DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
According to the amendment filed April 28, 2026, claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 have been amended. The amendments to claims 6 and 8 overcome the claim objections presented in the Office Action mailed January 28, 2026, and the amendment to claim 1 overcomes the rejection of claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), which has been withdrawn accordingly. Claims 1-10 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US 2014/0277505 A1) in view of Farley (US 2012/0071981 A1), Ganem (US 2016/0113773 A1) and Buehler (EP 1138285 A1). Note that the following parenthetical citations to Buehler are taken from the English language translation provided with this Office action.
Regarding claim 1, Mitchell teaches an intervertebral supporting element (interbody spacer 300, shown in Figs. 23-25; para. 0067), comprising:
two first side surfaces (upper and lower surfaces, as viewed in Figs. 23 and 25, each parallel to an XY plane; see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below), symmetrical about an axis and respectively provided on two opposite sides of said axis (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below, where upper and lower sides defining first side surfaces are symmetrical about an Implant Axis extending through threaded bore 308, and are provided on opposite upper and lower sides of said axis as viewed in Figs. 23 and 25), each of said first side surfaces comprising a ratchet surface (as shown in Figs. 23-25, the upper and lower surfaces, i.e. first side surfaces, each define a ratchet surface, understood to comprise the ridges 128 shown in analogous embodiment Figs. 1-3 and 6, described in para. 0060), said two ratchet surface spaced a distance and parallel to an XY plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, said axis parallel to said X-axis (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below and Figs. 23-25), two ends of said ratchet surface parallel to said axis respectively arcuately extended toward said axis and the width thereof gradually decreased to form a head tapered arc surface and a first tail tapered arc surface (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below and Figs. 24-25, depicting the leading and trailing edges of the upper and lower first side surfaces arcuately tapering towards the Implant Axis to form a head tapered surface, i.e. partially defining the Conical Tapered Head identified below, and a tail tapered surface, i.e. partially defining the Conical Tapered Tail identified below), a plurality of unidirectional ratchets provided on said ratchet surface, and a tip of each of said unidirectional ratchets facing said first tail tapered arc surface (as described above, the ratchet surfaces shown in Figs. 23-25 are understood to comprise the ridges/ratchets 128 shown in the analogous embodiment of Figs. 1-6, where the unidirectional ratchets/ridges 128 have a tip 130 facing towards the tail end of the implant, i.e. towards the Conical Tapered Tail identified in Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below); and
two second side surfaces (defined by lateral side surfaces, as viewed in Figs. 23-24, each generally parallel to the XZ plane; see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below), symmetrical about said axis and respectively provided on two opposite sides of said axis (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below), each of said second side surfaces comprising a connection surface (lateral/second side surfaces define connection surfaces, connecting the upper and lower first side surfaces; Figs. 23-25), said two connection surface spaced a distance and parallel to an XZ plane formed by said X-axis and a Z-axis, said X-axis, said Y-axis and said Z-axis being three axes perpendicular to one another (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below, where lateral side surfaces define the connection surfaces, as described above), two opposite ends of said connection surface parallel to said axis respectively arcuately extended toward said axis and the width thereof gradually decreased to form a second head tapered arc surface and a second tail tapered arc surface (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below and Figs. 24-25, depicting the leading and trailing ends of the lateral second side surfaces arcuately tapering towards the Implant Axis, with the width gradually decreasing, to form a head tapered surface, i.e. partially defining the Conical Tapered Head identified below, and a tail tapered surface, i.e. partially defining the Conical Tapered Tail identified below);
said two second side surfaces positioned between said two first side surfaces (the two lateral, i.e. second side, surfaces are positioned between the upper and lower, i.e. first side, surfaces; Figs. 23-25), each of said connection surfaces parallel to two corresponding sides of said axis and respectively connected to an edge of said ratchet surface, said two first head tapered arc surfaces and said two second head tapered arc surface spaced apart and connected to each other to form a conical tapered head, the center of said head positioned on said axis (as shown, lateral connection surfaces connect to an edge of upper and lower ratchet surfaces forming a tapered head positioned on the Implant Axis, the tapered head having a truncated conical shape; see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below), said two first tail tapered arc surfaces and said two second tail tapered arc surfaces separated apart and connected to each other to form a tail (as shown; see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below), said tail provided with a connection hole (308; Fig. 23; para. 0067), and the center of said connection hole coaxial with said axis (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 below).
Mitchell does not explicitly disclose:
(I) wherein a distance between said two first side surfaces is greater than a distance between said two second side surfaces;
(II) the conical tapered head having a rounded pointed apex shape defined by four arcuately extending tapered surfaces that gradually decrease in width from the rectangular body formed by the first and second side surfaces, and
(III) wherein said second tail tapered arc surfaces on opposite sides of said connection hole are each provided with a tool engagement hole penetrating the respective second side surfaces.
Regarding limitation (I), Farley teaches an intervertebral supporting element (spacer 10; Figs. 1-4; para. 0038) comprising two first side surfaces (top and bottom surfaces 24 and 26; Figs. 1-2; para. 0038), each comprising a bone engagement surface (46; Figs. 1-2; para. 0043), and two second side surfaces (defined by sides 20, 22; Figs. 1-4; para. 0038), each comprising a connection surface (as shown, sides 20, 22 having at least cutout 32 defining part of a connection surface for engaging with a tool, particularly shown in Fig. 1A), said two second side surfaces positioned between said two first side surfaces (Figs. 1-4), wherein a distance between said two first side surfaces is greater than a distance between said two second side surfaces (see Fig. 4 and para. 0038, where distance/height 30 between first side surfaces 24, 26 is greater than distance/width between side surfaces 20, 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mitchell’s intervertebral supporting element to have a height greater than its width as taught by Farley (i.e., so that a distance between first side surfaces is greater than a distance between the second side surfaces, as claimed), because Farley is directed towards an implant having a function substantially similar to that of Mitchell and recognizes such relative dimensions suitable for the intended purpose.
Regarding limitation (II), Ganem teaches an intervertebral supporting element (1; Figs. 1-2; para. 0055) comprising two first side surfaces (upper and lower surfaces 16, 15; Figs. 1-2; para. 0057) comprising a ratchet surface (165, 155; Figs. 1-2; para. 0087), each tapering to a first head tapered arc surface at a leading end (first head tapered arc surfaces defined by convex sections 135, 136 identified in Figs. 1-2 at leading end 13, described in para. 0071-0076, 0085, 0093-0094), and two side second side surfaces (lateral surfaces 11, 12; Figs. 1-2; para. 0057), each tapering to a second head tapered arc surface at a leading end thereof (second head tapered arc surfaces defined by convex sections 131, 132 at leading end 13, identified in Figs. 1-2 and 4, described in at least para. 0071-0073), said two first head tapered arc surfaces and said two second head tapered arc surfaces spaced apart and connected to each other (as shown via rounded ridges 102; Figs. 1-2; para. 0101-0102) to form a conical tapered head having a rounded pointed apex shape defined by four arcuately extending tapered surfaces that gradually decrease in width from the rectangular body formed by the first and second side surfaces (first head tapered arc surfaces 135, 136 and second head tapered arc surfaces 131, 132 are joined by rounded ridges 102 to form the shape of “an ogival pyramid with four convex sections” as recited in para. 0071-0075, the ogival pyramid shape defining a conical tapered head having a rounded pointed apex shape having four arcuately extending tapered surfaces each decreasing in width from the body of the implant 1 toward the tip thereof; Figs. 1-2, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mitchell’s implant generally conical tapered head to have a rounded pointed apex shape defined by four arcuately extending tapered surfaces in the claimed manner, as taught by Ganem, where the arcuately extending tapered surfaces gradually decrease in width from the rectangular body of Mitchell’s modified implant (which comprises a greater height than width in view of Farley’s disclosure as described above), because Ganem recognizes that forming the tapered head with such an ogival pyramid shape comprising four arcuately extending convex sections advantageously facilitates introduction of the prosthesis while ensuring stability between vertebral endplates once implanted (see Ganem, para. 0023).
Regarding limitation (III), Buehler discloses an intervertebral supporting element (cage 1 shown in Figs. 1-2; para. 0010) comprising two first side surfaces (top side 2 and underside 5; Figs. 1-2; para. 0010), each comprising a ratchet surface (ribs 3, 6; Figs. 1-2), and two second side surfaces (defined by lateral sides; Figs. 1-2), and Buehler discloses wherein the second side surfaces include second tail surfaces (shown in the region of groove 9; Figs. 1-2; para. 0011) each provided with a tool engagement hole penetrating the respective second side surfaces (see hole 10 for receiving a pin of gripping tongs, not shown; Figs. 1-2, para. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mitchell’s intervertebral supporting element to include the lateral side tool engagement holes penetrating respective second side surfaces as taught by Buehler, e.g. so that the tool engagement holes are provided on the second tail tapered arc surfaces on opposite sides of Mitchell’s tool connection hole, as claimed, because Buehler recognizes that providing the implant with such tool engagement holes enables the implant to be gripped by means of special gripping forceps with pins which fit into the holes so that the implant may be stably held by the surgeon in any direction (see Buehler, para. 0010).
Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 3 of Mitchell
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 1, and Mitchell discloses [Claim 2] wherein each of said first side surfaces (upper and lower sides; Fig. 23) is provided with at least one first hole penetrating each of said first side surfaces (see Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 below) and each of said second side surfaces (lateral side surfaces; Fig. 23) is provided with at least one second hole penetrating each of said second side surfaces (see Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 below), and each of said first holes and each of said second holes are in communication with each other (as depicted in Figs. 23-25, the first and second holes identified in Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 below are in communication with each other to facilitate and support bone growth by receiving bone growth materials into the hollowed out portion of the implant, as described with reference to analogous holes 110 in Figs. 1-3; para. 0059), [Claim 3] wherein two sides of each of said first holes parallel to said axis are respectively provided with a plurality of said unidirectional ratchets (as shown; see Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 below).
Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 of Mitchell
Regarding claim 5, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 1, and Mitchell discloses wherein said connection hole (308; Fig. 23) has inner threads (threaded bore 308; Fig. 23; para. 0067).
Regarding claim 10, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 1, and Mitchell discloses wherein said tail has a plane parallel to said YZ formed by said Y-axis and said Z-axis (see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 above, where the tail having threaded connection hole 308 has an end plane in the YZ plane), and said plane and said head are opposite ends of said spine process supporting element, and said connection hole is located on said plane (as shown; see Examiner’s 1st Annotated Fig. 23 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US 2014/0277505 A1), Farley (US 2012/0071981 A1), Ganem (US 2016/0113773 A1) and Buehler (EP 1138285 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Liu (US 2003/0023306 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 2, wherein each of said connection surfaces is provided with said two second holes (see Examiner’s 2nd Annotated Fig. 23 above).
Mitchell and the other above references do not specifically disclose wherein each of said second tail tapered arc surfaces is provided with one of said second holes.
Liu, in analogous art, teaches an implant (1; Fig. 1) having side surfaces (longitudinal walls 4, 5; Figs. 1, 4; para. 0076) defining a tail tapered arc surfaces (shown tapering towards end/tail wall 7; Fig. 1), wherein the side surfaces include holes (18, 16; Fig. 1), with at least one of said holes is provided on the tail tapered arc surfaces (see Fig. 1 and para. 0083, describing hole/groove 16 provided in each side surface to engage in blades on a hand tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mitchell’s implant to have an additional second hole provided on each of the second side surfaces (i.e., lateral side surfaces) on the tail tapered arc surfaces of the lateral surfaces, as claimed, because Liu teaches that such a configuration enables the implant to be grasped by a hand tool (see Liu, para. 0083; Figs 1-8).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US 2014/0277505 A1), Farley (US 2012/0071981 A1), Ganem (US 2016/0113773 A1) and Buehler (EP 1138285 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ogawa (US 2009/0283701 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 1.
Mitchell also teaches wherein said intervertebral supporting element is made of a biocompatible material (see Abstract: “orthopedic implants constructed from biocompatible material”).
However, Mitchell and the other above references do not specifically teach wherein said spine process supporting element is made of biocompatible metal or plastic and is sandblasted, large grit, acid-etched (SLA).
Ogawa teaches a method for surface treating a medical implant to enhance tissue-to-implant and bone cement-to-implant integration (see Abstract; para. 0002), and teaches the implant being made of a biocompatible metal material (see claim 4) which is physically treated by sand-blasting and chemically treated by acid-etching (see claims 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed Mitchell’s implant from a biocompatible metal that is then treated in the claimed manner, i.e. sandblasted, large grit, acid-etched, because Ogawa recognizes that such a material and surface treatment can beneficially enhance tissue-to-implant and bone cement-to-implant integration (see Ogawa, para. 0002), and further because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use requires only ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Intermchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US 2014/0277505 A1), Farley (US 2012/0071981 A1), Ganem (US 2016/0113773 A1) and Buehler (EP 1138285 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Mather (US 2011/0301710 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem and Buehler teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 1, wherein a first concave hole is provided at a corresponding position of said two first side surfaces (as shown in Fig. 23 and described in para. 0067, the first upper and lower side surfaces have a plurality of pockets, i.e. concave holes, positioned thereon for receiving “bioactive glass markers 110” for imaging purposes).
Mitchell and the other above references do not disclose [Claim 7] the element comprising a second concave hole is provided at a corresponding position of said two second side surfaces. Further, Mitchell does not disclose [Claim 7] wherein the first and second concave holes are for embedding the metal for imaging during operation, and [Claim 9] wherein said metal for development is tantalum alloy, titanium alloy, or pure titanium.
Mather, in analogous art, teaches a spinal implant (Fig. 1A) with radiographic markers provided on first top/bottom surfaces and on second lateral surfaces of the implant (see radiopaque markers 30 in Figs. 1A-1F, described in para. 0072 for facilitating visualization of the implant 10 during the procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mitchell’s implant to further include a second concave hole on the second side surfaces (i.e. lateral surfaces), as taught by Mather, because Mather recognizes that providing such radiographic markers on top, bottom and side surfaces of the implant facilitates visualization of the implant during the procedure so as to confirm that the implant is being delivered along a desirable delivery pathway and that the implant is maintaining a desirable orientation (see Mather, para. 0072). Further, it would have been obvious to have formed these markers of a metal material, such as a tantalum or titanium alloy, or pure titanium, as claimed, because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these materials are known radiopaque materials used for imaging during surgical operations, and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use requires only ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Intermchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 8, Mitchell, Farley, Ganem, Buehler and Maher teach the intervertebral supporting element according to claim 7, and Mitchell teaches wherein each of said first concave holes is provided on said the first head tapered arc surface (first concave holes/pockets 118 are shown to be formed on the upper and lower surfaces towards the tapered right head end of the implant, as shown in Figs. 23 and 25).
The above references do not explicitly disclose wherein each of said second concave holes is provided on said second tail tapered arc surface.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the claimed location for the second holes, formed on the second (i.e. lateral) side surfaces of the implant, so that the holes are provided at the tail tapered arc surface, because the rearrangement/repositioning of such pockets for receiving radiographic metal markers would require only routine experimentation in the art without affecting the operation of the device. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
/ANNA V. LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773