Claim Interpretation
The final clause of claim 1 is drafted in conditional form. The phrase “when a length of the separator . . . is defined as L, . . .” is operative upon the stated condition. As discussed in the rejection below, the cited prior art never defines a length of the separator as “L.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kono (US 2017/0309873).
Claim 1: Kono discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (¶ 29). The battery includes an electrode assembly having a positive electrode 16, a negative electrode 17, and a separator 18 interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (¶¶ 30-31; fig. 3); and a battery case accommodating the electrode assembly and the electrolyte solution (¶¶ 29, 74); wherein the battery case has an exterior package having an opening, and a sealing plate for sealing the opening (¶ 29), the positive electrode has a positive electrode tab that is a protruding portion of the positive electrode, at an end of the electrode assembly (¶¶ 32, 40), the negative electrode has a negative electrode tab that is a protruding portion of the negative electrode, at an end of the electrode assembly (¶¶ 33, 40), the electrode assembly is accommodated inside the battery case in such a manner that the end having the positive electrode tab and the end having the negative electrode tab face the sealing plate (¶¶ 29, 40), and Kono does not define a length of the separator as L.
Claim 2: Kono discloses the battery case being prismatic (¶ 29).
Claim 3: Kono discloses a wound-type assembly (¶ 67).
Claim 6: Kono discloses a restraining pressure of 0.05 MPA or more is applied to the battery in a stacking direction of positive, negative electrode, and separator (¶¶ 41-52, 76-83).
Claims 7-8 rely on the conditional clause.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono (US 2017/0309873), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Nishikawa (US 2013/0089770).
Claims 4-5: Kono discloses the separator has a base material, but is silent as to a functional layer. However, Nishikawa, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a separator including a porous substrate and an adhesive porous layer that is formed on the side of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have provided the separators 18 of Kono with an adhesive porous layer of polyvinylidene-fluoride-based resin formed on a side of the base material in order to adhere each separator to the adjacent positive electrode 16 and negative electrode 17 of Kono’s electrode assembly and thereby suppress the formation of spaces between the electrodes and the separator during charging and discharging, obtaining excellent cycle life (Nishikawa, ¶¶ 4, 64).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754