DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species C in the reply filed on 2025-12-17 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2025-12-17.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evangelista et al. (US 5363690).
Regarding claim 1 Evangelista discloses:
An electromagnetic shielding member for a gas detector, the electromagnetic shielding member comprising:
a hollow body (e.g. 34 FIG.4) adapted to at least partially enclose a sensor (e.g. shown FIG.4), the hollow body comprising:
a connecting portion (e.g. 30 FIG.4, exposed wired col 3 line 47) adapted to electrically connect the hollow body to an enclosure (e.g. 12 FIG.4) of the gas detector (e.g. via 30, 43 FIG.4); and
at least one airflow channel (e.g. flow cell, col 3 line 58, gaps around 32 shown FIG.4) defined in the hollow body (e.g. in 34 FIG.4), the at least one airflow channel in fluid communication with the sensor (e.g. indicated FIG.4), wherein the at least one airflow channel is adapted to block an electromagnetic signal based on a set of geometrical parameters associated with the at least one airflow channel (e.g. via 30 and gap around 32 FIG.4, col 3 line 50).
Regarding claim 2 Evangelista discloses:
the set of geometrical parameters comprises at least one of a shape (e.g. shown FIG.4), an internal diameter (e.g. shown FIG.4), an orientation, and a length of the at least one airflow channel (e.g. shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 4 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one airflow channel is oriented to prevent at least one of ambient particulate matter and water particles from directly contacting the sensor (e.g. described col 3 line 54).
Regarding claim 5 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one airflow channel is oriented at an inclination greater than 45 degrees relative to a longitudinal axis (X-X′) of the hollow body (e.g. 90 degrees as shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 6 Evangelista discloses:
the connecting portion is defined on an outer surface of a side wall of the hollow body (e.g. described col 3 line 47).
Regarding claim 8 Evangelista discloses:
the hollow body comprises at least one baffle portion (e.g. 46 FIG.4) removably fastened to the side wall and extending downward in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (X-X′) of the hollow body (e.g. shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 9 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one baffle portion is spaced apart from the hollow body (e.g. spaced from 34 FIG.4) to permit entry of ambient air into the at least one airflow channel (e.g. gaps around 32 shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 10 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one baffle portion and the at least one airflow channel are aligned to permit entry of ambient air into the at least one airflow channel (e.g. shown FIG.4. described col 3 line 58).
Regarding claim 11 Evangelista discloses:
A gas detector comprising:
an enclosure (e.g. 24 FIG.4) adapted to enclose at least a portion of a sensor (e.g. 32 FIG.4) and control circuitry (e.g. 42 FIG.4) electrically connected to the sensor (e.g. via 30, 43 FIG.4); and
an electromagnetic shielding member (e.g. below 43 FIG.4) adapted to be removably fastened to the enclosure, the electromagnetic shielding member comprising:
a hollow body (e.g. 34 FIG.4) adapted to enclose the sensor, the hollow body comprising:
a connecting portion (e.g. 30 FIG.4, exposed wired col 3 line 47) adapted to electrically connect the hollow body to the enclosure (e.g. via 43 FIG.4); and
at least one airflow channel (e.g. flow cell, col 3 line 58, gaps around 32 shown FIG.4) defined in the hollow body (e.g. in 34 FIG.4), the at least one airflow channel in fluid communication with the sensor (e.g. indicated FIG.4), wherein the at least one airflow channel is adapted to block an electromagnetic signal based on a set of geometrical parameters associated with the at least one airflow channel (e.g. via 30 and gap around 32 FIG.4, col 3 line 50).
Regarding claim 12 Evangelista discloses:
the set of geometrical parameters comprises at least one of a shape (e.g. shown FIG.4), an internal diameter (e.g. shown FIG.4), an orientation (e.g. shown FIG.4), and a length of the at least one airflow channel (e.g. shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 14 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one airflow channel is oriented to prevent at least one of ambient particulate matter and water particles from directly contacting the sensor (e.g. described col 3 line 54).
Regarding claim 15 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one airflow channel is oriented at an inclination greater than 45 degrees relative to a longitudinal axis (X-X′) of the hollow body (e.g. 90 degrees as shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 16 Evangelista discloses:
the connecting portion is defined on an outer surface of a side wall of the hollow body (e.g. described col 3 line 47).
Regarding claim 17 Evangelista discloses:
the hollow body comprises at least one baffle portion (e.g. 46 FIG.4) removably fastened to the side wall and extending downward in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (X-X') of the hollow body.
Regarding claim 18 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one baffle portion is adapted to removably fasten a secondary cover element (e.g. against 29 FIG.4) to the side wall (e.g. shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 19 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one baffle portion is spaced apart from the hollow body to permit entry of ambient air into the at least one airflow channel (e.g. via gaps between 46 and 32 shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 20 Evangelista discloses:
the at least one baffle portion and the at least one airflow channel are aligned to permit entry of ambient air into the at least one airflow channel (e.g. shown FIG.4. described col 3 line 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evangelista et al. (US 5363690) in view of Zhang (US 2011/0179769).
Regarding claim 3 Evangelista discloses:
The electromagnetic shielding member of claim 1,
Evangelista does not explicitly disclose:
the internal diameter of the at least one airflow channel is less than 5 mm
Zhang teaches:
the internal diameter of the at least one airflow channel is less than 5 mm (e.g. described paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Zhang, as pointed out above, in Evangelista, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: "compensates for the increased resistance to flow caused by the longer flow path. As a result, a more equivalent mass flow of exhaust may be admitted through each of the inlets" (paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 13 Evangelista discloses:
The electromagnetic shielding member of claim 11,
Evangelista does not explicitly disclose:
the internal diameter of the at least one airflow channel is less than 5 mm
Zhang teaches:
the internal diameter of the at least one airflow channel is less than 5 mm (e.g. described paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of Zhang, as pointed out above, in Evangelista, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: "compensates for the increased resistance to flow caused by the longer flow path. As a result, a more equivalent mass flow of exhaust may be admitted through each of the inlets" (paragraph [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose/teach similar circuit board housings with shielding(s) as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841