DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
3. Claim 41 has been canceled.
4. Claims 21, 27, 31, and 40 are currently amended.
5. Claims 21-40 and 42 are pending in the present application.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 21-28, 30-37, 39-40 and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,788,973 B2 (patent 973) in view of Eric C. Anderson (US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0112357 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader than those in patent 973.
8. The following table shows correspondence between claims of present application with claims of patent 973
Claims of present application
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
30
21
22
25
Claims of patent 973 in view of Anderson
1 and 4
1 and 4
1, 3 and 4
1, 3 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
26
27
28
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
39
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
7 and 10
7, 9 and 10
7, 9 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
40
40
42
12 and 15
12 and 17
12 and 19
9. The follow table shows correspondence between the limitations of claim 21 with the limitations of claims 1 and 4 of patent 973 in view of Anderson.
Claim 21 of present application
Claim 1 and 4 of patent 973 in view of Anderson
21. (New): A image display apparatus comprising: a display; and a processor configured to:
process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display,
and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, control the display to display an image corresponding the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area
wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction.
1. A display apparatus comprising:
a display;
a signal processor; and
a controller which controls the signal processor to process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a first area of the display, and
controls the display to automatically display an image corresponding to one of the plurality of thumbnail images, which are scrolled through, on a second area,
wherein, if the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled in a first direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a first preset location on the first area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location appears in the second area,
wherein, if the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled in a second direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a second preset location on the first area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the second preset location appears in the second area, and the first preset location is different from the second preset location,
wherein, if a first specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images is located on the first preset location, an enlarged image corresponding to the first specific thumbnail image is displayed on an entirety of the second area,
wherein, if a second specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images is located, on the second preset location, an enlarged image corresponding to the second specific thumbnail image is displayed on the entirety of the second area,
wherein the first preset location is at a first end of the first area and the second preset location is at a second end of the first area, the second end of the first area being located opposite to the first end of the first area, and
wherein the first preset location and the second preset location are located within the first area in which the plurality of thumbnail images are displayed, not on the second area.
and to not display the thumbnail image on the scrollable area,
4. The display apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein, while the larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location is displayed on the second area, the thumbnail image at the first preset location disappears.
and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge.
Anderson at FIGS. 8A-8B and 11A-11B which shows the location occupied by the horizontal black marker as a first preset location at first edge (left-most edge) or as a second preset location at the second edge (right-most edge) opposite the left-most edge.
10. Claims 21-28, 30-37, 39-40 and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,614,861 B2 (patent 861) in view of Anderson. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader than those in patent 973.
11. The following table shows correspondence between claims of present application with claims of patent 861.
Claims of present application
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
30
21
22
25
Claims of patent 861 in view of Anderson
1 and 4
1 and 4
1, 3 and 4
1, 3 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 4
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
26
27
28
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
39
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
7 and 10
7, 9 and 10
7, 9 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
7 and 10
40
40
42
12 and 15
12 and 17
12 and 19
12. The follow table shows correspondence between the limitations of claim 21 with the limitations of claims 1 and 4 of patent 861 in view of Anderson.
Claim 21 of present application
Claim 1 and 4 of patent 861 in view of Anderson
21. (New): A image display apparatus comprising: a display; and a processor configured to:
process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display,
and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, control the display to display an image corresponding the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area
wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction.
1. A display apparatus comprising:
a display; and
a signal processor configured to process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display, and an image corresponding one of the plurality of thumbnail images, which are scrolled through, is automatically displayed on a main area of the display,
wherein, if the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled in a first direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a first preset location on the scrollable area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location appears in the main area,
wherein, if the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled in a second direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a second preset location on the scrollable area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the second preset location appears in the main area, and the first preset location is different from the second preset location,
wherein, if a first specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images is located on the first preset location via scroll in the first direction, an enlarged image corresponding to the first specific thumbnail image is displayed on an entirety of the main area,
wherein, if a second specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images is located on the second preset location via scroll in the second direction, an enlarged image corresponding to the second specific thumbnail image is displayed on the entirety of the main area,
wherein the first preset location is at a first end of the scrollable area and the second preset location is at a second end of the scrollable area, the second end of the scrollable area being located opposite to the first end of the scrollable area, and
wherein the first preset location and the second preset location are located within the scrollable area in which the plurality of thumbnail images are displayed, and not located outside the scrollable area.
and to not display the thumbnail image on the scrollable area,
4. The display apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein, while the larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location is displayed on the main area, the thumbnail image at the first preset location disappears.
and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge.
Anderson at FIGS. 8A-8B and 11A-11B which shows the location occupied by the horizontal black marker as a first preset location at first edge (left-most edge) or as a second preset location at the second edge (right-most edge) opposite the left-most edge.
13. Claims 21-28, 30-37, 39-40 and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14, 16, and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,014,041 B2 (patent 041) in view of Anderson. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader than those in patent 041.
14. The following table shows correspondence between claims of present application with claims of patent 041.
Claims of present application
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
30
21
22
25
Claims of patent 041 in view of Anderson
1 and 6
1 and 6
1, 5 and 6
1, 5 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 6
1 and 8
1 and 8
1 and 8
26
27
28
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
39
1 and 8
1 and 8
1 and 8
1 and 8
9 and 14
9, 13, and 14
9, 13, and 14
9 and 14
9 and 14
9 and 14
9 and 14
9 and 14
40
40
42
16 and 19
16 and 20
1 and 3
15. The follow table shows correspondence between the limitations of claim 21 with the limitations of claims 1 and 6 of patent 041.
Claim 21 of present application
Claim 1 and 6 of patent 041 in view of Anderson
21. (New): A image display apparatus comprising: a display; and a processor configured to:
process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display,
and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, control the display to display an image corresponding the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area
wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction
1. A image display apparatus comprising:
a display; and
a processor configured to:
process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display, and
control the display to automatically display an image corresponding one of the plurality of thumbnail images, which are scrolled through, on a main area,
wherein, based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled in a first direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a first preset location on the scrollable area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location appears in the main area,
wherein, based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled in a second direction and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a second preset location on the scrollable area, a larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the second preset location appears in the main area, and the first preset location is different from the second preset location.
and to not display the thumbnail image on the scrollable area,
6. The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein, while the larger image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the first preset location is displayed on the main area, the thumbnail image at the first preset location disappears.
and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge.
Anderson at FIGS. 8A-8B and 11A-11B which shows the location occupied by the horizontal black marker as a first preset location at first edge (left-most edge) or as a second preset location at the second edge (right-most edge) opposite the left-most edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
18. Claims 21-22, 25-31, 34-40 and 42 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Eric C. Anderson (US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0112357 A1) in view of Marco Pinter (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0171237 A1) and further in view of Jun-seung Lee (US Patent Application Publication No.2007/0245236 A1).
19. Regarding Claim 21 (currently amended), Anderson discloses A image display apparatus comprising: (paragraph [0021] reciting “Referring now to FIG. 1, a block diagram of one preferred embodiment of a digital camera 110 is shown for use in accordance with the present invention. …”) a display; (paragraph [0023] reciting “I/ O 348 is an interface device allowing communications to and from computer 118. For example, I/O 348 permits an external host computer (not shown) to connect to and communicate with computer 118. I/O 348 also interfaces with a plurality of buttons and/or dials 404, and an optional status LCD 406, which in addition to the LCD screen 402, are the hardware elements of the camera's user interface 408.”) and a processor configured to: (paragraph [0021] reciting “… In a preferred embodiment, system bus 116 provides connection paths between imaging device 114, an optional power manager 342, central processing unit (CPU) 344, dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) 346, input/output interface (I/O) 348, non-volatile memory 350, and buffers/connector 352 that connect an optional removable memory 354 to system bus 116.”)
process a plurality of thumbnail images so that the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled through and displayed on a scrollable area of the display, (see FIG. 8A; paragraph [0031] reciting “The review screen layout is based on a filmstrip metaphor which allows users to quickly move forward and backward among pictures chronologically. In a preferred embodiment, several small-sized versions of the captured images, called thumbnails 700, are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402. The user may scroll through the series of displayed thumbnails 700 in the LCD screen 402 using the four-way navigation control button 409. The direction of scrolling is capably mapped to the horizontal left/ right buttons 410 a and 410 b. When the user presses the left/right buttons 410, the thumbnails 700 are scrolled-off the LCD screen 402 and replaced by new thumbnails 700 representing other captured images.” A plurality of thumbnails 700 are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402 which corresponds to a scrollable area.) control the display to display an image corresponding the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area (see FIG. 8A and 8B; paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …” The area that is occupied by the enlarged image (image corresponding to the thumbnail image) corresponds to the main area.)
and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 correpsondsot to a first preset location when it is at the far left edge above line 702.) and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge. (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 correpsondsot to a first preset location when it is at the far right edge above line 702.)
While Anderson does not explicitly disclose, Pinter discloses and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the left or right of Anderson, additional offscreen thumbnails will move into (reach) the highlight/outline as disclosed in Pinter.)
wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction, (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to the preset location that will be located in different directions depending on the direction the user scrolls. If user scrolls continuously left or continuously right, the highlight/outline will eventually move to leftmost or rightmost position of the thumbnail area on the LCD screen of Anderson and become fixed there assuming the direction is continuously in the same direction (left or right). Therefore, the preset location (highlight/outline element) is located in fixed locations in different directions according to user’s scroll command.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson with Pinter so that the highlight/outline element is used to show which thumbnail is selected. This is an obviously beneficial modification and an improvement from Anderson since Anderson discloses only a selection line arrow whereas Pinter discloses a highlight/outline element clearly shows which of the thumbnails is scrolled into the highlight/outline preset location and thus is currently selected and its enlarged image is shown below.
While the combination of Anderson and Pinter does not explicitly disclose, Lee discloses and to not display the thumbnail image on the scrollable area, (paragraph [0045] reciting “… It is understood that, according to other aspects of the present invention, the device may include other methods to select digital content files displayed on the device, such as a touch screen, a drag-and-drop functionality, and/or a plurality of buttons. The digital content selected by the user is inscribed by thick solid lines of a predetermined color. However, it is understood that the selection may be indicated by other distinctive means, such as blurring a thumbnail image of the selected digital content. …”
The limitation to not display is interpreted to mean hatching/hatched as shown in the examples of Applicant’s Specification. Hatching corresponds to blocking out the image.
As disclosed in Lee, a selected digital content has its thumbnail blurred. In Anderson, the selected thumbnail has a digital content that is displayed in an enlarged format. An image displayed in enlarged format is selected digital content and in congruence with the teachings of Lee, the enlarged digital content’s thumbnail can be blurred from the list of thumbnails in Anderson.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson and Pinter with Lee so that the thumbnail image of the enlarged image is blurred. This is a beneficial modification since blurring the thumbnail image encourages the user to focus on the enlarged, easier to view image corresponding to the thumbnail instead of the highlighted/outlined thumbnail itself rather than focusing on the small thumbnail image.
20. Regarding Claim 22 (previously presented), Lee further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein, while the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location is displayed on the main area, the thumbnail image at the preset location disappears from the scrollable area. (paragraph [0045] reciting “… It is understood that, according to other aspects of the present invention, the device may include other methods to select digital content files displayed on the device, such as a touch screen, a drag-and-drop functionality, and/or a plurality of buttons. The digital content selected by the user is inscribed by thick solid lines of a predetermined color. However, it is understood that the selection may be indicated by other distinctive means, such as blurring a thumbnail image of the selected digital content. …” By blurring thumbnail image, the thumbnail image itself disappears from the scrollable area because it is temporarily replaced by a blurred digital item.” The term disappears is interpreted to mean hatching/hatched as shown in the examples of Applicant’s Specification. Hatching corresponds to blocking out an image and blurring also block out an image.)
21. Regarding Claim 25 (previously presented), Anderson further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to, control the display to automatically display the image corresponding the thumbnail image. (paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …”)
Pinter further discloses based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and the thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches the preset location on the scrollable area, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the left or right of Anderson, additional offscreen thumbnails will move into (reach) the highlight/outline as disclosed in Pinter.)
22. Regarding Claim 26 (currently amended), Anderson further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein, based on first specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the first “1” thumbnail is selected for enlargement in FIG. 8A.) an enlarged image corresponding to the first specific thumbnail image is displayed on an entirety of the main area, (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the first “1” thumbnail is selected for enlargement and is displayed to fully occupy the area it occupies in element 704 in FIG. 8A.) wherein, based on second specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the second “4” thumbnail is selected for enlargement in FIG. 8B.) an enlarged image corresponding to the second specific thumbnail image is displayed on the entirety of the main area. (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the second “4” thumbnail is selected for enlargement and is displayed to fully occupy the area it occupies in element 704 in FIG. 8B.) Pinter further discloses being located on a first preset location via scroll in the first direction, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll left to number 1 thumbnail in Anderson using the highlight/outline element of Pinter.)
being located on a second preset location via scroll in the second direction, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll right to number 4 thumbnail in Anderson using the highlight/outline element of Pinter.)
23. Regarding Claim 27 (currently amended), Pinter further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 26, wherein the first preset location is at a first end of the scrollable area and the second preset location is at a second end of the scrollable area, the second end of the scrollable area being located opposite to the first end of the scrollable area. (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll all the way left or right with the highlight/outline element as shown in Pinter while scrolling through thumbnails in Anderson.)
24. Regarding Claim 28 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 27, wherein the first preset location and the second preset location are located within the scrollable area in which the plurality of thumbnail images are displayed, and not located outside the scrollable area. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The highlight/outline element which is the preset location is scroll to leftmost or rightmost positions in Anderson but the highlight/outline element always remains within the scrollable thumbnail area of Anderson. Obviously beneficial modification since the highlight/outline element needs to be visible to show user which thumbnail is currently selected for enlargement.)
25. Regarding Claim 29 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled on the scrollable area according to a user's touch. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.”)
26. Regarding Claim 30 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein a direction of scrolling of the plurality of thumbnail images is changed according to the user's scroll command. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.”)
27. Regarding Claim 42 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the first preset location (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the left-most location, the area highlighted by the black horizontal marker of Anderson (FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B) corresponds to the first preset location..)
and the second preset location (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the right-most location, the area highlighted by the black horizontal marker of Anderson (FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B) corresponds to the second preset location.) Anderson further discloses is adjacent to a first boundary of the scrollable area, (see FIG. 8 wherein the scrollable area to the left of edge of “4” or the boundary of the area to the right edge of “7” First first boundary can be considered the area to the left of the edge of “4” location.)
is adjacent to a second boundary of the scrollable area opposite to the first boundary. (see FIG. 8 wherein the scrollable area to the left of edge of “4” or the boundary of the area to the right edge of “7” First first boundary can be considered the area to the right of the edge of “7” location.)
28. Regarding Claim 31 (currently amended), Anderson discloses An image display method (Abstract reciting “Method and system aspects for locating a desired image from a plurality of images stored in an image capture unit are described. …”) for an image display apparatus, (paragraph [0023] reciting “I/ O 348 is an interface device allowing communications to and from computer 118. For example, I/O 348 permits an external host computer (not shown) to connect to and communicate with computer 118. I/O 348 also interfaces with a plurality of buttons and/or dials 404, and an optional status LCD 406, which in addition to the LCD screen 402, are the hardware elements of the camera's user interface 408.”) the method comprising: displaying, under a control of a processor, (paragraph [0021] reciting “… In a preferred embodiment, system bus 116 provides connection paths between imaging device 114, an optional power manager 342, central processing unit (CPU) 344, dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) 346, input/output interface (I/O) 348, non-volatile memory 350, and buffers/connector 352 that connect an optional removable memory 354 to system bus 116.”) a plurality of thumbnail images on a scrollable area of a display; (see FIG. 8A; paragraph [0031] reciting “The review screen layout is based on a filmstrip metaphor which allows users to quickly move forward and backward among pictures chronologically. In a preferred embodiment, several small-sized versions of the captured images, called thumbnails 700, are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402. The user may scroll through the series of displayed thumbnails 700 in the LCD screen 402 using the four-way navigation control button 409. The direction of scrolling is capably mapped to the horizontal left/ right buttons 410 a and 410 b. When the user presses the left/right buttons 410, the thumbnails 700 are scrolled-off the LCD screen 402 and replaced by new thumbnails 700 representing other captured images.” A plurality of thumbnails 700 are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402 which corresponds to a scrollable area.)
scrolling through the plurality of thumbnail images on the display according to a user's scroll command; (paragraph [0031] reciting “… The direction of scrolling is capably mapped to the horizontal left/ right buttons 410 a and 410 b. When the user presses the left/right buttons 410, the thumbnails 700 are scrolled-off the LCD screen 402 and replaced by new thumbnails 700 representing other captured images.”)
displaying an image corresponding to the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area of the display, (see FIG. 8A and 8B; paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …” The area that is occupied by the enlarged image (image corresponding to the thumbnail image) corresponds to the main area.)
wherein, while the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location is displayed on the main area, (see FIG. 8A and 8B; paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …” The area that is occupied by the enlarged image (image corresponding to the thumbnail image) corresponds to the main area.)
While Anderson does not explicitly disclose, Pinter discloses and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the left or right of Anderson, additional offscreen thumbnails will move into (reach) the highlight/outline as disclosed in Pinter.)
wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction, (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to the preset location that will be located in different directions depending on the direction the user scrolls. If user scrolls continuously left or continuously right, the highlight/outline will eventually move to leftmost or rightmost position of the thumbnail area on the LCD screen of Anderson and become fixed there assuming the direction is continuously in the same direction (left or right). Therefore, the preset location (highlight/outline element) is located in fixed locations in different directions according to user’s scroll command.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson with Pinter so that the highlight/outline element is used to show which thumbnail is selected. This is an obviously beneficial modification and an improvement from Anderson since Anderson discloses only a selection line arrow whereas Pinter discloses a highlight/outline element clearly shows which of the thumbnails is scrolled into the highlight/outline preset location and thus is currently selected and its enlarged image is shown below.
While the combination of Anderson and Pinter does not explicitly disclose, Lee discloses the thumbnail image at the preset location disappears from the scrollable area, The limitation disappears is interpreted to mean hatching/hatched as shown in the examples of Applicant’s Specification. Hatching corresponds to blocking out the image.
As disclosed in Lee, a selected digital content has its thumbnail blurred. In Anderson, the selected thumbnail has a digital content that is displayed in an enlarged format. An image displayed in enlarged format is selected digital content and in congruence with the teachings of Lee, the enlarged digital content’s thumbnail can be blurred from the list of thumbnails in Anderson.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson and Pinter with Lee so that the thumbnail image of the enlarged image is blurred. This is a beneficial modification since blurring the thumbnail image encourages the user to focus on the enlarged, easier to view image corresponding to the thumbnail instead of the highlighted/outlined thumbnail itself rather than focusing on the small thumbnail image. and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 correpsondsot to a first preset location when it is at the far left edge above line 702.) and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge. (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 correpsondsot to a first preset location when it is at the far right edge above line 702.)
29. Regarding Claim 34 (previously presented), Anderson further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein, the image corresponding the thumbnail image is automatically display. (paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …”)
Pinter further discloses based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and the thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches the preset location on the scrollable area, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.” The highlight/outline element corresponds to a preset location on the scrollable area. As the user scrolls across the thumbnails by moving the highlight/outline to the left or right of Anderson, additional offscreen thumbnails will move into (reach) the highlight/outline as disclosed in Pinter.)
30. Regarding Claim 35 (previously presented), Anderson further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31,wherein, based on first specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the first “1” thumbnail is selected for enlargement in FIG. 8A.) an enlarged image corresponding to the first specific thumbnail image is displayed on an entirety of the main area, (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the first “1” thumbnail is selected for enlargement and is displayed to fully occupy the area it occupies in element 704 in FIG. 8A.) wherein, based on second specific thumbnail image from among the plurality of thumbnail images (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the second “4” thumbnail is selected for enlargement in FIG. 8B.) an enlarged image corresponding to the second specific thumbnail image is displayed on the entirety of the main area. (see FIG. 8A, 8B, and 8C wherein the second “4” thumbnail is selected for enlargement and is displayed to fully occupy the area it occupies in element 704 in FIG. 8B.)
Pinter further discloses being located on a first preset location via scroll in the first direction, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll left to number 1 thumbnail in Anderson using the highlight/outline element of Pinter.)
being located on a second preset location via scroll in the second direction, (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll right to number 4 thumbnail in Anderson using the highlight/outline element of Pinter.)
31. Regarding Claim 36 (currently amended), Pinter further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein the first preset location is at a first end of the scrollable area and the second preset location is at a second end of the scrollable area, the second end of the scrollable area being located opposite to the first end of the scrollable area. (paragraph [0032] reciting “If the input method is arrow keys, the user needs to move a visible highlight/outline to the element of choice using the arrows, and then press a selection key, typically located in the center of the arrows on the handheld device.”;
paragraph [0038] reciting “… If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The user can scroll all the way left or right with the highlight/outline element as shown in Pinter while scrolling through thumbnails in Anderson.)
32. Regarding Claim 37 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein the first preset location and the second preset location are located within the scrollable area in which the plurality of thumbnail images are displayed, and not located outside the scrollable area. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.” The highlight/outline element which is the preset location is scroll to leftmost or rightmost positions in Anderson but the highlight/outline element always remains within the scrollable thumbnail area of Anderson. Obviously beneficial modification since the highlight/outline element needs to be visible to show user which thumbnail is currently selected for enlargement.)33. Regarding Claim 38 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein the plurality of thumbnail images are scrolled on the scrollable area according to a user's touch. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.”)34. Regarding Claim 39 (previously presented), Pinter further discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein a direction of scrolling of the plurality of thumbnail images is changed according to the user's scroll command. (paragraph [0038] reciting “In response to the category selection, thumbnail images 5 (small versions of either a whole background scene or some portion of it) may be laid out in a grid as shown in FIG. 2 b. The ASD is used to highlight different thumbnails and eventually select one. If more images are available than fit on the screen, a method is required for seeing further choices. One method is to scroll the thumbnail grid right and left (or down and up) as the user either presses directional keys and/or pushes pointing device in the requisite direction. Alternatively, on-screen arrows 6 which move the grid right/left or down/up could be controlled by the ASD.”)
35. Regarding Claim 40 (currently amended), Anderson discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium embodied with computer-readable instructions for enabling a computer to execute (paragraph [0047] reciting “… In addition, software written according to the present invention may be stored on a computer-readable medium, such as a removable memory, or transmitted over a network, and loaded into the digital camera for execution. …”) an image display method (Abstract reciting “Method and system aspects for locating a desired image from a plurality of images stored in an image capture unit are described. …”) for a display apparatus, (paragraph [0023] reciting “I/ O 348 is an interface device allowing communications to and from computer 118. For example, I/O 348 permits an external host computer (not shown) to connect to and communicate with computer 118. I/O 348 also interfaces with a plurality of buttons and/or dials 404, and an optional status LCD 406, which in addition to the LCD screen 402, are the hardware elements of the camera's user interface 408.”) the method comprising: displaying, under a control of a processor, (paragraph [0021] reciting “… In a preferred embodiment, system bus 116 provides connection paths between imaging device 114, an optional power manager 342, central processing unit (CPU) 344, dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) 346, input/output interface (I/O) 348, non-volatile memory 350, and buffers/connector 352 that connect an optional removable memory 354 to system bus 116.”) a plurality of thumbnail images on a scrollable area of a display; (see FIG. 8A; paragraph [0031] reciting “The review screen layout is based on a filmstrip metaphor which allows users to quickly move forward and backward among pictures chronologically. In a preferred embodiment, several small-sized versions of the captured images, called thumbnails 700, are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402. The user may scroll through the series of displayed thumbnails 700 in the LCD screen 402 using the four-way navigation control button 409. The direction of scrolling is capably mapped to the horizontal left/ right buttons 410 a and 410 b. When the user presses the left/right buttons 410, the thumbnails 700 are scrolled-off the LCD screen 402 and replaced by new thumbnails 700 representing other captured images.” A plurality of thumbnails 700 are displayed in a row across the LCD screen 402 which corresponds to a scrollable area.)
scrolling through the plurality of thumbnail images on the display according to a user's scroll command; (paragraph [0031] reciting “… The direction of scrolling is capably mapped to the horizontal left/ right buttons 410 a and 410 b. When the user presses the left/right buttons 410, the thumbnails 700 are scrolled-off the LCD screen 402 and replaced by new thumbnails 700 representing other captured images.”)
and based on the plurality of thumbnail images being scrolled and a thumbnail image, among the plurality of thumbnail images, reaches a preset location on the scrollable area, displaying an image corresponding to the thumbnail image, which are scrolled through, on a main area of the display, (see FIG. 8A and 8B; paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …” The area that is occupied by the enlarged image (image corresponding to the thumbnail image) corresponds to the main area.)
wherein, while the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location is displayed on the main area, (see FIG. 8A and 8B; paragraph [0033] reciting “When a thumbnail 700 becomes the selected image, additional information corresponding to that image is automatically displayed. In a preferred embodiment, the additional information includes a large thumbnail 704 showing a larger view of the selected thumbnail, and image information comprising an icon bar 706 and text 708. …” The area that is occupied by the enlarged image (image corresponding to the thumbnail image) corresponds to the main area.)
the thumbnail image at the preset location disappears from the scrollable area, wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction,
and wherein the preset location comprises a first preset location at a first edge of the scrollable area in the first direction, (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 corresponds to a first preset location when it is at the far left edge above line 702.) and a second preset location at a second edge of the scrollable area in the second direction, the second edge being opposite to the first edge. (see FIG. 8A-8B and 11A-11B where the black horizontal bar at the bottom of the thumbnail images 700 corresponds to a first preset location when it is at the far right edge above line 702.)
36. Claims 23-24 and 32-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Pinter in view of Lee and further in view of Comfort et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0196274 A1).
37. Regarding Claim 23 (previously presented), while the combination of Anderson, Pinter, and Lee does not explicitly disclose, Comfort discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in : The image display apparatus as claimed in wherein the plurality of thumbnail images on the scrollable area and the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location are displayed together for predetermined time. (paragraph [0004] reciting “… Then, if user inputs are not made to the system within a predetermined time period, a screen saver routine is started, requiring the user to input a screen saver password before continuing to use the computer. …”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson, Pinter, and Lee with Comfort so that the and scrollable thumbnail images and the enlarged images as disclosed in Anderson modified by Pinter and Lee are displayed for predetermined period of time and if no input is made, the screen saver starts and blocks display of the enlarged image and scrollable thumbnails. This is an obviously beneficial modification since it ensures security of use of the camera’s screen and inaction results in screen locking so others cannot access it.
38. Regarding Claim 24 (previously presented), Lee further discloses The image display apparatus as claimed in claim 23, wherein, while the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location is displayed on the main area, the thumbnail image at the preset location disappears. (paragraph [0045] reciting “… It is understood that, according to other aspects of the present invention, the device may include other methods to select digital content files displayed on the device, such as a touch screen, a drag-and-drop functionality, and/or a plurality of buttons. The digital content selected by the user is inscribed by thick solid lines of a predetermined color. However, it is understood that the selection may be indicated by other distinctive means, such as blurring a thumbnail image of the selected digital content. …” By blurring thumbnail image, the thumbnail image itself disappears from the scrollable area because it is temporarily replaced by a blurred digital item.” The term disappears is interpreted to mean hatching/hatched as shown in the examples of Applicant’s Specification. Hatching corresponds to blocking out an image and blurring also block out an image.)
39. Regarding Claim 32 (previously presented), while the combination of Anderson, Pinter, and Lee does not explicitly disclose, Comfort discloses The method as claimed in claim 31, wherein the plurality of thumbnail images on the scrollable area and the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location are displayed together for predetermined time. (paragraph [0004] reciting “… Then, if user inputs are not made to the system within a predetermined time period, a screen saver routine is started, requiring the user to input a screen saver password before continuing to use the computer. …”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson, Pinter, and Lee with Comfort so that the and scrollable thumbnail images and the enlarged images as disclosed in Anderson modified by Pinter and Lee are displayed for predetermined period of time and if no input is made, the screen saver starts and blocks display of the enlarged image and scrollable thumbnails. This is an obviously beneficial modification since it ensures security of use of the camera’s screen and inaction results in screen locking so others cannot access it.
40. Regarding Claim 33 (previously presented), Lee further discloses The method as claimed in claim 32, wherein, while the image corresponding to the thumbnail image at the preset location is displayed on the main area, the thumbnail image at the preset location disappears. (paragraph [0045] reciting “… It is understood that, according to other aspects of the present invention, the device may include other methods to select digital content files displayed on the device, such as a touch screen, a drag-and-drop functionality, and/or a plurality of buttons. The digital content selected by the user is inscribed by thick solid lines of a predetermined color. However, it is understood that the selection may be indicated by other distinctive means, such as blurring a thumbnail image of the selected digital content. …” By blurring thumbnail image, the thumbnail image itself disappears from the scrollable area because it is temporarily replaced by a blurred digital item.” The term disappears is interpreted to mean hatching/hatched as shown in the examples of Applicant’s Specification. Hatching corresponds to blocking out an image and blurring also block out an image.)
Response to Arguments
41. Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because all of the limitations of claim 21 are disclosed by Anderson in view of Pinter and further in view of Lee.
42. Regarding the limitation reaches a preset location both Anderson and Pinter discloses reaches a preset location. Pinter discloses using buttons to scroll a lighted box across thumbnails and Anderson discloses a horizontal marker that can also be scrolled left or right to indicate which thumbnail image is selected. Therefore, the preset location is the farther most left or right location and this location comprises both a thumbnail location that is selected by the outline but it is also further indicates as selected by the horizontal market underneath that thumbnail, as disclosed in Anderson such as in FIG. 8A-8B and FIG. 11A-11B. Therefore, the outline and horizontal marker move to the left or right together in Anderson modified by Pinter and when it’s the left or right it selected a thumbnail location and a location beneath the thumbnail. Now, a first preset location or a second preset location is the location that is occupied by the horizontal marker of Anderson. A first fixed location or a second fixed location is the left most or right most thumbnail area that is highlighted by outline. The preset location is both the outline and horizontal marker when it has reached farthest left or farthest right in the scrollable area of thumbnails.
43. On page 12, Applicants argue that Pinter’s highlight/outline cannot be preset since it is scrollable, but this argument is counter to the claim language which states that preset location is located at a first fixed location or a second fixed location. So clearly the preset location is not “fixed” as the argument intend. So therefore, the arguments on page 12 are contrary to the claim limitations for a preset location.
44. On page 13 of the Remarks, Applicants argue that Anderson modified by Pinter cannot disclose wherein the preset location is located at a first fixed location in a first direction according to a user's scroll command in the first direction and is located at a second fixed location in a second direction according to the user's scroll command in the second direction. Again Examiner responds that the first fixed location is the location occupied by the outline/highlight at the farthest right and the second fixed location is the location occupied by the outline/highlight at the farthest right. Likewise a first present location and a second preset location are just the location occupied by the horizontal black marker (as shown in Anderson FIG. 8A-8B and FIG. 11A-11B) at the farthest left or farthest most thumbnail locations, respectively.
45. On page 14 of the Remarks, Applicants argue claim 42 limitations are not disclosed by Anderson in view of Pinter. Again, the first preset location and the second preset location are just the farthest left or farthest right locations, respectively, occupied by the horizontal black marker underneath the thumbnail area.
Unused Cited Reference(s)
46. Griffin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0137031 A1) discloses scrolling through a list of objects towards top or bottom of the screen.
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611