DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 13-15, 18 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 2/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhry (US 2018/0012463) in view of Conger (US 11,113,534), further in view of Dorn et al. (US 2023/0384592), hereinafter Dorn.
Claim 1 has been amended with the following feature:
“detecting a first event tag in metadata of an item of media content, the first event tag being associated with a first event in the item of media content and a first functionality of a head- mounted-display device connected to the network, the first functionality corresponding to the first event in the item of media content; and
based on detecting the first event tag in the metadata of the item of media content.” (Emphasis added)
Claim 13 has been amended with the following features:
“generating a plurality of event tags for the plurality of events, the plurality of event tags including at least a first event tag associated with a first event in the item of media content and a first functionality of a head-mounted-display device; and
adding the plurality of event tags to metadata of the item of media content. (Emphasis added)
On page 10 of the Remarks, Applicant argues the combined prior art fails to teach the amended feature recited in claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, thus, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Regarding independent claim 13, on page 12 of the Remarks, Applicant argues the combined prior art fails to teach the amended features of claim 13. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, thus, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Dependent Claims
Applicant argues these claims conditionally based on the arguments presented to their parent claim(s). Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, thus, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeung et al. (US 2020/0236278), hereinafter Yeung in view of Chandratillake et al. (US 2008/0086688), hereinafter Chandratillake.
As for claim 1, Yeung teaches a method of enhancing media content performed by a network device of a network, the method comprising:
detecting a first triggering event in metadata of an item of media content (paragraph [0089] describes metadata is associated with an event. For example, the metadata includes the current scoring and other relevant data associated with the sporting/musical event; paragraph [0245] describes an event is captured by cameras and corresponding plurality of video streams are produced and provided to a plurality of client VR devices, a method comprising detecting a triggering event during the event, and transmitting an indication of the triggering event to the plurality of client VR devices. The indication is construed as an event tag associated with an event thus the indication is associated with the metadata), the first triggering event being associated with a first event in the item of media content and a first functionality of a head-mounted-display device connected to the network (paragraph [0245] describes a transmission of an indication of a triggering event to client VR devices in which a first client VR device generates first event-based graphics and first-event-based audio within a first VR environment in accordance with the indication), the first functionality corresponding to the first event in the item of media content (paragraph [0247] describes the plurality of client VR devices are each configurable to generate different event-based graphics and/or event-based audio responsive to the indication of the triggering event); and
based on detecting the first triggering event in the metadata of the item of media content, transmitting a first activation message to the head-mounted-display device to cause the head-mounted-display device to perform the first functionality corresponding to the first event in the item of media content (paragraphs [0252] and [0254] describe the steps of detecting a triggering event during the event, transmitting an indication of the triggering event to the plurality of client VR devices, in which a first client VR device generates first event-based graphics and/or first event-based audio within a first VR environment in accordance with the indication).
Yeung fails to teach
wherein a tag event is a triggering event.
Chandratillake discloses
wherein a tag event is a triggering event (paragraphs [0016] and [0019] describe a movie thumbnail is tagged and time-stamped to arbitrary video trigger events that take place in an associated original video file).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Chandratillake for tagging trigger events. The teachings of Chandratillake, when implemented in the Yeung system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to providing a cue to a user of a media content. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chandratillake in the Yeung system in order to provide an immersive experience to a user.
As for claim 9, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches wherein the first event in the item of media content includes at least one of:
an audio event associated with the item of media content (Yeung: paragraph [0089]-[0090] describe a musical performance event is streamed by the VR client), a pre-recorded video event associated with the item of media content, or a rendered video event associated with the item of media content (Yeung: paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describe video file are segmented into media segments).
As for claim 10, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches wherein the first functionality of the head-mounted-display device includes at least one of:
an audio event associated with the item of media content (Yeung: paragraph [0245] describes the client VR device generates first event-based audio), a pre-recorded video event associated with the item of media content, or a rendered video event associated with the item of media content, or a rendering functionality corresponding to the rendered video event (Yeung: paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describe video file are segmented into media segments).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Yeung (US 2020/0236278) in view of Chandratillake (US 2008/0086688) further in view of Schultz et al. (US 2013/0222133), hereinafter Schultz.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches
a plurality of client devices including the first head-mounted display device (Yeung: paragraph [0089] describes a VR client).
The combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach
detecting a plurality of client devices connected to the network, the plurality of client devices including the first client device;
determining a respective location of each client device of the plurality of client devices in an environment;
generating configuration information for each client device of the plurality of client devices;
generating configuration information for each client device of the plurality of client devices;
storing the configuration information.
Schultz discloses
detecting a plurality of client devices connected to the network, the plurality of client devices including the first client device (Fig. 4; paragraph [0056] describes a multimedia processor includes a user interface to facilitate interaction with user devices to enable establishment of various policy and control settings, the settings includes the user interface that displays different parameters);
determining a respective location of each client device of the plurality of client devices in an environment (paragraph [0057] describes a user is provided with checkboxes for selecting device type and location information for the device);
generating configuration information for each client device of the plurality of client devices (Fig. 4, settings 403; paragraph [0057] describes settings relating to a device), the configuration information including one or more target device types and the respective location of each client device of the plurality of client devices (Fig. 4; settings 403; paragraph [0057] describes device location and device type); and
storing the configuration information (paragraphs [0056] and [0062] describe the user preferences/policies can be stored on the device, in the network).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Schultz for collecting user devices information. The teachings of Schulz when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Schultz in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to configure a policy for managing the sharing and aggregating of event data by a device (Schultz: paragraph [0056]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Yeung (US 2020/0236278) in view of Chandratillake (US 2008/0086688) and Schultz (US 2013/0222133) further in view of Garg et al. (US 2019/0088099), hereinafter Garg.
As for claim 3, the combined system of Yeung, Chandratillake and Schultz fails to teach
classifying a plurality of client devices into the one or more target device types;
wherein a first event tag includes an indication of a first target device type of the one or more target device types; and
wherein the first activation message is transmitted to the first client device further based on the indication of the first target device type in the first event tag.
Garg discloses
classifying a plurality of client devices into the one or more target device types (paragraphs [0069]-[0072] describe a profile generator select devices to receive commands based on properties of a habit. For example, the profile generator selects a living room television, a stereo device);
wherein a first event tag includes an indication of a first target device type of the one or more target device types (paragraph [0069] describes the profile generator selects a device to receive the one or more commands based on properties of the habit. For example, command preferences may map a living room television to a class property indicating “speech” for the habit); and
wherein the first activation message is transmitted to the first client device further based on the indication of the first target device type in the first event tag (paragraph [0071] describes after choosing a device, the profile generator constructs one or more commands for the device based on additional properties of the habit, one or more device profiles. For example, the profile generator selects “turn on” and “turn off” actions based on the device profile for the living room television indicating it accepts those commands).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Garg when implemented in the Yeung, Chandratillake and Schulz system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Garg in the Yeung, Chandratillake and Schulz system in order to activate an action that will match with capabilities and condition of a client device.
Claims 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. for being unpatentable over Yeung (US 2020/0236278) in view of Chandratillake (US 2008/0086688) further in view of Conger (US 11,113,534).
As for claim 4, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches a second event tag in the metadata (Yeung: paragraph [0089] describes metadata includes a musical performance; Chandratillake: paragraph [0020] describes moving thumbnails are tagged with metadata that captures the video trigger events).
The combined system Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach
detecting a second event tag in an item of media content, the second event tag being associated with a first event in the item of media content and a second functionality of a second client device connected to a network, the second functionality of the second client device corresponding to a first event in the item of media content; and
based on detecting the second event tag in the item of media content, transmitting a second activation message to the second client device to cause the second client device to perform the second functionality corresponding to the first event in the item of media content.
Conger discloses
detecting a second event tag in an item of media content (col. 4, lines 30-54 describe a contact sensor may sense whether the front door, the windows, or garage door corresponding to each monitored property is in an open position. The lock sensor can sense whether the front door, each window, and each garage door is in an unlocked or locked position. Each monitor unit communicates over a network connection with each of the one or more sensors, cameras and home devices. The monitor unit receive data from each of the sensors, cameras and home devices that describe events detected by each of the sensors, the cameras, and the home devices), the second event tag being associated with a first event in the item of media content and a second functionality of a second client device connected to a network (col. 6, lines 1-15 describe the one or more sensors can provide a continuous stream of data to monitor control upon detection of a likelihood of movement or some other activity. The likelihood of detection may indicate object identification, object movement, or some other detected activity, depending on the type of sensor that provides the likelihood; col. 6, lines 58-60 describes the monitor unit can retrieve a device type from a device table stored in the monitor unit to determine the device type and its corresponding location), the second functionality of the second client device corresponding to a first event in the item of media content (col. 4, lines 51-54 describe the monitor unit can receive data from each of the sensors, cameras, and home devices that describe events detected by each of the listed devices; col. 6, lines 60-63 describe the device ID indicates to the monitor unit that the device providing the data stream is a camera); and
based on detecting the second event tag in the item of media content, transmitting a second activation message to the second client device to cause the second client device to perform the second functionality corresponding to the first event in the item of media content (col. 15, lines 36-48 describe in response to the monitor unit receiving the automation instruction from a data analyzer, the monitor unit transmits a notification to the corresponding device for action).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to utilize video classification capabilities to provide accurate incident to users.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches a second event tag in the metadata (Yeung: paragraph [0089] describes metadata includes a musical performance; Chandratillake: paragraph [0020] describes moving thumbnails are tagged with metadata that captures the video trigger events).
The combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach
detecting a second event tag in the item of media content, the second event tag being associated with a second event in the item of media content and a second functionality of a second client device connected to the network, the second functionality of the second client device corresponding to the second event in the item of media content; and
based on detecting the second event tag in the item of media content, transmitting a second activation message to the second client device to cause the second client device to perform the second functionality corresponding to the second event in the item of media content.
Conger discloses
detecting a second event tag in the item of media content (col. 4, lines 30-54 describe a contact sensor may sense whether the front door, the windows, or garage door corresponding to each monitored property is in an open position. The lock sensor can sense whether the front door, each window, and each garage door is in an unlocked or locked position. Each monitor unit communicates over a network connection with each of the one or more sensors, cameras and home devices. The monitor unit receives data from each of the sensors, cameras and home devices that describe events detected by each of the sensors, the cameras, and the home devices), the second event tag being associated with a second event in the item of media content and a second functionality of a second client device connected to the network (col. 4, lines 51-54 describe the monitor unit can receive data from each of the sensors, cameras, and home devices that describe events detected by each of the listed devices; col. 6, lines 60-63 describe the device ID indicates to the monitor unit that the device providing the data stream is a camera), the second functionality of the second client device corresponding to the second event in the item of media content; and
based on detecting the second event tag in the item of media content, transmitting a second activation message to the second client device to cause the second client device to perform the second functionality corresponding to the second event in the item of media content (col. 15, lines 45-48 describe the monitor unit communicates with the house doors, garage doors, and windows along with the sensors, camera, and home devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to utilize video classification capabilities to provide accurate incident to users.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach
wherein the first event tag corresponds to a time stamp within the item of media content.
Conger discloses wherein the first event tag corresponds to a time stamp within the item of media content (col. 6, lines 28-31 describe the sensor provides a timestamp to the monitor unit indicating at time at which the detection or non-detection has occurred).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing video portion that includes time stamp metadata. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to indicate at time at which the detection occurs.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Yeung (US 2020/0236278) in view of Chandratillake (US 2008/0086688) further in view of Garg (US 2019/0088099).
As for claim 6, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake teaches wherein the first client device is the first head-mounted display device (Yeung: paragraph [0089] describes the VR client ).
The combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach
wherein a first activation message is transmitted to a first client device further based on a location of the first client device in an environment and a characteristic of a first event in an item of media content.
Garg discloses
wherein the first activation message is transmitted to the first client device further based on a location of the first client device in an environment and a characteristic of the first event in the item of media content (paragraph [0047]-[0048] describe a profile generator generates one or more device profiles specifying controlled devices and their capabilities, a room whether the device is located; paragraphs [0068]-[0070] describe a user generates commands based on properties assigned to the habits. For example, commands for turning the television on and off may be generated based on a habit. A profile generator chooses a selected device among several devices indicated by the command preferences based on a room property. For example, the profile generator selects the living room television as indicated by the room property of a habit).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Garg for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Garg, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Garg in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to monitor a premises when residents or other users are present to detect patterns of activity at the premises.
As for claim 7, the combined system of Yeung, Chandratillake and Garg teaches wherein the characteristic of the first event in the item of media content includes at least one of a volume of audio associated with the first event or an origination location of the audio associated with the first event (Garg: paragraph [0071] describes after choosing a device, the profile generator constructs one or more commands for the device based on additional properties of the habit, one or more device profiles, a source map, and additional command preferences. For example, the profile generator selects “turn on” and “turn off” actions based on the device profile for the living room television indicating it accepts those commands).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Garg for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Garg, when implemented in the Yeung, Krishnaswamy system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Garg in the Yeung, Chandratillake system in order to monitor a premises when residents or other users are present to detect patterns of activity at the premises.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Yeung (US 2020/0236278) in view of Chandratillake (US 2008/0086688) further in view further in view of Lawson et al. (US 9,454,993), hereinafter Lawson.
As for claim 11, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach wherein the item of media content is pre-recorded content.
Lawson discloses
wherein the item of media content is pre-recorded content (col. 1, lines 52-60 describe the video is recorded and provided to a user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lawson for providing video portion that includes time stamp metadata. The teachings of Lawson, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lawson in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to provide a viewer of a video to view an entire game, or view a portion of video, and provide access to information describing indicated game actions and associated recorded videos of the game actions to one or more other users (Lawson: col. 1, lines 58-67).
As for claim 12, the combined system of Yeung and Chandratillake fails to teach wherein an item of media content is live content.
Lawson discloses
wherein an item of media content is live content (col. 1, lines 33-45 describe a user records video of a presently occurring game in which the game actions occur).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lawson for recording a live event. The teachings of Lawson, when implemented in the Yeung and Chandratillake system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lawson in the Yeung and Chandratillake system in order to provide a viewer of a video to view an entire game, or view a portion of video, and provide access to information describing indicated game actions and associated recorded videos of the game actions to one or more other users (Lawson: col. 1, lines 58-67).
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Chaudhry (US 2018/0012463) in view of Conger (US 11,113,534) further in view of Frank et al. (US 2014/0108842), hereinafter Frank.
As for claim 13, Chaudhry teaches a method of processing media content performed by a server device (paragraphs [0217]-[0218] describe a server performs cuepoint detection from continuous video stream transmitted from a camera), the method comprising:
processing an item of media content to identify a plurality of events in the item of media content (paragraphs [0234]-[0236] describe after the server system obtains the representative motion vector for a new motion event candidate from the video source, the server system proceeds to categorize the motion event candidate based on its representative motion vector. The server categorizes a variety of motion events by training a categorizer and a categorization model); and
generating a plurality of event tags for the plurality of events (paragraph [0195] describes the server’s event categorizer categorizes the motion event candidates into different event categories OR paragraph [0196] describes the server system sends alerts for motion event and motion event timeline information to a client device), the plurality of event tags including at least a first event tag associated with a first event in the item of media content (paragraphs [0283] and [0304] and [0312] describe after the server system categorizes the motion event candidate and generates a confidence level for the categorization, the server system sends an alert, or alert information, to multiple client devices ).
Chaudhry fails to teach
a plurality of event tags including at least a first event tag associated with a first event in an item of media content and a first functionality of a head-mounted display device;
adding the plurality of event tags to metadata of the item of media content.
Conger discloses
a plurality of event tags including at least a first event tag associated with a first event in an item of media content and a first functionality of a first client device (col. 15, lines 16-35 describe a control module provides instructions that can automatically interact with items in a monitored property. The control module provides automation instructions in the instructions and weather message for the monitor unit to automatically close, lock, or turn off the front door, windows, or the one or more home devices. For example, the control module can provide an automation instruction to monitor unit to turn off a grill left on located outside the monitored property).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Chaudhry system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Chaudhry system in order to utilize video classification capabilities to provide accurate incident to users.
The combined system of Chaudhry and Conger fails to teach a first client device is a head-mounted-display device.
a first client device is a head-mounted-display device;
adding the plurality of event tags to metadata of the item of media content.
Frank discloses
a first client device is a head-mounted-display device (paragraph [0093] describes a head-mounted display e.g. a VR/AR display glasses);
adding the plurality of event tags to metadata of the item of media content (paragraphs [0080]-[0083] describe tags correspond to segments of content (i.e. an interactive computer game). And tags are provided as meta information).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Frank for providing tags as meta information. The teachings of Frank, when implemented in the Chaudhry and Conger system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to mark an event occurring in a media content. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Frank in the Chaudhry and Conger system in order to indicate an operation to be performed in accordance with the tags.
As for claim 14, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank teaches transmitting the item of media content, including the metadata to a network device of the network (Frank: paragraphs [0083] and [0085] describe tags are generated and provided as meta information. The tags are sent to a device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Frank for providing tags as meta information. The teachings of Frank, when implemented in the Chaudhry and Conger system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to mark an event occurring in a media content. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Frank in the Chaudhry and Conger system in order to utilize the tags to measure a user’s affective response to content and analyze the information which will provide insight that can be used to improve the current and future content presented to the user.
As for claim 15, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank teaches wherein the first event tag includes an indication of a first target device type associated with the first head-mounted display device (Conger: col. 15, lines 35-48 describe a monitor unit transmits a notification to the corresponding device for action. For example, if the automation instruction includes an indication to close the front door or turn off the grill because the current local weather is raining, the monitor unit will automatically close the front door or turn off the grill. The monitor device can communicate with the house doors, garage doors, and windows along with sensors, camera, and home devices; Frank: paragraph [0093] describes a head-mounted display e.g. a VR/AR display glasses).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing instructions to items in a monitored property. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Chaudhry and Frank system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Chaudhry and Frank system in order to utilize video classification capabilities to provide accurate incident to users.
As for claim 16, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank teaches wherein the first event tag corresponds to a time stamp within an item of media content (Conger: col. 6, lines 28-31 describe the sensor provides a timestamp to the monitor unit indicating at time at which the detection or non-detection has occurred).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Conger for providing video portion that includes time stamp metadata. The teachings of Conger, when implemented in the Chaudhry and Frank system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Conger in the Chaudhry and Frank system in order to indicate at time at which the detection occurs.
As for claim 17, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank teaches wherein the first event in the item of media content includes at least one of:
an audio event associated with the item of media content, a lighting event associated with the item of media content, an image event associated with the item of media content (Chaudhry: paragraph [0283] describes a video source sends a motion start event alert to the server system), a pre-recorded video event associated with the item of media content, or a rendered video event associated with the item of media content (Chaudhry: paragraph [0217] describes a video source sends an event alert to the server system).
As for claim 18, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank teaches wherein the first functionality of the head-mounted-display device includes at least one of:
an audio event associated with the item of media content, a pre-recorded video event associated with the item of media content, or a rendered video event associated with the item of media content (Chaudhry: paragraph [0217] describes a video source sends an event alert to the server system), or a rendering functionality corresponding to the rendered video event.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Chaudhry (US 2018/0012463) in view of Conger (US 11,113,534) and Frank (US 2014/0108842), further in view of Lawson et al. (US 9,454,993), hereinafter Lawson.
As for claim 19, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank fails to teach wherein the item of media content is pre-recorded content.
Lawson discloses
wherein the item of media content is pre-recorded content (col. 1, lines 52-60 describe the video is recorded and provided to a user).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lawson for providing video portion that includes time stamp metadata. The teachings of Lawson, when implemented in the Chaudhry, Conger and Frank system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lawson in the Chaudhry, Conger and Frank system in order to provide a viewer of a video to view an entire game, or view a portion of video, and provide access to information describing indicated game actions and associated recorded videos of the game actions to one or more other users (Lawson: col. 1, lines 58-67).
As for claim 20, the combined system of Chaudhry, Conger and Frank fails to teach wherein an item of media content is live content.
Lawson discloses
wherein an item of media content is live content (col. 1, lines 33-45 describe a user records video of a presently occurring game in which the game actions occur).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Lawson for recording a live event. The teachings of Lawson, when implemented in the Chaudhry, Conger and Frank system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform operations in response to a detected event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lawson in the Chaudhry, Conger and Frank system in order to provide a viewer of a video to view an entire game, or view a portion of video, and provide access to information describing indicated game actions and associated recorded videos of the game actions to one or more other users (Lawson: col. 1, lines 58-67).
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krishnaswamy et al. (US 2008/0005652)
Cerafogli et al. (US 2024/0048788) teach intelligent interactive video content based on contextual awareness for mobile applications
Malik et al. (US 2019/0043500) teach voice based realtime event logging.
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459