Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said distribution” in lines 5-8 should read “said at least one distribution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said distribution” in line 3 should read “said at least one distribution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said distribution” in line 3 should read “said at least one distribution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said distribution” in lines 7-10 should read “said at least one distribution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said distribution” in lines 6-9 should read “said at least one distribution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al., (US20130215107) hereafter Kimura.
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a method (fig 6, paras 0031, 0035-0037, 0108 – 0122 and 0247-0249 shows and discloses a method) comprising:
obtaining at least one distribution of pixels, according to depth of the pixels, in a first area of an image (fig 6 element 61, paras 0031, 0035-0037 meets the first area of an image and fig 6 shows
the at least one distribution of the pixels according to the depth of the pixels in the regions showing the person and the background as seen in fig 6 meeting the above claim limitations); and
detecting at least one region of interest in said first area of the image (fig 6 element 61 meets the first area of an image) taking into account, for at least a first peak in said distribution of pixels, a relative height of said first peak in relation to a highest minimum in said distribution of pixels among at least one local minimum MP
lying between said first peak and another peak PF
in said distribution higher (peak PF in said distribution is higher than the first peak) than said first peak (peak (highest point) in the region indicated by dots meets the limitations of said first peak).
2. Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying said first area of the image; and obtaining a depth map of said first area of the image (fig 6 element 61 (depth map information) with identified first area meeting the above claim limitations of further comprising: identifying said first area of the image; and obtaining a depth map of said first area of the image).
3. Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said detecting of at least one region of interest takes into account a depth of said first peak (fig 6 shows the depth of the lower peak meeting the claim limitations wherein said detecting of at least one region of interest takes into account a depth of said first peak).
4. Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said distribution is (fig 6 shows a continuous distribution meeting the claim limitations).
5. Claim 8 is a corresponding recording medium claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. Paras 0247-0249 discloses a recording medium readable by a computer on which there is recorded a computer program comprising instructions to execute the steps of a method.
6. Claim 9 is a corresponding device claim of claim 1. See the explanation of claim 1. Paras 0247-0249 discloses a device (apparatus) comprising one or more processors (i.e computer has the hardware processor configured together or separately to perform the steps) meeting the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of TSUCHIMOCHI KAZUNORI (JPH09190548A) hereafter KAZUNORI.
7. Regarding claim 5, Kimura disclose the method of claim 1, wherein said detecting of at least one region of interest comprises: determining a relative height of said peaks in said distribution (fig 6, shows a relative height of said two peaks); sorting said peaks in (figs 6, shows the highest peak on the left with a second lower peak on the right (i.e in decreasing order)); and selecting, as said first peak, a peak for which the following depth-ordered peak has a lower relative height (figs 6, shows the second peak with lower relative height meeting the claim limitations)
. Kimura is silent and however fails to disclose the increasing order of the depths. KAZUNORI discloses sorting the depths in the increasing order in para 0014. Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, KAZUNORI and Kimura are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a high quality and accurate method/device at paras 0006,0014. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of KAZUNORI in the method/device of KIMURA to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
JAYESH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677