DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendments filed 10/31/2024 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-19 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Priority
This application is a CON of application 15/733,848 filed 11/30/2020371 which is a 371 PCT of EP2019/064215 filed 05/31/2019. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/733,853, filed on 06/01/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/23/2024 and 12/09/2025 have been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Streptococcus pyogenes is mispelled in Paragraphs [0005] and [0035].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 12, 14-16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “a nucleic according to claim 1.” The word “acid” appears to have been inadvertently omitted after “nucleic.” The phrase should read “a nucleic acid according to claim 1.”
Claims 14-15 and 19 contains periods in the body of the claim. It would be remedial to replace a., b., etc. with (a), (b), etc. Each claim must start with a capital letter and end with a period, and periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 12 recites that the inhibitor “comprises a dominant negative allele of MSH2 or MSH6,” whereas claim 10 places the inhibitor within an encoded fusion protein. An allele identifies a nucleic acid variant; in the context of the claimed fusion protein and specification paragraph [0057], the intended component is understood to be the dominant-negative polypeptide encoded by the allele. Applicant should correct the terminology to identify that protein component expressly. For example, if consistent with the intended scope, the claim may recite that “the inhibitor of the mismatch repair pathway comprises a dominant-negative MSH2 or MSH6 polypeptide.”
Claim 16 recites “a donor nucleic acid sequence as a template for modifying the genome, or partial or complete integration into the genome.” The alternatives are not grammatically parallel. The second alternative is understood to refer to use of the donor sequence for integration, consistent with specification paragraph [0107]. Applicant should clarify the phrase, for example, to recite “a donor nucleic acid sequence for use as a template for modifying the genome or for partial or complete integration into the genome.”
Claim 19 recites “a second fusion protein comprising a second fusion protein comprising.” The repeated “a second fusion protein comprising” appears to be an inadvertent duplication and should be deleted if only one second fusion protein is intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites "the replication initiation compex or replication complex". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “a nucleic acid according to claim 5” does not clearly identify the subject matter incorporated from claim 5. Claim 5 recites a nucleic acid composition comprising the nucleic acid of claim 1 and a nucleic acid encoding a sequence-specific endonuclease, rather than identifying a single nucleic acid as the entirety of the claimed subject matter. It is therefore unclear whether claim 6 incorporates the complete composition of claim 5 or only one of its nucleic acid components. Claim 6 then recites “further comprising a nucleic acid encoding an endonuclease” and “wherein the endonuclease is an RNA-guided endonuclease.” In conjunction with the uncertain incorporation of claim 5, this language leaves unclear whether the RNA-guided limitation further specifies the previously recited endonuclease or specifies an additional endonuclease supplied by an additional encoding nucleic acid. These interpretations differ as to the required components and their relationships. Applicant is required to clarify the incorporated subject matter and identify which endonuclease is limited to an RNA-guided endonuclease.
Regarding claim 7, the claim incorporates the foregoing uncertainty through its reference to claim 6. Claim 7 also recites “a nucleic acid according to claim 6,” although claim 6 is directed to a nucleic acid composition, and again recites “further comprising a nucleic acid encoding an endonuclease.” It is therefore unclear whether claim 7 incorporates the complete composition of claim 6 or only one of its nucleic acid components. The subsequent phrase “wherein the endonuclease is Cas9” does not resolve whether Cas9 is the RNA-guided endonuclease intended in claim 6 or an additional endonuclease in the composition. The resulting uncertainty concerns both the incorporated composition and the identity and number of required endonuclease-encoding components. Applicant is required to clarify these relationships.
If the intended subject matter is a progressive limitation of the same endonuclease, suitable language would be:
6. The nucleic acid composition according to claim 5, wherein the endonuclease is an RNA-guided endonuclease.
7. The nucleic acid composition according to claim 6, wherein the endonuclease is Cas9.
If additional endonuclease-encoding components are intended, the claims should instead identify those additional components and their relationships.
Claim 10 and 19 recites "the mismatch repair pathway". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 19, The final clause of claim 19 recites expression of a nucleic acid encoding a fourth fusion protein, followed by the alternative “or introducing the second fusion protein into the cell.” This differs from the corresponding expression/introduction alternatives for the same protein used elsewhere in the claim and specification paragraphs [0114]–[0116]. If the intended alternative is introduction of the fourth fusion protein, applicant should replace the final occurrence of “second fusion protein” with “fourth fusion protein.” If the reference to the second fusion protein is intentional, applicant should confirm that intent and revise the wording as necessary to make the distinct alternatives explicit.
For examination of the present language, the final alternative is read literally as permitting introduction of the second fusion protein; the claim is not read as necessarily requiring the fourth fusion protein. Accordingly, the suggested correction will not be made by implication, and any amendment requiring the fourth fusion protein will be considered in the subsequent examination of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–9, 14, and 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung et al. (WO 2016/054326 A1) in view of Dahan-Meir (Dahan-Meir et al. The Plant Journal (2018) 95, 5–16) and Aird (Aird et al. Communications biology 1.1 (2018): 54).
Regarding claim 1, Joung teaches improving homology-directed repair by increasing the local concentration of a donor nucleic acid near a nuclease-induced double-strand break. Joung describes a donor-binding domain for physically localizing the donor and explains that increasing local donor concentration favors HDR relative to competing repair pathways (p. 8, Method #1). Joung further teaches recruiting the donor-binding domain through fusion or noncovalent interaction with a factor binding an RNA sequence or structure appended to the Cas9 guide RNA. In the same discussion, Joung identifies MS2 as an alternative RNA-binding domain and states that natural DNA-binding domains may be used in place of engineered domains (p. 10). Joung also expressly teaches MS2 fusions for recruitment of HDR-associated proteins to a guide-RNA-containing complex (p. 17; Fig. 3D). Joung teaches expression cassettes comprising nucleic acids encoding fusion proteins and expression in selected host cells (p. 32).
Joung does not expressly identify, in the cited recruitment arrangement, a bacteriophage coat protein fused to a domain that binds an origin of replication.
Dahan-Meir teaches a plant genome-editing system employing Cas9 and a geminiviral donor replicon. Dahan-Meir identifies the replication initiator Rep and the large intergenic region, LIR, and explains that Rep binds a site in the LIR and initiates rolling-circle replication. Dahan-Meir further explains the benefit of supplying many copies of the donor repair sequence in conjunction with induction of a genomic break (p. 6, right column). Thus, Dahan-Meir supplies a known origin-binding replication component and an origin-bearing donor system for the same HDR objective addressed by Joung.
Aird teaches using a Rep-derived HUH domain in a fusion protein to bind and covalently tether donor DNA to genome-editing machinery. Aird explains that HUH proteins can function as fusion tags with diverse protein partners and describes functional Rep–Cas9 fusions (p. 2, Introduction and Results, “Selective covalent attachment of ssDNA to Cas9-PCV”; Fig. 1). Aird supplies evidence that a replication-associated donor-binding domain can retain its relevant DNA interaction in a fusion-protein context.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ the origin-binding Rep component taught by Dahan-Meir as the donor-binding component in Joung's RNA-mediated recruitment arrangement, and to use the MS2 coat-protein RNA-binding moiety taught by Joung as its fusion partner. The reason would have been to recruit an origin-bearing donor to the guide-RNA-associated editing complex and thereby increase donor availability near the target, as expressly encouraged by Joung. Dahan-Meir identifies the cognate Rep/origin interaction in a donor system, while Aird supports employing replication-associated donor-binding proteins in fusions for donor tethering. Encoding the resulting fusion in a nucleic acid would have followed Joung's express teaching of fusion-protein expression cassettes (p. 32). A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation that the selected fusion could perform the claimed binding function because the proposal combines an established RNA-binding recruitment moiety with an established origin-binding component, and the references teach functional fusions using RNA-binding moieties and replication-associated DNA-binding domains, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the origin-binding component selected from Dahan-Meir is Rep, expressly identified as the replication initiator participating in the rolling-circle-replication system (p. 6, right column). The modified Joung fusion therefore comprises the bacteriophage coat protein and a component of the replication initiation or replication complex.
Regarding claim 3, Joung identifies MS2 as an RNA-binding alternative (p. 10) and expressly teaches MS2 fusions for guide-RNA-mediated recruitment (p. 17; Fig. 3D).
Regarding claims 4-7, Joung's recruitment arrangement is used with a nuclease-induced genomic break, including a Cas9 system (pp. 8 and 10). Dahan-Meir likewise employs a Cas9/guide-RNA system with a donor replicon for sequence-directed editing in tomato (p. 5, Summary; p. 6; Fig. 3). Joung teaches nucleic-acid expression cassettes for the proteins and guide-RNA expression arrangements (p. 32). It would have been obvious to provide the nucleic acid encoding the coat-protein/Rep fusion together with a nucleic acid encoding Cas9 in a nucleic acid composition for coordinated use of the donor-recruitment and cleavage functions in the same editing system.
Regarding claim 8, Joung identifies EXO1 as possessing 5′→3′ exonuclease activity for end resection favorable to HDR (p. 15, item 1(b)). Joung expressly teaches fusing HDR-associated factors to an RNA-binding protein such as MS2 or Csy4 for recruitment through a sequence appended to the guide RNA (p. 17; Fig. 3D), as well as nucleic acids encoding fusion proteins (p. 32). It would have been obvious to include a nucleic acid encoding this exonuclease/RNA-binding fusion in the composition described for claim 1. The reason would have been to combine donor localization with localized DNA-end processing favorable to HDR. Joung supplies both the desired EXO1 activity and the means for recruiting HDR factors, and expressly contemplates recruitment of multiple distinct HDR factors (p. 17). A skilled artisan would therefore have reasonably expected the added fusion to provide the known exonuclease activity in the same repair system; the claim does not require a particular synergistic improvement.
Regarding claim 9, Joung identifies RAD51 as a recombinase promoting strand invasion and HDR, and RAD52 as promoting annealing of complementary strands (p. 16, items 2(e) and 2(g)). Joung teaches fusing the identified HDR-associated factors to an RNA-binding protein such as MS2 or Csy4 (p. 17; Fig. 3D) and encoding fusion proteins in expression cassettes (p. 32). It would have been obvious to include a nucleic acid encoding such a recombination-factor/RNA-binding fusion with the first-fusion-encoding nucleic acid to promote the strand-interaction stage of HDR while the first fusion recruits the donor. The motivation and reasonable expectation arise from Joung's identification of the factors' functions and express teaching of their localized recruitment, including combinations of HDR factors (pp. 16–17).
Regarding claim 14, Dahan-Meir teaches modifying the genome of tomato, a non-animal organism, using a Cas9 system and a donor replicon (p. 5, Summary; Fig. 3). The donor system includes the LIR origin recognized by Rep (p. 6, right column). Joung teaches expression of fusion proteins from encoding nucleic acids and selection of expression arrangements for plant and other host cells (p. 32). It would have been obvious to express the MS2/origin-binding fusion described for claim 1 in the plant editing system of Dahan-Meir and to introduce the origin-bearing donor into the same cells. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Joung's donor-localization approach to the known plant donor system so as to increase donor availability near the editing complex. Dahan-Meir supplies a demonstrated non-animal editing context and a cognate origin/Rep system; Joung supplies RNA-mediated recruitment and expression of fusion proteins; and Aird supports the use of a replication-associated binding domain in a fusion for donor tethering.
Regarding claim 16, Dahan-Meir expressly describes repair of a genomic deletion through homologous recombination between a Cas9-induced double-strand break and an amplified donor (p. 5, Summary; Fig. 3). Joung teaches locating the donor near a nuclease-induced break to favor HDR (p. 8). The modified plant method therefore introduces a double-strand break in the presence of a donor carrying a sequence that serves as a template for genome modification.
Regarding claim 17, Joung teaches Cas9-associated guide RNA and appending recruitment sequences to that RNA (p. 10). Dahan-Meir teaches guide-RNA-directed Cas9 targeting in the plant donor system (p. 5, Summary; Fig. 3). Expressing or introducing the sequence-specific guide RNA would have been part of operating the combined RNA-guided editing system to direct cleavage to the selected genomic sequence.
Regarding claim 18, Dahan-Meir identifies the cognate interaction of Rep with the LIR origin in the donor-replication system (p. 6, right column). The proposed modification uses that matching origin-binding component and donor origin. Retaining the cognate pair would have been obvious because binding of the donor is the basis for the intended recruitment; selecting a nonbinding origin/domain combination would not provide that function. The resulting method therefore includes binding of the first fusion's origin-binding domain to the donor origin.
Regarding claim 19 the teachings and rationale addressing claim 14 are incorporated herein. Joung teaches use of a sequence-directed endonuclease such as Cas9 in the donor-recruitment method (pp. 8 and 10); EXO1 having 5′→3′ exonuclease activity (p. 15); fusion of HDR-associated factors to an RNA-binding protein such as MS2 (p. 17; Fig. 3D); and expression of fusion proteins from nucleic acids or, alternatively, production and introduction of the proteins into cells (pp. 32–33). The middle clause of claim 19 permits introducing the second, exonuclease/RNA-binding fusion protein. The final clause permits either expressing a nucleic acid encoding the fourth fusion protein or introducing the second fusion protein. Accordingly, the present wording encompasses a method in which the second fusion protein is introduced and the fourth fusion protein is not expressed. The antecedent for the final recitation of “the second fusion protein” is the previously recited exonuclease/RNA-binding fusion. The claim does not expressly require a separate introduction event or a separately designated additional protein for its repeated reference to that same second fusion. It would have been obvious to include Joung's RNA-binding/exonuclease fusion in the modified plant method of claim 14, with the endonuclease supplied as taught by the references, to promote HDR-compatible end processing in addition to donor recruitment. Joung expressly identifies the exonuclease activity, localized recruitment through RNA-binding fusions, and protein-delivery alternative (pp. 15, 17, and 33). This meets the claim branch permitting introduction of the second fusion protein in the middle and final clauses. Because that branch does not require the fourth fusion protein, an additional mismatch-repair-inhibitor reference is not needed for this construction of the current claim.
Claims 10–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung et al. (WO 2016/054326 A1) in view of Dahan-Meir (Dahan-Meir et al. The Plant Journal (2018) 95, 5–16) and Aird (Aird et al. Communications biology 1.1 (2018): 54), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cotta-Ramusino (WO 2016/073990 A2) and Bowers (Bowers et al. JBC Vol. 274, No. 23, Issue of June 4, pp. 16115–16125, 1999).
The teachings and rationale addressing the first-fusion-encoding nucleic acid in claim 1 are incorporated herein. Joung additionally teaches local recruitment of HDR-associated factors through fusion to RNA-binding proteins, including MS2 and Csy4, and concurrent use of multiple factors to influence repair outcome (pp. 14–17; Fig. 3D).
Cotta-Ramusino teaches down-regulating mismatch repair to increase successful genome editing. The reference explains that mismatch repair may restore the original sequence during editing and identifies inhibition of MSH2 and MSH6, among other pathway components, as a means of promoting the desired repair outcome (section VI.7, “Mismatch Repair (MMR),” discussion associated with Table VI.15).
Bowers supplies a protein-based inhibitor suitable for the protein-domain context of the claim. Bowers describes a dominant-negative MSH6 mutant that interferes with MSH2-containing mismatch-repair complexes, explaining that the phenotype is associated with sequestration of MSH2 and interference with its normal partners (p. 16115, abstract). Thus, the proposed inhibitor is a polypeptide.
It would have been obvious to include a nucleic acid encoding a fusion of the known inhibitory MSH6 polypeptide and Joung's RNA-binding recruitment moiety in the composition containing the first-fusion-encoding nucleic acid. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated for the advantage of recruiting a protein inhibitor of a repair pathway identified by Cotta-Ramusino as opposing retention of the intended edit, using Joung's established approach for concentrating repair-modulating proteins at the editing complex. The inhibitor would address mismatch correction, while the first fusion would address donor availability.
A reasonable expectation of retaining the relevant functions follows from Bowers' identification of a protein-mediated inhibitory mechanism and Joung's teaching of RNA-binding fusions as a means of recruiting repair factors. Neither the inhibitor's interaction with its repair partner nor the RNA-binding moiety's recognition function requires inventing a new biochemical activity. This is an inference from the combined teachings, rather than an assertion that any reference experimentally demonstrates the particular inhibitor/RNA-binding fusion.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung et al. (WO 2016/054326 A1) in view of Dahan-Meir (Dahan-Meir et al. The Plant Journal (2018) 95, 5–16) and Aird (Aird et al. Communications biology 1.1 (2018): 54), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Babon (Babon et al. Molecular Biotechnology 23:73–81, 2003) and Paix (Paix et al. PNAS 114–E10754, 2017).
Regarding claim 13, the findings and rationale addressing the nucleic acid encoding the first fusion protein in claim 1 are incorporated herein. The combination does not expressly disclose the additional nucleic acid encoding a fusion protein comprising a Holliday junction resolvase domain and an RNA-binding domain.
Babon teaches that T4 endonuclease VII and T7 endonuclease I are bacteriophage resolvases whose primary in vivo function includes resolution of Holliday junctions, which are four-stranded DNA junctions (pp. 73–74, Introduction). Babon therefore identifies proteins having the claimed Holliday junction resolvase activity.
Joung teaches recruitment of DNA repair factors through fusion to RNA-binding proteins, including MS2 and Csy4, and contemplates recruitment of multiple repair factors within the same editing system (printed p. 17; Fig. 3D). Joung further teaches nucleic acids and expression cassettes encoding fusion proteins (printed p. 32).
Paix explains that donor homology arms can form Holliday junctions with sequences on either side of a DNA break and that crossover resolution of those junctions can integrate donor sequences. Paix identifies this mechanism as one proposed for genome editing with plasmid and viral donors (p. E10753, left column, subsection “Linear DNAs Repair Cas9-Induced DSBs by Templating Repair Synthesis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include, in the composition of the primary combination, a nucleic acid encoding a fusion of a Babon resolvase with an RNA-binding domain according to Joung. The reason would have been to recruit a known junction-resolution activity to the repair complex to facilitate processing of Holliday-junction intermediates in the donor-integration pathway described by Paix. This applies Joung’s repair-factor recruitment approach to an additional repair activity relevant to that pathway. A reasonable expectation of obtaining the claimed activities follows from Babon’s identification of proteins possessing junction-resolution activity and Joung’s teaching of RNA-binding fusions for recruitment of repair factors.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joung et al. (WO 2016/054326 A1) in view of Dahan-Meir (Dahan-Meir et al. The Plant Journal (2018) 95, 5–16) and Aird (Aird et al. Communications biology 1.1 (2018): 54), as applied to claim 1 and 14, and further in view of Čermák (Genome Biology 16:232, 2015) and Hong (Hong et al. Journal of Virology 77:13315–13322, 2003).
Regarding claim 15, the findings and rationale addressing the genome-modification method of claim 14 are incorporated herein. The primary combination does not expressly establish the complete donor arrangement, including the downstream replication terminator.
Čermák teaches a plant gene-targeting donor comprising a donor cassette flanked by left and right homology arms, corresponding respectively to the donor sequence and its 5′ and 3′ flanking sequences (Fig. 2a and accompanying Results and discussion). The donor-bearing construct includes LIR replication-origin regions outside the donor and its homology arms, providing an origin upstream of the 5′ flank and another origin region downstream of the 3′ flank (Figs. 1c and 2a; Methods, “Vector construction”). Čermák explains that the flanking LIR arrangement permits replication-mediated release and amplification of the donor-bearing replicon (Fig. 1c and accompanying description).
Hong supplies the teaching concerning replication termination. In the Discussion paragraph beginning “The replicon was mobilized and amplified,” Hong describes Rep-mediated initiation and termination of replication at two different flanking origins, together with circularization of the resulting product. Thus, an origin region can provide a replication-termination function in a construct bounded by replication origins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ Čermák’s donor arrangement in the method of the primary combination, with the downstream origin serving the termination function taught by Hong. The reason would have been to provide replication-mediated release and amplification of the donor while retaining flanking sequences for targeted genome modification. A reasonable expectation of success follows from Čermák’s demonstrated plant gene-targeting system and Hong’s explanation of initiation and termination at flanking origins. The resulting donor comprises the donor sequence, its 5′ and 3′ flanking sequences, an upstream replication origin, and a downstream replication-termination region, as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 and 44 of copending Application No. 15/733,853 (reference application) in view of Joung et al. (WO 2016/054326 A1), Dahan-Meir (Dahan-Meir et al. The Plant Journal (2018) 95, 5–16), Aird (Aird et al. Communications biology 1.1 (2018): 54), Cotta-Ramusino (WO 2016/073990 A2), Bowers (Bowers et al. JBC Vol. 274, No. 23, Issue of June 4, pp. 16115–16125, 1999), Babon (Babon et al. Molecular Biotechnology 23:73–81, 2003), Paix (Paix et al. PNAS 114–E10754, 2017), Čermák (Genome Biology 16:232, 2015) and Hong (Hong et al. Journal of Virology 77:13315–13322, 2003). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1-8 and 44 anticipates claims 1-8 of the current claims.
For additional limitations of the instant claims, see the additional teachings of the patented claims. To the extent that there are limitations that are not provided for by the patented claims, the teachings of Joung, Dahan-Meir, Aird, Cotta-Ramusino, Bowers, Babon, Paix Čermák and Hong are discussed above. It would have been obvious to have modified the subject matter of the patented claims to arrive at the subject matter of the instant claims for substantially the same reasons as discussed above in view of the teachings of these references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/TIFFANY NICOLE GROOMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637