DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are persuasive only in part.
First, while applicant does not argue the specification objection/amendments, the examiner merely notes that the specification amendments are incorrect (e.g., the second comparator circuit should be “124”, not “24”). Accordingly, the specification objection is repeated, in modified form.
Second, applicant’s claim amendments overcome most of the 112 issues raised in the previous Office action, except for claims 8 and 11 where noted issues were apparently not addressed by applicant.
In this respect, the examiner withdraws the rejections of claims 9 and 13, with the examiner understanding applicant’s intent is to claim a powered system in claim 9, and that the motor is configured to provide aircraft propulsion in claim 13, as would be understood by those skilled in this art.
Third, regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant argues:
All of the prior art references are directed to electric cars that include one or more DC power sources (batteries) that drive a motor. As amended, all claims now require an AC power source that drive the motor and DC or capacitive sources that provide power to the controller. In this manner, if an AC power source where to go down, the DC powered motor controller could still control the motor.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, since all of the references applied by the examiner also include inverters used in conjunction with the DC power sources (the batteries), wherein the inverters (e.g., when coupled with the batteries) are alternating current power sources1 e.g., “configured to supply electrical energy to the motor”, as claimed. Accordingly, applicants arguments are not persuasive in this respect, with the inverters of the primary references that supply AC power to the (AC) motors being shown below/on the next page by arrows annotated onto the FIGS. by the examiner:
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are only persuasive in part.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at amended published paragraph [0033] of the specification, "second comparator circuit 24" (one occurrence in the paragraph) should apparently read, “second comparator circuit 124” (as the other occurrence of the “second comparator circuit” already does).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, line 3, “to provide a desired hold-up time for the controller” is indefinite in the claim context and from the teachings of the specification (e.g., desired hold-up time defined particularly how so as to not constitute any or all times in the world with indeterminate metes and bounds, e.g., a second, a year, a lifetime, etc., and desired by whom or what, etc.?)
In claim 11, line 2, “a DC link configured to transmit electrical energy to the motor” is apparently misdescriptive of the invention and is unclear, since the motor 102 in FIG. 1 is supplied with (e.g., A.C.) electrical energy from the inverter 114, and the DC link 112 supplies (e.g., D.C.) electrical energy to the inverter 114, and not to the motor 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh et al. (5,796,175) in view of Takahashi (2020/0189395).
Itoh et al. (‘175) reveals e.g., in conjunction with FIG. 5:
per claim 1, a motor drive system comprising:
a motor [e.g., 2, etc. in FIG. 5];
a controller [e.g., 6, etc.];
an [e.g., 1, 4, etc., where “The motor 2 is energized by the inverter 1 responsive to phase control of the motor controller 8 for rotation at a given speed and a corresponding torque” (column 1, lines 54ff), as was well-known and conventional, where the inverter 1 when connected to the high-voltage battery 4 is the energy source for the motor 2] configured to supply electrical energy to the motor;
a direct current energy source [e.g., the low-voltage battery 5, etc.]; and
a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., the auxiliary battery (subcharge storage means e.g., in claim 6) 10 such as a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity (column 5, line 50), where the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7, while its output is supplied only to the ECU 6 and the energizing coil 3L], connected to the controller and the direct current energy source [e.g., as shown in FIG. 5; see e.g., column 5, lines 49ff, “a subcharge storage means 10 such as a secondary cell or a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity is connected to the output port of the DC/DC converter 7 in parallel with the low-voltage battery 5. The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”],
wherein either the direct current energy source or the energy storage device can provide electrical energy to the controller [e.g., column 1, lines 63ff, “In the above arrangement, as long as the low-voltage battery 5 holds a sufficient residual power storage, the power supply to the ECU 6, the relay 3L, and the motor controller 8 can be guaranteed by the low-voltage battery 5 as well as the DC/DC converter 7 even if the peripheral equipments 9 consume a large power”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient”; e.g., with electrical energy being provided through the diodes D2, D3, and/or relay 3L, as shown in FIG. 5; see column 6, lines 10ff, “It is also feasible that the voltage output of the low-voltage battery 5 is continuously monitored and if it is declined below a predetermined level (e.g. 7 V), the power supply to the ECU 6 is disconnected while the power supply is continued only to the energizing coil 3L”, with the examiner understanding that when the output of the low-voltage battery 5 is not below the predetermined level, its supply of power to the ECU 6 would have obviously been connected, as shown in FIG. 5; in this respect, see the description of FIG. 2 at column 4, lines 50ff, “the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are mainly power-supplied by the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7a while the sub power source 75 serves only as a backup power source to complement a shortage of the main supply”];
wherein the energy storage device is configured to supply the controller with electrical energy when there is a loss of energy from the second energy source [e.g., column 5, lines 52ff, “The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient.”];
wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., during regenerative braking, when the energizing coil 3L of the main switch 3 is energized; see column 2, lines 13ff, column 2, lines 56ff, column 3, lines 21ff, column 4, lines 9ff, column 4, lines 42ff, column 5, lines 26ff, and column 6, lines 25ff], charge the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., column 5, lines 59ff, “so that the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7”, wherein the charging operation by the DC/DC converter would have obviously been configured to occur during regenerative braking according to the regulated voltage of the inverter provided to the DC/DC converter 7 (as described at column 2, lines 13ff), as was well-known and conventional] with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., the motor 2 generates a counter-electromotive force due to the regenerative braking, at column 2, lines 13ff in Itoh et al. (‘175)];
While Itoh et al. (‘175) teaches that the auxiliary battery 10 in FIG. 5 provides backup power to the ECU 6 when the power supply from e.g., the low-voltage battery 5 is “insufficient”, it may be alleged that he does not expressly disclose the that the energy storage device (10) supplies the controller with electrical energy when there is a “loss of energy” from the second energy source or that the inverter 1 (e.g., in combination with the high-voltage battery 4) is an “alternating current source” for the motor 2, although the examiner believes these aspects of the claim language would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from the totality of the disclosure in Itoh et al. (‘175), even without further teaching.
However, in the context/field of an improved power supply system for a vehicle (that performs deceleration regeneration; paragraph [0027]) that includes a low voltage battery 31 charged by a DCDC converter 25 and a backup capacitor C3 which is fully charged with electric power supplied from the low voltage battery 31, Takahashi (‘395) teaches at paragraph [0071] that in the case where electric power cannot be supplied to the system ECU 8 from the low voltage battery 31, the electric power stored in the backup capacitor C3 is consumed by the main microcomputer 80 (or the gate drive circuit 90) as needed. Therefore, the backup capacitor C3 serves as the backup power supply for the system ECU 8 along with the backup power supply unit 5. Moreover, Takahashi (‘395) teaches at paragraph [0044] (and similarly at paragraph [0048] regarding the second inverter 24) that, “The first inverter 23 performs on/off driving of the switching devices of each of the phases in accordance with a gate drive signal generated at a predetermined timing by the gate drive circuit 90 of the system ECU 8, thereby converting DC power supplied [from the high voltage DCDC converter 22] into AC power to supply the AC power to the drive motor M, and converting AC power supplied from the drive motor M into DC power to supply the DC power to the high voltage DCDC converter 22.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or modify the Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device for an electric vehicle so that when electric power could not be supplied to the ECU 6 by the low-voltage battery 5, obviously reflecting a loss of energy from the claimed second energy source, electric power stored in the auxiliary battery 10 (e.g., implemented as a capacitor) would have been supplied to/consumed by the ECU 6, as taught by Takahashi et al. (‘395), and so that the inverter 1 would have been used (e.g., in conjunction with the high-voltage battery 4) for supplying AC power to the motor 2, in order that the auxiliary battery/capacitor 10 would serve as the backup power supply for the ECU 6 when the low-voltage battery 5 could not supply electric power to the ECU 6, as taught by Takahashi (‘395) and desired by Itoh et al. (‘175) himself, and in order to drive the motor 2 with AC power, as taught by Takahashi (‘395) and as was fully conventional, with a reasonable expectation of success, and as a e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or modified Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device would have rendered obvious:
per claim 1, . . . an alternating current energy source [e.g., 1, 4, etc., in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175), where “The motor 2 is energized by the inverter 1 responsive to phase control of the motor controller 8 for rotation at a given speed and a corresponding torque” (column 1, lines 54ff), as was well-known and conventional, where the inverter 1 when connected to the high-voltage battery 4 is the energy source for the motor 2, with the inverter 1 obviously producing an AC output to one having ordinary skill in this art; and where the inverter (when connected to the DC source and converting/inverting) obviously was a source of alternating current power for the motor, as specifically taught by Takahashi (‘395) at paragraphs [0044], [0048], etc.] configured to supply electrical energy to the motor;
a direct current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘’175), the low-voltage battery 5, etc.]; and
a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., the auxiliary battery (subcharge storage means) 10 in Itoh et al. (‘175) such as a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity, where the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7, while its output is supplied only to the ECU 6 and the energizing coil 3L], connected to the controller and the direct current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), as shown in FIG. 5; see e.g., column 5, lines 49ff, “a subcharge storage means 10 such as a secondary cell or a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity is connected to the output port of the DC/DC converter 7 in parallel with the low-voltage battery 5. The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”],
wherein either the direct current energy source or the energy storage device can provide electrical energy to the controller [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), column 1, lines 63ff, “In the above arrangement, as long as the low-voltage battery 5 holds a sufficient residual power storage, the power supply to the ECU 6, the relay 3L, and the motor controller 8 can be guaranteed by the low-voltage battery 5 as well as the DC/DC converter 7 even if the peripheral equipments 9 consume a large power”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient”; e.g., with electrical energy being provided through the diodes D2, D3, and/or relay 3L, as shown in FIG. 5; see column 6, lines 10ff, “It is also feasible that the voltage output of the low-voltage battery 5 is continuously monitored and if it is declined below a predetermined level (e.g. 7 V), the power supply to the ECU 6 is disconnected while the power supply is continued only to the energizing coil 3L”, with the examiner understanding that when the output of the low-voltage battery 5 is not below the predetermined level, its supply of power to the ECU 6 would have obviously been connected, as shown in FIG. 5; in this respect, see the description of FIG. 2 at column 4, lines 50ff, “the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are mainly power-supplied by the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7a while the sub power source 75 serves only as a backup power source to complement a shortage of the main supply”];
wherein the energy storage device is configured to supply the controller with electrical energy when there is a loss of energy from the second energy source [e.g., paragraph [0071] in Takahashi (‘395) when the low-voltage battery 31 cannot supply electric power to the system ECU; and column 5, lines 52ff in Itoh et al. (‘175), “The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient.”];
wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), during regenerative braking, when the energizing coil 3L of the main switch 3 is energized; see column 2, lines 13ff, column 2, lines 56ff, column 3, lines 21ff, column 4, lines 9ff, column 4, lines 42ff, column 5, lines 26ff, and column 6, lines 25ff], charge the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), column 5, lines 59ff, “so that the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7”, wherein the charging operation by the DC/DC converter would have obviously been configured to occur during regenerative braking according to the regulated voltage of the inverter provided to the DC/DC converter 7 (as described at column 2, lines 13ff), as was well-known and conventional] with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., the motor 2 generates a counter-electromotive force due to the regenerative braking, at column 2, lines 13ff in Itoh et al. (‘175)];
per claim 9, depending from claim 1, wherein the direct current energy source is at lower voltage than the first energy source [e.g., 12V of the low-voltage battery 5 in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175) versus 288 V for the high-voltage battery 4 (and obviously the inverted voltage of the inverter 1 during high-power (> 12V) drive/braking operations of the vehicle];
per claim 11, depending from claim 1, wherein the motor drive system comprises a DC link [e.g., between the main switch 3 and the inverter 1, in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175)] configured to transmit electrical energy to the motor [e.g., 2 in Itoh et al. (‘175)] and a DC/DC converter configured to reduce a voltage of the DC link [e.g., 7 in Itoh et al. (‘175), e.g., 288V → 12V];
per claim 15, a method of controlling a motor drive system, the method comprising:
supplying electrical energy to a motor from an alternating current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), to motor 2 from high-voltage battery 4 and inverter 1, in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175); where the inverter supplies AC power to the drive motor as taught by Takahashi (‘395)];
supplying electrical energy to a controller from a direct current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), to ECU 6 from low-voltage battery 5, in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175)];
supplying the controller with electrical energy from a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), supplying the ECU 6 from the auxiliary battery 10 in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175), where the auxiliary battery 10 is “a subcharge storage means 10 such as a secondary cell or a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity” (column 5, lines 49ff] when there is a loss of energy from the direct current energy source [e.g., as taught at paragraph [0071] in Takahashi (‘395) when the low-voltage battery 31 (5) cannot supply electric power to the system ECU; and as suggested by the insufficient power supply in Itoh et al. (‘175), column 5, lines 62ff]; and
charging the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., column 5, lines 59ff in Itoh et al. (‘175), “so that the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7”, wherein the charging operation by the DC/DC converter would have obviously been configured to occur during regenerative braking according to the regulated voltage of the inverter provided to the DC/DC converter 7 (as described at column 2, lines 13ff), as was well-known and conventional, wherein the auxiliary battery 10 is a subcharge storage means such as a supercapacitor (e.g., column 5, line 50)], during a braking operation [e.g., during regenerative braking, when the energizing coil 3L of the main switch 3 is energized], with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., the motor 2 generates a counter-electromotive force due to the regenerative braking, at column 2, lines 13ff in Itoh et al. (‘175)];
Claims 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh et al. (5,796,175) in view of Takahashi (2020/0189395) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (2008/0087479).
Itoh et al. (‘175) as implemented or modified in view of Takahashi et al. (‘395) has been described above.
The implemented or modified Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device for an electric vehicle may not reveal the aircraft limitations.
However, in the context/field of an improved vehicular power system implementing regenerative braking with a traction motor 40 and control method thereof, Kang (‘479) teaches that that the traction motor 40 is connected to energy sources (e.g., 10, 30) and is use to “drive a vehicle” (paragraph [0016]), wherein it is indicated at paragraph [0035] that, “the term ‘vehicle’ or ‘vehicular’ or other similar term as used herein is inclusive of motor vehicles in general such as passenger automobiles including sports utility vehicles (SUV), buses, trucks, various commercial vehicles, watercraft including a variety of boats and ships, aircraft, and the like.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement of further modify the Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device for an electric vehicle so that the vehicle was an aircraft, as taught by Kang (‘479), and so that the motor 2 was implemented as a traction motor used to drive the vehicle (i.e., aircraft), as taught by Kang (‘479), e.g., in order that the vehicle could be used for flight transportation, with a reasonable expectation of success, and as a e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device would have rendered obvious:
per claim 13, depending from claim 1, wherein the motor is configured to provide aircraft propulsion [e.g., as taught at paragraphs [0016], [0035], etc. of Kang (‘479)];
per claim 14, an aircraft [e.g., as taught at paragraphs [0016], [0035], etc. of Kang (‘479)] comprising:
a motor drive system [e.g., as taught by Itoh et al. (‘175)] comprising:
a motor [e.g., 2, etc. in FIG. 5] configured to provide aircraft propulsion [e.g., as taught at paragraphs [0016], [0035], etc. of Kang (‘479)] to the aircraft [e.g., the vehicle inclusive of an aircraft, as taught by Kang (‘479)];
a controller [e.g., 6, etc. in Itoh et al. (‘175)];
an alternating current energy source [e.g., 1, 4, etc., in FIG. 5 of Itoh et al. (‘175), where “The motor 2 is energized by the inverter 1 responsive to phase control of the motor controller 8 for rotation at a given speed and a corresponding torque” (column 1, lines 54ff), as was well-known and conventional, where the inverter 1 when connected to the high-voltage battery 4 is the energy source for the motor 2, with the inverter 1 obviously producing an AC output to one having ordinary skill in this art; and where the inverter (when connected to the DC source and converting/inverting) obviously was a source of alternating current power for the motor, as taught by Takahashi (‘395) at paragraphs [0044], [0048], etc.] configured to supply electrical energy to the motor;
a direct current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘’175), the low-voltage battery 5, etc.]; and
a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., the auxiliary battery (subcharge storage means) 10 in Itoh et al. (‘175) such as a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity, where the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7, while its output is supplied only to the ECU 6 and the energizing coil 3L], connected to the controller and the direct current energy source [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), as shown in FIG. 5; see e.g., column 5, lines 49ff, “a subcharge storage means 10 such as a secondary cell or a supercapacitor having a large storage capacity is connected to the output port of the DC/DC converter 7 in parallel with the low-voltage battery 5. The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”],
wherein either the direct current energy source or the energy storage device can provide electrical energy to the controller [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), column 1, lines 63ff, “In the above arrangement, as long as the low-voltage battery 5 holds a sufficient residual power storage, the power supply to the ECU 6, the relay 3L, and the motor controller 8 can be guaranteed by the low-voltage battery 5 as well as the DC/DC converter 7 even if the peripheral equipments 9 consume a large power”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient”; e.g., with electrical energy being provided through the diodes D2, D3, and/or relay 3L, as shown in FIG. 5; see column 6, lines 10ff, “It is also feasible that the voltage output of the low-voltage battery 5 is continuously monitored and if it is declined below a predetermined level (e.g. 7 V), the power supply to the ECU 6 is disconnected while the power supply is continued only to the energizing coil 3L”, with the examiner understanding that when the output of the low-voltage battery 5 is not below the predetermined level, its supply of power to the ECU 6 would have obviously been connected, as shown in FIG. 5; in this respect, see the description of FIG. 2 at column 4, lines 50ff, “the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are mainly power-supplied by the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7a while the sub power source 75 serves only as a backup power source to complement a shortage of the main supply”];
wherein the energy storage device is configured to supply the controller with electrical energy when there is a loss of energy from the second energy source [e.g., paragraph [0071] in Takahashi (‘395) when the low-voltage battery 31 cannot supply electric power to the system ECU; and column 5, lines 52ff in Itoh et al. (‘175), “The output of the subcharge storage means 10 is supplied as a backup power to the ECU 6 and the relay 3L of the main switch 3”; see also column 5, lines 62ff, “According to the third embodiment, the ECU 6 and the relay 3L are energized by the subcharge storage means 10 regardless of the power consumption in the peripheral equipments 9 when the power supply from the low-voltage battery 5 and the DC/DC converter 7 is insufficient.”];
wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), during regenerative braking, when the energizing coil 3L of the main switch 3 is energized; see column 2, lines 13ff, column 2, lines 56ff, column 3, lines 21ff, column 4, lines 9ff, column 4, lines 42ff, column 5, lines 26ff, and column 6, lines 25ff], charge the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., in Itoh et al. (‘175), column 5, lines 59ff, “so that the auxiliary battery 10 is charged by the DC/DC converter 7”, wherein the charging operation by the DC/DC converter would have obviously been configured to occur during regenerative braking according to the regulated voltage of the inverter provided to the DC/DC converter 7 (as described at column 2, lines 13ff), as was well-known and conventional] with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., the motor 2 generates a counter-electromotive force due to the regenerative braking, at column 2, lines 13ff in Itoh et al. (‘175)];
Claims 1 to 12 and 15 to 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (2021/0104956) in view of Nomura et al. (5,446,365).
Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) reveals:
per claim 1, a motor drive system comprising:
a motor [e.g., the motor generator MG, etc. in FIG. 1];
a controller [e.g., the ECU 15, etc.];
an alternating current energy source [e.g., the battery BT combined with the step-up/down converter 4 and the inverter 9, etc., wherein “The inverter 9 converts the DC power supplied from the step-up/down converter 4 into AC power and supplies the AC power to the motor generator MG” (paragraph [0035])] configured to supply electrical energy to the motor;
a[2] direct current energy source [e.g., the control power supply 10, as “(a second DC power supply)” at paragraph [0036], and optionally including the second capacitor 6 (which supplies the first capacitor 3 after time t4 in FIG. 3), etc.]; and
a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., the first capacitor 3 in combination with the backup power supply 12, etc., with the examiner noting that the first capacitor 3 is disposed in parallel with the backup power supply 12, in FIG. 1 (see e.g., paragraph [0038])] connected to the controller and the direct current energy source [e.g., in FIG. 1 at the depicted node (“●”) at the end of the power supply line L originating from the control power supply 10];
wherein either the direct current energy source or the energy storage device [e.g., either the control power supply 10 or the backup power supply 12, as shown in FIG. 1 at the depicted node (“●”)] can provide electrical energy to the controller [e.g., to the ECU 15];
wherein the energy storage device is configured to supply the controller with electrical energy when there is a loss of energy from the second energy source [e.g., paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0056], claim 3, etc., “further comprising: a backup power supply [12] configured to supply power stored in the first capacitor [3] to the control device when a power supply from the second DC power supply [10] to the control device is stopped” (e.g., claim 3)];
wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., paragraph [0021], “On the other hand, when the vehicle A is being braked or the acceleration on a downward slope is being reduced, the motor generator MG operates as a generator and regenerates generated power (hereinafter, referred to as “regenerative power”) to the power control device 1.”], charge the capacitive energy storage device with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., paragraph [0056], “However, when the motor generator MG is in a rotating state, the regenerative power generated in the motor generator MG is stepped-down by the step-up/down converter 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3.” If not implicit in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the regenerative power stepped-down by the step-up/down converted 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3 would have been supplied “while the vehicle A is being braked” (paragraph [0021]), since regenerative power was conventionally generated during “regenerative braking” in vehicles equipped with electric (drive) motors, as was well-known and conventional, and thus would have obviously been supplied “during a braking operation”];
While the examiner believes that Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) fairly reveals or renders obvious all limitations in the independent claims in the manner detailed above when interpreted from the perspective of one having ordinary skill in the art, it may be alleged that he does not explicitly reveal the energy storage device that is charged “during a braking operation”, or explicitly reveal details of the charge level(s) and/or dissipating/resistor recited in the dependent claims, or that the second energy source is at lower voltage than the first energy source, although this language is tentatively indefinite.
However, in the context/field of an improved method and apparatus for controlling a battery car, Nomura et al. (‘365) teaches as indicated at column 4, lines 57ff that even when the battery car runs on a long downward slope (as also indicated by Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) at paragraph [0021]), the motor 3 generates braking torque[3], and regeneration power is generated by the main circuit unit 1, so that the charge stored in the electric double-layered capacitor 21 may be greater than the charge stored in the initial charging operation. In this case, the battery 6 is fully charged and excess charge is stored only in the double-layered capacitor 21. Moreover, Nomura et al. (‘365) teaches in conjunction with FIGS 1 and 2 that a discharge resistor (18 in FIG. 1) is provided, in parallel with a capacitor 2, across a substantially constant DC power source that is used for supplying a variable current to a main circuit 1 of a motor control unit 20, wherein when the motor 3 is decelerated, regeneration power resulting from a braking torque of the vehicle and generated by the main circuit 1 (which may include an inverter; column 6, line 55) causes the voltage of the capacitor (2, 21) to increase to a higher level than the battery 6. When the charging voltage of the capacitor 2 reaches a predetermined voltage, the voltage detection unit 16 outputs an ON command to switch 17 to allow current to flow thought discharge resistor (18), thereby preventing overvoltage at the capacitor regeneration power resulting from a braking torque of the vehicle and generated by the main circuit 1 (which may include an inverter; column 6, line 55) causes the voltage of the capacitor (2, 21) to increase to a higher level than the battery 6. When the charging voltage of the capacitor 2 reaches a predetermined voltage, the voltage detection unit 16 outputs an ON command to switch 17 to allow current to flow thought discharge resistor (18), thereby preventing overvoltage at the capacitor (2, 21). See e.g., column 1, lines 43ff.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or modify the Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) power control device so that when the vehicle was being braked or when the acceleration on a downward slope was being reduced, this braking or reduction in acceleration would have been implemented using a braking torque generated by the motor generator MG, as a braking operation, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365) and as was conventional for so-called “regenerative braking” in vehicles, and so that during the braking operation, the regenerative power generated in the motor generator MG would have been stepped-down by the step-up/down converter 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3, as taught by Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) himself, in order to store charge in (i.e., to charge) the first capacitor 3 as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365), for the purpose of allowing the vehicle to be braked or to have its acceleration reduced, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) power control device so that a discharge resistor (18) would have been provided in parallel with the first capacitor 3, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365) e.g., in conjunction with FIG. 1, and so that when the regeneration power resulting from a braking torque of the vehicle’s motor generator causes the voltage of the capacitor 3 to increase to a predetermined voltage, a switch to allow current to flow thought discharge resistor (18) would have been commanded ON, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365), thereby preventing overvoltage/overcharge at the capacitor 3, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Moreover, regarding dependent claims, from the schematic in FIG. 1 of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) and the operation described, it would have been obvious (to those having ordinary skill in the art) that the control power supply 10 (together with the diode 11) would have maintained the output voltage of the backup power supply 12 (included in the energy storage device) at a voltage level equal to the output voltage of the control power supply 10 obviously minus the forward voltage (e.g., 0.7 V) of the diode 11, and that the control power supply 10 would have obviously been at a lower voltage than the battery BT, e.g., so that the power control device would operate as described by Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), e.g., with the backup power supply 12 stepping-down [the voltage of] the power from the first capacitor 3 and supplying it to the motor ECU 15, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or modified Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) power control device would have rendered obvious:
per claim 1, . . . wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., paragraph [0021] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “On the other hand, when the vehicle A is being braked or the acceleration on a downward slope is being reduced, the motor generator MG operates as a generator and regenerates generated power (hereinafter, referred to as “regenerative power”) to the power control device 1”, implemented using a braking torque generated by the motor generator MG, as a braking operation, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365) and as was conventional for regenerative braking in vehicles], charge the capacitive energy storage device with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., paragraph [0056], “However, when the motor generator MG is in a rotating state, the regenerative power generated in the motor generator MG is stepped-down by the step-up/down converter 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3.” If not implicit in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the regenerative power stepped-down by the step-up/down converted 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3 would have obviously been supplied “while the vehicle A is being braked” (paragraph [0021]), as was conventional, and thus would have been supplied “during a braking operation” with braking torque generated by the motor generator MG as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365); see also column 1, lines 43ff in Nomura et al. (365), “When the motor is decelerated while being rotated at a high speed, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased to a higher level than that of the battery 6 by regeneration power from the main circuit unit 1. Therefore, charging current flows to the battery 6 through a switch element 12, a diode 13, and the reactor 7”; see also column 2, lines 2ff in Nomura et al. (‘365), “if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18”];
per claim 2, depending from claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine a charge level of the capacitive energy storage device relative to a predetermined threshold value [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), to measure the inter-terminal voltage Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 using the first voltage sensor 7 and to compare it (at 31 in FIG. 2 to obtain the difference ΔV; e.g., paragraphs [0047] to [0052]) to the target voltage VM];
per claim 3, depending from claim 2, wherein the direct current energy source [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the control power supply 10, and including for claim 3 the second capacitor 6 (which supplies the first capacitor 3 after time t4 in FIG. 3)] is configured to charge the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., including the first capacitor 3 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) that is configured to be charged by the second capacitor 6] to the predetermined threshold value when the controller determines that the charge level of the capacitive energy storage device is below the predetermined threshold value [e.g., paragraph [0059] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “If the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 falls below the target voltage value VM at a time t4, electric charges of the second capacitor 6 move to the first capacitor 3. As a result, the inter-terminal voltage value Vc2 of the second capacitor 6 decreases while the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 is maintained at the target voltage value VM.”; see also paragraph [0057], “As a result, the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 is maintained at the target voltage value VM lower than an overvoltage value Vo, and the step-up operation by the step-up/down converter 4 is limited.”];
per claim 4, depending from claim 2, wherein the direct current energy source is configured to maintain the charge level of the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., paragraph [0054] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “Here, the control power supply 10 supplies power to the motor ECU 15 via the diode 11. The backup power supply 12 steps-down the power from the first capacitor 3 and supply it to the motor ECU 15.”; and as shown by the schematic of FIG. 1, where the control power supply 10 (together with the diode 11) maintains the output voltage of the backup power supply 12 (included in the energy storage device) at a voltage level equal to the output voltage of the control power supply 10 minus the forward voltage (e.g., 0.7 V) of the diode 11, wherein the output voltage of the backup power supply 12 is obviously a stepped-down portion of the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 at which the first capacitor 3 is maintained] when the controller determines that the charge level of the capacitive energy storage device is at the predetermined threshold value [e.g., during the times “when” Vc1 equals VM in FIG. 3 of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956); see also paragraph [0054], “Here, the control power supply 10 supplies power to the motor ECU 15 via the diode 11. The backup power supply 12 steps-down the power from the first capacitor 3 and supply it to the motor ECU 15.”];
per claim 5, depending from claim 2, wherein the direct current energy source is configured to stop charging the capacitive energy storage device when the controller determines that the charge level of the capacitive energy storage device is above the predetermined threshold value [e.g., paragraph [0058] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “Note that a transfer of electric charges from the second capacitor 6 to the first capacitor 3 is not performed when the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the second capacitor 6 exceeds the target voltage value VM. In this case, power is supplied from the first capacitor 3 to the auxiliary device 5 and the backup power supply 12, and the inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 of the first capacitor 3 is decreased.”];
per claim 6, depending from claim 2, wherein the capacitive energy storage device is configured to supply electrical energy to the controller when the controller determines that the charge level of the capacitive energy storage device is above the predetermined threshold value [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), when the determined inter-terminal voltage value Vc1 is at a value (e.g., above zero) that causes the [stepped-down; paragraph [0054]] backup voltage Va outputted by the backup power supply 12 to exceed (e.g., obviously by the forward voltage of the diode 11) the voltage of the control power supply 10];
per claim 7, depending from claim 2, wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during the braking operation, charge the capacitive energy storage device [e.g., the first capacitor 3, etc. in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)] to a charge level above the predetermined threshold with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., to the “predetermined voltage” at column 1, lines 58ff in Nomura et al. (‘365), as a charge level further increased above the voltage of the battery BT and obviously further increased above the target voltage value VM of the first capacitor 3 of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) (see e.g., FIG. 3)];
per claim 8, depending from claim 2, wherein the predetermined threshold value is a minimum charge level of the capacitive energy storage device that is required to provide a desired hold-up time for the controller [e.g., the target voltage value VM of the first capacitor 3 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) provides the backup voltage Va at the output of the backup power supply (12) for desired times, e.g., in order to supply power stored in the first capacitor 3 to the control device 15 at times when a power supply from the second DC power supply 10 to the control device is stopped, as desired (e.g., claim 3)];
per claim 9, depending from claim 1, wherein the direct current energy source is at lower voltage than the alternating current energy source [e.g., paragraph [0054] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “The backup power supply 12 steps-down the power from the first capacitor 3 and supply it to the motor ECU 15.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that if the backup power supply 12 steps down the power from the first capacitor 3 to act as a backup for the control power supply 10, and if the first capacitor 3 is arranged in parallel with the battery BT as shown in FIG. 1, then the control power supply 10 would have obviously been at a lower voltage than the battery BT, e.g., so that the power control device would operate as described];
per claim 10, depending from claim 2, wherein the motor drive system comprises a resistor [e.g., the discharge resistor 18 in FIG. 1 (and utilized in FIG. 2, but not shown; column 4, lines 66ff) of Nomura et al. (‘365)] configured to dissipate regenerative energy from the motor during the braking operation:
(i) when the capacitive energy storage device reaches full capacity [e.g., to prevent the capacitor (e.g., the first capacitor 3 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)) from overvoltage or overcharge, as taught at column 1, line 63 and column 5, lines 3ff of Nomura et al. (‘365)]; and/or
(ii) when the rate at which regenerative energy is generated exceeds the rate at which the capacitive energy storage device can be charged [e.g., this is an alternative limitation that need not be shown by the examiner, but is taught at column 2, lines 1ff by Nomura et al. (‘365), “Even when the battery is not fully charged, if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18.”];
per claim 11, depending from claim 1, wherein the motor drive system comprises a DC link [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), between the [DC] battery BT and the step-up/down converter 4 in FIG. 1 of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)] configured to transmit electrical energy to the motor [e.g., to the inverter 9 which provides electrical energy to MG, in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)] and a DC/DC converter [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), in the backup power supply 12; e.g., paragraphs [0038], [0054], etc.] configured to reduce a voltage of the DC link [e.g., paragraph [0054] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “The backup power supply 12 steps-down the power from the first capacitor 3 and supply it to the motor ECU 15.”];
per claim 12, depending from claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine that regenerative energy is being generated when a voltage of the DC link exceeds a predefined threshold value [e.g., column 1, lines 43ff in Nomura et al. (365), “When the motor is decelerated while being rotated at a high speed, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased to a higher level than that of the battery 6 by regeneration power from the main circuit unit 1”, with the voltage detection unit 16 monitoring the voltage and controlling the switch element 17 when the charging voltage of the capacitor 2 (obviously the first capacitor 3 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)) reaches the predetermined voltage];
per claim 15, a method of controlling a motor drive system, the method comprising:
supplying electrical energy to a motor [e.g., the motor generator MG in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)] from an alternating current energy source [e.g., the battery BT, the step-up/down converter 4, and the inverter 9 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), wherein “The inverter 9 converts the DC power supplied from the step-up/down converter 4 into AC power and supplies the AC power to the motor generator MG” (paragraph [0035])];
supplying electrical energy to a controller [e.g., the ECU 15 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956)] from a direct current energy source [e.g., from the control power supply 10 in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), as a second DC power supply (paragraph [0036])];
supplying the controller with electrical energy from a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., from the first capacitor 3 in combination with the backup power supply 12, in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956); e.g., paragraph [0038]] when there is a loss of energy from the direct current energy source [e.g., paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0056], claim 3, etc. in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “further comprising: a backup power supply [12] configured to supply power stored in the first capacitor [3] to the control device when a power supply from the second DC power supply [10] to the control device is stopped” (e.g., claim 3)]; and
charging the capacitive energy storage device, during a braking operation [e.g., paragraph [0021] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “On the other hand, when the vehicle A is being braked or the acceleration on a downward slope is being reduced, the motor generator MG operates as a generator and regenerates generated power (hereinafter, referred to as “regenerative power”) to the power control device 1”, implemented using a braking torque generated by the motor generator MG, as a braking operation, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365) and as was conventional for regenerative braking in vehicles], with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., paragraph [0056] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “However, when the motor generator MG is in a rotating state, the regenerative power generated in the motor generator MG is stepped-down by the step-up/down converter 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3.” If not implicit in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the regenerative power stepped-down by the step-up/down converted 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3 would have obviously been supplied “while the vehicle A is being braked” (paragraph [0021]), as was conventional, and thus would have been supplied “during a braking operation” with braking torque generated by the motor generator MG as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365); see also column 1, lines 43ff in Nomura et al. (365), “When the motor is decelerated while being rotated at a high speed, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased to a higher level than that of the battery 6 by regeneration power from the main circuit unit 1. Therefore, charging current flows to the battery 6 through a switch element 12, a diode 13, and the reactor 7”; see also column 2, lines 2ff in Nomura et al. (‘365), “if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18”];
per claim 16, depending from claim 2, wherein the motor drive system comprises a resistor [e.g., the discharge resistor 18 in FIG. 1 (and utilized in FIG. 2, but not shown; column 4, lines 66ff) of Nomura et al. (‘365)] configured to dissipate regenerative energy from the motor during the braking operation when the rate at which regenerative energy is generated exceeds the rate [e.g., thereby producing “excess regeneration power” (e.g., after the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased) at column 2, lines 1ff in Nomura et al. (365) which is dissipated in the discharge resistor 18] at which the capacitive energy storage device can be charged [e.g., see column 2, lines 1ff by Nomura et al. (‘365), “Even when the battery is not fully charged, if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18.”];
per claim 17, depending from claim 15, further comprising dissipating regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., by means of the discharge resistor 18 in FIG. 1 (and utilized in FIG. 2, but not shown; column 4, lines 66ff) of Nomura et al. (‘365)] during the braking operation when the rate at which regenerative energy is generated exceeds the rate [e.g., thereby producing “excess regeneration power” (e.g., after the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased) at column 2, lines 1ff in Nomura et al. (365) which is dissipated in the discharge resistor 18] at which the capacitive energy storage device can be charged [e.g., see column 2, lines 1ff by Nomura et al. (‘365), “Even when the battery is not fully charged, if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18.”];
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (2021/0104956) in view of Nomura et al. (5,446,365) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (2008/0087479).
Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) as implemented or modified in view of Nomura et al. (365) has been described above.
The implemented or modified Itoh et al. (‘175) power supply control device for an electric vehicle may not reveal the aircraft limitations.
However, in the context/field of an improved vehicular power system implementing regenerative braking with a traction motor 40 and control method thereof, Kang (‘479) teaches that that the traction motor 40 is connected to energy sources (e.g., 10, 30) and is use to “drive a vehicle” (paragraph [0016]), wherein it is indicated at paragraph [0035] that, “the term ‘vehicle’ or ‘vehicular’ or other similar term as used herein is inclusive of motor vehicles in general such as passenger automobiles including sports utility vehicles (SUV), buses, trucks, various commercial vehicles, watercraft including a variety of boats and ships, aircraft, and the like.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement of further modify the Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) power control device so that the vehicle was an aircraft, as taught by Kang (‘479), and so that the motor 2 was implemented as a traction motor used to drive the vehicle (i.e., aircraft), as taught by Kang (‘479), e.g., in order that the vehicle could be used for flight transportation, with a reasonable expectation of success, and as a e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) power control device would have rendered obvious:
per claim 13, depending from claim 1, wherein the motor is configured to provide aircraft propulsion [e.g., as taught at paragraphs [0016], [0035], etc. of Kang (‘479)];
per claim 14, an aircraft [e.g., as taught at paragraphs [0016], [0035], etc. of Kang (‘479)] comprising: a motor drive system [e.g., as described above, e.g., with reference to claim 1] comprising:
a motor [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the motor generator MG, etc. in FIG. 1];
a controller [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the ECU 15, etc.];
an alternating current energy source [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the battery BT combined with the step-up/down converter 4 and the inverter 9, etc., wherein “The inverter 9 converts the DC power supplied from the step-up/down converter 4 into AC power and supplies the AC power to the motor generator MG” (paragraph [0035])] configured to supply electrical energy to the motor;
a[4] direct current energy source [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the control power supply 10, as “(a second DC power supply)” at paragraph [0036], and optionally including the second capacitor 6 (which supplies the first capacitor 3 after time t4 in FIG. 3), etc.]; and
a capacitive energy storage device [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), the first capacitor 3 in combination with the backup power supply 12, etc., with the examiner noting that the first capacitor 3 is disposed in parallel with the backup power supply 12, in FIG. 1 (see e.g., paragraph [0038])] connected to the controller and the direct current energy source [e.g., in FIG. 1 of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), at the depicted node (“●”) at the end of the power supply line L originating from the control power supply 10];
wherein either the direct current energy source or the energy storage device [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), either the control power supply 10 or the backup power supply 12, as shown in FIG. 1 at the depicted node (“●”)] can provide electrical energy to the controller [e.g., to the ECU 15];
wherein the energy storage device is configured to supply the controller with electrical energy when there is a loss of energy from the second energy source [e.g., in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0056], claim 3, etc., “further comprising: a backup power supply [12] configured to supply power stored in the first capacitor [3] to the control device when a power supply from the second DC power supply [10] to the control device is stopped” (e.g., claim 3)];
wherein the motor drive system is configured to, during a braking operation [e.g., paragraph [0021] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “On the other hand, when the vehicle A is being braked or the acceleration on a downward slope is being reduced, the motor generator MG operates as a generator and regenerates generated power (hereinafter, referred to as “regenerative power”) to the power control device 1”, implemented using a braking torque generated by the motor generator MG, as a braking operation, as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365) and as was conventional for regenerative braking in vehicles], charge the capacitive energy storage device with regenerative energy from the motor [e.g., paragraph [0056] in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), “However, when the motor generator MG is in a rotating state, the regenerative power generated in the motor generator MG is stepped-down by the step-up/down converter 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3.” If not implicit in Yamaguchi et al. (‘956), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the regenerative power stepped-down by the step-up/down converted 4 and supplied to the first capacitor 3 would have obviously been supplied “while the vehicle A is being braked” (paragraph [0021]), as was conventional, and thus would have been supplied “during a braking operation” with braking torque generated by the motor generator MG as taught by Nomura et al. (‘365); see also column 1, lines 43ff in Nomura et al. (365), “When the motor is decelerated while being rotated at a high speed, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased to a higher level than that of the battery 6 by regeneration power from the main circuit unit 1. Therefore, charging current flows to the battery 6 through a switch element 12, a diode 13, and the reactor 7”; see also column 2, lines 2ff in Nomura et al. (‘365), “if the motor 3 is decelerated rapidly and a too great regeneration power which exceeds the allowable charging current of the battery 6 is generated in a short period of time, the voltage of the capacitor 2 is increased and the excess regeneration power is discharged as heat energy through the discharge resistor 18”];
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references to Ise Corp. cited herewith are similar to the “D1” reference (i.e., Flett, 2011/0100735) cited by the EPO and made of record previously by the examiner on the previous PTO-892. For example, Flett (2010/0133025, cited herewith; see e.g., paragraph [0022]) reveals a three phase AC permanent magnet synchronous generator 114 rated at about 250 kW, which is similar to the three phase AC permanent magnet synchronous generator 114 in D1 Flett (‘735).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A TESTARDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
1 inverter
(1) A circuit or device whose output analog variable is equal in magnitude to its input analog variable, but is of opposite sign or polarity. (C) 610.10-1994w
(2) (electric power) A machine, device, or system that changes direct-current power to alternating-current power.
[From: The Authoritative Dictionary of IEEE Standards Terms Seventh Edition, Copyright 2000 by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Retrieved 9 June 2026.]
2 It has been established that “[a]s a general rule, the words ‘a’ or ‘an’ in a patent claim carry the meaning of ‘one or more.’” TiVo, Inc. v. EchoStar Commc’ns Corp., 516 F.3d 1290, 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2008). It has also been held that “[t]he exceptions to this rule are extremely limited: a patentee must evince a clear intent to limit ‘a’ or ‘an’ to ‘one.’” Baldwin Graphic Sys., Inc. v. Siebert, Inc., 512 F.3d 1338, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).
3 And thus, even the regeneration of generated power on the downward slope at paragraph [0021] of Yamaguchi et al. (‘956) would have constituted a “braking operation” as claimed, since it generates a braking torque.
4 It has been established that “[a]s a general rule, the words ‘a’ or ‘an’ in a patent claim carry the meaning of ‘one or more.’” TiVo, Inc. v. EchoStar Commc’ns Corp., 516 F.3d 1290, 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2008). It has also been held that “[t]he exceptions to this rule are extremely limited: a patentee must evince a clear intent to limit ‘a’ or ‘an’ to ‘one.’” Baldwin Graphic Sys., Inc. v. Siebert, Inc., 512 F.3d 1338, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).