DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 includes the typo “a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear”. It should read, “a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary drive gear”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 includes the typo “a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear”. It should read, “a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary drive gear”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 includes the typo “wherein the reduction gear set mechanically couples the primary driven gear to the primary driven gear”. It should read, “wherein the reduction gear set mechanically couples the primary drive gear to the primary driven gear”.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 includes the typo “wherein the reduction gear set mechanically couples the primary driven gear to the primary driven gear”. It should read, “wherein the reduction gear set mechanically couples the primary drive gear to the primary driven gear”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii et al (US 8,267,205). Ishii discloses:
With regard to claim 1 - A tool device comprising:
a frame 12 comprising a support arm 16;
a walking element 14, 15 coupled to the frame 12;
a drive motor 34, 36 selectively powering the walking element 14, 15; and
a steerable-wheel assembly (SWA) attached to the frame apart from the walking element, the SWA comprising:
a caster connector 78 pivotably mounted to the frame 12 at the support arm 16 to rotate about a pivot axis,
a steerable wheel 18 rotatably coupled to the caster connector 78,
an assembly motor 46 mechanically coupled to the caster connector 78 to pivot the caster connector 78 about the pivot axis,
a primary drive gear disposed above a lower end of the support arm, the primary drive gear being in mechanical communication with the assembly motor 46 to be rotated thereby (see marked up figure below),
a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary drive gear, and a secondary driven gear disposed on the caster connector 78 in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear to direct rotation of the steerable wheel (see marked up figure below).
With regard to claim 2 - further comprising a secondary drive gear mechanically coupled to the primary driven gear apart from the primary drive gear (see the figure above).
With regard to claim 3 - wherein the secondary drive gear is mounted coaxially with the primary driven gear (see marked up figure above).
With regard to claim 9 - wherein the secondary drive gear defines a reference diameter (SERD), wherein the secondary driven gear defines a reference diameter (SNRD), and wherein the SERD is less than the SNRD (see marked up figure above).
With regard to claim 10 - wherein the primary drive gear defines a reference diameter (PERD), wherein the primary driven gear defines a reference diameter (PNRD), and wherein the PERD is less than the PNRD (see marked up figure above).
With regard to claim 11 - wherein the assembly motor 46 is radially offset from the caster connector 78 relative to the pivot axis (see Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Mauritz et al (US 12,552,446). Ishii fails to explicitly disclose a reduction gear set in mechanical communication between the primary drive gear and the secondary driven gear. Mauritz teaches a tool device including a steerable wheel assembly 27 comprising an assembly motor 1 for steering a caster via a caster connector 20, and a reduction gear set 16 in mechanical communication between a primary drive gear 5 and a secondary driven gear 19. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tool device of Ishii with the teaching of Mauritz so as to include a reduction gear set in mechanical communication between the primary drive gear and the secondary driven gear to transfer the motor’s high-speed, low-torque output into a slower, higher-torque rotation that the caster wheel can handle effectively.
With regard to claim 5, Mauritz teaches a secondary drive gear 18 mechanically coupled to a primary driven gear 13 through the reduction gear set 16 and mechanically coupled with the secondary driven gear 19.
With regard to claim 6, Mauritz teaches wherein the reduction gear set 6 mechanically couples the primary driven gear 5 to the primary driven gear (“In FIG. 1, a force flow in the steering drive runs from the electric motor 1 via the motor shaft 2, and the toothing 5 of the motor shaft 2, to the intermediate gear 6. A first speed reduction of the rotational speed occurs here.” – column 6, lines 35-38).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Goebel et al (US 8,855,861). Ishii discloses a sensor 88 capable of detecting the steering angle of the caster connector 78. However, Ishii fails to explicitly disclose wherein the SWA further comprises a detectable magnet fixed to the caster connector to pivot therewith about the pivot axis. Goebel teaches a tool device similar to that of Ishii including a sensor for detecting the rotation angle of a caster connector 92, wherein the sensor comprising a detectable magnet 102 fixed to the caster connector 92 to pivot therewith about the pivot axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tool device of Ishii with the teaching of Goebel such that the sensor includes a detectable magnet fixed directly to the caster connector to preclude the need for extra gearing and extra space.
With regard to claim 8, Goebel teaches an encoder comprising a magnetic sensor 100 fixed to a frame apart from the caster connector 92 to detect a pivotable position of the detectable magnet 102.
Claim(s) 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Mauritz and Goebel.
With regard to claim 12 , Ishii discloses a tool device comprising:
a frame 12 comprising a support arm 74;
a walking element 14, 15 coupled to the frame 12;
a drive motor selectively powering the walking element; and
a steerable-wheel assembly (SWA) attached to the frame apart from the walking element, the SWA comprising
a caster connector 78 pivotably mounted to the frame at the support arm to rotate about a pivot axis,
a steerable wheel 18 rotatably coupled to the caster connector 78,
an assembly motor 46 mechanically coupled to the caster connector 78 to pivot the caster connector 78 about the pivot axis, the assembly motor 46 being radially offset from the caster connector 78 relative to the pivot axis,
a primary drive gear disposed at an upper end of the support arm 74 opposite a lower end of the support arm 74, the primary drive gear being in mechanical communication with the assembly motor 46 to be rotated thereby,
a primary driven gear in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear,
a secondary driven gear disposed on the caster connector 78 in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear to direct rotation of the steerable wheel. Ishii fails to explicitly disclose a reduction gear set in mechanical communication between the primary drive gear and the secondary driven gear.
As seen above, Mauritz teaches a tool device including a steerable wheel assembly 27 comprising an assembly motor 1 for steering a caster via a caster connector 20, and a reduction gear set 16 in mechanical communication between a primary drive gear 5 and a secondary driven gear 19. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tool device of Ishii with the teaching of Mauritz so as to include a reduction gear set in mechanical communication between the primary drive gear and the secondary driven gear to transfer the motor’s high-speed, low-torque output into a slower, higher-torque rotation that the caster wheel can handle effectively.
Ishii further fails to explicitly disclose a detectable magnet fixed to the caster connector above the secondary driven gear to pivot with the caster connector about the pivot axis. Goebel teaches a tool device similar to that of Ishii including a sensor for detecting the rotation angle of a caster connector 92, wherein the sensor comprising a detectable magnet 102 fixed to the caster connector 92 to pivot therewith about the pivot axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tool device of Ishii with the teaching of Goebel such that the sensor includes a detectable magnet fixed directly to the caster connector to preclude the need for extra gearing and extra space.
With regard to claim 13, Ishii discloses further comprising a secondary drive gear in mechanical communication with the primary driven gear apart from the primary drive gear (see marked up figure reproduced below).
With regard to claim 14, Ishii discloses wherein the secondary drive gear is disposed at a lower end of the support arm 74.
With regard to claim 15, Mauritz teaches wherein the secondary drive gear is mechanically coupled to the primary driven gear through the reduction gear set and mechanically coupled with the secondary driven gear.
With regard to claim 16, Ishii discloses wherein the secondary drive gear is mounted coaxially with the primary driven gear (see marked up figure above).
With regard to claim 17, Mauritz teaches wherein the reduction gear set mechanically couples the primary drive gear to the primary driven gear.
With regard to claim 18, Goebel teaches wherein the SWA further comprises an encoder comprising a magnetic sensor 100 fixed to the frame apart from the caster connector 92 to detect a pivotable position of the detectable magnet 102.
With regard to claim 19, Ishii discloses wherein the secondary drive gear defines a reference diameter (SERD), wherein the secondary driven gear defines a reference diameter (SNRD), and wherein the SERD is less than the SNRD.
With regard to claim 20, Ishii discloses wherein the primary drive gear defines a reference diameter (PERD), wherein the primary driven gear defines a reference diameter (PNRD), and wherein the PERD is less than the PNRD.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishii et al (US 8,544,570) and Strong (US 6,668,965) disclose similar tool devices to that of the present invention comprising comparable SWA’s. Brown et al (US 10,392,007) discloses a tool device including a reduction gear set disposed between a steering motor and a caster connector.
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 June 10, 2026