DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues: “However, Johnson appears to teach a single pin in the sensing circuitry 25 (see FIG. 8 of Johnson), without teaching or suggesting separate detection signal output/response signal input pins. In other words, Johnson does not teach or suggest outputting the detection signal (through detection signal output pin) and obtaining the response signal (through response signal input pin) through different pins”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner has pointed to the combination of the data processor 30/ row/column select logic 28 and sensing circuitry 25 as the computing component since the claims do not disclose any structural limitations of the computing component. The signal from the sensing circuitry 25 is considered the detection signal output pin. The pin of the processor 30 which inherently receives the signal from the sensing circuitry is considered to be the response signal input pin. There are multiple pins in the circuitry of Johnson and other pins can also be considered to be a “detection pin” or “response signal input pin” For example, the switching signal output may be the pin from data processor detection pin may also be the output pin from the row/column select logic 28
Therefore, Johnson discloses the limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson, US 2012038374
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a liquid intrusion detection device, comprising: at least one circuit board (Fig. 2; carrier 4); a plurality of liquid detection components disposed on the at least one circuit board (Fig. 2, 8; water sensors S11, S12); a multiplexer disposed on the at least one circuit board and having a plurality of output pins respectively connected to the plurality of liquid detection components (Fig. 2; multiplexer 27); and a computing component disposed on the at least one circuit board and connected to the multiplexer (Fig. 2-8; data processor 30 to row/column select logic 28), and configured to switch the multiplexer to output a detection signal to one of the plurality of liquid detection components through one of the plurality of output pins (Fig. 8; signal from source 21 to mux 27 output pin), and output a liquid intrusion notification signal when a response signal of the detection signal meets a preset potential (Fig. 11; Step 66- water exposure event detected); wherein the computing component has a switching signal output pin, a detection signal output pin and a response signal input pin that are connected to the multiplexer, the switching signal output pin is configured to output a switching signal to the multiplexer, the detection signal output pin is configured to output the detection signal, and the response signal input pin is connected to the detection signal output pin to detect the response signal (Fig. 8; switching signal output pin being the pin from the row/column select 28; detection pin and response pins being the pin from the sensing circuitry 25 to the pin to the data processor 30).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson discloses a liquid intrusion detection method, comprising: providing a liquid intrusion detection device, wherein the liquid intrusion detection device comprises at least one circuit board (Fig. 2; carrier 4) and a plurality of liquid detection components (Fig. 8; water sensors S11, S12), a multiplexer and a computing component that are disposed on the at least one circuit board (Fig. 8; mux 27 and data processor 30); wherein the computing component has a switching signal output pin, a detection signal output pin and a response signal input pin that are connected to the multiplexer, and the response signal input pin is connected to the detection signal output pin (Fig. 8; combination of elements of data processor 30/ logic 28 and sensing circuitry 25 being the computing component which includes multiple pins);
and executing with the computing component: outputting, by the switching signal output pin, a switching signal to the multiplexer to switch the multiplexer (Fig. 8; sensor selection pin from data processor 30) and outputting, by the detection signal output pin, a detection signal to the multiplexer to allow the multiplexer to output the detection signal to one of the plurality of liquid detection components (Fig. 8; signal from logic 28 to mux 27 for column selection); detecting, by the response signal input pin, a response signal of the detection signal and outputting a liquid intrusion notification signal when a response signal of the detection signal meets a preset potential (Fig. 11; Step 66- water exposure event detected; Fig. 6-8; “water_exposure_alert” to data processor).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson teaches further comprising executing with the computing component: switching the multiplexer to output the detection signal to another one of the plurality of liquid detection components; detecting another response signal of the detection signal; and outputting another liquid intrusion notification signal when said another response signal of the detection signal meets the preset potential (Fig. 9-10; ¶[0048]; processor polling the sensing circuitry to detect a water exposure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, US 2012038374 in view of Park et al., US 11614378
Regarding claim 2, Johnson is silent in wherein the detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal. Park teaches wherein a detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal (Fig. 7; pwm generator 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Johnson since providing a pwm signal would produce the predictable result of supply a signal to the water sensors.
Regarding claim 14, Johnson is silent in wherein the detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal. Park teaches wherein a detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal (Fig. 7; pwm generator 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Johnson since providing a pwm signal would produce the predictable result of supply a signal to the water sensors.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, US 2012038374 in view of Sakaguchi et al., JP 2004154282
Regarding claim 5, Johnson is silent in wherein one of the plurality of liquid detection components comprises a first comb-shape electrode and a second comb-shape electrode that are disposed correspondingly, the first comb-shape electrode is connected to the multiplexer and is configured to receive an operating voltage, and the second comb-shape electrode is configured to be connected to a ground terminal. Sakaguchi teaches a moisture detection component comprises a first comb-shape electrode and a second comb-shape electrode that are disposed correspondingly, the first comb-shape electrode is connected to the multiplexer and is configured to receive an operating voltage, and the second comb-shape electrode is configured to be connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1; electrodes 3a, 3b; electrode 3a is connected to a ground, electrode 3b connected to Mux 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakaguchi into Johnson for the benefit of detecting a signal at multiple points in a region of interest.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, US 2012038374 in view of Johnson, US 20090309745
Regarding claim 6, Johnson is silent in wherein the at least one circuit board comprises a plurality of circuit boards, and two of the plurality of liquid detection components are disposed on different circuit boards among the plurality of circuit boards. Johnson ‘745 teaches a liquid intrusion device comprising a plurality of circuit boards, and two of the plurality of liquid detection components are disposed on different circuit boards among the plurality of circuit boards (Fig. 3a; ¶[0059]; “device 10 may include a plurality of circuit boards…plurality of sensors 38 may be distributed among the plurality of circuit boards”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Johnson ‘745 into Johnson since the substitution of a plurality of circuit boards would produce the predictable result of detecting a moisture intrusion in the device.
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses a computer system, comprising: and a liquid intrusion detection device including at least one circuit board (Fig. 2; carrier 4); a plurality of liquid detection components disposed on the at least one circuit board (Fig. 2, 8; water sensors S11, S12); a multiplexer disposed on the at least one circuit board and having a plurality of output pins respectively connected to the plurality of liquid detection components (Fig. 2; multiplexer 27); and a computing component disposed on the at least one circuit board and connected to the multiplexer (Fig. 2-8; data processor 30 to row/column select logic 28), and configured to switch the multiplexer to output a detection signal to one of the plurality of liquid detection components through one of the plurality of output pins (Fig. 8; signal from source 21 to mux 27 output pin), and output a liquid intrusion notification signal when a response signal of the detection signal meets a preset potential (Fig. 11; Step 66- water exposure event detected);
wherein the computing component has a switching signal output pin, a detection signal output pin and a response signal input pin that are connected to the multiplexer, the switching signal output pin is configured to output a switching signal to the multiplexer, the detection signal output pin is configured to output the detection signal, and the response signal input pin is connected to the detection signal output pin to detect the response signal (Fig. 8; switching signal output pin being the pin from the row/column select 28; detection pin and response pins being the pin from the sensing circuitry 25 to the pin to the data processor 30).
Johnson is silent in a power switch; wherein the liquid intrusion detection device is connected to the power switch, and the computing component outputs the liquid intrusion notification signal to the power switch to turn off the power switch. Johnson ‘745 teaches wherein a liquid intrusion detection device is connected to a power device and a computing component of the liquid intrusion detecting device outputs a notification signal to the power device to turn off the power device (Fig. 4a-4b; after “yes” in step 104, processor proceeds to step 96 to disable power to device by shutting off a power source 30 via the battery control unit 76 or power management unit 74). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of into Johnson’745 into Johnson for the benefit of protecting the various circuits in the device from short-circuiting and damage to the circuit components.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson is silent in wherein the at least one circuit board comprises a plurality of circuit boards, and two of the plurality of liquid detection components are disposed on different circuit boards among the plurality of circuit boards. Johnson ‘745 teaches a liquid intrusion device comprising a plurality of circuit boards, and two of the plurality of liquid detection components are disposed on different circuit boards among the plurality of circuit boards (Fig. 3a; ¶[0059]; “device 10 may include a plurality of circuit boards…plurality of sensors 38 may be distributed among the plurality of circuit boards”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Johnson ‘745 into Johnson since the substitution of a plurality of circuit boards would produce the predictable result of detecting a moisture intrusion in the device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, US 2012038374 in view of Johnson, US 20090309745 in view of Park et al., US 11614378 B2
Regarding claim 8, Johnson is silent in wherein the detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal. Park teaches wherein a detection signal is a pulse width modulation signal (Fig. 7; pwm generator 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Park into Johnson since providing a pwm signal would produce the predictable result of supply a signal to the water sensors.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, US 2012038374 in view of Johnson, US 20090309745in view of Sakaguchi et al., JP 2004154282
Regarding claim 11, Johnson is silent in wherein one of the plurality of liquid detection components comprises a first comb-shape electrode and a second comb-shape electrode that are disposed correspondingly, the first comb-shape electrode is connected to the multiplexer and is configured to receive an operating voltage, and the second comb-shape electrode is configured to be connected to a ground terminal. Sakaguchi teaches a moisture detection component comprises a first comb-shape electrode and a second comb-shape electrode that are disposed correspondingly, the first comb-shape electrode is connected to the multiplexer and is configured to receive an operating voltage, and the second comb-shape electrode is configured to be connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1; electrodes 3a, 3b; electrode 3a is connected to a ground, electrode 3b connected to Mux 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakaguchi into Johnson for the benefit of detecting a signal at multiple points in a region of interest.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEBA POTHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858