DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/6/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot in view new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickerson et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2023/0359709) in view of Sawhney et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2020/0372715) in view of Guan et al. (“A Dynamic Scene Vision SLAM Method Incorporating Object Detection and Object Characterization,” (2023), Sustainability, 15(4), 3048. https://doi.org/10.3390/su15043048) in view of Rodriguez et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2020/0380226).
Regarding claim 8, Nickerson teaches an electronic device, comprising:
At least one memory and at least one processor;
Wherein the at least one memory is configured to store a program code, and the at least one processor is configured to call the program code stored in the at least one memory to execute a method comprising:
Obtaining an environment image of a real environment (“augmented reality engine 304b may be running an augmented reality application” (Nickerson: 0073). “images of the physical environment were taken and objects identified” (Nickerson: 0081));
Identifying a corner point and/or an edge line of a target object in the environment image based on a vision algorithm (identifying objects in the identified location 806, comprising the steps of processing feature points of an object in an image frame (Nickerson: 0077). Further, Nickerson disclose the use of univalue segment assimilating nucleus (SUSAN) for feature detection that corresponds to the same SUSAN vision algorithm disclosed in the Applicant’s specification at para 0042);
And automatically annotating the target object in the environment image based on the identified corner point and/or edge line (“If it is determined that the object of the image frame substantially corresponds with an object identified in the augmented reality profile in decision block 810 of method 800, then method 800 proceeds to block 812, where the annotation content of the augmented reality profile is rendered relative to the object according to rendering instructions provided with the annotation content.” (Nickerson: 0083)).
However, Nickerson does not expressly teach but Sawhney teaches the annotation being a label of the target object (“Upon recognizing the real-world object, computing device 102 provides an augmentation 114 relating to the real-world object…specifically as a label that denotes a recognized identity of the real-world object.” (Sawhney: 0016, FIG.1)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nickerson such as to label the identified objects as taught by Sawhney, because this further aids the user in recognizing objects within the AR view.
Further, the combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Guan teaches wherein a spatial position of the target object is determined (The three-dimensional coordinates in the world coordinate system of all feature points, as well as the RGB information for these points, can then be obtained using Equation (4) (Guan: 3.4. Creation of Dense Point Cloud Map, para 2)) based on the corner point and/or edge line of the target object (“object detection on the read image data to classify the object in the scene…after the extraction of ORB feature points for the current frame is completed in the tracking module…stable static feature points are used in the subsequent tracking and map construction process” (Guan: 3.Methods, para 2)). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to apply the SLAM teachings of Guan to the combined teachings above , because this enables an effective method of improving accuracy of constructing an XR environment.
And further, the combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Rodriguez teaches,
Wherein labeling the target object comprises: determining a shape, a size, and a spatial position of the target object (“Each object is represented by data stored in memory indicating, e.g., its shape, size, orientation, and position” (Rodriguez: 00292),
Wherein the shape of the target object is determined by using the corner point and the edge line (“Such a process begins by identifying straight and elliptical contours (edges), and associated vertices. Known edge-finding techniques can be used. Regions (surfaces) bounded by these edges are typically regarded as object faces” (Rodriguez: 0287). Rodriguez also teaches “One class of distinctive feature suitable for such analysis is the class of “corner points.” Corner points include features such as the ends of lines on contrasting backgrounds” (Rodriguez: 0116). Such are carried out by “corner detectors, robust local feature detectors” (Rodriguez: 0288)),
And the size of the target object is determined by using length of the edge line (“The object's size measurements depend on the shape. The size of a right cylinder, for example, can be characterized by its diameter and its length” (Rodriguez: 0282))
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined teachings above such as to identify objects as taught by Rodriguez, because this enable an effective method of determining the size, shape and position of physical objects within an AR/XR environment.
Claim(s) 1 are corresponding method claim(s) of claim(s) 8. The limitations of claim(s) 1 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim(s) 8. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected substantially similar to claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 15 are corresponding computer readable storage medium claim(s) of claim(s) 8. The limitations of claim(s) 1 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim(s) 8. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected substantially similar to claim(s) 1. Note, Nickerson teaches a non-transitory, machine readable medium, as presently claimed (Nickerson: 0099).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 13, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickerson in view of Sawhney in view of Guan in view of Rodriguez as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Jovanovic et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2019/0051054).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Jovanovic teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: constructing a model for the target object in an extended reality space based on a labeling result of the automatically labeling (generating an annotated 3D model of space using AR, wherein the process comprise of detecting corners of objects (Jovanovic: 0002-0003)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined teachings above such as to utilize the modeling teaching of Jovanovic, because this enables the creation of AR space within which the user can interact within (Jovanovic: 0002).
Regarding claim 13, he combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Jovanovic teaches the device of claim 8, wherein automatically labeling the target object in the environment image based on the identified corner point and/or edge comprises:
Obtaining three-dimensional space information about the corner point and/or edge line of the target object (identifying corners within the environment to create a 3D model of the space (Jovanovic: 0044));
Rendering the corner point and/or edge line of the target object in the identified environment image based on the three-dimensional space information (the displayed corners and edges as shown in FIG.2-9 of Jovanovic);
And superposing and displaying the rendered corner point and/or edge on the environment image (refer to the superimposed corners and edges shown in FIG.2-9 of Jovanovic).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined teachings above such as to utilize the modeling teaching of Jovanovic, because this enables the creation of AR space within which the user can interact within (Jovanovic: 0002).
Claims 2 and 16 are similar in scope to claims 9. Therefore, the rejection to claim 2 similarly applies to claims 2 and 16.
Claims 6 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 13. Therefore, the rejection to claim 2 similarly applies to claims 6 and 20.
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickerson in view of Sawhney in view of Guan in view of Rodriguez as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Ye (PGPUB Document No. US 2020/0349731).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the device of claim 8, wherein identifying the corner point and/or the edge line of the target object in the environment image based on the vision algorithm comprises:
Calculating areas of respective regions with univalue segment assimilating nucleus in the grayscale image; and determining the corner point and/or the edge line of the target object based on the areas of the regions with univalue segment assimilating nucleus (object recognition utilizing “smallest univalue segment assimilating nucleus (SUSAN), or other feature detectors” (Nickerson: 0080)).
However, the combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Ye teaches applying SUSAN on an image that is converted to a grayscale image (Ye: 0043). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined teachings above such as to implement SUSAN in the manner taught by Ye, because this enables an effective application of the SUSAN algorithm.
Claim 3 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 10. Therefore, the rejection to claim 10 similarly applies to claims 3 and 17.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickerson in view of Sawhney in view of Guan in view of Rodriguez as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Chaturvedi et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2020/0258144).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings above do not expressly teach but Chaturvedi teaches the device of claim 8, wherein after automatically labeling the target object in the environment image based on the identified corner point and/or edge line, the method further comprises:
In response to a confirmation operation on a labeling result obtained after automatically labeling the corner point and/or edge line of the target object superimposed and displayed on the environment image, saving the labeling result (Chaturvedi teaches a similar AR floorplan measuring process that comprises the user confirming edges of physical structures).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined teachings above such as to utilize the user confirmation process of Chaturvedi, because this enables an improved method of surveying the physical environment.
Claim 7 is similar in scope to claim 14. Therefore, the rejection to claim 14 similarly applies to claims 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616