DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryette (US PUB 20070158134, hereinafter Fryette) in view of Yoshida et al (US PUB 20240357283, hereinafter Yoshida).
Regarding Claim 1, Fryette discloses a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 3), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. cabinet housing 300) comprising a top panel (e.g. top panel 322), a bottom panel (e.g. bottom panel 324), a left panel (e.g. left panel 318), and a right panel (e.g. right panel 320) wherein the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel define a cabinet housing cavity interior (e.g. an enclosed interior cavity for receiving speaker device), (see figure 3), a front baffle (e.g. front baffle 306) disposed over and removably coupled to the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), wherein: the front baffle comprises a top frame member, a bottom frame member, a left frame member, and a right frame member which are coupled to peripheral edges of a baffle portion (e.g. a grill member 314 having a top, bottom, left and right frame members is coupled to the peripheral edges of the front baffle 306) , (see figure 3); a rear baffle (e.g. rear baffle 326) disposed over and removably coupled to the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), and the cabinet housing cavity interior comprises an internal air volume at least in part defined by the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, the right panel, the front baffle and the rear baffle (e.g. an internal air cavity for receiving speaker element), (see Fryette, [0049], [0052], [0054], and [0057], also figure 3).
Fryette does not explicitly disclose wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members.
However, Yoshida in the same field of endeavor teaches a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 1), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. speaker holding member 60), (see figure 10), wherein the cabinet housing comprising a rear baffle (e.g. a rear wall 36), and wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members (e.g. a plurality of reinforcing members 62A-64D), (see Yoshida, [0080]-[0082], also figures 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members to the rear baffle as taught by Yoshida in the teachings of Fryette in order further increase the structural rigidity of the cabinet housing, and thereby preventing the cabinet from getting damaged easily.
Regarding Claim 2, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 1, wherein the cabinet housing comprises a cross-sectionally square shape in a first plane (e.g. in a Z-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 2, wherein the cabinet housing comprises a first cross-sectionally rectangular shape in a second plane (e.g. in a Y-plane) that is oriented orthogonal to the first plane (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 3, wherein the cabinet housing comprises a second cross-sectionally rectangular shape in a third plane (e.g. in a X-plane) that is oriented orthogonal to both the first plane and the second plane (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 4, wherein the front baffle (baffle 306) is oriented parallel to the first plane (Z-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 5, wherein the rear baffle (baffle 326) is oriented parallel to the first plane (Z-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 4, wherein the top panel (baffle 322) is oriented parallel to the second plane (Y-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 7, wherein the bottom panel (baffle 324) is oriented parallel to the second plane (Y-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 4, wherein the left panel (left panel 318) is oriented parallel to the third plane (X-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 9, wherein the right panel (right panel 320) is oriented parallel to the third plane (X-plane), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 4, wherein the first and second cross-sectionally rectangular shapes comprise equal surface area values (inherent, since the dimensions of associated corresponding panels are equal), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 4, wherein the first cross-sectionally rectangular shape comprises a first height value equal to a first length value of the second cross-sectionally rectangular shape; and the second cross-sectionally rectangular shape comprises a second height value equal to a second length value of the first cross-sectionally rectangular shape ( e.g. the dimensions of associated corresponding panels are equal), (see Fryette, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 1, further comprising: a first input jack (e.g. an input jack of a jack plate 332) disposed adjacent the rear baffle (baffle 326) and coupled to an amplifier (e.g. an amplifier 2102); a first parallel out jack disposed adjacent the first input jack; and a first series out jack disposed adjacent the first parallel out jack (e.g. jack plate 332 comprises plurality of connected jacks), (see Fryette, [0057] and [0091], also figures 3 and 21).
Regarding Claim 15, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 1, wherein: the modular cabinet speaker system is the first modular cabinet speaker system of a plurality of modular cabinet speaker systems (e.g. additional modular cabinet speakers can be stacked on top of the modular cabinet speaker system 300); and a second modular cabinet speaker system of the plurality of modular cabinet speaker systems is coupled to the first modular cabinet speaker system (e.g. via one or more holes 328 formed on the top panel 322), (see Fryette, [0056], and figure 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 1, wherein a structural inset (e.g. a connector 19) comprising an audio cable connector array (e.g. wiring harness 18) is disposed within a top half portion of the rear baffle (see Yoshida, [0045], and figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 16, wherein the top half portion of the rear baffle (rear baffle 326) comprises a plurality of pairs of coupling apertures (e.g. plurality of apertures on the rear baffle 326), (see Fryette, [0057], and figure 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of pairs of coupling apertures are disposed along peripheral edges of the top half portion of the rear baffle (e.g. the plurality of apertures on the rear baffle 326 could be formed at its peripheral edges if so desired), (see Fryette, [0057], and figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Fryette discloses a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 3), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. cabinet housing 300) comprising a top panel (e.g. top panel 322), a bottom panel (e.g. bottom panel 324), a left panel (e.g. left panel 318), and a right panel (e.g. right panel 320), wherein the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel define a cabinet housing cavity interior (e.g. enclosed interior cavity), (see figure 3), a front baffle (e.g. front baffle 306) partially disposed over and removably coupled to front side surfaces of the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), wherein: the front baffle comprises a top frame member, a bottom frame member, a left frame member, and a right frame member which are coupled to peripheral edges of a baffle portion (e.g. a grill member 314 having a top, bottom, left and right frame members is coupled to the peripheral edges of the front baffle 306), (see figure 3);
the front baffle is removably coupled to front side surfaces of the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel via a plurality of tool-less removable attachment mechanisms (e.g. a tongue-and-groove interface is used as the coupling mechanism), the plurality of tool-less removable attachment mechanisms are each respectively disposed through a coupling aperture of a plurality of coupling apertures, and each of the plurality of coupling apertures are respectively disposed through an interior support structure of a plurality of interior support structures (e.g. each of the panel that is used to form the cabinet interfaces by at least two, and sometimes three, surfaces that are joined via a tongue-and-groove mechanism and possibly a glue), a rear baffle (e.g. rear baffle 326) disposed over and removably coupled to the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), and the cabinet housing cavity interior comprises an internal air volume at least in part defined by the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, the right panel, the front baffle and the rear baffle (e.g. an internal cavity for receiving speaker element), (see Fryette, [0049], [0052], [0054]-[0057], also figure 3).
Fryette does not explicitly disclose wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of elongate peripheral reinforcing members.
However, Yoshida in the same field of endeavor teaches a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 1), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. speaker holding member 60), (see figure 10), wherein the cabinet housing comprising a rear baffle (e.g. a rea wall 36), and wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of elongate peripheral reinforcing members (e.g. a plurality of elongate reinforcing members 62A-64D), (see Yoshida, [0080]-[0082], also figures 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members to the rear baffle as taught by Yoshida in the teachings of Fryette in order further increase the structural rigidity of the cabinet housing, and thereby preventing the cabinet from getting damaged easily.
Regarding Claim 20, Fryette discloses a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 3), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. cabinet housing 300) comprising a top panel (e.g. top panel 322) parallel to and opposite a bottom panel (e.g. bottom panel 324), and a left panel (e.g. left panel 318) parallel to and opposite a right panel (e.g. right panel 320), wherein the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel define a cabinet housing cavity interior (e.g. an enclosed interior cavity for receiving speaker device), and the top and bottom panels are oriented orthogonal relative the left and right panels (see figure 3); a front baffle (e.g. front baffle 306) disposed over and removably coupled to the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), wherein: the front baffle comprises a top frame member, a bottom frame member, a left frame member, and a right frame member which are coupled to peripheral edges of a baffle portion (e.g. a grill member 314 having a top, bottom, left and right frame members is coupled to the peripheral edges of the front baffle 306), (see figure 3); a rear baffle (e.g. rear baffle 326) partially disposed over and partially removably coupled to rear side surfaces of the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3), the rear baffle comprises a top portion and a bottom portion (e.g. in a form of plate portion 332), the rear baffle top portion is permanently coupled to the rear side surfaces of the top panel, the left panel, and the right panel, and the rear baffle bottom portion is removably coupled to rear side surfaces of the bottom panel, the left panel, and the right panel (see figure 3); and the cabinet housing cavity interior comprises an internal air volume at least in part defined by the top panel, the bottom panel, the left panel, the right panel, the front baffle and the rear baffle (e.g. an internal cavity for receiving speaker element), (see Fryette, [0049], [0052], [0054]-[0057], also figure 3).
Fryette does not explicitly disclose wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members.
However, Yoshida in the same field of endeavor teaches a modular cabinet speaker system (see at least the abstract and figure 1), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. speaker holding member 60), (see figure 10), wherein the cabinet housing comprising a rear baffle (e.g. a rea wall 36), and wherein: the rear baffle is removably coupled to a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members (e.g. a plurality of reinforcing members 62A-64D), (see Yoshida, [0080]-[0082], also figures 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a plurality of peripheral reinforcing members to the rear baffle as taught by Yoshida in the teachings of Fryette in order further increase the structural rigidity of the cabinet housing, and thereby preventing the cabinet from getting damaged easily.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryette in view of Yoshida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US PUB 20140174847, hereinafter Smith).
Regarding Claim 13, Fryette as modified by Yoshida discloses the modular cabinet speaker system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: a front handle disposed within a top half portion of the front baffle; a rear handle disposed within a top half portion of the rear baffle; and the front and rear handles are respectively disposed at equal height values within the top half portions of the front and rear baffles.
However, Smith in the same field of endeavor teaches a modular cabinet speaker (see at least the abstract and figure 1), comprising: a cabinet housing (e.g. speaker enclosure 12) having a front handle (e.g. a front handle 84) on a front baffle, a rear handle (e.g. a rear handle 84) on a rear baffle, and wherein the front and rear handles are respectively disposed at equal height values within the top half portions of the front and rear baffles (e.g. multiple detachable handles 84 may be mounted to the front wall 22, back wall 26, side walls 30, top wall 32 or bottom wall 34), (see Smith, [0061]-[0064], also figures 4 and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a front hand and a rear handle on each of the front and rear baffle respectively as taught by Smith in the teachings of Fryette in view of Yoshida so as to enable easy carriage, movement, and setup of the modular cabinet speaker.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695