DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
3. Claims 1 and 8 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano (US 20210139017 A1) in view of Dyer (US 20210374623 A1).
8. Regarding Claim 1, Sugano teaches a control device configured to remotely control a plurality of mobile objects, comprising (Sugano: [0040]):
Processing circuitry configured to (Sugano: [0048]):
Generate a control command corresponding to each of the plurality of mobile objects (Sugano: [0037] and [0098]);
Transmit, to each mobile object of the plurality of mobile objects, the control command corresponding to the mobile object (Sugano: [0113] and [0131]);
Acquire command information, internal sensor information, and external sensor information (Sugano: [0112], [0113], and [0131]),
The command information being related to the control command (Sugano: [0113] and [0131]),
The internal sensor information being related to a state of movement of the mobile object detected by an internal sensor mounted in the mobile object (Sugano: [0116]),
The external sensor information being related to a state of movement of the mobile object detected by an external sensor located outside of the mobile object (Sugano: [0043] and [0043]);
And detect that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command… by comparing at least two of the command information, the internal sensor information, and the external sensor information (Sugano: [0065] and [0100] Note that comparing internal and external information to determine a vehicle abnormality based on a predetermined threshold is equivalent to detecting the control command transmitted to one of the mobile objects does not correspond with the control command.).
Sugano fails to explicitly teach in a case that includes a case where a communication device removed from one of the plurality of mobile objects is erroneously mounted onto another one of the plurality of mobile objects.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dyer teaches to detect that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command, in a case that includes a case where a communication device removed from one of the plurality of mobile objects is erroneously mounted onto another one of the plurality of mobile objects, by comparing at least two of the command information, the internal sensor information, and the external sensor information (Dyer: [0024] and [0025] Note that identifying the passenger actual destination and changing the vehicle's destination is equivalent to detecting the control command was transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command. Also, note that the passenger's client computing device is equivalent to the communication device because the passenger's client computing device may be removed and placed in each vehicle the passenger enters.).
Sugano and Dyer are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of remote vehicle control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Dyer to detect that the control command transmitted to one of the mobile objects does not correspond to the control command in a case where a communication device is removed from a mobile object and erroneously mounted onto another mobile object because it provides the benefit of indicating the communication device is in the wrong mobile object, as explicitly explained in [0024] of Dyer. The passenger with the communication device in the wrong vehicle may be determined and a change in commands to the vehicle ensures the passenger will end up at the correct destination.
9. Regarding Claim 2, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Dyer teaches to detect that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command, by comparing at least two of a parameter value identified from the command information, a parameter value identified from the internal sensor information, and a parameter value identified from the external sensor information (Dyer: [0024]).
10. Regarding Claim 3, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Dyer teaches to detect that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command, by comparing at least two of identification information that identifies the mobile object and that is identified from the command information, identification information that identifies the mobile object and that is identified from the internal sensor information, and identification information that identifies the mobile object and that is identified from the external sensor information (Dyer: [0024]).
11. Regarding Claim 6, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Sugano teaches to compare three pieces of information that are the command information, the internal sensor information, and the external sensor information (Sugano: [0065], [0066], and [0100] Note that comparing the command information is equivalent to the target route of the vehicle.).
12. Regarding Claim 7, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Sugano teaches to when the control command is detected to have been transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command, stop the mobile object moving by transmitting a control command to brake the mobile object (Sugano: [0065] and [0100]).
13. Regarding Claim 8, Sugano teaches a remote control method performed by processing circuitry of a control device configured to remotely control a plurality of mobile objects, the remote control method comprising (Sugano: [0040]):
Generating a control command corresponding to each of the plurality of mobile objects (Sugano: [0037] and [0098]);
Transmitting, to each mobile object of the plurality of mobile objects, the control command corresponding to the mobile object (Sugano: [0113] and [0131]);
Acquiring command information, internal sensor information, and external sensor information (Sugano: [0112], [0113], and [0131]),
The command information being related to the control command (Sugano: [0113] and [0131]),
The internal sensor information being related to a state of movement of the mobile object detected by an internal sensor mounted in the mobile object (Sugano: [0116]),
The external sensor information being related to a state of movement of the mobile object detected by an external sensor located outside of the mobile object (Sugano: [0043] and [0043]).
And detecting that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command… by comparing at least two of the command information, the internal sensor information, and the external sensor information (Sugano: [0065] and [0100] Note that comparing internal and external information to determine a vehicle abnormality based on a predetermined threshold is equivalent to detecting the control command transmitted to one of the mobile objects does not correspond with the control command.).
Sugano fails to explicitly teach in a case that includes a case where a communication device removed from one of the plurality of mobile objects is erroneously mounted onto another one of the plurality of mobile objects.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dyer teaches detecting that the control command is transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command, in a case that includes a case where a communication device removed from one of the plurality of mobile objects is erroneously mounted onto another one of the plurality of mobile objects, by comparing at least two of the command information, the internal sensor information, and the external sensor information (Dyer: [0024] and [0025] Note that identifying the passenger actual destination and changing the vehicle's destination is equivalent to detecting the control command was transmitted to one of the mobile objects not corresponding to the control command. Also, note that the passenger's client computing device is equivalent to the communication device because the passenger's client computing device may be removed and placed in each vehicle the passenger enters.).
Sugano and Dyer are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of remote vehicle control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano to incorporate the teachings of Dyer to detect that the control command transmitted to one of the mobile objects does not correspond to the control command in a case where a communication device is removed from a mobile object and erroneously mounted onto another mobile object because it provides the benefit of indicating the communication device is in the wrong mobile object, as explicitly explained in [0024] of Dyer. The passenger with the communication device in the wrong vehicle may be determined and a change in commands to the vehicle ensures the passenger will end up at the correct destination.
14. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugano (US 20210139017 A1), in view of Dyer (US 20210374623 A1), and in further view of Lin (US 20190232972 A1).
15. Regarding Claim 4, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1.
Sugano and Dyer fail to explicitly teach to compare the command information and the external sensor information when a current situation matches a situation predetermined as a situation in which it is inappropriate to use the internal sensor information for the comparison.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches to compare the command information and the external sensor information when a current situation matches a situation predetermined as a situation in which it is inappropriate to use the internal sensor information for the comparison (Lin: [0005], [0033], and [0046]).
Sugano, Dyer, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Dyer to incorporate the teachings of Lin to compare the command information with external sensor information when a current situation matches a predetermined situation in which it is inappropriate to use internal sensor information because it provides the benefit of using the most accurate information to improve the performance and control of the vehicle. This provides the additional benefit of increased safety for the vehicle and passengers. These improvements are explicitly stated in [0026] and [0032] of Lin.
16. Regarding Claim 5, Sugano and Dyer remains as applied above in Claim 1.
Sugano and Dyer fail to explicitly teach to compare the command information and the internal sensor information when a current situation matches a situation predetermined as a situation in which it is inappropriate to use the external sensor information for the comparison.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches to compare the command information and the internal sensor information when a current situation matches a situation predetermined as a situation in which it is inappropriate to use the external sensor information for the comparison (Lin: [0005], [0022], and [0047]).
Sugano, Dyer, and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugano and Dyer to incorporate the teachings of Lin to compare the command information with internal sensor information when a current situation matches a predetermined situation in which it is inappropriate to use external sensor information because it provides the benefit of using the most accurate information to improve the performance and control of the vehicle. This provides the additional benefit of increased safety for the vehicle and passengers. These improvements are explicitly stated in [0026] and [0032] of Lin.
Response to Arguments
17. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Dyer (US 20210374623 A1) has been applied to teach the amended subject matter of detecting the control command transmitted to one of the mobile objects does not correspond to the control command in a case where a communication device removed from one mobile object is erroneously mounted on another mobile object in the rejection above as cited in at least paragraphs [0024] and [0025]. Dyer (US 20210374623 A1) teaches identifying the passenger’s actual destination and changing the vehicle's destination based on the passenger entering the wrong vehicle.
18. Sugano (US 20210139017 A1), in view of Dyer (US 20210374623 A1), and in further view of Lin (US 20190232972 A1) teaches all aspects of the invention. The rejection is modified according to the newly amended language but still maintained with the current prior art of record.
19. Claims 1-8 remain rejected under their respective grounds and rational as cited above, and as stated in the prior office action which is incorporated herein. Also, although not specifically argued, all remaining claims remain rejected under their respective grounds, rationales, and applicable prior art for these reasons cited above, and those mentioned in the prior office action which is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663