DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2024 and 10/172024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference JP 2004291595 A is a general background reference covering: To provide a printing data creation method which facilitates handling by restraining an intermittent printing operation in online printing, and by reducing a size of printing data in off-line printing.
SOLUTION: A printer driver is constituted such that an operator mode or non-operator mode is selectable. When the operator mode is selected, a compression mode can be selected by an operator. In this constitution, on the other hand, in the case of the non-operator mode: whether the single compression mode is selected is checked; next, when the single compression mode is selected, whether the online printing is adopted is judged; and in the case of the online printing a low compression mode is automatically selected, or in the case of the off-line printing, a high compression mode is automatically selected. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 8,477,339 B2) in view of Ishida (US 2016/0006884 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses an information processing apparatus (e.g., an image processing apparatus connected to a printing apparatus, paragraph 3), comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from a user, designation of printing data to be printed by a printing apparatus (e.g., FIG. 2, the OS 102 spools the drawing instructions, and accepts the output request from the application software 101. The OS 102 then issues a print request and the drawing instructions to the printer driver 103 corresponding to an output printer, paragraph 49);
a compression unit configured to generate compressed data by compressing the printing data in a case where a format of the printing data is a compression target (e.g., a compression unit 202 of the printer driver 103 compresses the raster data generated as described above. The printer driver 103 appends commands and the like required for processing of the printer 105 to the compressed data, and transmits that data to the printer 105, paragraph 50).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose a request unit configured to request the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is a compression target, and request the printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is not a compression target.
Ishida discloses a request unit configured to request the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is a compression target, and request the printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is not a compression target (e.g., In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 determines (decides) which of the non-compression transfer method and compression transfer method is used as the transfer method. In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 makes this determination based on, for example, image reading settings included in the image reading instruction from the information processing apparatus 120, or image reading settings made in the image reading apparatus 110. Details of the determination processing will be described later with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. If it is determined that the transfer method is the non-compression transfer method, the first transfer unit 203 transfers the image data to the information processing apparatus 120 (in an uncompressed state) without compressing the image data in step S103. If it is determined that the transfer method is the compression transfer method, the image data compression unit 202 compresses, by a predetermined compression method in step S104, the image data generated by reading by the image reading unit 200. In step S105, the second transfer unit 204 transfers the compressed image data to the information processing apparatus 120, paragraph 32, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include a request unit configured to request the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is a compression target, and request the printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data is not a compression target as taught by Ishida. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Ishida to effectively process image data for printing.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses further comprising
a conversion unit configured to generate second printing data by converting the format of the printing data in a case where the printing apparatus fails to print the printing data or the compressed data, wherein the compression unit further generates second compressed data by compressing the second printing data in a case where a format of the second printing data is a compression target (e.g., FIG. 10 shows a case in which the reception buffer size is equal to or larger than the prescribed value. If the pieces of information correspond to "H" in FIGS. 9 and 10 in step S200, a compression method of a high compression ratio (e.g., JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group as lossy compression) is selected in step S210, paragraph 59), and
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the request unit further requests the second compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is a compression target, and further requests the second printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is not a compression target.
Ishida discloses the request unit further requests the second compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is a compression target, and further requests the second printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is not a compression target (e.g., In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 determines (decides) which of the non-compression transfer method and compression transfer method is used as the transfer method. In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 makes this determination based on, for example, image reading settings included in the image reading instruction from the information processing apparatus 120, or image reading settings made in the image reading apparatus 110. Details of the determination processing will be described later with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. If it is determined that the transfer method is the non-compression transfer method, the first transfer unit 203 transfers the image data to the information processing apparatus 120 (in an uncompressed state) without compressing the image data in step S103. If it is determined that the transfer method is the compression transfer method, the image data compression unit 202 compresses, by a predetermined compression method in step S104, the image data generated by reading by the image reading unit 200. In step S105, the second transfer unit 204 transfers the compressed image data to the information processing apparatus 120, paragraph 32, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include the request unit further requests the second compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is a compression target, and further requests the second printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the second printing data is not a compression target as taught by Ishida. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Ishida to effectively process image data for printing.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses wherein the acquisition unit further acquires, from the user, designation of a format of printing data that is a compression target (e.g., If it is determined in step S110 that the interface used to transfer the current print job has a high transfer speed, the transfer time of printing data can be shortened if the printing data has a large size. Hence, a compression method of a low compression ratio (e.g., PackBits as lossless compression) is selected in step S120, paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses further comprising:
a specifying unit configured to specify a format that can be printed by the printing apparatus (e.g., FIG. 4 is a flowchart showing the processing until the host computer 100 converts data obtained by rasterizing the drawing instructions stored in the band memories into a data format printable by the printer 105, and transmits the converted data to the printer 105, paragraph 55); and
a conversion unit configured to generate third printing data by converting the format of the printing data to a format that can be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data cannot be printed by the printing apparatus,
wherein the request unit requests the printing data or the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the printing data can be printed by the printing apparatus (e.g., if the pieces of information correspond to "L" in FIGS. 9 and 10 in step S200, a compression method of a low compression ratio (e.g., PackBits as lossless compression) is selected in step S220, paragraph 59).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the compression unit generates third compressed data by compressing the third printing data in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and the request unit requests the third compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and requests the third printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is not a compression target.
Ishida discloses the compression unit generates third compressed data by compressing the third printing data in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and the request unit requests the third compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and requests the third printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is not a compression target (e.g., In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 determines (decides) which of the non-compression transfer method and compression transfer method is used as the transfer method. In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 makes this determination based on, for example, image reading settings included in the image reading instruction from the information processing apparatus 120, or image reading settings made in the image reading apparatus 110. Details of the determination processing will be described later with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. If it is determined that the transfer method is the non-compression transfer method, the first transfer unit 203 transfers the image data to the information processing apparatus 120 (in an uncompressed state) without compressing the image data in step S103. If it is determined that the transfer method is the compression transfer method, the image data compression unit 202 compresses, by a predetermined compression method in step S104, the image data generated by reading by the image reading unit 200. In step S105, the second transfer unit 204 transfers the compressed image data to the information processing apparatus 120, paragraph 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki to include the compression unit generates third compressed data by compressing the third printing data in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and the request unit requests the third compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is a compression target, and requests the third printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus in a case where the format of the third printing data is not a compression target as taught by Ishida. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Suzuki by the teaching of Ishida to effectively process image data for printing.
Regarding claim 5, Ishida discloses further comprising:
a determination unit configured to determine whether the printing apparatus has a data decompression function, wherein in a case where it is determined that the printing apparatus has the data decompression function and the format of the printing data is a compression target, the request unit requests the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus (e.g., In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 determines (decides) which of the non-compression transfer method and compression transfer method is used as the transfer method. In step S102, the transfer method identification unit 201 makes this determination based on, for example, image reading settings included in the image reading instruction from the information processing apparatus 120, or image reading settings made in the image reading apparatus 110. Details of the determination processing will be described later with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. If it is determined that the transfer method is the non-compression transfer method, the first transfer unit 203 transfers the image data to the information processing apparatus 120 (in an uncompressed state) without compressing the image data in step S103. If it is determined that the transfer method is the compression transfer method, the image data compression unit 202 compresses, by a predetermined compression method in step S104, the image data generated by reading by the image reading unit 200. In step S105, the second transfer unit 204 transfers the compressed image data to the information processing apparatus 120, paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 6, Ishida discloses wherein in a case where it is not determined that the printing apparatus has the data decompression function, the request unit requests the printing data to be printed by the printing apparatus without requesting the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus (e.g., If it is determined that the transfer method is the non-compression transfer method, the first transfer unit 203 transfers the image data to the information processing apparatus 120 (in an uncompressed state) without compressing the image data in step S103, paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses wherein a message defined in the Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) is used to request the printing data or the compressed data to be printed by the printing apparatus (e.g., steps S120, S220, S210, figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses wherein the request unit transmits the request for the printing apparatus to print the printing data or the compressed data to the printing apparatus (e.g., steps S120, S220, S210, figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Ishida discloses wherein the information processing apparatus can communicate with a printing server via a wide area network, and the request unit transmits the request for the printing apparatus to print the printing data or the compressed data to the printing server (e.g., In some cases, an image reading apparatus having an image reading function, such as a scanner or digital camera, optically reads an image, and transfers the image data to an information processing apparatus such as a PC, tablet PC, smartphone, or Web server. In this case, methods for transferring image data to the information processing apparatus are roughly classified into a non-compression transfer method and a compression transfer method, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program for causing a computer to function as the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (e.g., the objects of the present invention are also achieved by supplying a storage medium which records the software program that implements the functions of the aforementioned embodiment to a system or apparatus, and reading out and executing the programs stored in that storage medium, paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is a method for controlling an information processing apparatus with limitations similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683