DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mauritz et al (US 12,552,446). Mauritz discloses:
With regard to claim 1 - A steering system for use in turning steerable vehicle wheels, the steering system comprising:
an electric motor 1 having a motor output shaft 2 rotatable about a first axis 3;
a first planetary gear stage 29 drivable via torque from the motor output shaft 2;
a second planetary gear stage 30 drivable via torque from the first planetary gear stage 16;
an output shaft 20 connected directly to the second planetary gear stage 30 such that torque from the second planetary gear stage 30 directly urges the output shaft 20 to rotate about a second axis 15; and
a pitman arm 25 directly connected to the output shaft 20 such that torque from the output shaft 20 directly urges the pitman arm 25 to rotate about the second axis 15, the pitman arm 25 being connected to the steerable vehicle wheels via a steering linkage such that rotation of the pitman arm 25 affects steering of the steerable vehicle wheels (“In a further preferred embodiment of the invention, provision is made whereby the steering lever has a conical receptacle for the arrangement of a bearing assembly. Via the conical region, force can be introduced for example into a linkage, for example coupling or tie rods, for the actuation of the steerable wheels.” – column 4, lines 39-44).
Mauritz fails to explicitly disclose the second axis being coaxial with or nonparallel to the first axis
With regard to claim 2 - wherein the first planetary gear stage 29 has a first sun gear 31, first planetary gears 16 meshed with the first sun gear 31 (mislabeled as 32 in Fig. 1), and a first carrier 17 connected to the first planetary gears 16, the first sun gear 31 being connected to the motor output shaft 2 such that the torque from the motor output shaft 2 urges the first sun gear 31 to rotate about the second axis 15, rotation of the first sun gear 31 urging the first planetary gears 16 to rotate and orbit the first sun gear 31, the first carrier 17 being urged to rotate about the second axis 15 in response to the first planetary gears 16 rotating and orbiting the first sun gear 31.
With regard to claim 3 - wherein the motor output shaft 2 is connected to the first sun gear 31 such that torque from the motor output shaft 2 urges the first sun gear 31 to rotate about the second axis.
Mauritz fails to explicitly disclose the first and second axes being coaxial.
With regard to claim 7 - wherein the second planetary gear stage 30 has a second sun gear 18, second planetary gears 19 meshed with the second sun gear 18, and a second carrier 20 connected to the second planetary gears 19, the second sun gear 18 being connected to the first carrier 17 such that torque from the first carrier 17 urges the second sun gear 18 to rotate about the second axis 15, rotation of the second sun gear 18 urging the second planetary gears 19 to rotate and orbit the second sun gear 18, the second carrier 20 being urged to rotate about the second axis 15 in response to the second planetary gears 19 rotating and orbiting the second sun gear 18, the output shaft being connected directly to the second carrier 20 such that torque from the second carrier urges the output shaft to rotate about the second axis 15.
With regard to claim 8 - wherein the output shaft 20 is integrally formed with the second carrier 20 as a single monolithic piece.
With regard to claim 16 - wherein a force flow from the electric motor to the pitman arm is entirely torque-based with no torque-to-linear force transitions and no linear force-to-torque transitions (see Fig. 1, no linear components).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boyle et al (US 11,498,616). Boyle discloses:
With regard to claim 1 - A steering system for use in turning steerable vehicle wheels, the steering system comprising:
an electric motor 62 having a motor output shaft 64 rotatable about a first axis;
a first planetary gear stage 80 drivable via torque from the motor output shaft 64;
a second planetary gear stage 100 drivable via torque from the first planetary gear stage 80;
an output shaft 140 connected directly to the second planetary gear stage 100 such that torque from the second planetary gear stage 100 directly urges the output shaft 140 to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being coaxial with the first axis; and
a pitman arm 42 directly connected to the output shaft 140 such that torque from the output shaft 140 directly urges the pitman arm 42 to rotate about the second axis, the pitman arm 42 being connected to the steerable vehicle wheels 12 via a steering linkage such that rotation of the pitman arm affects steering of the steerable vehicle wheels.
With regard to claim 2 - wherein the first planetary gear stage 80 has a first sun gear 82, first planetary gears 84 meshed with the first sun gear 82, and a first carrier 86 connected to the first planetary gears 84, the first sun gear 82 being connected to the motor output shaft 64 such that the torque from the motor output shaft 64 urges the first sun gear 82 to rotate about the second axis 74, rotation of the first sun gear 82 urging the first planetary gears 84 to rotate and orbit the first sun gear 82, the first carrier 86 being urged to rotate about the second axis in response to the first planetary gears 84 rotating and orbiting the first sun gear 82.
With regard to claim 3 - wherein the motor output shaft 64 is connected to the first sun gear 82 such that torque from the motor output shaft 64 urges the first sun gear 82 to rotate about the second axis 74, the first and second axes being coaxial.
With regard to claim 7 - wherein the second planetary gear stage 100 has a second sun gear 102, second planetary gears 104 meshed with the second sun gear 102, and a second carrier connected to the second planetary gears, the second sun gear being connected to the first carrier 106 such that torque from the first carrier 86 urges the second sun gear 102 to rotate about the second axis 74, rotation of the second sun gear 102 urging the second planetary gears 104 to rotate and orbit the second sun gear 104, the second carrier 106 being urged to rotate about the second axis 74 in response to the second planetary gears 104 rotating and orbiting the second sun gear 102, the output shaft 140 being connected directly to the second carrier 106such that torque from the second carrier urges the output shaft to rotate about the second axis 74.
With regard to claim 12 - further comprising an intermediate shaft 32 operatively between the first 80 and second 100 planetary gear stages, the intermediate shaft 102 being connected to the first planetary gear stage 80 and a steering wheel 30 such that torque from each of the first planetary gear stage 80 and the steering wheel 30 urges the intermediate shaft 102 to rotate about the second axis 74, the intermediate shaft 102 further being connected to the second planetary gear stage 100 such that torque from the intermediate shaft drives the second planetary gear stage 100.
With regard to claim 13 - wherein the steering system is manipulable into a steer-by-wire steering system via the removal of a mechanical connection between the steering wheel and the intermediate shaft (see controller 150 and sensors 152, 154). Though the reference does not directly mention this process, the structure is generally such that such a transition is possible, which is all that is required.
With regard to claim 14 - an intermediate shaft 82 operatively between the motor output shaft 64 and the first planetary gear stage 100, the intermediate shaft 82 being connected to the motor output shaft 64 and a steering wheel 30 such that torque from each of the motor output shaft 64 and the steering wheel 30 urges the intermediate shaft 82 to rotate about the second axis 74, the intermediate shaft 82 further being connected to the first planetary gear stage 80 such that torque from the intermediate shaft 82 drives the first planetary gear stage 80. The first sun gear is integrally formed with the intermediate shaft 82.
With regard to claim 15 - wherein the steering system is manipulable into a steer-by-wire steering system via the removal of a mechanical connection between the steering wheel and the intermediate shaft (see controller 150 and sensors 152, 154). Though the reference does not directly mention this process, the structure is generally such that such a transition is possible, which is all that is required.
With regard to claim 16 - wherein a force flow from the electric motor to the pitman arm is entirely torque-based with no torque-to-linear force transitions and no linear force-to-torque transitions.
With regard to claim 17 - wherein the output shaft 140 is further connected to a steering wheel 30 such that torque from the steering wheel 30 also urges the output shaft 140 to rotate about the second axis 74, a force flow from each of the electric motor 64 and the steering wheel 30 to the pitman arm 42 is entirely torque-based with no torque-to-linear force transitions and no linear force-to-torque transitions.
With regard to claim 18 - A steering system for use in turning steerable vehicle wheels, the steering system comprising:
a steering wheel 30;
an electric motor 62;
an intermediate shaft 82 connected to the motor output shaft 64 and the steering wheel 30 such that torque from each of the motor output shaft 64 and the steering wheel 30 urges the intermediate shaft 82 to rotate about an axis 74;
a first planetary gear stage 80 drivable via torque from the intermediate shaft 82;
a second planetary gear stage 100 drivable via torque from the first planetary gear stage 80;
an output shaft 140 connected directly to the second planetary gear stage 104 such that torque from the second planetary gear stage 100 directly urges the output shaft 140 to rotate about the axis; and
a pitman arm 42 directly connected to the output shaft 140 such that torque from the output shaft 140 directly urges the pitman arm 42 to rotate about the axis, the pitman arm 42 being connected to the steerable vehicle wheels via a steering linkage such that rotation of the pitman arm affects steering of the steerable vehicle wheels.
With regard to claim 19 - wherein a force flow from each of the electric motor 62 and the steering wheel 30 to the pitman arm 42 is entirely torque-based with no torque-to-linear force transitions and no linear force-to-torque transitions.
With regard to claim 20 - wherein the steering system is manipulable into a steer-by-wire steering system via the removal of a mechanical connection between the steering wheel and the intermediate shaft (see controller 150 and sensors 152, 154).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaloga et al (US 2013/0032430) in view of Boyle. Zaloga discloses:
A steering system for use in turning steerable vehicle wheels, the steering system comprising:
an electric motor 26 having a motor output shaft 48 rotatable about a first axis;
a first planetary gear stage 52 drivable via torque from the motor output shaft 48; an output shaft 36 connected directly to the planetary gear stage such that torque from the planetary gear stage 52 directly urges the output shaft 36 to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being nonparallel to the first axis; and
a pitman arm 24 directly connected to the output shaft 36 such that torque from the output shaft 36 directly urges the pitman arm 24 to rotate about the second axis, the pitman arm being connected to the steerable vehicle wheels via a steering linkage such that rotation of the pitman arm 24 affects steering of the steerable vehicle wheels. Zaloga fails to explicitly disclose a second planetary gear stage drivable via torque from the first planetary gear stage.
As seen above, Boyle teaches a similar arrangement and further comprising a second planetary stage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the steering system of Zaloga with the teaching of Boyle so as to include a second planetary gear stage to allow for higher torque density and load distribution.
With regard to claim 2, Boyle teaches wherein the first planetary gear stage 29 has a first sun gear 31, first planetary gears 16 meshed with the first sun gear 31 (mislabeled as 32 in Fig. 1), and a first carrier 17 connected to the first planetary gears 16, the first sun gear 31 being connected to the motor output shaft 2 such that the torque from the motor output shaft 2 urges the first sun gear 31 to rotate about the second axis 15, rotation of the first sun gear 31 urging the first planetary gears 16 to rotate and orbit the first sun gear 31, the first carrier 17 being urged to rotate about the second axis 15 in response to the first planetary gears 16 rotating and orbiting the first sun gear 31.
With regard to claim 4, Zaloga discloses wherein the motor output shaft is connected to the first sun gear 52 such that torque from the motor output shaft 48 urges the first sun gear 52 to rotate about the second axis, the second axis being nonparallel to the first axis (see Fig. 3B).
With regard to claim 5, Boyle teaches an intermediate shaft 82 connected to the motor output shaft 64 and a steering wheel 30 such that torque from each of the motor output shaft 64 and the steering wheel 30 urges the intermediate shaft 82 to rotate about the second axis 74, the intermediate shaft 82 further being connected to the first sun gear such that torque from the intermediate shaft urges the first sun gear to rotate about the second axis.
With regard to claim 6, Boyle teaches wherein the first sun gear is integrally formed with the intermediate shaft as a single monolithic piece.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyle in view of Mauritz (US 2023/0174141). Boyle fails to explicitly disclose a third planetary gear stage. Mauritz teaches a similar steering apparatus including a third planetary gear stage, the third planetary gear stage having a third sun gear 117, third planetary gears 118 meshed with the third sun gear 117, and a third carrier 119 connected to the third planetary gears 118, the third sun gear 117 being connected to a first carrier 113 such that torque from the first carrier 113 urges the third sun gear 117 to rotate about a second axis, rotation of the third sun gear 117 urging the third planetary gears 118 to rotate and orbit the third sun gear 117, the third carrier 119 being urged to rotate about the second axis in response to the third planetary gears 118 rotating and orbiting the third sun gear 117, the third carrier 119 being connected to a second sun gear 114 such that torque from the third carrier 119 urges the second sun gear 114 to rotate about the second axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the steering system of Boyle with the teaching of Mauritz so as to include a third planetary gear stage to allow for even higher torque density and load distribution.
With regard to claim 10, Boyle discloses an intermediate shaft 102 connected to the first carrier 86 and a steering wheel 30 such that torque from each of the first carrier 86 and the steering wheel 30 urges the intermediate shaft 102 to rotate about the second axis 74, the intermediate shaft 102 further being connected to the second sun gear 102 such that torque from the intermediate shaft urges the second sun gear to rotate about the second axis.
With regard to claim 11, Boyle discloses wherein the second sun gear is integrally formed with the intermediate shaft as a single monolithic piece.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 June 26, 2026