DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Manolakos (WO 2023/009931 A1) in view of (US 2025/0071718 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 20
Manolakos discloses a method of wireless positioning (See [Abstract]; wireless positioning) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1(164)),
the method comprising:
receiving, from a network entity (Fig.1(172); Location server), a request to perform a positioning operation (See [Abstract]; [0163]; a network node receives, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement);
identifying antenna panels (See Fig.8; [0143]; [0148-0149]; UE select on antenna panels for beamforming and measurement) to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0148-0149]; UE used at least one panel to measure its position);
and
performing the positioning operation using antenna panels (See [0098-0099]; [0148-0150]; the UE is able to perform positioning operations using at least one of the antenna panels).
But Manolakos fails to explicitly recite about
The UE identifying at least one panel to be used to perform position operation.
However in an analogous art
Harrebek teaches about identifying at least one panel among multiple panels to perform position operation (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; the UE 110 may select a gNB identified at a panel for which the target UL power can be met).
Manolakos and Harrebek are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology. Manolakos teaches about a UE with multiple antenna panels performing signal measurements and transmitting data to a location server through a base station. Harrebek teaches about identifying at least one panel among multiple panels to perform position operation. Manolakos could have used Harrebek features so as to identify at least a preferred panel from the UE meeting best signal strength characteristic. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to the time of the filing of the claim to combine Manolakos and Harrebek as to obtain an efficient UE.
Note:
With regard to Claim 20, a UE merely comprises :
one or more memories (Fig.3A(340)); one or more transceivers (Fig.3A(310)) and one or more processors (Fig.3A(332)) communicatively coupled (See [0069]; memory, processor and transceiver are all interconnected) to the one or more memories (Fig.3A(340)) and the one or more transceivers (Fig.3A(310)), the one or more processors (Fig.3A(332)), either alone or in combination (Fig.3A):
Regarding claim 2,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Harrebek further teaches
wherein identifying the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0069-0070]; the UE 110 may select a gNB identified at a panel for which the target UL power can be met). comprises
selecting the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; UE select at least one panel to perform position operation).
Regarding claim 3,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 2 and Harrebek further teaches
wherein selecting the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; the UE 110 may select a gNB identified at a panel for which the target UL power can be met). comprises
selecting the at least one antenna panel based on a characteristic of a signal to be measured as part of the positioning operation (See [0059-0060]; [0079-0080]; selecting panel with greater signal strength and antenna gain).
Regarding claim 4,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 3 and Harrebek further teaches
wherein selecting the at least one antenna panel based on a characteristic of the signal to be measured as part of the positioning operation (See [0079-0080]; selecting panel with greater signal strength and antenna gain) comprises
selecting the at least one antenna panel (See [0079-0080]; UE select the at least one antenna panel to communicate with corresponding base stations))
based on a signal strength of the signal to be measured (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; RSRP parameter is used to measured position of UE),
based on whether the signal to be measured is a line-of-sight signal (See [0059-0060]; [0079-0080]; the positioning quality metric may also be referred to as a combination of estimated LoS status and RSRP),
based on whether the signal to be measured has non-line-of-sight signal components (See [0066]; UE 110 may tum off some panels in a case where the UE 110 fails to receive any SSBs above a threshold and/or based on only NLoS status on those panels),
or
a combination thereof (See [0060]; [0066]; [0080]; LOS, NLOS and RSP are considered).
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 5,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein identifying the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0144]; [0148]; UE used at least one panel to measure its position) comprises
receiving, from the network entity (Fig.1(172); Location sever), information that identifies the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the positioning operation (See [0005]; [0146]; [0148]; The location server may request that the UE provide a PRS measurement of the PRS resource for each of its TEGs wherein its TEG is associated with an antenna panel).
Regarding claim 6,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 5 and
Harrebek teaches about a UE receiving
an antenna panel name,
an antenna panel identifier,
an antenna panel index (See [0059]; the UE 110 may log the indices of the
antenna panels used for the RSRP measurement or other related measurements during the monitoring),
,
an antenna panel position,
or
a combination thereof.
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 7,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 5 and Manolakos further teaches
receiving the information as part of the request to perform the positioning operation (See [0005]; [0148]; The location server may request that the UE provide a PRS measurement of the PRS resource for each of its TEGs associated with antenna panels)
or
receiving the information separately from the request to perform the positioning operation (See [0095-0097]; [0150-0152]; UE receive information about SRS/PRS measurement and TEG processing for at least each panel).
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 8,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 7 and Manolakos further teaches
receiving the information as part of assistance data (See [0095-0097]; [0150-0152]; UE SRS measurement can provide signal quality data and TEG measurement can provide timing accuracy for Tx/Rx for at least each panel, wherein this information can streamline the position determination).
Regarding claim 9,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 8 and Manolakos further teaches
receiving the assistance data (See [0095-0097]; [0150-0152]; UE SRS measurement can provide signal quality data and TEG measurement can provide timing accuracy for Tx/Rx for at least each panel, wherein this information can streamline the position determination)
in response to sending antenna panel information to the network entity (See [0093-0094]; [0150-0152]; to inform the location server of its TEG-related capabilities, a UE can provide the following capability information to the location server).
Regarding claim 10,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 9 and Manolakos further teaches
sending the antenna panel information to the network entity (See Fig.5(520); [0093-0094]; [0150-0152]; UE provides its positioning capabilities to the LMF 570 relative to the LPP protocol by sending an LPP Provide Capabilities message to LMF 570 indicating the position methods and features of these position methods that are supported by the UE 504 using LPP) in response to receiving, from the network entity, a request for UE capability information (See Fig.5(510); [0093-0094]; Initially, the UE 504 may receive a request for its positioning capabilities from the LMF 570 at stage 510 (e.g., an LPP Request Capabilities message) ).
Regarding claim 11,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 10 and further teach
sending
an antenna panel count (See Manolakos [0147-0150]; number of TEG associated with number panel is sent TRP),
one or more antenna panel identifiers (See Harrebek [0041]; [0049]; [0078]; A Multi-Panel UE (MPUE) may exhibit different implementations regarding its capabilities for simultaneous transmission/reception.),
one or more antenna panel positions or locations,
one or more antenna panel orientations,
a device orientation,
a device centroid,
an antenna panel centroid, or
a combination thereof.
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 12,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Harrebek further teaches
wherein performing the positioning operation using the identified at least one antenna panel (See [0066-0067]; UE select on antenna panel for beamforming and measurement) comprises at least one of:
transmitting a positioning reference signal via a specified antenna panel (See [0066]; [0070]; [0080]; UE has the ability to transmit a Position PRACH with determined Tx Power);
or
measuring a positioning reference signal received via a specified antenna panel (See [0066]; [0070]; UE determined Tx power through RS measurement).
Regarding claim 13,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 12 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein performing the positioning operation using the identified at least one antenna panel further (See Fig.8; [0143]; [0148]; UE can select on antennal panel for beamforming) comprises at least one of:
sending measurement results to the network entity (See [Abstract]; [0164]; UE transmits, to the location server, at least one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs);
or
using measurement results to determine a position estimate (See [Abstract]; [0164]; UE transmits, to the location server, one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs to determine position) and sending the position estimate to the network entity (See [Abstract]; [0164]; UE transmits, to the location server, a provide location information message including at least the plurality of TEGs and the at least one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs) .
Regarding claim 14,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 13 and Manolakos further teaches
wherein sending the measurement results to the network entity (See [Abstract]; [0164]; UE transmits, to the location server, at least one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs) comprises sending information indicating at least one of:
a time of arrival (See Fig.4; [0084-0086]; [0163]; UL-TDOA) ,
an angle of arrival (See Fig,4; [0084-0086]; [0120]; UL-AOA),
or
a carrier phase difference relative to one of the at least one antenna panels of the UE .
(The term “or” is used providing option in term of claim limitation analysis)
Regarding claim 15,
Manolakos discloses a method of wireless positioning (See [Abstract]; wireless positioning) performed by a network entity (Fig.1(172); Location server),
the method comprising:
sending, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1(164)), a measurement request to perform a measurement operation (See [Abstract]; [0163]; a network node receives, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement); and
receiving, from the UE (Fig.1(164)), results of the measurement operation (See [0165]; the network node transmits, to the location server, a provide location information message (e.g., a LPP Provide Location Information message as at stage 560) including at least the plurality of TEGs and the at least one positioning measurement associated with each of the plurality of TEGs),
wherein the request identifies antenna panels (See Fig.8; [0143]; [0148-0149]; Antenna panels is selected to perform position measurement with beamforming) to be used to perform the measurement operation (See [0148-0149]; UE used at least one panel to measure signals data),
the results identify antenna panels that were used to perform the measurement operation (See [0148-0150]; every panels in the UE received to beam to perform measurement positions),
or both.
But Manolakos fails to explicitly recite about
The UE identifying at least one panel to be used to perform position operation
However in an analogous art
Harrebek teaches about identifying at least one panel among multiple panels to perform position operation (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; the UE 110 may select a gNB identified at a panel for which the target UL power can be met).
Manolakos and Harrebek are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology. Manolakos teaches about a UE with multiple antenna panels performing signal measurements and transmitting data to a location server through a base station. Harrebek teaches about identifying at least one panel among multiple panels to perform position operation. Manolakos could have used Harrebek features so as to identify at least a preferred panel from the UE meeting best signal strength characteristic. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to the time of the filing of the claim to combine Manolakos and Harrebek as to obtain an efficient UE.
Regarding claim 16,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 15 and Manolakos further teaches
prior to sending the measurement request operation (See [Abstract]; [0163]; a network node receives, from a location server, a request location information message indicating that the network node is expected to report at least one positioning measurement):
sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information (See [0093]; UE received capability request from LMF server);
receiving, from the UE, antenna panel information (See [0147-0148]; panel associated with TEG and SRS/PRS);
and
sending, to the UE, an indication of the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the measurement operation (See [0069-0070]; [0079-0080]; the UE 110 may select a gNB identified at a panel for which Tx Power is more acceptable).
Regarding claim 17,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 16 and further teach
wherein receiving the antenna panel information comprises receiving
an antenna panel count (See Manolakos [0147-0150]; number of TEG associated with number panel is sent TRP),
one or more antenna panel identifiers (See Harrebek [0041]; [0049]; [0078]; A Multi-Panel UE (MPUE) may exhibit different implementations regarding its capabilities for simultaneous transmission/reception.),
one or more antenna panel positions or locations,
one or more antenna panel orientations,
a device orientation,
a device centroid,
an antenna panel centroid, or
a combination thereof.
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 18,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 16 and Manolakos further teaches
including information that identifies the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the measurement operation within the measurement request (See [0005]; [0148]; The location server may request that the UE provide a PRS measurement of the PRS resource for each of its TEGs associated with antenna panels),
or
sending the information that identifies the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the measurement operation separately from the measurement request (See [0095-0097]; [0150-0152]; UE receive information about SRS measurement and TEG processing for at least each panel).
(The term “or” is used providing options on claim limitation examination)
Regarding claim 19,
Manolakos and Harrebek teach all the features with respect to claim 16 and Manolakos further teaches
sending the information that identifies the at least one antenna panel to be used to perform the measurement operation as part of assistance data (See [0095-0097]; [0150-0152]; UE SRS measurement can provide signal quality data and TEG measurement can provide timing accuracy for Tx/Rx for at least each panel, wherein the measurement will identify the best panel to be used for position measurement).
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646