of claim 1 further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch.
8. The glasses of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
5. The mobile device of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
9. The glasses of claim 7, further comprising: a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera.
6. The mobile device of claim 4 further comprising: a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera.
10. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in one or more loops around a portion of the frame.
7. The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in one or more loops around a portion of the frame.
11. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame.
8. The mobile device of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame.
12. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
9. The mobile device of claim 1 further comprising a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
13. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a second antenna coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the second antenna supported by the frame.
10. The mobile device of claim 1 further comprising: a second antenna coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the second antenna supported by the frame.
14. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
12. The mobile device of claim 1 wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile device to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
15. The glasses of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a second input, a second switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and transmitting radio-frequency signals with the wireless communication circuitry and the antenna.
14. The mobile device of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the mobile device to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a second input, a second switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and transmitting radio-frequency signals with the wireless communication circuitry and the antenna.
16. The glasses of claim 15, further comprising: a third switch supported by the frame, the third switch coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the third switch is configured to generate the first input and the second input.
15. The mobile device of claim 14 further comprising: a third switch supported by the frame, the third switch coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the third switch is configured to generate the first input and the second input.
17. A wearable device comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
18. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
1. A mobile device comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition; an electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
19. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
9. The mobile device of claim 1 further comprising a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
20. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
13. The mobile device of claim 12 further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
Claims 1-20 arerejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US 12019308. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US with obvious variation. See the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18664930
US 12019308
1. Glasses comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
13. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a second antenna coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the second antenna supported by the frame.
1. A device, comprising: a frame comprising a first portion and a second portion; a first antenna disposed around the first portion of the frame; a second antenna disposed around the second portion of the frame; wireless charging match and controller circuitry coupled to the first antenna; wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry coupled to the second antenna; and one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry, the wireless charging match and controller circuitry, and an electrical switch supported by the frame, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the electrical switch; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the first antenna when the electrical switch is in the first switch position.
2. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
3. The device of claim 2 further comprising: a temple, the temple comprising the battery.
4. The device of claim 3 further comprising: a coupling mechanism that is incorporated in an articulated joint of the temple and that is configured to electrically connect the first antenna across the articulated joint to the battery carried by the temple when the temple is in a collapsed position, wherein the battery is configured to receive the charge from the charge source via inductive coupling with the first antenna when the temple is in the collapsed position, and wherein the coupling mechanism is configured to isolate the first antenna from the battery when the temple is in an open position.
3. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
2. The device of claim 1 further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match and controller circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive the charge from the charge source via inductive coupling with the first antenna.
4. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
5. The device of claim 1 further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the second antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the second antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the second antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
5. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame.
12. The mobile device of claim 11 wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame.
6. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry.
13. The mobile device of claim 11, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry.
7. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch.
9. The glasses of claim 7, further comprising: a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera.
14. The mobile device of claim 11 further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch.
8. The glasses of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
15. The mobile device of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
10. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in one or more loops around a portion of the frame.
11. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame.
16. The mobile device of claim 14 wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame, and further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna; a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
12. The glasses of claim 1, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
2. The device of claim 1 further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match and controller circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive the charge from the charge source via inductive coupling with the first antenna.
14. The glasses of claim 1, wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
7. The device of claim 1 wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch, and wherein the device further comprises: a second electrical switch supported by the frame coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch, and wherein the operations further comprise: selecting, in response to a second input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch; and communicate communication signals via the second antenna using the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry with the second antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
15. The glasses of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a second input, a second switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and transmitting radio-frequency signals with the wireless communication circuitry and the antenna.
7. The device of claim 1 wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch, and wherein the device further comprises: a second electrical switch supported by the frame coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch, and wherein the operations further comprise: selecting, in response to a second input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch; and communicate communication signals via the second antenna using the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry with the second antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position.
16. The glasses of claim 15, further comprising: a third switch supported by the frame, the third switch coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the third switch is configured to generate the first input and the second input.
17. The mobile device of claim 11 wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile device to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position; selecting, in response to a second input, a second switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and transmitting radio-frequency signals with the wireless communication circuitry and the antenna; and the mobile device further comprising: a third switch supported by the frame, the third switch coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the third switch is configured to generate the first input and the second input.
17. A wearable device comprising: a frame; an antenna supported by the frame; an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
18. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition.
18. A wearable device, comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements; a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition in which the wearable device is wearable by a user to hold the one or more optical elements within user view; onboard electronics components comprising wireless charging match and controller circuitry; an inductive battery charging component coupled to a first portion of the frame, wherein the first portion of the frame is configured to hold a first optical element of the one or more optical elements in a lens area, and wherein the inductive battery charging component is disposed around the lens area for inductive coupling; wherein the temple further comprises a battery coupled to the onboard electronics components carried by the temple; and a coupling mechanism that is incorporated in an articulated joint and that is configured to electrically connect the inductive battery charging component across the articulated joint to the battery carried by the temple when the temple is in the collapsed condition, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the inductive battery charging component when the temple is in the collapsed condition, and wherein the coupling mechanism is configured to isolate the inductive battery charging component from the battery when the temple is in an open position.
19. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna.
2. The device of claim 1 further comprising: a battery coupled to the wireless charging match and controller circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive the charge from the charge source via inductive coupling with the first antenna.
20. The wearable device of claim 17, further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
5. The device of claim 1 further comprising: a diplexer coupled to the second antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the second antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the second antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10-13, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20160204839, hereinafter “Liu”) and further in view of Ho et al. (US 20160006290, hereinafter “Ho”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses,
Glasses (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating components of an eyeglass display 100) comprising:
a frame (the eyeglass display 100 uses eyeglass frame that extends across the bridge of a user's nose to hold a display screen in in front a user's eye, [0023]);
an antenna supported by the frame (Each antenna 104, 108 may have one or more antenna portions extending into the lower eyewire 212, and may be connected to the cellular transceiver 124 by one or more feed points 106 that are disposed in various places in the eyeglass display 100 frames, [0039]-[0042]).
However, Liu does not disclose, an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Ho discloses, an electrical switch (Fig. 2; switch 170); wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to switch to the near field communication module 130, thereby the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted to the near field communication module 130 through the switch 170, [0052]-[0053]); and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to switch to the wireless charging module 140, thereby the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted to the wireless charging module 140 through the switch 170, and the energy thereof can be transmitted to the power storage device 150. Therefore, the near field communication mode or the wireless charging mode can be selected based on the detected operation frequency of electromagnetic waves, [0052]-[0053]), wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to selectively interconnect the tuning module 120 and the near field communication module 130 or interconnect the tuning module 120 and the wireless charging module 140 according the operation frequency. The control unit 160 is further electrically connected to a transceiver 149, [0050]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu by specifically providing an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry, as taught by Ho for the purpose of improving the utilization convenience of the near field communication and wireless charging device [0053].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ho discloses, a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna (the wireless charging module 140 includes a rectifier 142 and a power management integrated circuit 144. The rectifier 142 is configured to rectify the electromagnetic waves into a direct current. The power management integrated circuit 144 is configured to transmit the direct current to the power storage device 150 and manage power transfer of the power storage device 150, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Liu discloses, a diplexer coupled to the second antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the second antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the second antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry (A switch 126 may be disposed between the cellular transceiver 124 and the cellular antennas 104, 108, and may be configured to switch the communication of the cellular transceiver 124 between the antennas 104, 108 based on a command from the processor or cellular transceiver 124. The cellular transceiver 124 may be any component or collection of components that allows the eyeglass display 100 to communicate using a cellular signal, and may be used to receive and/or transmit information over a cellular connection with a cellular network. In some embodiments, the cellular transceiver 124 may be formed as a single device, or alternatively, a separate receiver and transmitter, [0016]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Liu discloses, wherein the frame comprises a first portion, and wherein the antenna is coupled to the frame and disposed around the frame (the cellular antennas 104, 108 may extend in the lower eyewires 212 around the lenses 204, providing a greater area for antenna layout and multiple paths for multiple conductive elements [0026]… One or more antenna portions may be disposed in the frames of the eyeglass display 100, and may be connected to the cellular transceiver 124 by one or more feed points 106 that are disposed in various places in the eyeglass display 100 frames [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ho discloses, wherein the wireless charging match circuitry comprises near field communication (NFC) match and controller circuitry (the matching circuit 136 is electrically connected to the first tuning element 122 and the attenuator 132, the matching circuit 136 can be electrically connected to the attenuator 132 and the near field communication control circuit 134 in other embodiment, [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ho discloses, one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and the electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the electrical switch (The near field communication and wireless charging device includes a coil 110, a tuning module 120, a near field communication module 130, a wireless charging module 140, a power storage device 150, and may include other elements such as a display element, a central processor, and a touch input element, [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Liu discloses, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in one or more loops around a portion of the frame (the cellular antennas 104, 108 may extend in the lower eyewires 212 around the lenses 204, providing a greater area for antenna layout and multiple paths for multiple conductive elements [0026]… One or more antenna portions may be disposed in the frames of the eyeglass display 100, and may be connected to the cellular transceiver 124 by one or more feed points 106 that are disposed in various places in the eyeglass display 100 frames [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Liu discloses, wherein the antenna is disposed on the frame in a complete loop around a portion of the frame (the cellular antennas 104, 108 may extend in the lower eyewires 212 around the lenses 204, providing a greater area for antenna layout and multiple paths for multiple conductive elements [0026]… One or more antenna portions may be disposed in the frames of the eyeglass display 100, and may be connected to the cellular transceiver 124 by one or more feed points 106 that are disposed in various places in the eyeglass display 100 frames [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ho discloses, a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna (the wireless charging module 140 includes a rectifier 142 and a power management integrated circuit 144. The rectifier 142 is configured to rectify the electromagnetic waves into a direct current. The power management integrated circuit 144 is configured to transmit the direct current to the power storage device 150 and manage power transfer of the power storage device 150, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Liu discloses, a second antenna coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the second antenna supported by the frame (A second antenna is disposed outside the system enclosure and operably connected to the processor, and the processor is configured to cause the second antenna to transmit on a second RF band. The second antenna extends laterally along a first edge of the at least one eye region, [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses,
A wearable device (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating components of an eyeglass display 100) comprising:
a frame (the eyeglass display 100 uses eyeglass frame that extends across the bridge of a user's nose to hold a display screen in in front a user's eye, [0023]);
an antenna supported by the frame (Each antenna 104, 108 may have one or more antenna portions extending into the lower eyewire 212, and may be connected to the cellular transceiver 124 by one or more feed points 106 that are disposed in various places in the eyeglass display 100 frames, [0039]-[0042]).
However, Liu does not disclose, an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Ho discloses, an electrical switch (Fig. 2; switch 170); wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to switch to the near field communication module 130, thereby the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted to the near field communication module 130 through the switch 170, [0052]-[0053]); and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to switch to the wireless charging module 140, thereby the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted to the wireless charging module 140 through the switch 170, and the energy thereof can be transmitted to the power storage device 150. Therefore, the near field communication mode or the wireless charging mode can be selected based on the detected operation frequency of electromagnetic waves, [0052]-[0053]), wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry (The control unit 160 controls the switch 170 to selectively interconnect the tuning module 120 and the near field communication module 130 or interconnect the tuning module 120 and the wireless charging module 140 according the operation frequency. The control unit 160 is further electrically connected to a transceiver 149, [0050]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu by specifically providing an electrical switch; wireless communication circuitry coupled to the electrical switch; and wireless charging match circuitry coupled to the electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is configured to switch a connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry or to the wireless charging match circuitry, as taught by Ho for the purpose of improving the utilization convenience of the near field communication and wireless charging device [0053].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), in addition Ho discloses, a battery coupled to the wireless charging match circuitry, wherein the battery is configured to receive a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna (the wireless charging module 140 includes a rectifier 142 and a power management integrated circuit 144. The rectifier 142 is configured to rectify the electromagnetic waves into a direct current. The power management integrated circuit 144 is configured to transmit the direct current to the power storage device 150 and manage power transfer of the power storage device 150, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Liu and Ho teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Liu discloses, a diplexer coupled to the second antenna and the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry; and radio frequency communication circuitry coupled to the second antenna and the diplexer and configured to generate radio frequency signals for transmission via the second antenna; wherein the diplexer electrically separates the wireless communication circuitry and controller circuitry and the radio frequency communication circuitry (A switch 126 may be disposed between the cellular transceiver 124 and the cellular antennas 104, 108, and may be configured to switch the communication of the cellular transceiver 124 between the antennas 104, 108 based on a command from the processor or cellular transceiver 124. The cellular transceiver 124 may be any component or collection of components that allows the eyeglass display 100 to communicate using a cellular signal, and may be used to receive and/or transmit information over a cellular connection with a cellular network. In some embodiments, the cellular transceiver 124 may be formed as a single device, or alternatively, a separate receiver and transmitter, [0016]-[0018]).
Claims 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ho and further in view of Lee (US 20160034887, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu and Ho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however the combination of Liu and Ho does not disclose, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry (e.g., a watch-type terminal, a glasses-type terminal, a mobile terminal, a laptop computer, a ring-type terminal) 100A, 100B, 100C, 100D, and 100E linked with a plurality of other wearable devices (e.g., a watch-type terminal, a glasses-type terminal, a ring-type wearable device). In this instance, each device may equip an independent electronic wallet (SE) as described above, and the independent electronic wallet (SE) need not be mapped or registered with one account in performing the NFC payment function according to an embodiment of the present invention, [0317]-[0319]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and Ho by specifically providing wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate payment data via the antenna using the wireless communication circuitry, as taught by Lee for the purpose of efficiently make use of a small amount of money remaining in a plurality of electronic wallets [0317].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu and Ho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however the combination of Liu and Ho does not disclose, a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera..
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera (Image and video input is often obtained using one or more cameras 121. Such cameras 121 may process image frames of still pictures or video obtained by image sensors in a video or image capture mode, [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and Ho by specifically providing a camera coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to operate the camera., as taught by Lee for the purpose of efficiently make use of a small amount of money remaining in a plurality of electronic wallets [0317].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 14-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Liu and Ho, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“the glasses further comprising a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Liu and Ho, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“the glasses further comprising wherein the electrical switch is a first electrical switch and further comprising: one or more processors coupled to the wireless communication circuitry, the wireless charging match circuitry, and a second electrical switch, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the second electrical switch; a memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the glasses to perform operations comprising: selecting, in response to a first input, a first switch position for the second electrical switch supported by the frame; and receiving a charge from a charge source via inductive coupling with the antenna when the second electrical switch is in the first switch position”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Claims 15 and 16 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 14.
Regarding claim 18, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Liu and Ho, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“the glasses further comprising a temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint such that the temple is disposable between a collapsed condition and a wearable condition, wherein the electrical switch is coupled with the articulated joint, and wherein the wireless charging match circuitry is further configured to: switch the connection with the antenna to the wireless communication circuitry if the temple is in the wearable condition and to the wireless charging match circuitry if the temple is in the collapsed condition”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 17.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20180345016: The present invention provides in part wearable devices for balance control. The wearable devices are capable of non-invasively monitoring and stimulating the wearer's vestibular system such that it produces postural responses. The wearable devices deliver low levels of electrical current to the vestibular system of a user to maintain balance. In one example, the wearable device is in the form of a pair of glasses.
US 20170264817: A portable electronic device with image capturing capabilities automatically or semi-automatically adjusts one or more image capturing parameters based on an input attribute of user engagement with a single-action haptic input mechanism. For example, the duration for which a single-action control button carried on a frame of the device is pressed automatically determines an image stabilization mode for on-board processing of captured image data.
US 20170255029: A computerized eyewear retrofit kit for use with an eyewear frame comprises an elongated body having a first end comprising a first end surface and a connector that is configured to pivotally couple to an eyewear frame, and a second end configured to rest on an ear of a wearer wearing the eyewear frame. At least one processor is mounted in the elongated body and is coupled to a rechargeable power source mounted in the elongated body.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641