DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2024, 02/07/2025 and 03/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the published application on 09/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one heat exchanger disposed in the air duct, wherein the at least one heat exchanger is provided with an air channel through which air passes, further comprising: a first water pump, wherein the first water pump is disposed in the first water pipe group or the second water pipe group; or the first water pump is disposed in each of the first water pipe group and the second water pipe group, and both the evaporator and the condenser are disposed in the air duct” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 19 recite “the front-end component comprises a front-end module and a fifth water pipe group, the front-end module communicates with the multi-way valve through the fifth water pipe group”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner what exactly is the front-end component structure and how does it fit into the invention, as the published application does not provide sufficient description of what explicitly the structure is. Clarity is advised.
Claims 7 and 19 recite the limitation "a powertrain component comprises a powertrain" in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al (CN 112297758 A, hereinafter Shen) in view of Lian et al (US 20220097567 A1, hereinafter Lian).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 21, Shen teaches a heat exchange system (HVAC system, figure 1), comprising: a multi-way valve (first valve 43), an air duct (internal air flow path); and at least one heat exchanger (heat exchanger 31) disposed in the air duct (wherein the evaporator 11 and the condenser 13 can be set on the internal air flow path, paragraph 0009, therefore interpreted as heat exchanger 31 also being disposed in the internal air flow path), wherein the at least one heat exchanger (heat exchanger 31) is provided with an air channel through which air passes (wherein the evaporator 11 and the condenser 13 can be set on the internal air flow path, paragraph 0009, therefore interpreted as heat exchanger 31 also being disposed in the internal air flow path), a water inlet and a water outlet of the at least one heat exchanger (via the inlet and outlet of cooling water line 30 from heat exchanger 31, figure 1) communicate with the multi-way valve (first valve 43) through a water pipe group (via line 40, as shown on figure 1), a refrigerant inlet of the at least one heat exchanger communicates with a refrigerant outlet of the at least one heat exchanger (inlet of evaporator 11 communicating with the outlet of condenser 13, as shown on figure 1) through a refrigerant pipe group (via refrigerant line 10, figure 1), an electronic expansion valve (expansion valve 14) is disposed on the refrigerant pipe group (disposed on refrigerant line 10, as shown on figure 1).
Shen teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach the multi-way valve is further configured to communicate with a heat exchange unit, and when heat exchange is performed on the heat exchange unit, the multi-way valve causes the heat exchange unit, the multi-way valve, the water pipe group, and the heat exchanger to be in one circulation loop.
However, Lian teaches the multi-way valve (four-way valve 4) is further configured to communicate with a heat exchange unit (power battery 6, paragraph 0030), and when heat exchange is performed on the heat exchange unit (paragraph 0030), the multi-way valve (four-way valve 4) causes the heat exchange unit (power battery 6), the multi-way valve (four-way valve 4), the water pipe group (first/second flow path, paragraphs 0030-0031), and the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 5) to be in one circulation loop (as described in paragraphs 0030-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings of Shen to include the multi-way valve is further configured to communicate with a heat exchange unit, and when heat exchange is performed on the heat exchange unit, the multi-way valve causes the heat exchange unit, the multi-way valve, the water pipe group, and the heat exchanger to be in one circulation loop in view of the teachings of Lian in order to yield the predictable result of providing the coolant flowing from the coolant outlet of the heat exchanger can immediately cool the power battery, which improves the effect of cooling the power battery.
Further, it is understood, claims 1, 13 and 21 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 2-5, 7, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as modified by Lian, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Enokijima et al (US 20240399819 A1, hereinafter Enokijima).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: two heat exchangers, wherein the two heat exchangers are disposed in the air duct, the water pipe group comprises a first water pipe group and a second water pipe group, the two heat exchangers are an evaporator and a condenser; a water inlet of the evaporator and a water outlet of the evaporator communicate with the multi-way valve through the first water pipe group, a water inlet of the condenser and a water outlet of the condenser communicate with the multi- way valve through the second water pipe group; and a refrigerant outlet of the evaporator communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the condenser through the refrigerant pipe group, and a refrigerant outlet of the condenser communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the evaporator through the refrigerant pipe group.
However, Enokijima teaches further comprising: two heat exchangers (refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 4/refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 5), wherein the two heat exchangers are disposed in the air duct (as described in paragraph 0071, the water pipe group comprises a first water pipe group and a second water pipe group, the two heat exchangers (refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 4/ refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 5) are an evaporator (paragraph 0101) and a condenser (paragraph 0102); a water inlet of the evaporator (inlet of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 4, figure 1) and a water outlet of the evaporator (outlet of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 4, figure 1) communicate with the multi-way valve (three-way valve 21, figure 1) through the first water pipe group (top section of piping of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 4, figure 1), a water inlet of the condenser (inlet of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 5, figure 1) and a water outlet of the condenser (outlet of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 5, figure 1) communicate with the multi- way valve (three-way valve 21) through the second water pipe group (lower section of piping of refrigerant/cooling water heat exchanger 5, figure 1); and a refrigerant outlet of the evaporator communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the condenser through the refrigerant pipe group, and a refrigerant outlet of the condenser communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the evaporator through the refrigerant pipe group (it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to communicate the refrigerant outlet of evaporator 4 with the refrigerant inlet of condenser 5 to absorb heat from the cooling water L or dissipate heat into the cooler water L).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include further comprising: two heat exchangers, wherein the two heat exchangers are disposed in the air duct, the water pipe group comprises a first water pipe group and a second water pipe group, the two heat exchangers are an evaporator and a condenser; a water inlet of the evaporator and a water outlet of the evaporator communicate with the multi-way valve through the first water pipe group, a water inlet of the condenser and a water outlet of the condenser communicate with the multi- way valve through the second water pipe group; and a refrigerant outlet of the evaporator communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the condenser through the refrigerant pipe group, and a refrigerant outlet of the condenser communicates with a refrigerant inlet of the evaporator through the refrigerant pipe group in view of the teachings of Enokijima in order to yield the predictable result of absorbing heat from the cooling water L or dissipating heat into the cooling water L.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a compressor (compressor 11 of Lian) disposed between the refrigerant outlet of the evaporator (between the outlet of evaporator 16, as shown on figure 1 of Lian) and the refrigerant inlet of the condenser (inlet of condenser 12, as shown on figure 1 of Lian).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a first water pump (first pump 7 of Lian), wherein the first water pump (first pump 7 of Lian) is disposed in the first water pipe group (first coolant flow path, paragraph 0026 of Lian) or the second water pipe group; or the first water pump is disposed in each of the first water pipe group and the second water pipe group.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the heat exchange unit (figure 1 of Shen) comprises a battery pack component (battery 42 of Shen) having at least; a battery pack (battery 42 of Shen) and a third water pipe group (line 40 of Shen), the battery pack (battery 42 of Shen) communicates with the multi-way valve (valve 43 of Shen) through the third water pipe group, a third water pump is disposed in the third water pipe group (via cooling water line 30 connecting to line 40, figure 1 of Shen), when heat is dissipated for the battery pack (realize the corresponding battery 42 of cooling), the multi-way valve (valve 43 of Shen) is configured for communication of the evaporator (evaporator 11 via heat exchanger 32, figure 1 of Shen), the first water pipe group (cooling water line 30 of Shen), the third water pump (pump 34 of Shen), the third water pipe group (line 40 of Shen), and the battery pack (battery 42 of Shen); and when the battery pack is heated (when performing the battery temperature increasing mode, paragraph 0016), the multi-way valve (valve 43 of Shen) is configured for communication of the condenser (condenser 13 via heat exchanger 31, figure 1 of Shen), the second water pipe group (left portion of cooling water line 30, figure 1 of Shen), the third water pump (pump 34 of Shen), the third water pipe group (line 40 of Shen), and the battery pack (battery 42 of Shen).
Further, it is understood, claim 5 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured for...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the heat exchange unit (figure 1 of Lian) further comprises a powertrain component (motor 1 of Lian) and a front-end component (radiator 2 of Lian), the powertrain component comprises a powertrain (motor 1 of Lian) and a fourth water pipe group (piping before motor 1, as shown on figure 1 of Lian), the powertrain communicates with the multi-way valve (four-way valve 4 of Lian) through the fourth water pipe group (as shown on figure 1 of Lian), a fourth water pump (pump 8 of Lian) is disposed in the fourth water pipe group (as shown on figure 1 of Lian), the front-end component (radiator 2 of Lian) comprises a front-end module (radiator 2 of Lian) and a fifth water pipe group (piping after radiator 2, as shown on figure 1 of Lian), and the front-end module (radiator 2 of Lian) communicates with the multi-way valve (via port 44, as shown on figure 1 of Lian) through the fifth water pipe group (piping after radiator 2, as shown on figure 1 of Lian), and when heat is dissipated for the powertrain (as described in paragraph 0040 of Lian), the multi-way valve (four-way valve 4 of Lian) is configured to communicate with the powertrain (via port 43, figure 1 of Lian), the fourth water pipe group (piping before motor 1, as shown on figure 1 of Lian), the fourth water pump (pump 8 of Lian), the fifth water pipe group (piping after radiator 2, as shown on figure 1 of Lian), and the front-end module (radiator 2 of Lian).
Further, it is understood, claims 7 and 19 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured for...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as modified by Lian and Enokijima, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Yu et al (CN 112046242 A, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the heat exchange unit further comprises a powertrain component having at least; a powertrain and a fourth water pipe group, the powertrain communicates with the multi-way valve through the fourth water pipe group, a fourth water pump is disposed in the fourth water pipe group, and when heat is dissipated for the powertrain, the multi-way valve is configured to communicate with the evaporator, the first water pipe group, the fourth water pump, the fourth water pipe group, and the powertrain.
However, Yu teaches wherein the heat exchange unit (driving motor 35) further comprises a powertrain component (driving motor 35) having at least; a powertrain (driving motor 35) and a fourth water pipe group (figure 1), the powertrain (driving motor 35) communicates with the multi-way valve (four-way valve 2, figure 1) through the fourth water pipe group (figure 1), a fourth water pump (water pump) is disposed in the fourth water pipe group (figure 1), and when heat is dissipated for the powertrain (the motor to be cooled component comprises a driving motor 35, paragraph 0007), the multi-way valve (four-way valve 2, figure 1) is configured to communicate with the evaporator (the second heat exchanger 12 can be used as an evaporator, figure 1), the first water pipe group (306, fig 1), the fourth water pump (water pump 31), the fourth water pipe group (figure 1), and the powertrain (driving motor 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include wherein the heat exchange unit further comprises a powertrain component having at least; a powertrain and a fourth water pipe group, the powertrain communicates with the multi-way valve through the fourth water pipe group, a fourth water pump is disposed in the fourth water pipe group, and when heat is dissipated for the powertrain, the multi-way valve is configured to communicate with the evaporator, the first water pipe group, the fourth water pump, the fourth water pipe group, and the powertrain in view of the teachings of Yu in order to yield the predictable result of the heat of the motor system is released to the external environment further improving the heat in the carriage.
Further, it is understood, claim 6 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured for...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as modified by Lian and Enokijima, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Kajiya et al (US 20210323378 A1, hereinafter Kajiya).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a housing having an air inlet and an air outlet disposed thereon, wherein the air duct is formed between the air inlet and the air outlet, and both the evaporator and the condenser are disposed in the air duct.
However, Kajiya teaches further comprising: a housing (housing 65) having an air inlet and an air outlet (as shown on figure 4) disposed thereon, wherein the air duct (duct 66) is formed between the air inlet and the air outlet (as shown on figure 4), and both the evaporator (evaporator 62) and the condenser (condenser 63) are disposed in the air duct (as shown on figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a housing having an air inlet and an air outlet disposed thereon, wherein the air duct is formed between the air inlet and the air outlet, and both the evaporator and the condenser are disposed in the air duct in view of the teachings of Kajiya in order to yield the predictable result of providing cooling air to the passenger compartment.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as modified by Lian, Enokijima and Kajiya, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Froehling et al (US 9963010 B2, hereinafter Froehling).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a first switch disposed in the housing, wherein when the first switch is in a first state, air in the air duct passes through an air channel of the evaporator, and when the first switch is in a second state, the air in the air duct does not pass through the air channel of the evaporator.
However, Froehling teaches further comprising: a first switch (flap 33) disposed in the housing (air conditioning system 1, figure 4), wherein when the first switch (flap 33) is in a first state (flow paths 30, 32 are opened with the aid of an air deflector 33 designed as a flap, col 10 lines 29-30), air in the air duct passes through an air channel (flow path 28) of the evaporator (evaporator 7), and when the first switch (flap 33) is in a second state (flow paths 30, 32 are opened with the aid of an air deflector 33 designed as a flap, col 10 lines 29-30), the air in the air duct does not pass through the air channel (closed with the aid of an air deflector 33, col 10 line 30) of the evaporator (evaporator 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a first switch disposed in the housing, wherein when the first switch is in a first state, air in the air duct passes through an air channel of the evaporator, and when the first switch is in a second state, the air in the air duct does not pass through the air channel of the evaporator in view of the teachings of Froehling in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the flow path to be opened and closed by the flap.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach further comprising; a second switch (flap 34 of Froehling) disposed in the housing (air conditioning system 1, figure 4 of Froehling), when the second switch is in a first state (flap 34 is used to open the flow paths 31, col 10 lines 40-41 of Froehling), the air in the air duct passes through an air channel (flow path 29 of Froehling) of the condenser (condenser 8 of Froehling), and when the second switch (flap 34 of Froehling) is in a second state, the air in the air duct does not pass through the air channel (flap 34 is used to open the flow paths 31, col 10 lines 40-41 of Froehling) of the condenser (condenser 8 of Froehling).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach further comprising; a fan (fans 5/6, figure 4 of Froehling) located in the air duct of the housing (as shown on figure 4 of Froehling).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein a fresh air inlet is further provided on the housing, and the fresh air inlet is located between the fan and the air inlet, or the fresh air inlet corresponds to the fan (the air-mass flow drawn by the fan 5 from fresh air FL, circulating air UL or a mixture of fresh air FL and circulating air UL is directed over the evaporator 7, col 11 lines 29-31 of Froehling).
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763