DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/20/2024 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. US 12022073 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Lee in view of LIM discloses generating a second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 by ternary splitting the first coding unit, a height of the first coding unit and a width of the first coding unit being the same, and decoding the second coding unit, when the ternary split of the first coding unit is allowed, ... wherein a height or a width of the second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 is within a range between the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 and a smallest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4:
LEE:
[0070] When the size of a coding block falls within a second predetermined range, the coding block can be partitioned only by binary-tree partitioning or ternary-tree partitioning.
[0168] A prediction block may be a rectangular block having a size of 2×8, 4×16 etc. The prediction blocks may be generated by ternary splitting.
Figure 3 also shows an example of an 8*32 coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 generated by ternary splitting a 32*32 coding unit. The 8*32 coding unit is a ratio 1:4 CU generated when the 32*32 square coding unit is ternary split. The 8*32 coding unit is a PU when it is no longer split for prediction.
LIM: [0289]-[0290]; [0295] log 2_cu_14_ratio_max_minus2: a maximal allowed size of a 1:4 or 4:1 CU (longer side); [0296] log 2_cu_14_ratio_min_minus2: a minimal allowed size of a 1:4 or 4:1 CU (longer side); [0311]-[0312].
It is obvious to limit a height or a width of the second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 generated by ternary splitting within a range between the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 and a smallest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 defined by LIM.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20200204799 A1) in view of LIM et al. (US 20210368172 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3. LEE et al. (US 20200204799 A1) discloses A video decoding method (abstract, An image encoding/decoding method and apparatus; [0054] an image may mean a picture configuring a video, or may mean the video itself) comprising:
obtaining, from a bitstream, information about a largest size of a coding unit and information about a smallest size of the coding unit (figure 3, [0133] an image 300 is sequentially partitioned in a largest coding unit (LCU), and a LCU unit is determined as a partition structure. Herein, the LCU may be used in the same meaning as a coding tree unit (CTU); [0110] A coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded in an encoder and signaled to a decoder. For example, information on a CTU size, information on a minimum block size, information on a maximum block size);
obtaining, from the bitstream, information about a largest size of a block allowed to be ternary split, information about a smallest size of the block allowed to be ternary split ([0156] the maximum size of a ternary tree and the minimum size of the ternary tree may be signaled at the slice level);
determining the largest size of the coding unit using the information about the largest size of the coding unit ([0110] A coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded in an encoder and signaled to a decoder. For example, information on a CTU size, information on a maximum block size), and determining the smallest size of the coding unit using the information about the smallest size of the coding unit ([0110] A coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded in an encoder and signaled to a decoder. For example, information on a minimum block size);
determining whether to allow ternary split of a first coding unit, based on whether a size of the first coding unit is not greater than the largest size of the block allowed to be ternary split, and based on whether the size of the first coding unit is not smaller than the smallest size of the block allowed to be ternary split ([0070] When the size of a coding block falls within a second predetermined range, the coding block can be partitioned only by binary-tree partitioning or ternary-tree partitioning);
when the ternary split of the first coding unit is allowed, generating a second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 by ternary splitting the first coding unit, a height of the first coding unit and a width of the first coding unit being the same (figure 3; [0068] The unit may have various sizes and forms, and particularly, the form of the unit may be a two-dimensional geometrical figure such as a square shape, …), and decoding the second coding unit ([0070] When the size of a coding block falls within a second predetermined range, the coding block can be partitioned only by binary-tree partitioning or ternary-tree partitioning; [0168] A prediction block may be a rectangular block having a size of 2×8, 4×16 etc.; Figure 3 also shows an example of an 8*32 coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 generated by ternary splitting a 32*32 coding unit. The 8*32 coding unit is a ratio 1:4 CU generated when the 32*32 square coding unit is ternary split); and
when the first coding unit is not split into smaller coding units, decoding the first coding unit ([0070] When the size of a coding block falls within a second predetermined range, the coding block can be partitioned only by binary-tree partitioning or ternary-tree partitioning, inherently, when not, no splitting is applied).
Furthermore, LEE et al. (US 20200204799 A1) discloses determining the largest size of the block allowed to be binary split by subtracting the information about the largest size of the block allowed to be binary split from the size of the coding unit ([0155] Information of the maximum size of the coding units corresponding to the respective nodes of a binary tree (hereinafter, referred to as a maximum size of a binary tree) may be determined based on the size of the coding tree unit and the difference information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of LEE, to apply the signaling technique used in binary tree to ternary tree, to signal the difference between the largest/smallest size of the coding unit and the largest/smallest size of the block allowed to be ternary split, but not to signal the largest/smallest size of the block allowed to be ternary split, in order to reduce the overhead of the syntaxes.
LIM et al. (US 20210368172 A1) discloses
obtaining information about a largest size of a coding unit with a height width ratio of 1:4 ([0289]-[0290], [0295] log 2_cu_14_ratio_max_minus2: a maximal allowed size of a 1:4 or 4:1 CU (longer side));
wherein a height or a width of the second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 is within a range between the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 and a smallest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 ([0289]-[0290]; [0295] log 2_cu_14_ratio_max_minus2: a maximal allowed size of a 1:4 or 4:1 CU (longer side); [0296] log 2_cu_14_ratio_min_minus2: a minimal allowed size of a 1:4 or 4:1 CU (longer side); [0311]-[0312]).
Moreover, LEE discloses
determining the largest size of a block, based on difference information about the largest size of the block and a size of a coding unit ([0155] Difference information between the size of a CTU and the maximum size of a transformation block may be signaled or determined at an upper level of the coding unit. Information of the maximum size of the coding units corresponding to the respective nodes of a binary tree (hereinafter, referred to as a maximum size of a binary tree) may be determined based on the size of the coding tree unit and the difference information). LIM et al. (US 20210368172 A1) also discloses the similar signaling technique in [0174].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of LEE and LIM, to apply the LEE’s teaching to a largest size of a coding unit with a height width ratio of 1:4, to signal the difference between the largest size of a coding unit with a height width ratio of 1:4 and the largest size of the coding unit, and to determine the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 by subtracting the difference information about the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 from the largest size of the coding unit, in order to efficiently code the size by reducing the overhead of the syntaxes; and to limit a height or a width of the second coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 within a range between the largest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4 and a smallest size of the coding unit with the height width ratio of 1:4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488