DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “matching profile” of the of the token comprising “corresponding protrusions and recessions or a set of jagged edges” (claims 18-19), “first set of overlapping grooves/second set of overlapping grooves” (claims 21-22), for example, and further unshown structures details (claims 23-31) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse of Group II, Figures 7-9, in the telephone discussion on 10/09/25.
The species are were as follows:
Group I: Figures 1-6
Group II: Figures 7-9
Group III: Figures 10-13
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: No claims.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I, II, and III, lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a generic token for attaching to a hat, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Fenner (US 2008/0072466) and/or Blanks (US 6,651,368).
Each group contains a significantly different structure which constitutes the special technical feature: Group I is drawn the special technical feature of a long magnet bar with a circular center; Group II is drawn to the special technical feature of a non-magnetic couplable rim which encases the token; and Group III is drawn to the special technical feature of a protruding circular magnet.
Each Group requires a separate search strategy due to significantly different structural features which are non-obvious modifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In respect to independent claims 11 and 25, the claim recites “a rim interface configured to receive a token” and “a retaining fastener configured to sustain the token in the aperture”, claiming a functional or intended use of the rim interface and retaining fastener, and then further recites “the retaining fastener having an opening through which the token is visible” which infers that the token is positively recited by the claim, which it is not. It is unclear whether the claimed system is merely functionally capable of retaining a token or if a token is a claimed structural element of the system.
Any further dependent claims which recite limitations drawn to the token, or limitations drawn to another element directly related to the token (e.g. interlocking or “matching profiles”) is indefinite since a token is not positively recited in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-19 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fenner (US 2008/0072466).
In respect to claim 11, although unclear for the reasons detailed above, Fenner discloses a system comprising: an embedded housing interface 82 having a rim interface 84 configured to receive a token 21 in an aperture formed on a front side of the embedded housing interface, the rim interface 84 configured to be covered by, and selectively couple to, a retaining fastener 80 (Fig. 5); the retaining fastener 80 having an opening on the front side and capable of sustaining the token in the aperture (and allowing it to be removed) (0049); at least one clothing item (e.g. a hat) coupled to the embedded housing interface 82 (Fig. 1).
In respect to claim 12, Fenner discloses that the housing rim is configured to partially overlap the token against the embedded housing interface (Fig. 5).
In respect to claim 13, Fenner discloses both a coupled and decoupled state of the embedded housing interface (0049).
In respect to claims 14 and 15, Fenner discloses embedded housing interface which is capable of retaining a token flush with its front side and an inner edge. Furthermore, Fenner appear to explicitly disclose the token having these properties. The embedded housing interface is capable of retaining a token with the structural properties (wireless transmitter).
In respect to claim 16, Fenner discloses that both the retaining fastener 80 and rim interface 84 are circular (Fig. 5).
In respect to claims 17 and 21-24 Fenner discloses that the housing rim and rim interface may have recession and sets of protrusions alternately “overlapping grooves” (Figs 7-8). Although Fenner does not disclose rotating to interlock, this is not a structural distinction but a functionality, which Fenner is capable of e.g. the first and second set of overlapping grooves may be rotated while pressing into engagement.
In respect to claims 18-19, Fenner discloses that the token may tightly fit into an edge profile of embedded housing interface “matching profile” (0047-0048; Figs 2-4). The claims are indefinite since they depend from structural details of the token which is currently a configured use and not an element of the system, as claimed.
In respect to claims 25-31, Fenner discloses the claimed invention for the reasons detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenner (US 2008/0072466) in view of Blanks (US 6,651,368).
Fenner discloses the claims as detailed above, however, Blanks further teach a similar system for attachment to an article of clothing (hat) wherein a similar embedded housing interface 10 selectively engages with a token 6 (Figs. 1 & 6-8); the edge profile of the token and the embedded housing interface having matching profiles, with recessions in the embedded housing interface corresponding with protrusions (Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to modify the matching profiles of the token and embedded housing interface taught in Fenner to be elliptical and thus having a set of matching protrusions/recessions in view of Blanks to comfortably slidably receive a token for tight detainment (Col. 3, 46-49). It is noted that although a rotation of the token is not disclosed, if it configured to be inserted via rotation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shwartz et al. (US 2004/0079011) and Lee (US 6,154,992).
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637