DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following Office Action is in response to amendments filed on 01/20/2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are pending in the application. Claims 1-3 and 5-11 have been examined as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the term “wherein” in line 15, needs to be changed to “wherein the simulation apparatus:”, and
the phrase “the simulation apparatus” in line 16, needs to be removed.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the term “tiltable,” in line 3, needs to be changed to “tiltable, and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the term “is;” in line 6, needs to be changed to “is,”, and
the phrase “space; and” in line 10, needs to be changed to “space, and”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the term “wherein” in line 1, needs to be changed to “wherein:”, and
the phrase “direction; and” in line 2, needs to be changed to “direction, and”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the term “wherein” in line 1, needs to be changed to “wherein:”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the space between the term “wherein” in line 2 and the phrase “the simulation apparatus” in line 3, needs to be removed, to recite: “wherein the simulation apparatus”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
I) “movement mechanism configured to move positions of the holds on the board” in claim 1, wherein “mechanism” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language of “configured to move positions of the holds on the board” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier, and
II) “tilt mechanism which supports the board such that the board is tiltable” in claim 2, wherein “mechanism” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language of “tilt/which supports the board such that the board is tiltable” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
I) “movement mechanism”: has been considered to have the corresponding structure of a rail or a belt (see ¶ [0020] of the specification) and equivalents thereof, and
II) “tilt mechanism”: has been considered to have the corresponding structure of a servomotor and a gear (see ¶ [0021] of the specification) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20200137734 A, a copy of a translation of this document (from EPO Espacenet Search) has been previously provided. For purposes of (further) clarity Only, another translation of this document (from EPO Espacenet Classic Search) has been provided with this Office Action (hereinafter referred to as “Classic Translation”). The cited paragraphs are with respect to both copies of translation) in view of Seo (KR 20160132564 A, a copy of a translation of this document has been previously provided. The cited paragraphs are with respect to the translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a climbing experience system comprising an interface apparatus (Fig. 1) and a simulation apparatus (i.e., 700, Fig. 8),
the interface apparatus configured to provide a user with a climbing experience in a virtual space, the interface apparatus comprising:
a board (i.e., 200) to which holds (500/530) are attached (Fig. 1), the user having to put a hand or a foot of the user at each of the holds (¶ [10]-[11], [19], (also ¶ [13], [15] and [25] of “Classic Translation”));
a movement mechanism (belt 100, (as interpreted under 112(f), see above for details) configured to move positions of the holds on the board (¶ [10]-[11], [72]-[75], (also ¶ [13], [15], and [78]-[81] of “Classic Translation”));
detection sensors, including detection sensors (i.e., 610, 620) that detect a position of the person/detect a position of the user’s foot and hand (¶ [86]-[93], [102], [109], (also ¶ [92]-[99], [108] and [115] of “Classic Translation”)); and
an input and output section that provides a signal indicative of the force and the moment to a simulation apparatus (i.e., 700) configured to generate the virtual space and that acquires, from the simulation apparatus, a control signal for controlling the movement mechanism so as to move the holds (¶ [11], [18], [96]-[102], [107]-[108], (also ¶ [13], [24], [102]-[108], and [113]-[114], of “Classic Translation”)),
wherein the simulation apparatus
determines the positions of the holds on the board on a basis of a position of the user in the virtual space (¶ [96]-[101], (also ¶ [102]-[107] of “Classic Translation”)), and
carries out a process of automatically changing a challenge level of the climbing experience in an isolated climbing experience in accordance with a skill level of the user (¶ [108] recites: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, not only can be set through the UI, but the motion of the climbing device and the display of virtual content are linked in real time according to the experiencer's ability information and the climbing situation monitoring information, and the experience by difficulty level is It is possible to be automatically set to be possible”, please note that the experiencer’s ability information is considered a skill level, and that in another (isolated) climbing experience (another climbing time or trial), the difficulty level/challenge level of the climbing experience can be automatically changed based at least in part on the skill level/ability information of the experiencer/user, (also ¶ [114] of “Classic Translation” recites: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, it is possible not only to set it through a UI, but also to automatically configure the operation of the climbing device and the display of virtual content in real time based on the user’s ability information and climbing situation monitoring information, so that the experience can be made possible by enabling difficulty levels”)).
Kim teaches that various sensors can be arranged in the climbing device including a sensor for detecting a foot, a sensor for detecting a hand, etc., (¶ [109], (also ¶ [115] of “Classic Translation”)). However, Kim is silent about force sensors which are provided to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) the holds and (ii) gloves and shoes worn by the user, and each detect a force and a moment that are applied from the user to a corresponding one of the holds or that are applied from each of the holds to the user; wherein the simulation apparatus determines a posture of the user which has been specified by the force and the moment.
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches an interface apparatus configured to provide a user with a climbing experience, comprising: a board (i.e., 600) to which holds are attached (Figs. 8-9), the user being to put a hand or a foot of the user at each of the one or more holds (Figs. 8-9, ¶ [32], [43]);
force sensors (i.e., 220, ¶ [30]-[31]) which are provided to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) holds (i.e., 200, ¶ [30]) and (ii) gloves and shoes worn by the user and which each detect a force and a moment that are applied from the user to a corresponding one of the holds or that are applied from each of the holds to the user (¶ [5]-[6], [8], [10]-[12], [15], [36]-[38], [67], [75]); and
an input and output section that provides a signal indicative of the force and the moment to a control unit (¶ [15]-[16], [19], [59]-[60], [63]-[64], [75], please note that upon modification of Kim’s invention with features of Seo, such signal would be provided to the simulation apparatus),
wherein the control unit determines a posture of the user which has been specified by the force and the moment (¶ [59]-[60], [66]-[67], [75], [84]-[86], [94]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention with force sensors which are provided to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) the holds and (ii) gloves and shoes worn by the user, and each detect a force and a moment that are applied from the user to a corresponding one of the holds or that are applied from each of the holds to the user, and providing a signal indicative of the force and the moment, wherein the simulation unit (control unit) determines a posture of the user which has been specified by the force and the moment as taught by Seo in order to provide for a more accurate determination of the user’s posture and gripping actions and have such posture and gripping actions corrected when needed, to enable the user improve upon his/her performance and prevent him/her from potential injuries.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Seo teaches the system further comprising a tilt mechanism (Kim: i.e., 400 (having a rotation means 420, and a second driving motor 430), (as interpreted under 112(f), see above for details)) which supports the board such that the board is tiltable (Kim: Fig. 2, ¶ [58]-[59], [64]-[68], (also ¶ [64]-[65] and [70]-[74] of “Classic Translation”)), the input and output section acquiring, from the simulation apparatus, a control signal for controlling the tilt mechanism so as to tilt the board (Kim: ¶ [67], [103], [107], (also ¶ [73], [109] and [115] of “Classic Translation”)).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Seo teaches wherein: a position of at least part of each of the holds is switchable, in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the board, between a first position in which the user is able to put the hand or the foot of the user at the at least part and a second position which is closer to the surface of the board than the first position is (Kim: Figs. 5-7, ¶ [72]-[75], [82]-[83], (also ¶ [78]-[81] and [88]-[89] of “Classic Translation”)); each of the holds is configured to: when at least part thereof is in the first position and the hand or the foot of the user is put at the at least part, move in a direction opposite to a direction in which the user progresses in the climbing experience in the virtual space (Kim: Fig. 7, the holds that are in the first position, on the front side of the board, to be contacted by the hand or foot of the user, move in the downward direction as the user climbs in the upward direction); and when the at least part is in the second position and the hand or the foot of the user is not put at the at least part, move in the direction in which the user progresses (Kim: Fig. 7, the holds that are already in a retracted state/second position or are retracted into the second position, on the back side/surface of the board, move upward which is the direction in which the user progresses. Please note that as much as applicant has shown each of the holds being configured to when the at least part is in the second position and the hand or the foot of the user is not put at the at least part, move in the direction in which the user progresses, Kim is also showing such), the movement mechanism is configured to be achieved with use of a belt or a rail (Kim: belt 100), in a case where the movement mechanism is configured to be achieved with use of the belt, each of the holds in the second position moves in the direction in which the user progresses via a back surface or inside of the board in accordance with a movement of the belt (Kim: Fig. 7, the holds that are already in a retracted state/second position or are retracted into the second position, on/via the back side/surface of the board, move upward which is the direction in which the user progresses, in accordance with a movement of the belt. Please note that as much as applicant has shown each of the holds in the second position moves in the direction in which the user progresses via a back surface or inside of the board in accordance with a movement of the belt, Kim is also showing such), and in a case where the movement mechanism is configured to be achieved with use of the rail, each of the holds in the second position moves in the direction in which the user progresses by sliding on the rail (Please note that the claim as currently presented requires the movement mechanism being configured to be achieved with use of a belt or a rail, not both. As such, since Kim, as shown above, teaches the movement mechanism being configured to be achieved with use of the belt (see above for details), the prior art is not required to teach this limitation corresponding to when the movement mechanism is configured to be achieved with the use of the rail).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Seo teaches the climbing experience system further comprising a head mounted display which displays an image that represents the virtual space and that has been acquired from the simulation apparatus (Kim: ¶ [83], [95], [97], [100], (also ¶ [89], [101], [103] and [106] of “Classic Translation”)).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Ou (CN 106693334A, a copy of a translation of this document has been previously provided. The cited paragraphs are with respect to the translation).
Kim in view of Seo is silent about wherein the simulation apparatus generates an image representing the virtual space that includes part or whole of a body of the user in the posture specified and provides the image to the head mounted display, and wherein in a case where the simulation apparatus, with reference to information which has been provided by the interface apparatus, determines that a predetermined condition has been satisfied, the simulation apparatus generates an image in which the user has fallen from a wall surface for the climbing experience in the virtual space and provides the image to the head mounted display.
Regarding claim 6, Ou teaches a climbing experience system, wherein a simulation apparatus generates an image representing a virtual space that includes part or whole of a body of a user (as a character) in a posture specified and provides the image to a head mounted display (¶ [16]-[17], [38]-[39]).
Regarding claim 8, Ou teaches wherein in a case where the simulation apparatus, with reference to information which has been provided by an interface apparatus with holds (Fig. 1), determines that a predetermined condition has been satisfied (i.e., a height of the center of gravity of the user’s body being higher than a preset critical height and the user boarding a ladder or suspension (9), is considered a predetermined condition being satisfied), the simulation apparatus generates an image in which the user has fallen from a wall surface for the climbing experience in the virtual space (i.e., image of downhill, bungee jumping, parachuting or gliding landscape) and provides the image to the head mounted display (¶ [17]-[18], [36]-[40]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention in view of Seo wherein the simulation apparatus generates an image representing the virtual space that includes part or whole of a body of the user in the posture specified and provides the image to the head mounted display, and wherein in a case where the simulation apparatus, with reference to information which has been provided by the interface apparatus, determines that a predetermined condition has been satisfied, the simulation apparatus generates an image in which the user has fallen from a wall surface for the climbing experience in the virtual space and provides the image to the head mounted display as taught by Ou in order to inform the user of his/her posture while climbing and improve upon such posture, and to provide for a more user interactive system that keeps the user entertained and reduce boredom.
Claim 6 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Tamaoki et al. (US 20170277260 A1).
Kim in view of Seo is silent about wherein the simulation apparatus generates an image representing the virtual space that includes part or whole of a body of the user in the posture specified and provides the image to the head mounted display.
Regarding claim 6, Tamaoki teaches a system, wherein a simulation apparatus generates an image representing a virtual space that includes part or whole body of the user (as an avatar) in a posture specified and provides the image to a head mounted display (20, ¶ [83], [92], [291]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention in view of Seo wherein the simulation apparatus generates an image representing the virtual space that includes part or whole of a body of the user in the posture specified and provides the image to the head mounted display as taught by Tamaoki in order to inform the user of his/her posture while climbing and improve upon such posture while keeping the user entertained.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Sanchez Vives et al. (US 2018/0151258 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Sanchez”).
Kim in view of Seo is silent about wherein the head mounted display emits light in a predetermined direction; and the interface apparatus includes a plurality of photodetectors each configured to detect light which has been emitted from the head mounted display and provides, via the input and output section, the simulation apparatus with information indicative of a photodetector that has detected the light, as information for specifying an orientation of the head mounted display.
Regarding claim 7, Sanchez teaches a system comprising: a head mounted display (25), and a simulation apparatus (21), a motion sensing unit (24) comprising one or more sensors, including emitters that each emit light in a predetermined direction and receivers/photodetectors that each detect light that has been emitted from one of the emitters, that are configured to detect motion/orientation of the head mounted display (¶ [23]) and provide, via an input/output section, the simulation apparatus with information indicative of one or more receiver(s)/photodetector(s) that detected the light, as information for specifying the orientation of the head mounted display (Fig. 1, ¶ [12], [22]-[23], [55], in some examples, the sensors may comprise accelerometers attached to, integrated in or coupled with the head mounted display. In other examples, the sensors may comprise cameras. In yet further examples, further sensors involving e.g. emitters and receivers, from which the position and orientation of the subject or the head mounted display may be derived from triangulation. One or more sensors comprised in a motion sensing input device 24 which may in some example be located on a head mounted display). Although Sanchez does not specify the emitter(s) being on the head mounted display and the receivers/photodetectors being on an interface apparatus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the emitter(s) on the head mounted display and the receivers/photodetectors on an interface apparatus/another surface, since such would involve rearranging parts which is considered to be held within one ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, upon modification of Kim’s invention in view of Seo with features of Sanchez, the receivers/photodetectors can be arranged on the interface apparatus.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention in view of Seo wherein the head mounted display emits light in a predetermined direction and a plurality of photodetectors each configured to detect light which has been emitted from the head mounted display and provide, via the input and output section, the simulation apparatus with information indicative of a photodetector that has detected the light, as information for specifying an orientation of the head mounted display as taught by Sanchez in order to display appropriate images according to the point of view of the user and therefore provide the user with a more immersive climbing experience.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Koo (KR 102301954 B1, a copy of a translation of this document has been provided with this Office Action. The cited paragraphs are with respect to the translation).
Kim in view of Seo teaches the simulation apparatus carries out the process of automatically chancing the challenge level of the climbing experience (Kim: ¶ [108], (also ¶ [114] of “Classic Translation”)). Kim in view of Seo is silent about wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling the tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface, wherein a position of at least part of each of the holds in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the board is switchable among multiple levels, and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board, and the system further comprising an air blower for blowing wind toward the user in the climbing experience, wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing speed of the wind by the air blower.
Regarding claim 9, Koo teaches a climbing experience system comprising an interface apparatus and a simulation apparatus, the interface apparatus configured to provide a user with a climbing experience in a virtual space (¶ [1], [10]), the interface apparatus comprising: a board (i.e., tread wall 400 (having panels 480)) to which holds (600 with 610) are attached (Figs. 1, 3, 7-9, ¶ [19]), the user having to put a hand or a foot of the user at each of the holds (Figs. 15-16, ¶ [13], [19]); a movement mechanism/transmission mechanism (i.e., chain 470 with sprocket 466, ¶ [16], [22]) configured to move positions of the holds on the board (¶ [16], [19], [22]); force sensors (load cell 620) which are provided to the holds, and each detect a force and a moment that are applied from the user to a corresponding one of the holds or that are applied from each of the holds to the user (¶ [19]), an input and output section that provides a signal indicative of the force and the moment to a simulation apparatus configured to generate the virtual space and that acquires, from the simulation apparatus, a control signal for controlling the movement mechanism so as to move the holds (¶ [1], [24]-[25], [27]), and a tilt mechanism/an angle adjustment unit (300) which supports the board such that the board is tiltable (Fig. 3, ¶ [13], [24], [41]), the input and output section acquiring, from the simulation apparatus, a control signal for controlling the tilt mechanism so as to tilt the board (¶ [13], [24], [103], [109]), wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling the tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface (¶ [1], [10], [13], [24]-[25], [47], [109]).
Regarding claim 10, Koo teaches wherein a position of at least part of each of the holds in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the board is switchable among multiple levels (Figs. 12-13, ¶ [12], [19], [26], [70], the protrusion length of the holds can be changed), and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board (¶ [1], [10], [13], [89]-[91], [100], [102]-[110]).
Regarding claim 11, Koo teaches the system further comprising an air blower (700/740) for blowing wind toward the user in the climbing experience (¶ [14], [25], [72]-[75]), wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing speed of the wind by the air blower (¶ [24]-[25], [75], outputting content of various locations and terrain features through an HMD (10) and a beam projector (20), and by linking an angle adjustment unit (300) and a speed adjustment unit (500) according to the climbing difficulty level based on the content situation to adjust the rotation angle of the tread wall (400) and the rotation speed of the wall panel (480), thereby giving the feeling that actual rock climbing is taking place, and providing wind suitable for the content situation to a user climbing the wall panel (480) through a blower unit (700), thereby providing the effect of being able to experience the feeling of outdoor rock climbing even indoors. The wind speed and direction, provided by the blower fan (740) of the blower unit (which is connected to the control device), can be automatically adjusted in conjunction with the content situation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention in view of Seo wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling the tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface, wherein a position of at least part of each of the holds in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the board is switchable among multiple levels, and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board, and the system further comprising an air blower for blowing wind toward the user in the climbing experience, wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing speed of the wind by the air blower, as taught by Koo in order to provide a more realistic experience for the user and to also enable various user’s exercise according to their skill levels and improve upon their performance while training for specific sporting/climbing event.
Claims 9-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Droemmer (WO 8909635A2, a copy of a translation of this document has been provided with this Office Action. The cited paragraphs are with respect to the translation).
Kim in view of Seo teaches the simulation apparatus carries out the process of automatically chancing the challenge level of the climbing experience (Kim: ¶ [108], (also ¶ [114] of “Classic Translation”)). Kim in view of Seo is silent about wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling the tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface, wherein a position of at least part of each of the holds in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the board is switchable among multiple levels, and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board.
Regarding claim 9, Droemmer teaches a climbing experience system comprising an interface apparatus and a simulation apparatus (Figs. 1, 3-5 and 7), wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as a process of automatically changing a challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling a tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface (¶ [8], [14]-[15], [24], [42], [61]-[64]).
Regarding claim 10, Droemmer teaches wherein a position of at least part of each of holds (128, 130, 132) in a direction perpendicular to the surface (114) of a board (102) is switchable among multiple levels (Fig. 10, ¶ [15], [24], [30]-[31], [54]), and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board (Fig. 10, ¶ [15], [24], [30], [42], [54]-[55], [61]-[64]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s invention in view of Seo wherein the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of controlling the tilt mechanism to change an angle between the board and a floor surface, wherein a position of at least part of each of the holds in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the board is switchable among multiple levels, and the simulation apparatus carries out, as the process of automatically changing the challenge level of the climbing experience, a process of changing the position of at least part of each of the holds in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the board as taught by Droemmer in order to provide a more realistic experience for the user and to also enable various user’s exercise according to their skill levels and improve upon their performance while training for specific sporting/climbing event.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1, stating:
“Claim 1 is amended to include the subject matter of claim 4, as well as additional features. In rejecting claim 4, it is alleged that Kim discloses "the simulation apparatus determining the positions of the holds on the board in view of a position of the user in the virtual space", relying on paragraphs [0097]-[0101]. Applicants respectfully disagree. The cited portion of Kim recites that when the hand of the experiencer is sensed from the second detection sensor 620, the rotation speed of the transfer belt 100 is adjusted. The second detection sensor 620 is arranged to be spaced apart from each other up and down at a plurality of positions, and when the hands of the experienced person are detected from the second detection sensor 620 disposed at a relatively upper portion, a second detection sensor disposed at the lower part, the rotation speed of the transfer belt 100 is adjusted to be faster than when the hands of the experiencer are detected from 620. Through this, it is possible to implement a variable speed of the climbing experience platform according to the exercise capability and situation of the experiencer. It is preferable that a covering plate is installed on the top of the second detection sensor 620 disposed at the top so that the experienced person can no longer climb. In addition, in order to increase the sense of immersion of the experienced person wearing the head mounted display device at the corner of the frame 200, it is preferable that a shielding bracket is installed to block with a white cloth or the like.
Thus, there does not appear to be a teaching of "the simulation apparatus determines the positions of the holds on the board on a basis of a position of the user in the virtual space"”,
the Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to mention the followings. The above provided statements regarding the second detection senor and the rotation speed of the transfer belt 100 being adjusted based on the sensed data of the detection sensor 620, are not recited or described in the cited paragraphs [96]-[101] of Kim. Kim, in the cited paragraphs [96]-[101], teaches a control system (700) having a processor (730) that transmits a control command signal for adjusting the position of the holds (500/530) (i.e., forward and backward), to correspond to the position of the holds included in the virtual content. The user wears an HMD to view the virtual content. The processor considers the arrangement state of the holds received from the photographing unit, which is disposed on the HMD worn by the user, and the position of the virtual content holds in view of the user, and transmits a control command signal for matching the position of the holds of the board to the position of the virtual content holds (see ¶ [96]-[98] for details). For the purposes of clarity ONLY, applicant is referred to paragraphs [102]-[104] of the “Classic Translation” of Kim (corresponding to ¶ [96]-[98] of the previously provided translation of Kim), which recite: “The processor (730) transmits a control command signal for the position and forward/backward adjustment of the holder unit (500) so as to correspond to the position of the holder (530) included in the virtual content. The user wears a head-mounted display device to view virtual content and performs an experience of the climbing device according to an embodiment of the present invention. The processor takes into account the placement status of the holder unit (500) received from the shooting unit placed on the head-mounted display device worn by the user, and transmits a control command signal regarding the alignment of the position of the virtual control holder (530) in the area viewed by the user and the position of the holder unit (530)”. Since the user is viewing the virtual space in the virtual content as the user climbs, the holds (and their positions) that are in the area viewed by the user (via the HMD) in the virtual space, are directly associated with and related to the position of the user in the virtual space, and the processor determines the position of such holds in the virtual space (directly associated with the position of the user in the virtual space) and transmits a control signal to match the position of the holds on the board with those of the virtual space (associated with the user’s position in the virtual space). As such, Kim’s simulation apparatus determines the positions of the holds on the board on a basis of a position of the user in the virtual space.
In response to applicant’s further argument regarding claim 1, stating:
“Moreover, amended claim 1 recites that "the simulation apparatus carries out a process of automatically changing a challenge level of the climbing experience in an isolated climbing experience in accordance with a skill level of the user" which is not disclosed in any of the cited documents, and therefore is not obvious. Kim merely discloses that climbing experiences by challenge levels are possible, and does not disclose the aforementioned feature of amended claim 1”,
the Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to mention the followings. Kim in ¶ [108] recites: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, not only can be set through the UI, but the motion of the climbing device and the display of virtual content are linked in real time according to the experiencer's ability information and the climbing situation monitoring information, and the experience by difficulty level is It is possible to be automatically set to be possible”. Again, for the purposes of clarity ONLY, applicant is referred to ¶ [114] of the “Classic Translation” of Kim (corresponding to ¶ [108] of the previously provided translation of Kim), which recites: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, it is possible not only to set it through a UI, but also to automatically configure the operation of the climbing device and the display of virtual content in real time based on the user’s ability information and climbing situation monitoring information, so that the experience can be made possible by enabling difficulty levels”. As mentioned above, the experiencer’s ability information is considered a skill level, and that in another (isolated) climbing experience (another climbing time or trial), the difficulty level/challenge level of the climbing experience can be automatically changed based at least in part on the skill level/ability information of the experiencer/user. As such, Kim teaches wherein the simulation apparatus carries out a process of automatically changing a challenge level of the climbing experience in an isolated climbing experience in accordance with a skill level of the user.
Applicant’s similar arguments regarding claims 6-8 for being dependent on claim 1, are moot in view of the above provided explanation.
Applicant’s similar arguments regarding new claims 9-11 for being dependent upon claims 1-3, are also moot in view of the above provided explanation. Also please note that limitations of new claims 9, 10 and 11 are taught by Kim in view of Seo and further in view of Koo or Droemmer (see above for details).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784