DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Response re: 102 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed 23 Dec 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, 11-12, and 15-20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MacPherson and Smith.
Examiner’s Response re: 103 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed 23 Dec 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9-10 and 13-14 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MacPherson and Smith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacPherson et al., US 20210155264 A1 (herein, MacPherson) and in view of Smith et al., US 20140219756 A1 (herein, Smith
Regarding Claims 1, MacPherson discloses, a wheelchair access device (FIG. 1A, #s 10 and 14 – ramp panels) for facilitating ingress and egress of a wheelchair passenger into and out (¶[0031] – “…one or more ramp panels 10, 14 as described herein—i.e., to cause the bus to ‘kneel’ in order to facilitate passenger ingress and egress..”) of a wheelchair accessible vehicle (FIG. 1A, #100 – passenger bus), the wheelchair access device comprising:
a platform (FIG. 1A, #200 – ramp) for receiving the wheelchair passenger;
at least one controller for moving the platform between a stow position and at least one deploy position (¶[0081] “Controller(s) 300, 302, etc., can initiate a ramp stow process, reversing deployment of the ramp by any desired sequence of operations. Warning/notification devices can generate warning signals as desired. [0082] 3) At a desired stage of the stow process, e.g., when one or more ramp panels 10, 14 have reached the vertical, controller(s) 300, 302, 183, 184 associated with any contracted or extended suspension units 18 can cause the suspension units to be returned to, or otherwise placed in, an operational (driving) height, for resumed operation of the bus 100…”); and,
a sensor (FIG. 2D, #208 – angle-or-position-sensitive devices) outputting a signal indicative of at least one angle of the platform (FIGS. 1 and 7, ¶[0040] – “…in a second mode of operation, sensor(s) 208 can be used to drive slopes of each of a plurality of ramp panels 10, 14, 26, etc., with respect to the ground, each other, and/or the bus chassis to a constant rise/run ratio,..”).
MacPherson discloses a controller, signal, platform, unloaded, stow and deploy position but does not disclose, wherein the at least one controller is configured to receive the signal, set at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform when the platform is unloaded and at one of the stow position and the at least one deploy position, monitor a difference between the at least one baseline angle and the at least one angle of the platform, and take a corrective action if the difference exceeds a threshold angle difference.
However, Smith teaches, wherein the at least one controller is configured to receive the signal, set at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform when the platform is unloaded and at one of the stow position and the at least one deploy position (¶[0071] – “Controller 80 receives a signal from sensor 20 corresponding to a ramp angle, and determines whether or not that angle is within an acceptable range. Preferably, the angle should be 180 degrees, or substantially flat….’), monitor a difference between the at least one baseline angle and the at least one angle of the platform (¶[0068] – “Sensor 60 determines the angular difference between its two members, and provides an electronic signal to controller 80…”), and take a corrective action if the difference exceeds a threshold angle difference (¶[0069] – “…the difference between which is a measure of panel relative angle; and others. It is understood that position sensor 60 can transduce the relative angular position of panels 21 and 22 in any manner.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheelchair access device as disclosed by MacPherson to include the deploying the moving platform from the stow position and monitor the angle of the platform and take correction action as disclosed by Smith. Doing so, provides control of the platform so as to ensure the safety of the user of the platform and thus increase the overall safety of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 2, MacPherson further discloses, wherein controller is further configured to take the corrective action if for ensuring the at least one angle violates a threshold angle (FIGS. 4A-B, ¶[0034] – “…, ensure that a desired or otherwise designated ramp angle (slope) 711 is not exceeded, while minimizing the kneeling depth of the bus suspension,..”).
Regarding Claim 3, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one indicator generating an alert (¶[0086] – “… an indication is provided that passenger ingress or egress is authorized…a desired ramp angle has been exceeded, the same or other warning device(s) 357 can so indicate.”).
Regarding Claim 4, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the alert comprises at least one of a visual alert, an auditory alert, and a tactile alert (¶[0052] – “…the invention can further provide passenger and/or operator notification device(s) 357 such as lights, buzzers, audio announcements, and other sensory audio and/or visual alerts,…”).
Regarding Claims 5, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the wheelchair access device is a wheelchair lift (¶[0029] – “…and special buses adapted for transportation of wheel-chair bound or other passengers faced with mobility challenges”).
Regarding Claim 6, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the corrective action comprises interrupting movement of the platform (Claim 24 – “…based at least partly on receipt of the signal indicating that the deployable passenger access ramp has encountered an obstruction, the generated signals comprise at least one signal configured to suspend deployment of the deployable access ramp.”).
Regarding Claim 7, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the corrective action comprises preventing movement of the platform (¶[0035] – “…whether initiation of kneeling processes for the bus, prior to ramp operation, is or is not required, in order to avoid exceeding a desired or otherwise deviating from a designated ramp angle (slope)—instead, the driver can simply initiate the ramp deployment process,…”).
Regarding Claim 8, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the at least one controller is configured to interrupt movement of the platform by at least one of stopping movement and reversing a direction of movement (¶[0080] – “…due to detection of reverse rotational motion by an angle sensor and/or ammeter 208.”).
Regarding Claims 9, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the wheelchair access device is a wheelchair lift (FIG. 2C-D illustrates the wheelchair lift) and the threshold angle relative to horizontal but does not explicitly disclose , wherein the threshold angle is approximately 3° relative to horizontal.
MacPherson discloses the claimed invention except for approximately 3 degrees relative to horizontal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an approximate threshold angle of 3 degrees or 14 degrees relative to horizontal, since it has been held that there are general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an approximate degree involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claims 10 and 14, modified MacPherson further discloses, wherein the corrective action further comprises at least one indicator generating an alert (¶[0086] – “…of a desired ramp angle has been exceeded, the same or other warning device(s) 357 can so indicate.”).
Regarding Claim 11, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the at least one deploy position comprises a ground level position and a vehicle floor level position (FIG. 7 illustrates ground level of vehicle and ground), wherein the at least one controller is configured to set the at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform when the platform is unloaded (¶[0079] – “…other specified angle (e.g., 9.5 degrees), controller(s) 300, 302 can suspend deployment of the ramp and relax the drive motor 217 or other actuator 206…”) and at one of the floor level position and the ground level position (FIGS. 1A-B illustrate floor and ground level positions);
Regarding Claims 12, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the wheelchair access device is a wheelchair ramp (FIG. 1A illustrates a wheelchair ramp).
Regarding Claim 13, MacPherson discloses the threshold angle relative to horizontal but does not explicitly disclose , wherein the threshold angle difference is approximately 14°.
MacPherson discloses the claimed invention except for approximately 14 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an approximate threshold angle of 14 degrees, since it has been held that there are general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an approximate degree involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the at least one controller is configured to set the at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform (FIG. 1A illustrates the range of angles of the platform) when the platform is in the stowed position (FIG. 2A, #300 – controller, ¶[0067] – “…in which undeployed passenger ramps 200 are stowed in an interior of the bus...”).
Regarding Claim 16, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the sensor is disposed on the platform (FIG. 2C illustrates sensor on the platform).
Regarding Claim 17, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the perception sensor comprises an absolute position sensor (¶[0119] – “…the absolute or relative height of a platform; the absolute or relative location and/or orientation with respect…”).
Regarding Claim 18, MacPherson further discloses, wherein the sensor comprises one or more of a camera sensor, a LiDAR sensor (FIG. 2C - #223 LIDAR), a ToF sensor, RADAR sensor, a EmDAR sensor, a SONAR sensor, a SODAR sensor, a GNSS sensor, an accelerometer sensor, a gyroscope sensor, an IMU sensor, an infrared sensor, a laser rangefinder sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an infrasonic sensor, and a microphone.
Regarding Claim 19, MacPherson further discloses, further comprising a communication device for outputting information based on the signal (¶[0049] – “…a communications protocol suitable for use in implementing various aspects, features, and embodiments of the invention is the J1939 vehicle communications protocol promulgated by the Society of Automotive Engineers.”).
Regarding Claims 20, MacPherson discloses, a wheelchair accessible vehicle (FIG. 1B, #s 100 vehicle) comprising:
a wheelchair access device (FIG. 1A, #s 10 and 14 – ramp panels) for facilitating ingress and egress of a wheelchair passenger into and out (¶[0031] – “…one or more ramp panels 10, 14 as described herein—i.e., to cause the bus to ‘kneel’ in order to facilitate passenger ingress and egress..”) of the wheelchair accessible vehicle, the wheelchair access device having a platform (FIG. 1, #10) for receiving the wheelchair passenger;
at least one controller for moving the platform between a stow position and at least one deploy position (¶[0081] “Controller(s) 300, 302, etc., can initiate a ramp stow process, reversing deployment of the ramp by any desired sequence of operations. Warning/notification devices can generate warning signals as desired. [0082] 3) At a desired stage of the stow process, e.g., when one or more ramp panels 10, 14 have reached the vertical, controller(s) 300, 302, 183, 184 associated with any contracted or extended suspension units 18 can cause the suspension units to be returned to, or otherwise placed in, an operational (driving) height, for resumed operation of the bus 100…”); and,
a perception sensor (FIG. 2D, #208 – angle-or-position-sensitive devices) outputting a signal indicative of at least one angle of the platform (FIGS. 1 and 7, ¶[0040] – “…in a second mode of operation, sensor(s) 208 can be used to drive slopes of each of a plurality of ramp panels 10, 14, 26, etc., with respect to the ground, each other, and/or the bus chassis to a constant rise/run ratio,..”).
MacPherson discloses a controller, signal, platform, unloaded, stow and deploy position but does not disclose, wherein the at least one controller is configured to receive the signal, set at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform when the platform is unloaded and at one of the stow position and the at least one deploy position, monitor a difference between the at least one baseline angle and the at least one angle of the platform, and take a corrective action if the difference exceeds a threshold angle difference.
However, Smith teaches, wherein the at least one controller is configured to receive the signal, set at least one baseline angle based on the at least one angle of the platform when the platform is unloaded and at one of the stow position and the at least one deploy position (¶[0071] – “Controller 80 receives a signal from sensor 20 corresponding to a ramp angle, and determines whether or not that angle is within an acceptable range. Preferably, the angle should be 180 degrees, or substantially flat….’), monitor a difference between the at least one baseline angle and the at least one angle of the platform (¶[0068] – “Sensor 60 determines the angular difference between its two members, and provides an electronic signal to controller 80…”), and take a corrective action if the difference exceeds a threshold angle difference (¶[0069] – “…the difference between which is a measure of panel relative angle; and others. It is understood that position sensor 60 can transduce the relative angular position of panels 21 and 22 in any manner.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheelchair access device as disclosed by MacPherson to include the deploying the moving platform from the stow position and monitor the angle of the platform and take correction action as disclosed by Smith. Doing so, provides control of the platform so as to ensure the safety of the user of the platform and thus increase the overall safety of the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS G DEL VALLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666