DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 8/9/2025 is acknowledged. However, upon further review, claims 4-8, 10-11 appear to be directed to non-elected embodiments and is thus hereby WITHDRAWN. Claims 1-3, 9, 12-15 are examined accordingly.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “step” in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 9, 12-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the opening”, “the receiving bags” lacks antecedent basis and it is not clear what they are referring to. Regarding claim 3, “the inner edge or outer edge” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear what it is referring to. Regarding claim 14, “the bottom surface”, “the inner side surface”, the outer side surface”, “the upper surface”, “the connection” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear what they are referring to. Regarding claim 15, “the bag body” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear what it is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13, 15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 8,955,706 to Gagnebin.
Regarding claim 1, Gagnebin discloses a storage basket (1, Fig 1) comprising a receiving cylinder (2), with a bearing component (4) positioned at the opening of the receiving cylinder, a receiving bag (21) with a supporting opening component (23) positioned at the opening of the bag, one or more of the bag (21) can be arranged inside the receiving cylinder (Fig 4), wherein the supporting opening component (23) can be installed on the bearing component (4) to form a stable storage space for the receiving bag inside the receiving cylinder (Fig 4, col. 3, ll. 10-15).
Regarding claim 2, Gagnebin discloses supporting opening component (23) has at least three supporting points (anywhere along its periphery) forming a stable contact surface allowing the supporting opening component (23) to stably rest against bearing component (4) (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 12, Gagnebin further discloses supporting opening component having a supporting frame (23) with supporting strength, the frame made of metal (col. 4, ll. 60-65).
Regarding claim 13, Gagnebin further discloses supporting frame (23) wrapped and connected to opening of the receiving bag (21) (col. 3, ll. 9-12).
Regarding claim 15, Gagnebin further discloses bearing component (4) has at least one bearing opening (7), each bearing opening used to place at least one receiving bag (21), the bag body of the receiving bag made of soft PE (col. 4, ll. 60-65).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 5,341,952 to Goglio.
Regarding claim 1, Goglio discloses a storage basket (Fig 1) comprising a receiving cylinder (1), with a bearing component (3) positioned at the opening of the receiving cylinder, a receiving bag (2) with a supporting opening component (12) positioned at the opening of the bag, one or more of the bag can be arranged inside the receiving cylinder (Fig 2), wherein the supporting opening component (12) can be installed on the bearing component (3) to form a stable storage space for the receiving bag inside the receiving cylinder (Fig 3, col. 2, ll. 38-42).
Regarding claim 2, Goglio discloses supporting opening component (12) has at least three supporting points (around the periphery) forming a stable contact surface allowing the supporting opening component (12) to stably rest against bearing component (3).
Regarding claim 3, Goglio further discloses the inner or outer edge of the bearing component (3) concave downward, forming a step (10) with a downwardly concave inner edge or outer edge, the supporting opening component (12) stably rests on step (10) of bearing component (3) (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 9, Goglio further discloses supporting opening component (12) provided with one or more bent portions (corners) which can directly abut on the bearing component (3) since it has the structure as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagnebin in view of US Patent No. 3,457,706 to Fesco.
Regarding claim 14, Gagnebin teaches the basket of claim 12 and further discloses bottom surface of the supporting frame (23) connected to receiving bag (21) (Fig 4, col. 3, ll. 9-12) but does not teach supporting frame bag connected by adhesive, Velcro or slot engagement. However, Fesco discloses a bag (Fig 3) and in particular discloses the bag comprising a supporting frame (28) connected to a bag (10) by adhesive (54). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to attach the Gagnebin bag and frame with adhesive as suggested by Fesco in order to facilitate connection.
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735