DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 05/15/2024 and 09/18/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims are directed to the abstract idea of recognizing an interaction indicator using a recognition method that may vary over time, comparing a recognition confidence to a predetermined level, and increasing a weight value when the confidence exceeds that level. These steps fall under mental processes. The additional recitation that the method is used for recognizing an indicator “in a video” does not, by itself, integrate the idea into a practical application because the independent claims do not recite a particular image-processing technique or other technological improvement to video recognition; rather, it just applies the confidence and weight adjustment logic in the field of video recognition. The dependent claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: recognition unit, weight setting unit, storage unit, environmental unit, frame environment setting unit, frame change detection unit and partial enhancement unit in claims 11, 12 and 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-13, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saptharishi (US 2015/0093035 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Saptharishi discloses a recognition method for an interaction indicator, used for recognizing the interaction indicator in a video, wherein the recognition method for the interaction indicator comprises: (Saptharishi discloses a camera analytics system in which image capturing devices capture still images or motion video images and a video analytics module analyzes the captured images. Saptharishi further discloses an object detection module whose input is video data, preferably live video data which detects objects appearing in the field of view, see paragraphs 33-35.)
recognizing the interaction indicator via at least one recognition method, (Saptharishi discloses that the video analytics module includes an object detection module for detecting objects in the camera field of view, and that the object detection module may employ known object detection methods such as motion detection and block detection, see paragraph 35. Saptharishi also discloses an object classification module including classifiers such as a full human body classifier, human torso classifier, and vehicle classifier, see paragraphs 40-41.) may employ known object techniques wherein the recognition method is not exactly the same at different times; and (Saptharishi discloses that, during tracking, the system recalls the previous class and confidence level of an object. If the object was not previously classified with high confidence, multiple object classifiers are executed; if it was previously classified with high confidence, a part of the classifier corresponding to the object’s previously declared class may be executed instead of executing multiple classifiers, see paragraph 53. The recognition method changes at different times based on prior confidence: sometimes multiple classifiers are run, and sometimes only part of a class-specific classifier is run. Saptharishi also discloses runtime classifier evolution, including training a new additional step for the classifier and deploying the classifier after validation, see paragraphs 82 and 85. This further supports that the classifier method can evolve over time and is not exactly the same at different times.)
increasing a weight value of the recognition method, (Under BRI, this is mapped to Saptharishi’s learned size function or calibration parameters used by the recognition method. Saptharishi increases and updates that learned value when the object is recognized with confidence higher than a predetermined level.) when the interaction indicator is recognized and a recognition confidence of the interaction indicator is higher than a predetermined level. (Saptharishi discloses confidence based recognition. The system determines whether an object was previously classified with high confidence, and states that high confidence may be predetermined, e.g., 70% confidence or above, see paragraph 53. Saptharishi further discloses that classification confidence may be represented by a decision step value and that an object may be assigned to the class corresponding to the most confident (e.g., largest) decision step value, see paragraph 52. Saptharishi also discloses automatically updating representative sizes of classified objects during live operation, see paragraph 100. In the calibration method, if classification confidence is low, the size function is unchanged, but if classification confidence is high, the object is classified as a member of the class and the size function is updated using the object’s actual size as an additional data point. The size function is updated by modifying its parameters, such as by recursive least squares, see paragraphs 101-103.)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention wherein the recognition method outputs the interaction indicator and the recognition confidence, under a situation that the video contains continuous frames, if the recognition confidence of the interaction indicator is lower than the predetermined level, the weight value of the recognition method is not increased. (paragraphs 36-37, 53 and 101)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention wherein when the recognition confidence of the interaction indicator outputted by the recognition method is higher than the predetermined level, a successfully recognized sample is recorded, and the successfully recognized sample is used to retest the recognition method or the interaction indicator. (paragraphs 41 and 102-103)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention wherein the interaction indicator is at least one facial feature, at least one gesture, at least one posture, or at least one object. (paragraphs 4 and 40)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention wherein during an idle time of operation, a successfully recognized sample checking method is used to check a correctness of the interaction indicator in a successfully recognized sample, and if different interaction indicators are recognized, the weight value of the recognition method is maintained. (paragraphs 90-92 and 101-104)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention wherein the recognition method and a frame environment parameter are selected according to a weight calculation method. (paragraphs 64 and 101-105)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saptharishi (US 2015/0093035 A1) in view of Nishimura (US 2021/0092280 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein detecting whether the video has changed in light or color; setting at least one frame environment parameter, if the video has changed in light or color, wherein when at least one successfully recognized sample has been stored, the frame environment parameter is set according to the at least one successfully recognized sample.
In related art, Nishimura discloses detecting whether the video has changed in light or color; setting at least one frame environment parameter, if the video has changed in light or color, wherein when at least one successfully recognized sample has been stored, the frame environment parameter is set according to the at least one successfully recognized sample. (paragraphs 48-53, 56-60, 69-70 and 78-80)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Nishimura into the teachings of Saptharishi to effectively maximize a confidence of the neural network model for the detection of an object in the reacquired imaging information.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein if the recognition confidence of the interaction indicator is higher than the predetermined level, at least one frame environment parameter and a frame change detection method is used as a successfully recognized sample.
In related art, Nishimura discloses if the recognition confidence of the interaction indicator is higher than the predetermined level, at least one frame environment parameter and a frame change detection method is used as a successfully recognized sample. (paragraphs 13-14, 56-58 and 82)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Nishimura into the teachings of Saptharishi to effectively maximize a confidence of the neural network model for the detection of an object in the reacquired imaging information.
Claims 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saptharishi (US 2015/0093035 A1) in view of Choi (US 2009/0066782 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein detecting an interaction indicator appearance area in the video via a frame change detection method; and performing a partial enhancement on the interaction indicator appearance area.
In related art, Choi discloses detecting an interaction indicator appearance area in the video via a frame change detection method; (paragraphs 8-10 and 36) and performing a partial enhancement on the interaction indicator appearance area. (paragraphs 41-42)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Choi into the teachings of Saptharishi to effectively reduce the amount of bandwidth and power consumption required for data readout.
Claims 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saptharishi (US 2015/0093035 A1) in view of Arar (US 2021/0182625 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Saptharishi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein when the interaction indicator and a first detailed feature and a second detailed feature thereof are recognized via the recognition method, the recognition confidence of the first detailed feature is lower than the predetermined level, and the recognition confidence of the second detailed feature higher than the predetermined level, the second detailed feature is recorded as a successfully recognized sample; the second detailed feature as the successfully recognized sample is used to recombine into a third detailed feature.
In related art, Arar discloses wherein when the interaction indicator and a first detailed feature and a second detailed feature thereof are recognized via the recognition method, the recognition confidence of the first detailed feature is lower than the predetermined level, and the recognition confidence of the second detailed feature higher than the predetermined level, the second detailed feature is recorded as a successfully recognized sample; the second detailed feature as the successfully recognized sample is used to recombine into a third detailed feature. (paragraphs 19-31)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Arar into the teachings of Saptharishi for more accurate and robust determination of subject characteristics from an image of the subject.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665