DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, et al. (US 2014/0295250 A1) in view of Daub, et al. (DE 102018207327 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa, et al. teaches an energy storage device (abstract) comprising: a plurality of electrode assemblies (item—400, figure 2, paragraph 0039-0040) arranged in a first direction (x-axis, figure 2, paragraph 0044); a case housing (item—200, figure 2, paragraph 0039-0040) the plurality of electrode assemblies (paragraph 0056); and at least one connection conductive member (item—350, figure 2) that electrically connects together the electrode assemblies adjacent to each other (paragraph 0044), wherein the case includes: a case body having electrical insulation property (paragraph 0040, 0043, 0057) and surrounding the plurality of electrode assemblies (figure 2 and 3, paragraph 0029); and at least one partition (item—222, figure 2, paragraph 0042)) portion having electrical insulation property (paragraph 0060) and located between the electrode assemblies adjacent to each other to partition an accommodation space of the case body (figure 3 and 6), in the accommodation space of the case body (figure 5), the partition portion forms a first compartment and a second compartment adjacent to the first compartment with the partition portion interposed between the first compartment and the second compartment (item—S1, figure 2, paragraph 0040).
Figure 2 from Nishikawa, et al.
The connection conductive member includes a first end portion, a second end portion, a first inner surface portion, and a second inner surface portion wherein, the first end portion is an end portion, located at one side in the first direction, of the connection conductive member, and embedded in the case body, the second end portion is an end portion, located at the other side in the first direction, of the connection conductive member, and embedded in the case body (figure 1 and 3; examiner notes Nishikawa, et al. defines first direction as x-axis and the connection conductive member as a bus bar located inside the case).
Modified figure 3 from Nishikawa, et al.
Nishikawa, et al. further teaches the first inner surface portion is exposed to the first compartment and electrically connected to a first electrode assembly contained in the first compartment, among the plurality of electrode assemblies, and the second inner surface portion is exposed to the second compartment and electrically connected to a second electrode assembly contained in the second compartment, among the plurality of electrode assemblies (figure 4; examiner notes the inner surface for Nishikawa, et al. is the bus bar [item 350] electrically connected to the electrode terminal).
Modified figure 4 from Nishikawa, et al.
However, Nishikawa, et al. do not teach an additional connection conductive member that is located in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Daub, et al. teaches at least one connection conductive member (item—10 and 11, figure 1 paragraph 0038; examiner notes the connection conductive member fore Daub, et al. is a tie rod) that is located at a side of the plurality of electrode assemblies in a second direction (item—17, figure 1 and 2) orthogonal to the first direction (item—3, figure 1 and 2, paragraph 0030 and 0032), and electrically connects together the electrode assemblies adjacent to each other (figure 1, paragraph 0032, 0037-0038).
Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. are in the corresponding field of a storage device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the storage device composition taught by Nishikawa, et al. with the additional conductive member in the second direction taught by Daub, et al. to create the claimed invention for a power storage module.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, et al. (US 2014/0295250 A1) in view of Daub, et al. (DE 102018207327 A1) further in view of Zeng, et al. (CN 213782158 U).
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 but do not teach the case body includes a hole.
Zeng, et al. teaches the case body includes a hole (item—111 and 111a, figure 15) provided to expose a part of the connection conductive member (item—12, figure 15; examiner notes Zeng, et a. uses bus bar) to an outside of the case body, and closed by the connection conductive member, the connection conductive member further includes a first outer surface portion located opposite to the first inner surface portion (figure 14) and exposed to the outside of the case body from the hole (figure 15, paragraph 0153).
Modified figure 14 from Zeng, et al.
Modified figure 15 from Zeng, et al.
Zeng, et al. further teaches a pressure release valve capable of releasing a pressure (paragraph 0120).
Nishikawa, et al., Daub, et al., and Zeng, et al. are in the corresponding field of a power storage device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the storage device composition taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. with the case body including holes and pressure release valves taught by Zeng, et al. to create the claimed invention for a power storage module.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, et al. (US 2014/0295250 A1) in view of Daub, et al. (DE 102018207327 A1) further in view of Kim, et al. (US 2023/0187792 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa, et al. further teaches a connection conductive member including a third inner surface portion that is embedded end portion, and exposed to the accommodation space and electrically connected to the third electrode assembly. Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 do not teach the case body includes external conductive member.
Modified figure 3 from Nishikawa, et al.
Kim, et al. teaches a battery case housing an electrode assembly (item—120, figure 5) comprising an external conductive member (item—274a and 284a, figure 5, paragraph 0067) located at a side of an electrode assembly in the second direction (y-axis, figure 5), and electrically connected to the third electrode assembly (item—274 and 286, figure 5, paragraph 0071 and 0078; examine notes the electrode presented with Kim, et al. can be the third electrode of an assembly being located at an endmost position in the first direction or x-axis among the plurality of electrode assemblies as taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al.). Kim, et al. further teaches the external conductive member is exposed to an outside of the case body in the first direction (x-axis, figure 5, paragraph 0067, 0071, and 0077), and the embedded end portion (item—244, figure 5, paragraph 0077) is an end portion located opposite to the external connection surface portion in the first direction (x-axis), and embedded in the case body (item—282 and 272, figure 5, paragraph 0070, 0072 and 0076).
Nishikawa, et al., Daub, et al., and Kim, et al. are in the corresponding field of a power device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the storage device composition taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. with the external conductive member taught by Kim, et al. to create the claimed invention for a power storage module.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, et al. (US 2014/0295250 A1) in view of Daub, et al. (DE 102018207327 A1) further in view of Kurokawa, et al. (JP 2013/143271 A).
Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa, et al. further teaches an energy storage device comprises a bottom wall portion (item—235, figure 4, paragraph 0040) made from a resin composition and located at one side in a third direction (z-axis) orthogonal to both the first direction (x-axis) and the second direction(y-axis); a peripheral sidewall portion (item—231—234, figure 5, paragraph 0040) made from a resin composition, formed integrally with the bottom wall portion, extending upright in the third direction (z-axis) from a peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion, and forming an opening that opens in a direction opposite to the bottom wall portion (figure 5); and a lid (item—210, figure 1 and 2, paragraph 0041) closing the opening, wherein at least a portion of the lid that faces the peripheral sidewall portion is made from a resin composition (paragraph 0040). Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 do not teach the lid being welded.
Kurokawa, et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising: a bottom wall (item—2a, figure 1, paragraph 0010), a plurality of side walls(item—2b and 2c, figure 1); and a lid (item—3, figure 6). The energy storage device comprises resin (paragraph 0011, 0015, 0018) and a lid with a weld portion formed by thermally welding the lid and the peripheral sidewall portion to each other (paragraph 0019).
Nishikawa, et al., Daub, et al., and Kurokawa, et al. are in the corresponding field of a power device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the storage device composition taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. with the thermal welding of the lid taught by Kurokawa, et al. to create the claimed invention for a power storage module.
With respect to claim 5, Kurokawa, et al. further teaches a case body (item—2, figure 1) includes: a bottom wall (item—2a, figure 1, paragraph 0010) portion located at one side in a third direction (y-axis) orthogonal to both the first direction (x-axis) and the second direction (z-axis); a peripheral sidewall portion formed integrally with the bottom wall portion (item—2b and 2c, figure 1), extending upright in the third direction (y-axis) from a peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion, and forming an opening that opens in a direction opposite to the bottom wall portion (figure 2); and a lid closing the opening (item—3, figure 1, paragraph 0010 and 0021), and the lid includes: a lid body (item—3, figure 6); and a gasket (item—6, Figure 7) sandwiched between the lid body and the peripheral sidewall portion (figure 9 and 10, paragraph 0018-0019).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, et al. (US 2014/0295250 A1) in view of Daub, et al. (DE 102018207327 A1) further in view of Kim, et al. (US 2023/0187792 A1), Kurokawa, et al. (JP 2013/143271 A) and further in view of Zeng, et al. (CN 213782158 U)
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa, et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising the third electrode assembly being located at an endmost position in the first direction among the plurality of electrode assemblies (see above modified figure 3 from Nishikawa, et al. ); the case body includes: a bottom wall portion (item—235, figure 4, paragraph 0040) made from a resin composition and located at one side in a third direction (z-axis) orthogonal to both the first direction (x-axis) and the second direction (y-axis); a peripheral sidewall portion (item—231—234, figure 5, paragraph 0040) made from a resin composition, formed integrally with the bottom wall portion, extending upright in the third (z-axis) direction from a peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion, and forming an opening that opens in a direction opposite to the bottom wall portion (figure 5); and a lid (item—210, figure 1 and 2, paragraph 0041) closing the opening, wherein at least a portion of the lid that faces the peripheral sidewall portion is made from a resin composition (paragraph 0040). Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. render obvious the features of claim 1 do not teach an external conductive member, thermally welding the lid and the peripheral sidewall portion to each other; a hole exposing a part of the connection conductive member, and a pressure release valve.
Kim, et al. teaches a battery case housing an electrode assembly (item—120, figure 5) comprising an external conductive member (item—274a and 284a, figure 5, paragraph 0067) located at a side of an electrode assembly in the second direction (y-axis, figure 5), and electrically connected to the third electrode assembly (item—274 and 286, figure 5, paragraph 0071 and 0078; examine notes the electrode presented with Kim, et al. can be the third electrode of an assembly being located at an endmost position in the first direction or x-axis among the plurality of electrode assemblies as taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al.). Kim, et al. further teaches the external conductive member is exposed to an outside of the case body in the first direction (x-axis, figure 5, paragraph 0067, 0071, and 0077), and the embedded end portion (item—244, figure 5, paragraph 0077) is an end portion located opposite to the external connection surface portion in the first direction (x-axis), and embedded in the case body (item—282 and 272, figure 5, paragraph 0070, 0072 and 0076).
Kurokawa, et al. teaches an energy storage device comprising a lid with a weld portion formed by thermally welding the lid and the peripheral sidewall portion to each other (paragraph 0019).
Zeng, et al. teaches the case body includes a hole (item—111 and 111a, figure 15) provided to expose a part of the connection conductive member (item—12, figure 15; examiner notes Zeng, et a. uses bus bar) to an outside of the case body, and closed by the connection conductive member, the connection conductive member further includes a first outer surface portion located opposite to the first inner surface portion (figure 14) and exposed to the outside of the case body from the hole (figure 15, paragraph 0153). Zeng, et al. further teaches a pressure release valve capable of releasing a pressure (paragraph 0120).
Nishikawa, et al., Daub, et al., Kim, et al., Kurokawa, and Zeng, et al. (CN 213782158 U) are in the corresponding field of a power device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the storage device composition taught by Nishikawa, et al. and Daub, et al. with the external conductive member taught by Kim, et al. with the thermal welding of the lid taught by Kurokawa, et al. and with the case body including holes and pressure release valves taught by Zeng, et al. to create the claimed invention for a power storage module.
With respect to claim 7, Kurokawa, et al. further teaches a case body (item—2, figure 1) comprises a lid body (item—3, figure 6) and a gasket (item—6, Figure 7) sandwiched between the lid body and the peripheral sidewall portion (figure 9 and 10, paragraph 0018-0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park, et al. (US 2023/0261311 A1) teaches a composition of an energy storage device comprising a conductive member that is located at a side of an electrode assembly in a second direction (figure 2) orthogonal to the first direction as taught above. Specifically, Kim, et al. teaches a conductive member provided with pressure release valve (item---130, figure 2) capable of releasing a pressure on the first inner surface portion toward the first outer surface portion which meet claims 2 and 6-7 dimensions (paragraph 0028, 0029, 0033).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung, et al. (US 2019/0181393 A1) teaches a battery case comprising: a bottom wall (item—2, figure 1) , a plurality of side walls (item—3a, 3b, 3c, and 3d, figure 1); and a lid (item—4, figure 1). The battery case comprises resin (paragraph 0046) and a lid with a weld portion formed by welding the lid and the peripheral sidewall portion to each other which meet claims 4 and 6 dimensions (paragraph 0081—0082).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okuno, et al. (WO 2024058219 A1) teaches power storage device comprising: a bottom wall, a plurality of side walls; and a lid (figure 1-2, paragraph 0037-0038). The battery case comprises resin (paragraph 0047), a lid with a weld portion formed by thermally welding the lid and the peripheral sidewall portion to each other, and a gasket sandwiched between the lid body and the peripheral sidewall portion (figure 9 and 10, paragraph 0085-0086) which meet claims 4-7 dimensions.
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783