DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filed on 5/15/2024.
Claims 1-22 were canceled.
Claims 46 is withdrawn.
Claims 23-45 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A: Claims 23-45 in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Each of the above species is interconnected and involves common inventive features - e.g., relating to a copilot ground base station (GBS). Additionally, there is a substantial overlap in the subject matter of the claims included in each alleged species. See MPEP 802.01 ("Two or more inventions are related (i.e., not independent) if they are disclosed as connected in at least one of design (e.g., structure or method of manufacture), operation (e.g., function or method of use), or effect.")”. This is not found persuasive because the different species included different control methods including “communicate with an onboard pilot located in a cockpit of the aircraft, and transmit commands for controlling one or more functionalities of the aircraft” vs a “ground-based pilot may utilize the one or more aircraft displays to remotely monitor operations of the aircraft and transmit commands for controlling one or more functionalities of the aircraft” which created examination burden as the examiner would be required to search for the different species with unique text search including different configuration with first configuration requiring communication with an onboard pilot located in a cockpit of the aircraft and second configuration requiring direct control of the one or more functionalities of the aircraft without communication with an onboard pilot.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-30, 32-33, 36-43, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shavit (US20180290729A1).
Regarding claim 23, Shavit teaches A copilot ground base station (GBS), comprising:
at least one GBS communication management system configured to manage bi- directional communications between the copilot GBS and a copilot replacement system (CPRS) installed on an aircraft (Shavit: Fig. 1 Element 31, Fig. 3 Element 65; Para 212 “Communication module (65) including SAT COM data & voice with the aircrafts (e.g. Rockwell Collins ICG NEXTLink ICS-220A) (66), and SAT antennas (67), cyber warfare module (69) to secure and check all communications and ground communications (68) e.g. for some or all of the following: aviation weather (e.g. from government sources such as ADDS), NOTAMs (Notices to Airmen from government sources), NAS (National Aviation Services) operators such as but not limited to some or all of: flight service, Automatic Terminal Information Service, or ATIS, Clearance, air ports tower, Departure. Arrival, ATC; NAS (National Aviation Services) data (e.g. aircraft track files); aircraft technical support, e.g. local maintenance, OEM (Original equipment manufacturer) support; back up ground station for redundancy; and customer service”);
at least one data converter unit (DCU) coupled to the at least one GBS communication management system, the at least one DCU configured to receive aircraft data from the CPRS installed on the aircraft and convert the aircraft data into one or more outputs that are adapted for display(Shavit: Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays”);
at least one output display device configured to render a plurality of aircraft displays, at least in part, using the one or more outputs generated by the at least one DCU(Shavit: Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays”); and
at least one data link coupled to the at least one GBS communication management system, the at least one data link configured to establish a connection that facilitates the bi-directional communications with the aircraft(Shavit: Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”); and
wherein the connection established between the copilot GBS and the aircraft enables a ground-based pilot to remotely monitor operations of the aircraft on the at least one output display device, communicate with an onboard pilot located in a cockpit of the aircraft, and transmit commands for controlling one or more functionalities of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 24, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the copilot GBS comprises a multi- function control and display unit (MCDU) that is configured to is configured to present feedback related to the aircraft's operations, receive inputs from the ground-based pilot, and transmit one or more commands over the at least one data link to control operation of the aircraft based on the inputs received from the ground-based pilot(Shavit: Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 25, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 24, wherein: the MCDU includes a simulated MCDU interface that is included on one of the plurality of aircraft displays presented on the at least one output display device(Shavit: Para 226 “the remote pilot MMI may present all or most of onboard pilot MMI data and controls status”); the simulated MCDU interface is configured to emulate functionality of a separate MCDU installed in a cockpit of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 226 “the remote pilot MMI may present all or most of onboard pilot MMI data and controls status”); and the simulated MCDU interface is configured to present the feedback related to the aircraft's operations via the at least one output display device, and receive the inputs from the ground-based pilot based on the ground-based pilot's interactions with the simulated MCDU interface(Shavit:Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 26, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 25, wherein the simulated MCDU interface presents flight planning, navigation, and performance computations corresponding to the aircraft's operations, and the one or more commands transmitted by the simulated MCDU interface over the at least one data link include one or more commands for adjusting settings of a flight management system (FMS) or a flight guidance computer (FGC) installed on the aircraft(Shavit: Para 226 “the remote pilot MMI may present all or most of onboard pilot MMI data and controls status”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 27, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the at least one GBS communication management system is configured to communicate with an onboard communication management system of the CPRS installed in the aircraft, and communications between the at least one GBS communication management system and the onboard communication management system enables a ground-based pilot to remotely monitor the operations of the aircraft on the at least one output display, and transmit the commands for controlling the one or more functionalities of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 226 “the remote pilot MMI may present all or most of onboard pilot MMI data and controls status”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 28, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the aircraft data received via the at least one data link from the CPRS installed on the aircraft comprises monitoring data generated by a cockpit monitoring system installed on the aircraft, and the at least one output display device is configured to render at least a portion of the monitoring data on one or more of the plurality of aircraft displays(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (130) At (101) mode, if “blue button” used by pilot (if he fears he is about to become incapacitated or by passengers that recognize that the pilot is incapacitated) is activated or if system otherwise detects that pilot is not responsive, the system transfers to (108) mode. Automatic detection of pilot incapacity is known (United B744 for example) e.g. by monitoring pilot inputs, detecting lack of inputs for a certain time and detecting failure to respond to certain system alerts”; Para Para 226 “the remote pilot MMI may present all or most of onboard pilot MMI data and controls status”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 29, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the aircraft data received from the CPRS installed on the aircraft via the at least one data link comprises outputs generated by, or derived from, at least one data concentrator installed on the aircraft, and one or more of the plurality of aircraft displays are generated, at least in part, using the outputs(Shavit: Para 164 “all monitor and control data is on a data bus to facilitate easy sharing of that data between aircraft and ground station through the communication net”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 30, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the aircraft data received from the CPRS installed on the aircraft via the at least one data link comprises external vision data captured by at least one exterior vision system installed on or near an exterior of the aircraft, and the at least one output display device is configured to render at least a portion of the external vision data on one or more of the plurality of aircraft displays(Shavit: Para 263 “Remote pilot MMI 23 of FIG. 3 may for example be similar to conventional onboard MMI and may provide some or all of the following: 1. As shown in FIG. 6, particularly for single aircraft, monitoring module (620) may be similar or identical to a conventional onboard MMI except that the other-pilot inputs that the remote pilot gets are from the air, whereas the other-pilot inputs that the air pilot gets are from the ground. The ground MMI may comprise display and other controls that present aircraft MMI status to a remote pilot and let the remote pilot operate the controls. It includes some or all of the following: display units (621), (622), (623) that present PFD, NAV and systems status.—Touch screens (624) that enable pilot inputs; and (625)—other controls not via touch screens. Element 630 typically includes displays for management and support data, such as but not limited to some or all of: forward looking video from aircraft, AFM (aircraft flight manual); MEL (minimum equipment list), aircraft maintenance log. Element (640) comprises Keyboard and other controls to operate the working station of the remote pilot”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 32, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the connection established between the copilot GBS and the aircraft enables a ground-based pilot to remotely interact with a monitoring, checklist and warning system (MCWS) installed in the cockpit of the aircraft and to remotely perform checklist functions, instrument monitoring functions, and warning functions(Shavit: Para 262 “Referring to FIG. 6, Remote pilot MMI 23 of FIG. 3 may for example be similar to conventional onboard MMI and may provide some or all of the following: 1. As shown in FIG. 6, particularly for single aircraft, monitoring module (620) may be similar or identical to a conventional onboard MMI except that the other-pilot inputs that the remote pilot gets are from the air, whereas the other-pilot inputs that the air pilot gets are from the ground. The ground MMI may comprise display and other controls that present aircraft MMI status to a remote pilot and let the remote pilot operate the controls. It includes some or all of the following: display units (621), (622), (623) that present PFD, NAV and systems status.—Touch screens (624) that enable pilot inputs; and (625)—other controls not via touch screens. Element 630 typically includes displays for management and support data, such as but not limited to some or all of: forward looking video from aircraft, AFM (aircraft flight manual); MEL (minimum equipment list), aircraft maintenance log. Element (640) comprises Keyboard and other controls to operate the working station of the remote pilot”).
Regarding claim 33, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein transmitting the commands for controlling one or more functionalities of the aircraft includes at least two of:
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands to remotely control or use one or more radio devices installed on the aircraft for communicating with one or more air-based entities or one or more ground-based entities;
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands for remotely controlling operation of an autopilot system installed in the aircraft(Shavit: Fig. 13; Para 156 “Flight path may be maintained by an auto pilot and auto throttle that are controlled and/or monitored by the remote pilot.”);
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands for remotely controlling operation of an autothrust system installed in the aircraft(Shavit: Fig. 13; Para 156 “Flight path may be maintained by an auto pilot and auto throttle that are controlled and/or monitored by the remote pilot.”);
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands for remotely controlling operation of an autoland system installed in the aircraft;
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands for remotely controlling navigation or maneuvers of the aircraft; and
transmitting, via the at least one data link, commands for remotely controlling a flight plan or flight path for the aircraft.
Regarding claim 36, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein the at least one DCU comprises an aircraft display symbol generator configured to generate visual representations of the aircraft data received over the at least one data link in a form of symbols for incorporation into one or more of the plurality of aircraft displays presented on the at least one output display device(Shavit: Para 164 “all monitor and control data is on a data bus to facilitate easy sharing of that data between aircraft and ground station through the communication net”; Para 238 “ATC-aircraft data link or voice communication that contain assigned flight plan updates. The point to point connectivity between ground station and aircraft may be used to perform some or all of the following: a) Send data from aircraft data buses to generate the data on the remote pilot's MMI displays. b) Enable the remote pilot's manipulations of his controls to be sent to the aircraft enabling control of aircraft systems and to be presented on the airborne pilot's MMI. c) Cross check of the communicated data from the multi channel types enables improving robustness, and provides immunity from unauthorized intruders d) Send voice and data communication between ATC and aircraft and enable the remote pilot to monitor or operate ATC-aircraft negotiations”).
Regarding claim 37, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, further comprising a data entry means that is configured to receive identification information for selecting the aircraft and establishing the connection with the aircraft(Shavit: Para 191 “Switching from on-board piloting to remote piloting typically comprises an on-board piloting activating request on the control unit 150 or 155 followed by a limited time window during which the remote pilot must respond via his control unit 150 or 155 that he accepts control”; i.e. on-board piloting activating request indicated identification information and the remote pilot accepts control indicating establishing the connection with the aircraft), wherein the data entry means is included on at least one of: the at least one DCU; or an aircraft display presented on the at least one output display device(Shavit: Fig. 6 Element 155; Para 309 “FIG. 9 is a simplified diagram of a pilot-in-command Mode Selector 155, e.g. a touch screen or push button/s. and may serve as an alternative to apparatus 150 of FIG. 8, in which case the apparatus 150 is either omitted (e.g. in FIG. 6) or implemented in parallel for redundancy (e.g. in the system of FIG. 5b )”).
Regarding claim 38, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, wherein transmitting commands for controlling one or more functionalities of the aircraft include transmitting commands to manipulate at least one data transfer relay located in the aircraft, and the at least one data transfer relay enables the ground-based pilot to remotely manipulate actuation switches or indicators for at least two of: controlling landing gear, flaps, engines, autopilot functions, autothrottle functions, autonomous landing systems, lighting systems, communication systems, fuel selector systems, or electronic circuit breakers(Shavit: Fig. 13; Para 156 “Flight path may be maintained by an auto pilot and auto throttle that are controlled and/or monitored by the remote pilot.”).
As per claim 39, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 23 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 40, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 25 and 26 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 41, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 28, 29 and 30 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 42, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 32 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 43, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 33 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 45, Shavit teaches The method of claim 39, further comprising terminating the connection between the copilot GBS and the aircraft in response to an override command(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (125) At (106) mode, onboard pilot (P) may take control by moving control switch 150 or 155 to position P. Piloting may be set to P typically without remote pilot (RP) needing to confirm”; i.e. onboard pilot (P) take control indicated terminating the connection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31, 34, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit (US20180290729A1) in view of McCusker (US9384586B1).
In regards to claim 31, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 30
Yet Shavit do not explicitly teach wherein the exterior vision data enables the copilot GBS to execute distance-measuring functions, which determine a distance from the aircraft to one or more objects captured in the external vision data
However, in the same field of endeavor, McCusker teaches wherein the exterior vision data enables the copilot GBS to execute distance-measuring functions, which determine a distance from the aircraft to one or more objects captured in the external vision data (McCusker: Col. 11 Lines 12-21 “Memory 402 may also include a radar image processing module 407 configured to generate 2-D images from the 3-D model. In particular, module 407 may receive data from module 406 including a 3-D model of highly reflective structures in an airport terminal area or runway environment that may serve as visual reference points during aircraft approach and landing procedures. Module 407 may generate one or more 2-D images of one or more of the structures in the 3-D model”; Col. 11 Lines 46-52 “Location analyzer module 408 may also compare the determined location of the aircraft to location information contained in radar returns data used by modules 406 and 407 to generate 3-D models and 2-D images of nearby airport terminal or runway environment structures (e.g., distance, altitude and azimuth data determined by radar system 304 shown in FIG. 3)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The copilot GBS of Shavit with the feature of wherein the exterior vision data enables the copilot GBS to execute distance-measuring functions, which determine a distance from the aircraft to one or more objects captured in the external vision data disclosed by McCusker. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “minimize losses due to the inability of the pilot to land the plane and deliver cargo and/or passengers on time in low visibility conditions” (McCusker: Col. 1 Lines 40-42).
In regards to claim 34, Shavit teaches The copilot GBS of claim 23, and Shavit further teaches wherein the at least one output display device is configured to output a flight augmentation display based, at least in part, on external vision data captured by an external vision system installed on the aircraft(Shavit: Para 263 “Remote pilot MMI 23 of FIG. 3 may for example be similar to conventional onboard MMI and may provide some or all of the following: 1. As shown in FIG. 6, particularly for single aircraft, monitoring module (620) may be similar or identical to a conventional onboard MMI except that the other-pilot inputs that the remote pilot gets are from the air, whereas the other-pilot inputs that the air pilot gets are from the ground. The ground MMI may comprise display and other controls that present aircraft MMI status to a remote pilot and let the remote pilot operate the controls. It includes some or all of the following: display units (621), (622), (623) that present PFD, NAV and systems status.—Touch screens (624) that enable pilot inputs; and (625)—other controls not via touch screens. Element 630 typically includes displays for management and support data, such as but not limited to some or all of: forward looking video from aircraft, AFM (aircraft flight manual); MEL (minimum equipment list), aircraft maintenance log. Element (640) comprises Keyboard and other controls to operate the working station of the remote pilot”) while McCusker further teaches the flight augmentation display being configured to augment the external vision data from captured by the external vision system with overlays or objects that provide information for assisting the ground-based pilot with landing the aircraft (McCusker: Col. 2 Lines 6-17 “An EFVS typically uses either a passive or active sensing system to acquire data used to generate imagery of the airport terminal area and runway environment. A typical passive sensor, such as a forward looking infrared (FLIR) camera or visible light spectrum camera, receives electromagnetic energy from the environment and outputs data that may be used by the system to generate video images from the point of view of the camera. The camera is installed in an appropriate position, such as in the nose of an aircraft, so that the PF may be presented with an appropriately scaled and positioned video image on the HUD having nearly the same point of view as the PF when viewing the external surroundings of the aircraft through the HUD”; Col. 9 Lines 13-33 “Processing electronics 302 may generate EFVS imagery of aircraft surroundings, such as an airport terminal or runway environment, using data from radar system 304, communication devices 306, and aircraft sensors 308. For example, processing electronics 302 may generate a 2-D or 3-D representation of an airport terminal or runway environment in front of the aircraft from the viewing perspective of a PF and provide the representation to a display 312 (e.g., HUD 22 shown in FIG. 1). The rendition may also include various indicia regarding the current state of the aircraft. For example, the rendering on display 312 may include data regarding the aircraft's heading, course, altitude, or the like. The processing electronics may also generate a 2-D aircraft situation display image representative of the airport terminal or runway environment and provide the representation to a display 312 (e.g., HUD 22 shown in FIG. 1) for review by a PM. For example, the aircraft situation display image may include a 2-D electronic moving map display of the airport terminal or runway environment. The aircraft situation display image may further include an overlay including the 2-D radar image of structures in the airport terminal or runway environment.”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Shavit and McCusker as in Claim 31 above.
As per claim 44, it recites A method for operating a copilot ground base station (GBS) having limitations similar to those of claim 34 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit (US20180290729A1) in view of McCusker (US9384586B1) further in view of Iskrev (US20170308100A1).
In regards to claim 35, the combination of Shavit and McCusker teaches The copilot GBS of claim 34.
Yet the combination of Shavit and McCusker do not explicitly teach wherein: the flight augmentation display enables the ground-based pilot to identify a touchdown location for landing the aircraft; and
in response to identifying the touchdown location, a flight augmentation system is configured to generate simulated sensor information and guidance commands that instruct an autopilot function, a flight management system, or a flight guidance computer installed on the aircraft to generate flight information for landing the aircraft at or near the touchdown location identified by the ground-based pilot.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iskrev teaches wherein: the flight augmentation display enables the ground-based pilot to identify a touchdown location for landing the aircraft(Iskrev: Para 12 “a method for the automated landing of an unmanned aerial vehicle includes controlling an unmanned aerial vehicle from a takeoff point to a point generally vertically above a landing area, capturing a photograph of the landing area from the unmanned aerial vehicle, transmitting the photograph to a first remote control device located near the landing area, prompting an observer to select a landing point on the photograph via the first remote control device, calculating a reference trajectory for a landing phase in dependence upon a location of the unmanned aerial vehicle in relation to the selected landing point, and controlling movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle to the landing point according to the calculated reference trajectory”); and
in response to identifying the touchdown location, a flight augmentation system is configured to generate simulated sensor information and guidance commands that instruct an autopilot function, a flight management system, or a flight guidance computer installed on the aircraft to generate flight information for landing the aircraft at or near the touchdown location identified by the ground-based pilot(Iskrev: Para 12 “a method for the automated landing of an unmanned aerial vehicle includes controlling an unmanned aerial vehicle from a takeoff point to a point generally vertically above a landing area, capturing a photograph of the landing area from the unmanned aerial vehicle, transmitting the photograph to a first remote control device located near the landing area, prompting an observer to select a landing point on the photograph via the first remote control device, calculating a reference trajectory for a landing phase in dependence upon a location of the unmanned aerial vehicle in relation to the selected landing point, and controlling movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle to the landing point according to the calculated reference trajectory”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The copilot GBS of the combination of Shavit and McCusker with the feature of wherein: the flight augmentation display enables the ground-based pilot to identify a touchdown location for landing the aircraft; and in response to identifying the touchdown location, a flight augmentation system is configured to generate simulated sensor information and guidance commands that instruct an autopilot function, a flight management system, or a flight guidance computer installed on the aircraft to generate flight information for landing the aircraft at or near the touchdown location identified by the ground-based pilot disclosed by Iskrev. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “automated landing of an aircraft of UAV in a variety of landing scenarios” (Iskrev: Para 5).
Conclusion
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1/27/26