DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the porous portion extending away from the bar portion as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the framework defines a porous portion of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow” in lines 4-5 where it is unclear whether applicant is further claiming that the framework has a porous portion separate from the bar portion OR if applicant is claiming that the bar portion comprises a porous portion. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as the bar portion comprises a porous portion.
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for being dependent off of claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the porous portion extends away from the bar portion” in line 2 wherein it is unclear how the porous portion extends away from the bar portion. It is unclear as whether the porous portion is a separate element from the bar portion and extends in a manner of it being a layer/structure. It is unclear if the bar portion comprises a section that is not porous and the porous portion of the bar portion is extending away from the bar portion at one end of the bar portion. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as the bar portion comprises a section that is not porous and the porous portion of the bar portion is extending away from the bar portion at one end of the bar portion.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the bar portion is formed of a porous biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow” in lines 1-2 wherein it is unclear if this particular material is the same as the porous portion claimed in claim 1 or if it refers to a different porous material. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as being the porous portion claimed in claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “the bar and porous portion are formed” in line 1 wherein it is unclear if the two portions are the same structure OR if they are two separate structures. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as being the same structure.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the framework comprises a porous portion” in line 1 wherein it is unclear if the framework further includes a porous portion OR if the framework itself is made up of such porous portion. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as being made up of such porous portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (KR 20200078782 A, see machine trans ver).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 1, Choi discloses a dental framework (Abstract; Fig. 1-5; 100; Par. 32) comprising:
a bar portion (100) defining a plurality of threaded openings (14; Par. 33-34; Fig. 2 shows that it is threaded as element 14a; Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1);
a dental implant opening (see Fig. 1 and 3 where the fastening member 21 is fixated into; Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1) through which an implant may pass (As it is intended to retain the fastening member 21, it is fully capable of having an implant pass through it); and
wherein the framework defines a porous portion (15) of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Par. 39-40 and 48 wherein it is disclosed that the porous portion teaches ingrowth of bone. It is as such fully capable of also allowing soft tissue growth. Par. 62 also discusses that biological tissue can also be regenerated while the fixture is f is fastened).
Annotated Figure A
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 2, Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 1 wherein the bar portion defines a partial denture (Fig. 3 and 5 shows that it is a partial denture), and wherein the porous portion extends away from the bar portion (Fig. 1 where it is extending towards the end of the bar portion).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 3, Choi discloses, as best understood, the dental framework of claim 1 wherein the bar portion is formed of a porous biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Fig. 1 where the bar portion comprises the porous material 15; Par. 47; It should be noted that the bar portion comprises the mesh which makes the porous material. Further, it should be noted that on the body of the bar portion, adhesion holes 16 are present which can also be considered the porous biocompatible material. Par. 46-47 discloses that it is used to aid in bone regeneration and to allow blood flow to pass through).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 4, Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 1 further comprising an implant screw (21) engaged with the dental implant opening (Fig. 3).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 5, Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of dental crowns, each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw into one of the plurality of threaded openings (Par. 61 discloses that a crown and abutment/threaded screw can be applied to the implant fastening part 14).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 6, Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 4 further comprising a plurality of dental crowns, each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw into one of the plurality of threaded openings (Par. 61 discloses that a crown and abutment/threaded screw can be applied to the implant fastening part 14).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 10, Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 1 wherein the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (Fig. 3 where the top refers to what Choi points to as element 20. The top is the top surface of element 20 and the bottom is the bottom surface of element 20. As the fastening element 21 is screwed through the opening, the opening is formed through the bar portion’s top and bottom of the bar portion. See Fig. 1 where it shows the opposing sides and displays the openings extends from the top and bottom; Annotated Figure B of Fig. 1).
Annotated Figure B
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 11¸Choi discloses the dental framework of claim 4 wherein the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (Fig. 3 where the top refers to what Choi points to as element 20. The top is the top surface of element 20 and the bottom is the bottom surface of element 20. As the fastening element 21 is screwed through the opening, the opening is formed through the bar portion’s top and bottom of the bar portion. See Fig. 1 where it shows the opposing sides and displays the openings extends from the top and bottom; Annotated Figure B of Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20200078782 A, see machine trans ver) in view of Robinson (US 6030218 A).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 14, Choi teaches the dental framework of claim 1 but is silent to the bar and porous portion are formed of one of titanium, Polyetheretherketone (PEEK), or zirconium.
Choi does teach that the framework is made of a metal material (Par. 59).
Robinson teaches a dental framework in the same field of endeavor and further discloses a bar portion (Fig. 4, element 10) and a porous portion (15; see element 15 overlayed onto the bar portion in Fig. 5) being made of titanium (Col. 4, lines 57-60 discloses that the bar portion 10 is made of titanium; Col. 4, lines 66-Col. 5, lines 1-4 discloses that the porous portion 15 is made of titanium). By having the bar portion to be made of titanium, it is light and provide appropriate strength for permanent emplacement in a patient’s mouth (Col. 4, lines 58-60). Similarly, by having the porous portion be made of titanium, it would provide a relatively rigid structure during use (Col. 4, lines 67-Col. 5, line1).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the bar and porous portion of Choi to be made of titanium as taught by Robinson as it is a design choice as to the type of biomaterial to being used. Further, by having the bar portion to be made of titanium, it is light and provide appropriate strength for permanent emplacement in a patient’s mouth. Similarly, by having the porous portion be made of titanium, it would provide a relatively rigid structure during use.
Claim(s) 1-4, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20200078782 A, see machine trans ver) in view of Gellrich (US 20220192795 A1)
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 1, Choi teaches a dental framework (Abstract; Fig. 1-5; 100; Par. 32) comprising:
a bar portion (100);
a dental implant opening (14; Par. 33-34 discloses that the implant fastening portion comprises a screw hole portion 14a; Fig. 2) through which an implant may pass (Par. 33-34 and Fig. 4); and
wherein the framework defines a porous portion (15) of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Par. 39-40 and 48 wherein it is disclosed that the porous portion teaches ingrowth of bone. It is as such fully capable of also allowing soft tissue growth; Par. 62 also discusses that biological tissue can also be regenerated while the fixture is f is fastened).
However, Choi is silent to the bar portion defining a plurality of threaded openings. However, Choi does disclose a plurality of openings in which a fastening means (21) is screwed into place to fix the dental framework to the jaw (Fig. 1 and 3; Par. 56). See Annotated Figure C of Fig. 1.
Gellrich teaches a dental framework in the same field of endeavor and further discloses a plurality of openings (4; see Fig. 5) that are threaded (14; Par. 79) to allow for securement of fixation screws (20) which would penetrate the bone (Par. 79).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the bar portion of Choi to have a plurality of threaded openings as taught by Gellrich to provide further securement of the fastening screws to the dental framework.
Annotated Figure C
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 2, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Choi teaches the bar portion defines a partial denture (Fig. 3 and 5 shows that it is a partial denture), and wherein the porous portion extends away from the bar portion (Fig. 1 where it is extending towards the end of the bar portion).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 3, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Choi teaches, as best understood, the bar portion is formed of a porous biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Fig. 1 where the bar portion comprises the porous material 15; Par. 47; It should be noted that the bar portion comprises the mesh which makes the porous material. Further, it should be noted that on the body of the bar portion, adhesion holes 16 are present which can also be considered the porous biocompatible material. Par. 46-47 discloses that it is used to aid in bone regeneration and to allow blood flow to pass through.).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 4, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 Choi further comprising an implant screw engaged with the dental implant opening (Par. 61-62 discloses that the abutment and crown if fitted to the implant opening where the screw can be the abutment; see Fig. 4 where the screw is the abutment denoted as element f).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 10, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Choi further teaches the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (see Fig. 2 which shows that the dental implant opening is formed through a top and bottom of the bar portion. It should be noted that element 12 of the bar portion is extending from the side of the bar portion).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 11, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 4 wherein Choi teaches the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (see Fig. 2 which shows that the dental implant opening is formed through a top and bottom of the bar portion. It should be noted that element 12 of the bar portion is extending from the side of the bar portion).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 12, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Choi teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (See Fig. 1-2 and 4).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 13, Choi and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 4 wherein Choi teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (See Fig. 1-2 and 4).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20200078782 A, see machine trans ver) in view of Ruiz (WO 2015132432 A1, see machine trans ver).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 15, Choi teaches the dental framework of claim 1 but are silent to the bar defining a plurality of scalloped recessions.
Ruiz teaches a dental framework in the same field of endeavor and further discloses a bar portion (1), the bar portion defining a plurality of openings (7) and a plurality of scalloped recessions (Fig. 2 shows that the openings are scalloped recessions).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the bar portion of Choi to have a plurality of scalloped recessions as taught by Ruiz to provide a secure fit of the crown.
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 16, Choi and Ruiz teaches the dental framework of claim 15 Choi and Ruiz further comprising a plurality of dental crowns, each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw into one of the plurality of threaded openings, and each of the plurality of crowns engaged with one of the scalloped openings (Choi discloses: Par. 61 discloses that the crowns can be coupled to the implant fastening part 14 with the abutment. Fig. 1 shows that there are 2 implant fastening parts resulting in 2 crowns and abutments to be coupled to them; Par. 62 and Fig. 4 shows that the screw is the abutment denoted as element f. It should be noted that the abutment coupled with the crown differs from the abutments that are placed in the dental implant openings. Ruiz discloses: Fig. 2 shows that the openings are scalloped recessions; Fig. 2 shows that multiple abutments can be placed where Par. 16-17 and 36 discloses screwing in an abutment screw to the dental implant opening in which a prosthesis/dental crown can be placed upon the abutment screw).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20200078782 A, see machine trans ver) in view of Lee (KR 101793092 B1, see trans ver.).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 17, Choi teaches a method of placement of a dental crown (Fig. 1-5; abstract) comprising the steps of:
Placing a framework (Fig. 1) on the bone of the patient (Fig. 3 and 5)
Connecting the framework to the patient by installing one or more implants (Fig. 3 where it is installing the fastener 21 which is denoted as the implants)
Attaching the crown to the framework using a screw inserted into a threaded opening (14; Par. 33-34; Fig. 2 shows that it is threaded as element 14a; Par. 62)
However, Choi is silent to cutting a portion of a patient’s gums and placing a framework between the gums and bone of the patient.
Lee discloses a method of placement of dental crowns in the same field of endeavor and further discloses:
cutting a portion of a patient’s gums (Par. 123); and
placing a framework between the gums and bone of the patient (Par. 123).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Choi to include cutting a portion of a patient’s gums and placing a framework between the gums and bone of the patient as taught by Lee to provide clarity as to how the framework is attached in the area of interest.
Re. Claim 18, Choi and Lee teaches the method of claim 17 wherein Choi further teaches the framework comprises a porous portion (15).
Re. Claim 19, Choi and Lee teaches the method of claim 17 wherein Choi further teaches the step of installing the one or more implants comprises a head of the implant engaging with a portion of the framework (see Fig. 3 where they are engaged with element 20 of the framework).
Re. Claim 20, Choi and Lee teaches the method of claim 17 wherein Choi further teaches the step of attaching the crown to the framework comprises cutting open the gums to access the threaded opening of the framework (Par. 62).
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO 2011078475 A2) as evidenced by Scantlebury (US 4531916 A).
Re. Claim 1¸ Park teaches a dental framework (Fig. 1-11) comprising:
a bar portion (20), the bar portion defining a plurality of threaded openings (Par. 63 discloses that the bar portion comprises that there is a screw coupling to an abutment and as such would have a threaded opening to fit such abutment portion 42);
a dental implant opening (22a) through which an implant (30/32) may pass (see Fig. 3-5 and 7); and
However, Park is silent to the framework defining a porous portion of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow.
Park does teach a coating layer 23 that can be applied to the bottom surface of the plate to increase bone growth (Par. 57). In addition, Park discloses that the coating can also be applied to other areas of the plate such as the top surface and the fixtures (Par. 39). Such coating can be made of hydroxy apatite (Par. 24 and 57). Because the coating is applicable on the outer surface, it would contact the soft tissue and be capable of allowing soft tissue growth.
This can be as evidenced by the teaching of Scantlebury. Scantlebury teaches a dental implant in the analogous art of implants and further discloses an implant that can comprise a porous coating intended to promote bony tissue growth (Col. 4, lines 52-61). The coating is disclosed to be made of varying materials including hydroxlapatite (Col. 4, lines 52-61) similarly to Park. The coating is found to be the same between Scantlebury and Park and is therefore porous.
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the framework of Park to have a porous portion of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow as evidenced by Scantlebury to improve bony tissue growth.
Re. Claim 2, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Park teaches the bar portion defines a full denture (Fig. 11) or a partial denture (Fig. 1 in a different embodiment is found to have a partial denture configuration), and wherein the porous portion extends away from the bar portion (Fig. 2 shows the porous material extends away from the bar portion. Though Fig. 2 is found to present it at the bottom surface. The porous material position is found to be modified to be at the top surface of the bar portion and would be inverse to what is shown in Fig. 2. As such, the porous material would still be extending away from the bar portion).
Re. Claim 4, Park, and Scantlebury discloses the dental framework of claim 1 Park further comprising an implant screw (30) engaged with the dental implant opening (Fig. 3).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 5, Park, and Scantlebury discloses the dental framework of claim 1 further Park comprising a plurality of dental crowns (Fig. 5 presents an example of a dental crown 50/40. Fig. 11 presents the configuration where a plurality of dental crowns can be placed where element 42 is found), each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw (Par. 63 discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to.) into one of the plurality of threaded openings (Fig. 5 is used to show the configuration with the crowns and Fig. 11 presents the similar configuration without the top part of the crown where it presents a plurality of them on the framework. Par. 63 discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 6, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 4 Park further comprising a plurality of dental crowns (Fig. 5 presents an example of a dental crown 50/40. Fig. 11 presents the configuration where a plurality of dental crowns can be placed where element 42 is found), each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw (Par. 63 discusses the connection in which the plurality of crowns would have to be configured to the bar portion. It discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to) into one of the plurality of threaded openings (Fig. 5 is used to show the configuration with the crowns and Fig. 11 presents the similar configuration without the top part of the crown where it presents a plurality of them on the framework. Par. 63 discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to).
(first interpretation) Re. Claim 8, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 5 wherein Park teaches each of the plurality of dental crowns directly contact the bar at a top surface of each crown (see Fig. 5 where the bar is found to be in direct contact with the top surface of the bar to each crown where the crown element comprises elements 40 and 50. Element 40 of the crown 40/50 is found to be the specific portion in which has direct contact with the bar portion 20).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 5, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 1 further Park comprising a plurality of dental crowns (Fig. 5 presents an example of a dental crown 50/41. Fig. 11 presents the configuration where a plurality of dental crowns can be placed where element 42 is found), each of the plurality of crowns attached by a threaded screw (Par. 63-64 discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to) into one of the plurality of threaded openings (Fig. 5 is used to show the configuration with the crowns and Fig. 11 presents the similar configuration without the top part of the crown where it presents a plurality of them on the framework. Par. 63 discloses that the hole is threaded and that the abutment portion 42 is connected to the bar portion 20 by the screw connection. As such, the crown would be attached through by the threaded screw into the threaded hole as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 42 for which it is connected to. The crown as such is found to be attached to the bar portion by being connected to the connector 40 and the screw).
(second interpretation) Re. Claim 7, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 5 wherein Park each of the plurality of dental crowns are spaced apart from the bar by a gap allowing gum tissue to grow in between (Fig. 5 wherein it is found to be spaced apart by a gap made by the connector between the dental screw/bar and the dental crown which is fully capable of allowing gum tissue to grow in between; Annotated Figure D of Fig. 5. The crown is found to be element 50/41 and is found to be attached through a threaded screw into one of the threaded holes as the crown is attached to the abutment portion 40 which is connected in a threaded manner. Because the crown element is element 50, the gap between the bar portion and crowns are made by the side of the abutment portion 42).
Annotated Figure D
Re. Claim 9, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Park discloses the bar portion defines a horseshoe shape for a full denture (Fig. 11).
Re. Claim 10, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Park discloses the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (Annotated Figure E of Fig. 2).
Annotated Figure E
Re. Claim 11, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 4 wherein Park further teaches the dental implant opening is formed through the bar portion through a top and bottom of the bar portion (Annotated Figure E of Fig. 2).
Re. Claim 12, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Park teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (see Fig. 2. Though Fig. 2 is found to present it at the bottom surface. The porous material position is found to be modified to be at the top surface of the bar portion and would be inverse to what is shown in Fig. 2. As such, the porous material would still be extending away from the bar portion).
Re. Claim 13, Park, and Scantlebury teaches the dental framework of claim 4 wherein Park teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (see Fig. 2. Though Fig. 2 is found to present it at the bottom surface. The porous material position is found to be modified to be at the top surface of the bar portion and would be inverse to what is shown in Fig. 2. As such, the porous material would still be extending away from the bar portion).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 12-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (WO 2015132432 A1, see machine translated ver) in view of Gellrich (US 20220192795 A1.
Re. Claim 1, Ruiz teaches a dental framework (Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a bar portion (1), the bar portion defining a plurality of openings (7);
a dental implant opening through which an implant may pass (Par. 34 where the screws 9 are found to be secure the body to the jawbone as shown in Fig. 2. As such there would need to be an opening for the screw to go through); and
wherein the framework defines a porous portion of biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Par. 32 discloses that it is a mesh material with microperforations 4 to induce bone growth. It is made of a biomaterial it is also capable of being used to produce soft tissue growth. It is found that the entirety of the framework is made of such material and comprises the microperforations. As such, though it is placed on the bone, it is also interacting with the surrounding soft tissue. Thus, it is fully capable of being used to grow soft tissues such as gums).
However, Ruiz is silent to the bar portion defining a plurality of threaded openings.
Gellrich teaches a dental framework in the same field of endeavor and further discloses a plurality of openings (4; see Fig. 5) that are threaded (14; Par. 79) to allow for securement of fixation screws (20) which would penetrate the bone (Par. 79).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the bar portion of Ruiz to have a plurality of threaded openings as taught by Gellrich to provide further securement of the fastening screws to the dental framework.
Re. Claim 3, Ruiz and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Ruiz teaches the bar portion is formed of a porous biocompatible material into which soft tissue may grow (Par. 32; It is found that the entirety of the framework is made of a porous material and as such the bar would also be made of the porous material).
Re. Claim 4, Ruiz and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 Ruiz further comprising an implant screw (9) engaged with the dental implant opening (Fig. 2).
Re. Claim 12, Ruiz and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein Ruiz further teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (Par. 32; It is found that the entirety of the framework is made of a porous material and as such the dental implant openings would be formed on the porous portion).
Re. Claim 13, Ruiz and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 4 wherein Ruiz further teaches the dental implant opening is formed on the porous portion (Par. 32; It is found that the entirety of the framework is made of a porous material and as such the dental implant openings would be formed on the porous portion).
Re. Claim 15, Ruiz and Gellrich teaches the dental framework of claim 1 wherein the bar defines a plurality of scalloped recessions (Fig. 2 shows the openings 7 to have scalloped recessions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/HOLLY T. TO/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 12/22/2025