DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 lines 2-4, beginning with “…the at least one sensor configured…” is verbatim to claim 1 lines 10-13. This limitation appears to be redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “cleaning machine” in claims 1-13 (corresponds to a sweeper, vacuum, scrubber, and others as listed in paragraph [0032]), a “cleaning element” in claims 1 and 12 (corresponds to rotating or spinning sweepers, a cylindrical brush, a vacuum, more details are provided in paragraph [0033]).
The “stopper element” recited in claim 8 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) as one of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification will understand the term to have a sufficiently definite meaning as a stopper, or in other words is a simple mechanism that brings motion to a stop or halt. MPEP 2181 states that "The standard is whether the words of the claim are understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure." Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1349, 115 USPQ2d 1105, 1111 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “A hopper indicator system…” However each of claims 10-11, which depend from claim 9, recites the preamble "The cleaning machine…" It appears that the limitations of claims 10-11 are further limiting the sensor of the indicator system. Therefore, the preambles of each of claims 10-11 are not consistent with the invention of claim 9.
Claim 12 line 15 recites “a hopper indicator system…” It is unclear whether this limitation refers back to line 6 in which case the limitation should be recited as “the hopper indicator system” or whether the applicant intended to instead recite “a hopper indicator” (akin to that of the last clause of claim 9). The examiner is interpreting the limitation of “a hopper indication system” in line 15 as “a hopper indicator” that is part of the hopper indicator system. Please note that “hopper indicator system” is recited in claim 12 line 16 as well, where it is also being interpreted as the “hopper indicator”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhuang et al., CN 112722896A (see English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Zhuang et al. disclose a hopper indicator system capable of use in a cleaning machine (Figure 1, hopper is a bucket), the hopper indicator system comprises: an actuator (motor 103); an arm operably coupled to the actuator (swing arm 101), wherein the arm is disposed to rotate about a rotational axis of the actuator (Figure 1; English translation description of Embodiment 1); a sensor configured to detect when the arm comes into contact with debris (swinging sensor 104, see English translation of Embodiment 1; debris includes the coal or waste rock within the hopper, see English translation of Abstract); a controller in communication with the sensor (control device 109, Figure 1), wherein the controller is configured to receive signals from the sensor (see English translation of Embodiment 1); and a hopper indicator in communication with the sensor (alarms 105, 106; Figure 1), wherein the hopper indicator is configured to provide an indication to a user in response to the arm coming into contact with debris (see English translation of Embodiment 1). Regarding claim 10, the sensor is configured to sense when the arm comes into contact with debris and further sense a position of the arm relative to the actuator (sensor 104 senses the angular swinging position of the arm , the arm comes into contact with the debris and senses a position of the arm based on its swinging position, see English translation of Abstract and claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Zhuang et al. teach a method of determining a level of debris in a hopper of a cleaning machine (Figure 1, hopper is a bucket capable of being part of a cleaning machine as debris includes raw coal and waste rock, see English translation of Abstract), the method comprising: moving an arm of a hopper indicator system away from a sidewall of the hopper from a first position (arm 101 is rotated or undergoes swinging motion via motor 103, see English translation and Figure 1); contacting debris with the arm (see English translation “the rotating shaft of the motor drives the swinging arm to swing in the position of the upper limit…the swinging arm touches the raw coal…”); creating a signal in response to the arm contacting the pile of debris (see English translation, “the swinging arm…sends the overload warning signal to the alarm…”); and indicating that the arm has come into contact with the pile of debris in response to the signal (via the alarms 105, 106; see English translation pertaining to the alarms). Regarding claim 14, there is a step of returning the arm to the first position (in that the motion is swinging or rotating thereby returning to a first position each swing or rotation, see English translation description of swing arm 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovgren, GB 2071515 in view of Zhuang et al., CN 112722896A (see English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lovgren discloses a cleaning machine (vacuum, see Abstract) comprising a hopper defining an internal volume therewithin (at 10 in Figures 2-3), the hopper is disposed to collect debris collected by the cleaning machine during operation (wet or dry particulate, see page 1 lines 22-35); a cleaning element mounted to a portion of the cleaning machine (vacuum hose 13, Figures 2-3), wherein the cleaning element is disposed to pick up debris and deliver the debris to the hopper (page 1 lines 76-77, Figures 2-3); and a hopper indicator system mounted to a portion of the hopper (sensor 42, Figure 3 and page 2 lines 82-88). Lovgren fails to disclose that the hopper indicator system comprises an arm disposed to move relative to the hopper and at least one sensor connected to the arm, wherein the at least one sensor configured to sense when the arm comes into contact with debris in the hopper, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to determine a position of the arm relative to the hopper.
Further regarding claim 1, Zhuang et al. teaches a hopper indicator system mounted to a portion of a hopper (Figure 1), the hopper indicator system comprises: an arm disposed to move relative to the hopper (swing arm 101); and at least one sensor connected to the arm (swinging sensor 104, see English translation of Embodiment 1; debris includes the coal within the hopper), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to sense when the arm comes into contact with debris in the hopper (see English translation of Embodiment 1), wherein the at least one sensor is configure to determine a position of the arm relative to the hopper (sensor 104 senses the angular swinging position of the arm , the arm comes into contact with the debris and senses a position of the arm based on its swinging position, see English translation of Abstract and claim 5). Regarding claim 2, the hopper indicator system further comprises a controller in communication with the at least one sensor (control device 109, Figure 1), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to sense when the arm comes into contact with debris in the hopper (see English translation of Embodiment 1), wherein the at least one sensor is configure to determine a position of the arm relative to the hopper (sensor 104 senses the angular swinging position of the arm , the arm comes into contact with the debris and senses a position of the arm based on its swinging position, see English translation of Abstract and claim 5). Regarding claim 5, there is an actuator (motor 103), the arm is mounted to the actuator (Figure 1, see English translation), wherein the actuator is configured to move the arm along an arcuate pathway (swinging motion or rotary motion, see English translation description relating to Figure 2 or English translation of Figure 5). Regarding claim 6, the arm is disposed to rotate relative to the hopper (rotary motion, see English translation description relating to Figure 2). Regarding claim 7, the arm comprises a base portion (portion of 101 that is secured to the motor 103 for driving, Figure 1); and an oppositely disposed tip portion connected to the base portion (the opposite portion of 101, Figure 1). This combination of an electronic and mechanical hopper indicator system serves to prevent overfilling of the hopper and to indicate to a user when the hopper reaches a limit (see English translation of Abstract and claims).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hopper indicator system of Lovgren for one that comprises an arm disposed to move relative to the hopper and at least one sensor connected to the arm, wherein the at least one sensor configured to sense when the arm comes into contact with debris in the hopper, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to determine a position of the arm relative to the hopper, as Zhuang et al. teach, to serve as a mechanical and electronic combination of a hopper indicator system that prevents overfilling of a hopper.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovgren, GB 2071515 and Zhuang et al., CN 112722896A (see English translation) as applied to claim 2 in view of “What is Rotary Encoder? Types, Principle, working in detail” by Circuit Schools Staff (herein CSS, What is Rotary Encoder? Types, Principle, working in detail – Circuit Schools).
Lovgren and Zhuang et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the sensor is a rotational encoder.
Providing context to claim 3, Zhuang et al. teaches that the swing(ing) sensor (104) operates so that it is mechanically connected to the arm (101) and “swinging sensor is mechanically connected with the swinging arm; and the swinging sensor is electrically connected with the alarm and the automatic control device” (see English translation, under the heading Contents of the Invention). Zhuang et al. does not state that this sensor specifically comprises a rotational encoder. In addition, regarding claim 4, the controller is configured to provide a notification in response to a signal received from the at least one sensor (via alarms 105, 106; see English translation pertaining to these alarms in the paragraph of Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 3, CSS teaches that a rotary/rotational encoder is a sensor that generates an electrical signal in response to rotational movement, the signal is used to determine the position of a mechanical device and can be used in a wide variety of equipment (see paragraph on page 2). CSS points to advantages of using a rotary encoder including its high reliability and accuracy, low-cost feedback, can be incorporated in existing spaces, and can be compact in size (list on page 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Lovgren modified by Zhuang et al. so that it is specifically a rotational encoder, as CSS teaches, in order to provide a sensor that operates in the same mechanical/electrical manner as Zhuang et al. and is known to be reliable, accurate, and available at a low cost.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang et al., CN 112722896A (see English translation) in view of “What is Rotary Encoder? Types, Principle, working in detail” by Circuit Schools Staff (herein CSS, What is Rotary Encoder? Types, Principle, working in detail – Circuit Schools).
Zhuang et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fails to disclose that the sensor is a rotational encoder. Providing context to claim 11, Zhuang et al. teaches that the swing(ing) sensor (104) operates so that it is mechanically connected to the arm (101) and “swinging sensor is mechanically connected with the swinging arm; and the swinging sensor is electrically connected with the alarm and the automatic control device” (see English translation, under the heading Contents of the Invention). Zhuang et al. does not state that this sensor specifically comprises a rotational encoder.
Regarding claim 11, CSS teaches that a rotary/rotational encoder is a sensor that generates an electrical signal in response to rotational movement, the signal is used to determine the position of a mechanical device and can be used in a wide variety of equipment (see paragraph on page 2). CSS points to advantages of using a rotary encoder including its high reliability and accuracy, low-cost feedback, can be incorporated in existing spaces, and can be compact in size (list on page 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Zhuang et al. so that it is specifically a rotational encoder, as CSS teaches, in order to provide a sensor that operates in the same mechanical/electrical manner as Zhuang et al. and is known to be reliable, accurate, and available at a low cost.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovgren, GB 2071515 in view of Zhuang et al., CN 112722896A (see English translation).
Regarding claim 12, Lovgren discloses a method of detecting debris in a hopper of a cleaning machine (vacuum, see Abstract; hopper at 10 in Figures 2-3), the method comprising: operating the cleaning machine (operating the machine to collect wet or dry particulate, see page 1 lines 9-21); collecting debris with a cleaning element of the cleaning machine (collecting via vacuum hose 13, Figures 2-3; page 1 lines 76-77); detecting a level of the debris in the hopper with a hopper indicator system (detecting via sensor 42, Figure 3 and page 2 lines 82-88), and providing the indication of the level of the debris in the hopper (indication is provided when the sensor 42 causes the machine to shut down, page 2 lines 82-88). Lovgren fails to disclose that the hopper indicator system comprises an actuator, an arm operably coupled to the actuator, a sensor configured to detect with the arm comes into contact with the debris, a controller in communication with the sensor, and a hopper indicator is configured to provide an indication to a user in response to the arm coming into contact with the debris.
Further regarding claim 12, Zhuang et al. disclose a hopper indicator system that comprises: an actuator (motor 103); an arm operably coupled to the actuator (swing arm 101), wherein the arm is disposed to rotate about a rotational axis of the actuator (Figure 1; English translation description of Embodiment 1); a sensor configured to detect when the arm comes into contact with debris (swinging sensor 104, see English translation of Embodiment 1; debris includes the coal or waste rock within the hopper, see English translation of Abstract); a controller in communication with the sensor (control device 109, Figure 1), wherein the controller is configured to receive signals from the sensor (see English translation of Embodiment 1); and a hopper indicator in communication with the sensor (alarms 105, 106; Figure 1), wherein the hopper indicator is configured to provide an indication to a user in response to the arm coming into contact with debris (see English translation of Embodiment 1); and also provides a step of providing an indication of the level of debris in a hopper (via alarms 105, 106; see English translation regarding the alarms).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hopper indicator system of Lovgren for one that comprises an actuator, an arm operably coupled to the actuator and disposed to rotate about an axis of the actuator, a controller in communication with the sensor, the control is configured to receive signals from the sensor, and a hopper indicator in communication with the sensor, as Zhuang et al. teach, to serve as a mechanical and electronic combination of a hopper indicator system that prevents overfilling of a hopper and alerts a user regarding the level of debris in the hopper.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests that there is a hinged joint disposed between the tip portion and the base portion of the arm such that the tip portion is pivotable relative to the base portion, a stopper element, and a limit switch contactable by the stopper element; or a tip portion of the arm rotates at a hinged joint toward a base portion of the arm until it trips a limit switch to temporarily halt movement of the arm. The arm described by Zhuang et al. is does not include a hinged joint between the tip portion and the base portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,286,053 to Capra teaches a hopper indicator system mounted to a portion of a hopper (Figure 1, mounted via 11), the hopper indicator system comprises: an arm disposed to move relative to the hopper (25, Figure 1). US 6,272,818 to Sebben et al. teach a hopper indicator system (86, hopper is a clipping collection container of a mower, Abstract), the hopper indicator system comprises an arm disposed to move relative to the hopper (88), and at least one sensor connected to the arm (switch 96), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to determine a position of the arm relative to the hopper (determines when the arm is in a position to activate the switch 96). It is noted that the system of Sebben et al. does not include an actuator that is configured to move the arm and also that the method comprises moving an arm of a hopper indicator system towards a sidewall of the hopper from a first position (column 2 lines 30-41).
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg