DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butorin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication # 2024/0317606), hereinafter “Butorin”.
With respect to claims 1 and 10, Butorin teaches a water filtration system comprising one or more filter cartridges 20 (Figs. 13, 14; Paragraphs [0083-0094]) for a refrigerator appliance 10 (“domestic appliance”), the refrigerator appliance 10 (“domestic appliance”) comprising one or more cartridge head assemblies 30 (“a receiving compartment”) (see Fig. 12; Paragraphs [0076, 0078, 0090]), the water filtration system comprising: a filter cartridge body 20 defining an axial direction, a radial direction, and a circumferential direction (see Figs. 13, 14; Paragraphs [0084, 0085]), the filter body comprising one or more electrical connectors 70 (Paragraph [0074]) including a first body electrical contact configured to transfer electrical signals between the domestic appliance and the filter body (see Paragraphs [0072, 0075, 0079, 0091]) and a second body electrical contact positioned opposite the first body electrical contact (see Fig. 7, which shows electrical connectors 70,70a opposite electrical connectors 70, 70c in an axial direction), the second body electrical contact being electrically connected with the first body electrical contact (Paragraphs [0072-0083, 0087, 0088, 0091]); and flow sensor 86 (“measurement module”) removably coupled to the filter body at a first axial end thereof (see Figs. 13, 14: Paragraphs [0084-0091], which describe various embodiments where the placement of flow sensor 86 and portions thereof can be positioned inside or outside the filter cartridge, and/or before or after filtration), the measurement module being connectable to the refrigerator applicant 10 (“domestic appliance”) (Paragraph [0091]);
the measurement module comprising: a module electrical contact selectively coupled with one of the one or more electrical connectors 70 (“the second body electrical contact”) at a selected location to transfer electrical signals between the measurement module and the filter body (see Figs. 13, 14: Paragraphs [0084-0091]);
and flow sensor 86 (“a fluid flow measuring device”) configured to determine an amount of water (“fluid”) passing through the filter cartridge(s) 20 (“filtration system”), the fluid flow measuring device receiving electrical power from the domestic appliance via the filter body (see Paragraphs [0078-0084, 0087]).
Although Butorin does not specifically teach one embodiment that meets all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, Butorin teaches configurations of the measurement module/flow meter and filter cartridge (which are electrically connected) in which the flow meter/measurement module is connectable to the filter cartridge 20, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to select these embodiments from those disclosed by Butorin, as the teachings represent a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With respect to claims 2, 3, 11, and 12, Butorin teach that the flow sensor 86 (“measurement module”) comprises portions 86a and 86b, wherein 86a is a flow meter positioned in the flow of raw water (“fluidly coupled to the raw water inlet”) into the filter cartridge and portion 86b is positioned after the flow of water passes through the filter cartridge, such that the measurement module has a raw water inlet and treated water outlet (see Paragraphs [0084, 0090]; Figs. 13, 14).
With respect to claims 4, 5, 13, and 14, in a separate embodiment, Butorin teaches that the measurement module further comprises:
a bypass valve 31 fluidly coupled between the raw water inlet and the treated water outlet (see Figs. 8, 12-14; Paragraphs [0057-0063]), the bypass valve 31 selectively directing fluid from the raw water inlet to the treated water outlet to bypass the filter body, wherein flow meter 86a is positioned upstream from the bypass valve31 along the raw water inlet (see (see Figs. 8, 12-14; Paragraphs [0084-0090]). It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to consider the additional embodiments including the bypass valve of Butorin, in order to optimize flow through the water filter system.
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Butorin teaches wherein the measurement module at least partially surrounds the filter body along the radial direction such that the filter body is selectively inserted into the measurement module along the axial direction when the measurement module 86 is positioned prior to filtration (Paragraph [0090]; see Figs. 1, 5). Butorin (Paragraphs [0094-0091]) discloses various embodiments where the placement of flow sensor 86 and portions thereof can be positioned inside or outside the filter cartridge, and/or before or after filtration), the measurement module being connectable to the refrigerator applicant 10 (“domestic appliance”) (Paragraph [0091]). It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to consider the additional embodiments including the bypass valve of Butorin, in order to optimize flow through the water filter system.
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Butorin teaches wherein the module electrical contact comprises one or more electronic connectors associated with one or more electronic devices 78 (see Paragraphs [0072-0074]), wherein it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the plurality of module electrical contacts are spaced apart from each other along the circumferential direction at least in part upon examination of the electronic devices 78 and their associated circuits (see Paragraphs [0072-0074]; Fig. 11, 13).
With respect to claims 8 and 17, Butorin teaches wherein the fluid flow measuring device is configured to transmit an electrical signal to the refrigerator 10 (“domestic appliance”), the electrical signal comprising the amount of fluid passing through the water filtration system (see Paragraphs [0085, 0095]).
With respect to claims 9 and 18, Butorin teaches wherein the module electrical contact is provided along an inner circumferential surface of the measurement module (see flow meter 86 positioned on an inner surface of circumferential filter cartridge 20 in Figs. 13, 14).
Conclusion
/CLARE M. PERRIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/CLARE M PERRIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 18 September 2026