DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II claims in the reply filed on 6-5-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I and II are not a combination/subcombination. This is found persuasive because although independent claim 9 includes a die pin cavity and lateral surface limitations the dependent claims 10,12 and 13 appear to contain similar limitations as in independent claim 1. Groups I and II are examined in this office action with Group III claims remaining withdrawn. The restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimota et al. (2007/0144232). Shimota discloses a release assembly (1230,1235) for a die (1200; Figs. 12A,12B) comprising a die release button (BU) that includes a button body (1230) having opposing ends (Fig. 12A) configured to receive an actuating force (F; Fig. 12B and return force [0138], lines 1-5 and [0139], lines 1-5). The button body (1230) has a slot (1260,1232) that extends through (a distance within) the button body between a first slot end (1260) and a second slot end (1232) wherein the second slot end (1232) defines a notch (cam surface; Fig. 12B, [0136], lines 9-15) having opposed ramp surfaces including a left side of second slot end (1232) which is an inclined ramp along which a die pin end (1238) moves (Fig. 12B) and a right side of second slot end (1232) which is a bottom ramp in which die pin end (1238) seats (Fig. 12A). A die pin (1235) is selectively received by being insertable into the slot (1260,1232) at the first slot end where it abuts first slot end (1260; Fig. 12A) with a button engaging portion (1238) and the die pin (1235) is movable between a retention (locked) orientation (Fig. 12A) and a release (unlocked) orientation (Fig. 12B).
Regarding claim 2, the die pin (1235) includes a button engaging portion (die pin end 1238) and a die engaging portion (1237) opposite the button engaging portion (Fig. 12A).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Shimota discloses a biasing element spring (1240) that biases the die pin (1235) toward a center (bottom ramp end of second slot end 1232) of the notch in an axial direction of the die release button (1230; Fig. 12A) and the biasing element (1240) is constructed to urge the die engaging portion (1238) toward and away from the button body (1230).
Regarding claim 5, Shimota discloses a detent (1210) which provides a locking arrangement with die pin (1235; Figs. 12A,12B).
Regarding claim 6, the first slot end (1260) is rectangular profile (wall; Fig. 12B) which is constructed to block movement of the button engaging portion (1238) of the die pin (1235; Fig. 12A).
Claim(s) 1-3,7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto (WO 2010/106902). Sakamoto discloses a release assembly (40,45) for use with a die (5), the release assembly comprising a die release button (45) including a body (46) having a first end (top end; Fig. 6B) to receive a first actuating force (push in; page 17, lines 5-6) and a second end (bottom end; Fig. 6A) to receive a second actuating force (push up; page 17, line 4), the body (46) including a slot (bifurcation; 46B) between a first slot end (longitudinal part of bifurcation 46B; Fig. 8B) and a second slot end (inclined part 50 of bifurcation 46B; Fig. 8B), the second slot end (inclined part of bifurcation 50; Fig. 8B) including a notch (where 50 is pointing; Fig. 8B) having a first ramped surface (left incline 50; Fig. 8B; page 16, line 6) and a second ramped surface (right incline 50; Fig. 8B; page 16, line 6), and a die pin (41) selectively received by the first slot end (page 16, lines 16-19), the die pin moveable (page 17, lines 6-8) with respect to the first slot end (longitudinal part of bifurcation 46B; Fig. 8B) between a retention orientation (Fig. 6A) and a release orientation (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 2, the die pin (41) includes a button engaging portion (51, Fig. 8A) and a die engaging portion (41a) on an opposite end of the pin (41) from the button engaging portion (51).
Regarding claim 3, a biasing element (spring, 42) that urges the die engaging portion (41a) away from the body (46, Fig. 6A; page 15, lines 14-17) and into the die sleeve hole (26b).
Regarding claim 7, the die pin (41) includes a square key (plate, 41c) to engage the button body (46) along the ramps (50).
Regarding claim 8, the square key (41c) includes a stepped profile (41a,41c,51) which centers the die pin (41) within the slot (Fig. 6A) to prohibit the button engaging portion (51) from disengaging (page 16, lines 17-19).
Claim(s) 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khansa et al. (11,623,265). Regarding claim 9, Khansa discloses ram head (200,400; Fig. 5A) defining a die pin cavity (210; Fig. 10A), the die pin cavity (210) including a first lateral surface extending on a first side of the ram head (left side where 210 is pointing; Fig. 10A) and a second lateral surface extending along a second side of the ram head (right side opposite of where 210 is pointing; Fig. 10A) wherein the first side is opposite of the second side across the ram head. Khansa discloses a release assembly (560,576) including a release button (562,564,576), the release button (562,564,576) including a first end (left knob 562 and shaft 564) extending beyond the first lateral surface and a second end (right knob 562 and shaft 564, Fig. 10A) extending beyond the second lateral surface; and a die pin (566) extending into the die pin cavity (210).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the release button (562,564,576) includes a slot (577,578; Fig. 9C) extending between a first slot end (577) and a second slot end (578) to define a notch which includes first and second sloped surfaces (walls of 577,578) and the die pin (566) slides along the notch walls through the notch.
Regarding claim 11, the die pin (566) extends through the slot (577,578; col. 6, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 12, the walls of the slot (577,578) are symmetrical.
Regarding claim 14, the notch (577,578) is a stepped profile including longitudinal slot (577) and circumferential slot (578).
Regarding claim 15, the die pin (566) is a die engaging portion which extends in the die cavity to retain the die by fixing endplates (580,582).
Regarding claim 16, the release button (562,564,576) is dual actuating since there are knobs (562) on left and right sides of the ram head (200,400; Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 17, a biasing element (570) biases the die pin (566) toward a retention orientation (with lock slot, 578).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khansa et al. (11,623,265) in view of Sakamoto (WO 2010/106902). Khansa does not specifically show that the spring (570) extends into the pin cavity. Sakamoto teaches (Fig. 6B) that a spring (42) which biases a die pin (41) extends into a die pin cavity (43) in a die (6). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to extends the spring of Khansa into the die cavity as taught by Sakamoto so as to bias the die pin against the die button within the die pin cavity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725