DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending, and claims 1-17 are currently under review.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 8/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the initial solution" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to what solution is considered to be “the initial solution” and claim 3 and previous claim 1 do not recite any instances of an “initial solution”. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to refer to the “initial solution” of claim 2, which does positively recite an instance of “an initial solution comprising metal ions”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites that the aqueous metal-chelator solution is evaporated, which is indefinite because evaporation requires conversion of the aqueous solution to a vapor, which is not a solution (ie. liquid mixture). Therefore, it is unclear as to how the claim scope is being narrowed.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 recites a step of evaporating the solution of claim 1. However, claim 1 requires an aqueous solution, which one of ordinary skill would understand to naturally include a liquid (ie. water) and therefore claim 4 fails to further limit the scope of independent claim 1 because the scope of claim 4 (evaporation) is contrary to the scope of claim 1 (aqueous solution in liquid form). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Hara (US 2021/0024365).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6-13, O’Hara discloses a method wherein HCl acid is added to a Ra/EDTA product solution (ie. aqueous ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid metal-chelator solution with metal ions already priorly bound to EDTA) to achieve separation (ie. dissociation) of the EDTA and radium by precipitating out the EDTA (ie. precipitation and removal) and leaving the Ra in a supernate solution [0051, 0056]. O’Hara further teaches that the solution includes 224-Ra isotope and adding acid drops the pH from 6 to below 2, which meets the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 2, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara further teaches an initial step of providing a solution mixture of Ra (ie. metal ion) among other heavy metals, contacting said solution mixture with a media such as a silica support (ie. solid substrate) to collect said Ra ions, and then contacting the media having Ra adsorbed thereon with a solution of EDTA to form a Ra/EDTA solution [0014, 0051-0056, claim3].
Regarding claim 5, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara further teaches using a 0.05 M EDTA solution for elution of Ra, wherein one of ordinary skill would recognize that Ra elution is a 1:1 ratio such that a resulting Ra/EDTA solution will have a metal-chelator concentration of 0.05 M, which falls within the claimed range [0043, table2].
Regarding claims 14-16, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara further teaches separating (ie. recovering) Ra from the aforementioned mixture and using the 224-Ra to produce 212-Pb or 212-Bi for medical applications [abstract, 0004].
Regarding claim 17, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara does not expressly teach any EDTA in the Ra supernate solution, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that no EDTA (ie. 0%) is present, which meets the claimed range. Furthermore, O’Hara discloses an embodiment wherein Ra is completely dissociated from EDTA which is then removed, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that no leftover EDTA is present [0112, 0117].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hara (US 2021/0024365).
Regarding claims 15-16, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara does not expressly teach that the exemplary radium is further used as claimed. However, as stated above, O’Hara discloses that it is well known (ie. background section) to utilize recovered Ra to produce 212-Pb or 212-Bi for medical applications [abstract, 0004].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hara (US 2021/0024365) in view of Nirdosh et al. (US 4,654,200).
Regarding claim 3, O’Hara discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). O’Hara does not expressly teach a concentration of metal ions as claimed. Nirdosh discloses that it is known that uranium mill tailings include radium in concentrations of around 300 pCi up to 2000 pCi which are unsafe levels, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to overlap with the claimed range [col.1 ln.10-25]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of O’Hara by utilizing an initial material having the claimed radium amount because Nirdosh discloses these concentrations to be unsafe such that said initial materials can be further purified through the method of O’Hara.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734