DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the semiconductor art many thousands of discrete devices are formed on a wafer that is diced afterwords into a plurality of dies. Each of these dies in turns may contain hundreds to thousands of components. If a wafer that could be subdivided into some number of dies was instead divided into half or less of the dies, those larger dies are, by definition, still dies as they are formed by dicing the wafer. Therefore, it is unclear what could be meant by a semiconductor die matrix comprising a second semiconductor die unsingulated from the first semiconductor die as the semiconductor die matrix is simply a die and it is nonsensical to discuss a first and second die within a single die. For examining purposes, the limitation of a die matrix shall be read as a die and the limitations with regards to the first, second, third and fourth semiconductor dies shall be ignored.
Regarding claim 8 it is unclear what is being claimed as a die separation line that is not separated could be any arbitrary line running through the die and does not require a specific structure.
The same logic applies to the conjoined semiconductor dies of claim 9.
Furthermore, specifically in regards to claim 20, it is unclear what is being claimed by a delineation means as any structure can be taken as a point to delineate one section of the die from another such that there would appear to an arbitrary number of delineation means in any given die.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leslie at al. (US 2021/0280557 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leslie discloses a semiconductor package comprising (Fig 2): a substrate (230); and a stack of semiconductor dies (220) electrically coupled to the substrate; and a redistribution layer (Fig 6, ¶40).
Regarding claim 2, Leslie discloses bond pads on the semiconductor die (620).
Regarding claim 3, Leslie discloses redistribution layer bond pads (610) electrically coupled to one or more bond pads on the semiconductor die
Regarding claim 4, Leslie discloses a plurality of solder balls (240) provided on a bottom surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Leslie discloses that the redistribution layer bond pad is electrically coupled to at least one solder ball of the plurality of solder balls as the solder balls illustrated in Fig 2 are the means in which the device sends and receives signals from where it is further integrated which requires the connection of the redistribution layer bond pads to those solder balls in order for the dies to be addressable and thus function as intended.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Leslie discloses semiconductor dies (620).
Regarding claim 8, one can envisage a line to further subdivide a die.
Regarding claim 9,Leslie discloses a semiconductor package (Fig 2 & 6), comprising; a substrate (230); a first semiconductor die (220) and a second semiconductor die (220) stacked on top of the first semiconductor die and being a memory die (¶24 & ¶25); a first plurality of redistribution layer bond pads (620-1) provided on the first semiconductor die; a second plurality of redistribution layer bond pads (620-2) provided on the second semiconductor die and at least a first redistribution layer bond pad of the second plurality of redistribution layer bond pads on the second semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 10, Leslie discloses a redistribution layer provided on a surface of the first semiconductor die matrix tile as the redistribution layer is in substrate 230 and the lowermost semiconductor die 220 is also on substrate 230 with bond pad 620(1) contacting the redistribution layer.
Regarding claim 11, Leslie discloses a plurality of traces (632) provided within the redistribution layer and electrically connected to the die.
Regarding claim 12, Leslie discloses that the redistribution layer bond pad is electrically coupled to one or more interconnects associated with the semiconductor package (Fig 6, any of the illustrated conductive members are interconnects associated with the semiconductor package).
Regarding claim 13, one can envisage a line to further subdivide a die.
Regarding claim 14, as no structure is required by the claim it does not patentably distinguish over claim 13, claim 14 essentially claiming the lack of a process step within the context of a device claim.
Regarding claim 15, Leslie discloses a semiconductor package (Fig 2 & 6), comprising a substrate (230); a stack of semiconductor dies (220) a trace distribution means (Fig 6) provided on the semiconductor die (as the redistribution layer is in substrate 230 and the lowermost semiconductor die 220 is also on substrate 230, where the elements may be considered reversed, i.e. the substrate is on the die stack); a trace means (632); and a connection means (240).
Regarding claim 16, Leslie discloses that the connection means are bond pads associated with the trace distribution means (Fig 6, elements 610 & 620 are bond pads).
Regarding claim 17, Leslie discloses interconnection means associated with the connection means (any of traces 632 or any other element of the redistribution layer).
Regarding claim 18, Leslie discloses that the interconnection means are solder balls (per Fig 2, said elements being associated with the connection means as they are all part of the same device.
Regarding claim 19, Leslie discloses circuitry means (the redistribution layer of Fig 6) for electrically coupling each semiconductor die in the stack of semiconductor dies on the substrate.
Regarding claim 20, one could delineate the dies into first and second areas.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P SHOOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896