DETAILED ACTION
This Office action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/664,980 is responsive to communications filed 26 August 2025, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection of 2 June 2025.
Claims 1–13, 15, and 16 are pending.
In the previous Office action, claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 12, 14, and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by JP 2014-207493 A (“Fujii”). Claim 10 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Fujii. Claims 3, 4, 13, and 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Fujii in view of US 2019/0312071 A1 (“Yamasaki”). Claims 5–7 and 11 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Fujii in view of US 2018/0020171 A1 (“Miyake”). Applicant was required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105 to provide a copy of a
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s statement on the record that US 2018/0020171 is an equivalent of JP 6202512 is accepted. The requirement for information is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is respectfully submitted that CN 111322961 A (“Zhu”) overcomes the alleged deficiencies of Fujii regarding the two lighting devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8–10, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-207493-A (“Fujii”)1 2 in view of CN 111322961 A (“Zhu”). EP 3944000 A1, an English-language equivalent, is relied on as a translation of Zhu. M.P.E.P. § 901.05(II), “It is possible to cite a foreign language specification as a reference, while at the same time citing an English language version of the specification with a later date as a convenient translation if the latter is in fact a translation”.
Fujii, directed to an image sensor, teaches with respect to claim 1 a camera system comprising:
an imaging device (Abstract, “high performance imaging apparatus”) comprising:
a first pixel (¶ 0065, first of red, green, or blue pixel); and
a second pixel (id., another of red, green, or blue pixel);
a first lighting device that emits first light having a luminescence peak in a first wavelength range that is invisible (¶ 0018, infrared light irradiation laser); . . . and
a controller for controlling the imaging device, [and] the first lighting device (¶¶ 0022, 0104; CPU controls pixels so infrared pixels are illuminated with infrared light), wherein:
the first pixel includes:
a first photoelectric converter that generates first signal charge by photoelectric conversion and that has sensitivity to the first wavelength range (id., R, G, or B pixel receives infrared light component), and
a first signal detection circuit connected to the first photoelectric converter (¶ 0067, signal read out from each pixel),
the second pixel includes:
a second photoelectric converter that generates second signal charge by photoelectric conversion and that has sensitivity to the second wavelength range (¶ 0065, R, G, or B pixel receives partial white light component), and
a second signal detection circuit connected to the second photoelectric converter (¶ 0067, signal read out from each pixel),
the controller controls the first lighting device to emit the first light in a first period (¶¶ 0058–0060, infrared frames synchronized with infrared light laser radiation), . . .
the controller controls the first lighting device not to emit the first light in the second period (id., infrared light exposure is synchronized with infrared light irradiation as every other frame, such that alternating frames are not irradiated with infrared light nor convert infrared light signals, but instead are irradiated with visible background light and convert visible light signals). . . and
the controller controls the imaging device such that
an exposure period of the second photoelectric converter does not overlap the first period (id., alternating frames), and
a readout period during which the second signal detection circuit reads out the second signal charge does not overlap the light-emitting period (¶ 0060, readout).
The claimed invention differs from Fujii in that the claimed invention specifies a second lighting device that emits light in the second wavelength range, such that the first and second lighting devices emit light in alternating periods. Fujii does not teach an actively synchronized second lighting device, instead relying on constantly-on visible background light (Fujii ¶¶ 0058–60). However, Zhu, directed to a time-of-flight system, teaches with respect to claim 1:
a second lighting device that emits second light in a second wavelength range (¶¶ 0008–12, flood light); and
the controller controls . . . the second lighting device to emit the second light in a second period different from the first period (id., controller may allow the system to generate structured light only or flood light only).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to incorporate the Zhu flood light into the Fujii system, in order to increase accuracy and resolution of depth measurement. Zhu ¶ 0004–05, 0024.
Regarding claim 2, Fujii teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are effective3 pixels (passim, “imaging apparatus”, “image sensor”, and related language).
Regarding claim 8, Fujii teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device further comprises:
a third photoelectric converter (¶ 0065, third of R, G, or B pixel); and
a third signal detection circuit connected to the third photoelectric converter (¶ 0067, signal read out from each pixel).
Regarding claim 9, Fujii teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein:
the first wavelength range is a range of wavelengths in a near-infrared wavelength region (¶ 0065, infrared light component), and
the second wavelength range is a range of wavelengths in a visible light wavelength region (id., white light colored component).
Claim 10 recites the exposure period of the first (infrared) exposure period is shorter than the (visible) exposure period of the second photoelectric converter. Fujii does not teach this limitation directly. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fujii to shorten the infrared exposure period relative to the visible light exposure period as an obvious matter of routine optimization. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05(II)(A). See also M.P.E.P. § 2144.04(IV)(A) (change in size or relative dimension is obvious).
Regarding claim 12, Fujii teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range are each a range of wavelengths in a near-infrared wavelength region (¶ 0065, characteristic IR component for each of R, G, and B pixels; ¶¶ 0071–73, alternating between infrared irradiation and infrared component of background irradiation).
Regarding claim 15, Fujii teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein the first lighting device emits the first light in a period overlapping an exposure period of the first photoelectric converter (¶¶ 0071–72, alternating frames that are irradiated with the laser and detect infrared light).
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Zhu and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0312071 A1 (“Yamasaki”)4.
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 16 are directed to further structural details of the imaging device not taught by Fujii. However, with respect to claim 3, Yamasaki, directed to an imaging device, teaches with respect to claim 3:
The camera system according to claim 1, wherein the first photoelectric converter and the second photoconverter are stacked (¶ 0036, stacked photoelectric conversion films).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujii to use stacked photosensors, as taught by Yamasaki, in order to produce more separable signals from the different photosensors. Yamasaki ¶ 0036.
Regarding claim 4, Fujii in view of Zhu and Yamasaki teaches the camera system according to claim 2, wherein the first photoelectric converter and the second photoconverter are stacked (Yamasaki ¶ 0036, stacked photoelectric conversion films).
Regarding claim 13, Fujii in view of Zhu and Yamasaki teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein the second photoelectric converter includes a silicon photodiode (Yamasaki ¶ 0042, photoelectric conversion film may be silicon).
Regarding claim 16, all other limitations contained in claim 1 discussed above, Yamasaki teaches the first photoelectric converter and the second photoelectric converter are stacked. Yamasaki ¶ 0036, stacked photoelectric conversion films.
Claims 5–7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Zhu and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0020171 A1 (“Miyake”)5 6.
Claims 5–7 teach more structural details of the imaging device circuitry than is disclosed in Fujii. However, Miyake, directed to pixels in an imaging device, teaches with respect to claim 5 the camera system according to claim 1, wherein:
the imaging device further comprises at least one voltage supply circuit (¶ 0070, photoelectric conversion circuit is connected to voltage supply circuit 32),
the first photoelectric converter and the second photoelectric converter each include
a pixel electrode (¶ 0085, Fig. 2; pixel electrode 11),
a counter electrode that faces the pixel electrode (id., opposing electrode 12), and
a photoelectric conversion layer located between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode (id., photoelectric conversion layer 15 interposed between pixel electrode 11 and opposing electrode 12), and
the sensitivity of at least one selected from the group consisting of the first photoelectric converter and the second photoelectric converter (Abstract, structure for each unit pixel cell) is able to be changed by changing of a voltage that the at least one voltage supply circuit applies (¶¶ 0070 sensitivity control line 42 connected to voltage supply circuit 32) between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode (¶ 0088, sensitivity control line 42 is connected to opposing electrode 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to construct each of the Fujii pixels using the Miyake architecture, in order to allow for the predictable result of the known function and improvement of digital cameras by enabling a plurality of ISO sensitivities. See M.P.E.P. § 2143(I) (rationales to combine references that support a conclusion of obviousness).
Regarding claim 6, Fujii in view of Zhu and Miyake teaches the camera system according to claim 5, wherein the at least one selected from the group consisting of the first photoelectric converter and the second photoelectric converter (Mitake Abstract, structure for each unit pixel cell) is driven by a global shutter method (¶ 0122, global shutter)
by which an exposure period is defined by the changing of the voltage that the at least one voltage supply circuit applies between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode (id., exposure period is dependent on voltage V3 supplied by the voltage supply circuit 32 to opposing electrode 12).
Regarding claim 7, Fujii in view of Miyake teaches the camera system according to claim 5, wherein each of the first photoelectric converter and the second photoelectric converter (Mitake Abstract, structure for each unit pixel cell) is driven by a global shutter method (¶ 0122, global shutter)
by which an exposure period is defined by changing of the voltage that the at least one voltage supply circuit applies between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode (id., exposure period is dependent on voltage V3 supplied by the voltage supply circuit 32 to opposing electrode 12).
Regarding claim 11, Fujii in view of Miyake teaches the camera system according to claim 1, wherein
the first wavelength range is a range of wavelengths in an ultraviolet wavelength region (Miyake ¶ 0012, applicability to ultraviolet detection and conversion), and
the second wavelength range is a range of wavelengths in a visible light wavelength region (id., applicability to visible light detection and conversion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art was found using an Artificial Intelligence assisted search using an internal AI tool that uses the classification of the application under the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, as well as from the specification, including the claims and abstract, of the application as contextual information. The documents are ranked from most to least relevant. Where possible, English-language equivalents are given, and redundant results within the same patent families are eliminated. See “New Artificial Intelligence Functionality in PE2E Search”, 1504 OG 359 (15 November 2022), “Automated Search Pilot Program”, 90 F.R. 48,161 (8 October 2025).
DE 102006040612 B4
KR 20080037568 A
US 2011/0102778 A1
US 2006/0023227 A1
CN 105783708 A
US 2019/0353479 A1
US 2008/0165367 A1
JP H08-327334 A
US 2014/0232855 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See M.P.E.P. § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/David N Werner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487
1 This reference was cited as an ‘X’ reference in the International Search Report for corresponding International Application No. PCT/JP2022/041784, and was listed in the 15 May 2024 Information Disclosure Statement. The machine translation supplied by the Applicant is relied on.
2 This reference, sharing assignee Panasonic Corp. with the present application, was published over seven years before the effective filing date of the present application, so no exception under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) can be applied to disqualify the reference as prior art.
3 The specification at ¶ 0078 defines “effective pixels” as “pixels that are actually used for outputting an image or pixels that are used for sensing, and do not include optically black pixels and dummy pixels that are used for measuring dark noise”. See M.P.E.P. § 2111.01(IV)(A) (applicant as lexicographer).
4 This reference is an English-language equivalent to JP 2019-186738 A, which was cited as a ‘Y’ reference in the International Search Report for corresponding International Application No. PCT/JP2022/041784. It was listed in the 15 May 2024 Information Disclosure Statement.
5 This reference is an English-language equivalent to WO 2017/094229 A1, which was cited as a ‘Y’ reference in the International Search Report for corresponding International Application No. PCT/JP2022/041784. It was listed in the 15 May 2024 Information Disclosure Statement.
6 This reference, sharing assignee Panasonic Corp. with the present application, was published nearly three years before the effective filing date of the present application, so no exception under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) can be applied to disqualify the reference as prior art.