Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a species of P2X3 antagonist, an additional therapeutic agent of claim 35, and a species of NK-1 antagonist from claim 36 in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
The elected species reads on claims 2-14 and 21.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Priority
This application is a continuation of the abandoned application 17/283,904, which is a national stage entry of PCT/IB2019/0011222, which claims priority to US provisional application 62/744,006.
The instant claims find support from the provisional application. Therefore, the effective filing date is 10/10/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2024, and 05/16/2024, and 09/04/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
BUON (WO 2014117274) as evidenced by MIHO (Miho Shiratori-Hayashi et al., “Role of P2X3 Receptors in Scratching Behavior In Mouse Models”, Journal Of Allergy and Clinical Immunology”, November 17, 2018).
BUON anticipates administering the elected species (CAS #1621164-74-6
page 55, paragraph [237], example 15), depicted here
.
BUON anticipates a method of treating a disorder associated with P2X3 activity in an animal in need of such treatment, wherein the method comprises administering to the animal a therapeutically effective amount of the compound above (claim 26 and Example 49 from paragraphs [261 and 262]). BUON anticipates administering to a mammal (mouse, example 49).
MIHO is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that pruritus is mediated by P2X3 receptors (figure 2, and page 1253, and title). BUON as evidenced by MIHO anticipates the method of claim 2.
The elected species anticipates claims 2-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUON (WO 2014117274) as evidenced by MIHO (Miho Shiratori-Hayashi et al., “Role of P2X3 Receptors in Scratching Behavior In Mouse Models”, Journal Of Allergy and Clinical Immunology”, November 17, 2018) and in view of NAIR (Nair and Jacob, “A simple practice guide for dose conversion between animals and human”, J Basic Clin Pharm., March 2016).
Claims 2-14 are taught above.
NAIR teaches a simple practice guide for dose conversion between animals and humans and teaches to convert a mouse dose (in mg/kg) to a human equivalent dose (in mg/kg) (table 1).
While BUON uses an animal model above, it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art to administer a compound which was tested using an animal model (mouse) to a human (NAIR table 1). Making an equivalent human dose from an animal dosage is well known in the art (NAIR). This teaches claim 21.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-14 and 21 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,655,145 B2 as evidenced by MIHO (Miho Shiratori-Hayashi et al., “Role of P2X3 Receptors in Scratching Behavior In Mouse Models”, Journal Of Allergy and Clinical Immunology”, November 17, 2018).
The reference claims 15 and 17 anticipate instant claims 2-14 and 21. Ref Claim 15 anticipates the elected species P2X3 antagonist. Ref claim 17 anticipates a method of treating a disorder associated with P2X3 activity to a mammal.
MIHO is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that pruritus is mediated by P2X3 receptors (figure 2, and page 1253, and title).
Claims 2-14 and 21 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 10111883 in view of BUON (WO 2014117274) as evidenced by MIHO (Miho Shiratori-Hayashi et al., “Role of P2X3 Receptors in Scratching Behavior In Mouse Models”, Journal Of Allergy and Clinical Immunology”, November 17, 2018).
The reference claims 1 and 16 anticipate instant claims 2-14 and 21. Ref Claim 16 anticipates the elected species P2X3 antagonist. Ref claim 1 anticipates a method of avoiding loss of taste response by administering a P2X3 antagonist.
BUON also teaches administering the elected species (CAS #1621164-74-6
page 55, paragraph [237], example 15), depicted here
.
BUON anticipates a method of treating a disorder associated with P2X3 activity in an animal in need of such treatment, wherein the method comprises administering to the animal a therapeutically effective amount of the compound above (claim 26 and Example 49 from paragraphs [261 and 262]). BUON anticipates administering to a mammal (mouse, example 49).
MIHO is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that pruritus is mediated by P2X3 receptors (figure 2, and page 1253, and title).
The artisan would have been motivated by BUON to use the reference claims in order to treat pruritus. BUON teaches the elected compound (also taught by the ref claims) in a method of treating P2X3 associated diseases, which pruritus is one of (MIHO).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as currently written.
Application 18160167 was considered to be double patent art, however this application is abandoned.
Examiner notes that the elected species is also known as Camlipixant,
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625