DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2, 13, 23 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 17, 22 are amended.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-22, 24-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, 14-17, 21-22, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chundrlik (US 20200406909), in view of Achour (US 20210055407), in view of Allan (US 20240351600).
Regarding Claim 1, Chundrlik teaches the following limitations:
A vehicular sensing system, the vehicular sensing system comprising: (Chundrlik - [0004] The present invention provides a driver assistance system or vision system or imaging system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more camera modules or cameras (preferably one or more CMOS cameras) to capture image data representative of images exterior of the vehicle, including a camera module configured for attachment at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vision system. The system uses a forward viewing camera and a forward sensing non-imaging sensor and determines if the non-imaging sensor is functioning properly.)
a camera disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular sensing system, the camera viewing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the camera is operable to capture image data; (Chundrlik - [0004])
wherein the camera comprises an imager and a lens, and (Chundrlik – [0009] The camera module includes a lens for focusing images at or onto an imaging array or imaging plane or imager of the camera.)
wherein the imager comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; (Chundrlik - [0004], [0029] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns. Preferably, the imaging array has at least 300,000 photosensor elements or pixels, more preferably at least 500,000 photosensor elements or pixels and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels.)
a radar sensor disposed at the equipped vehicle, the radar sensor sensing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the radar sensor is operable to capture radar data; (Chundrlik - [0011] The system also includes at least one other forward sensing sensor 16, such as a radar sensor or laser sensor or lidar sensor (such as a 3D lidar sensor capturing a three dimensional point cloud of sensing data) or ultrasonic sensor or the like. The other forward sensor captures sensing data that is processed by a data processor of the system to detect or determine the presence of objects ahead of the vehicle.)
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software; (Chundrlik - [claim 1] a camera disposed at an in-cabin side of a windshield of a vehicle equipped with said vehicular driving assist system, said camera viewing through the windshield at least forward of the equipped vehicle, said camera capturing image data; a radar sensor disposed at the equipped vehicle and sensing at least forward of the equipped vehicle, said radar sensor capturing sensor data; wherein captured image data and captured sensor data are provided to an electronic control unit (ECU); wherein said ECU comprises at least one data processor; wherein image data captured by said camera and sensor data captured by said radar sensor are processed at said ECU; wherein said ECU, responsive to processing at said ECU of image data captured by said camera and responsive to processing at said ECU of sensor data captured by said radar sensor, provides a driving assist function for the equipped vehicle; wherein said ECU detects presence of objects forward of the equipped vehicle via processing at said ECU of image data captured by said camera; wherein said ECU detects presence of objects forward of the equipped vehicle via processing at said ECU of sensor data captured by said radar sensor;)
wherein image data captured by the camera is transferred to the ECU, and (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein radar data captured by the radar sensor is transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor that is operable to (i) process image data captured by the camera and transferred to the ECU and (ii) process radar data captured by the radar sensor and transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein a field of view of the camera at least partially overlaps a field of sensing of the radar sensor; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
a display disposed within the vehicle and viewable by a driver of the vehicle; (Chundrlik - [0008] A vehicle vision system and/or driver assist system and/or object detection system and/or alert system operates to capture images exterior of the vehicle and may process the captured image data to display images and to detect objects at or near the vehicle and in the predicted path of the vehicle, such as to assist a driver of the vehicle in maneuvering the vehicle in a rearward direction. The vision system includes an image processor or image processing system that is operable to receive image data from one or more cameras and provide an output to a display device for displaying images representative of the captured image data. Optionally, the vision system may provide a top down or bird's eye or surround view display and may provide a displayed image that is representative of the subject vehicle, and optionally with the displayed image being customized to at least partially correspond to the actual subject vehicle.)
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to processing at the ECU of image data captured by the camera and radar data captured by the radar sensor, fuses the image data and the radar data into fused data; (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20] wherein captured image data and captured sensor data are fused at said ECU.)
wherein, via processing at the ECU of the fused data, the vehicular sensing system detects an object within the field of view of the camera and the field of sensing of the radar sensor and determines height of the detected object relative to the ground; and (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20] Chundrlik does not explicitly teach “determines height of the detected object relative to the ground”.)
wherein the display displays information pertaining to the determined height of the detected object relative to the ground. (Chundrlik – [0028] Responsive to such image processing, and when an object or other vehicle is detected, the system may generate an alert to the driver of the vehicle and/or may generate an overlay at the displayed image to highlight or enhance display of the detected object or vehicle, in order to enhance the driver's awareness of the detected object or vehicle or hazardous condition during a driving maneuver of the equipped vehicle.)
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Achour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the camera and the radar sensor are accommodated by a single camera module having a housing, and wherein the imager and the radar sensor are co-located within the housing; (Achour – [0032] The hybrid edge network 110 comprises a plurality of hybrid modules 102. Each hybrid module 102 may comprise one or more sensors, such as a radar sensor and/or a camera sensor. [0033] The sensors (e.g., radar sensors and/or camera sensors) of the hybrid modules 102 have specific functions and operate through a sensor fusion (e.g., refer to 202 of FIG. 2) that receives and interprets the sensor data to provide instructions to the driver and/or vehicle 120, and also to control the vehicle 120 and/or the sensors. [0053] the control 450 sent to the hybrid module 428 may steer and/or change a beamwidth of a beam (e.g., comprising RF or optical signals) radiated by an antenna of the radar module 422, or may steer and/or focus light by a lens of the camera module 424.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the hybrid radar and camera modules of Achour in order to further analyze data and forecast processes for a range of applications (Achour – [0028]).
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determines height of the detected object relative to the ground. (Allan – [0012] In other features, the detection module includes at least one of a radar sensor, a lidar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and a camera. [0037] detect an object in a path of a vehicle, determine a height of the detected object, determine a ground clearance of the vehicle based on received vehicle data, and then generate a signal to notify a driver of the detected object in response to the height of the detected object being greater than a threshold based on the ground clearance.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Regarding Claims 6, 21, Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Achour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the radar sensor comprises an antenna, and wherein the antenna is embedded within a housing of the camera module. (Achour – [0032] The hybrid edge network 110 comprises a plurality of hybrid modules 102. Each hybrid module 102 may comprise one or more sensors, such as a radar sensor and/or a camera sensor. [0053] the control 450 sent to the hybrid module 428 may steer and/or change a beamwidth of a beam (e.g., comprising RF or optical signals) radiated by an antenna of the radar module 422, or may steer and/or focus light by a lens of the camera module 424.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the hybrid radar and camera modules of Achour in make association predictions (Achour – [0058]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the fused data comprises a surround view of the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0008])
Regarding Claim 8, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the fused data comprises a bird's- eye-view of the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0008])
Regarding Claim 9, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the camera is disposed at one selected from the group consisting of (i) a front of the vehicle, (ii) a rear of the vehicle, (iii) a side of the vehicle and (iv) an exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of the vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0008], [0010] Optionally, the vision system may include a plurality of exterior facing imaging sensors or cameras, such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera, a forwardly facing camera at the front of the vehicle, and sidewardly/rearwardly facing cameras at respective sides of the vehicle, which capture image data representative of the scene exterior of the vehicle. [0012] These sensors may be mounted inside and/or outside of the vehicle.)
Regarding Claim 10, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the vehicular sensing system fuses the image data and the radar data at a head unit disposed within the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [claim 1])
Regarding Claim 11, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the vehicular sensing system determines, using the determined height, a collision threat with the equipped vehicle, and (Chundrlik – [0024] wherein, via image processing of captured image data by an image processor of the control, the control controls a plurality of driver assistance functions, including, for example, at least three selected from (i) automatic headlamp control, (ii) lane keeping assist, (iii) traffic sign recognition, (iv) forward collision warning, (v) automatic emergency braking, and (vi) pedestrian detection. For driver assistance functions such as forward collision warning, automatic emergency braking and pedestrian detection, the control preferably also receives and processes sensor data sensed by a non-imaging sensor (such as a radar sensor or a lidar sensor) of the equipped vehicle.)
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining the collision threat, controls at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) steering of the equipped vehicle and (ii) braking of the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0024])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determined height (Allan – [0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the vehicular sensing system determines, using the determined height, a collision threat with the equipped vehicle, and (Chundrlik – [0024])
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining the collision threat, generates a warning for the driver of the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0024])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determined height (Allan – [0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Regarding Claims 14, 24, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the imager has a principal viewing axis and the radar sensor has a principal sensing axis, and (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein the principal viewing axis and the principal sensing axis are parallel. (Chundrlik – [Fig. 1], [claim 1])
Regarding Claims 15, 25, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the fused data comprises three- dimensional object information. (Chundrlik – [0011] The system also includes at least one other forward sensing sensor 16, such as a radar sensor or laser sensor or lidar sensor (such as a 3D lidar sensor capturing a three dimensional point cloud of sensing data) or ultrasonic sensor or the like.)
Regarding Claim 16, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the display displays video images derived from image data captured by the camera, and (Chundrlik - [0008])
wherein the displayed video images include the detected object, and (Chundrlik - [0008])
wherein the displayed information pertaining to the determined height of the detected object relative to the ground comprises an indication of the determined height of the detected object displayed at the display with the video images. (Chundrlik - [0008])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determined height (Allan – [0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chundrlik teaches the following limitations:
A vehicular sensing system, the vehicular sensing system comprising: (Chundrlik - [0004])
a camera module disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular sensing system; wherein the camera module comprises a camera, the camera viewing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the camera is operable to capture image data; (Chundrlik - [0004])
wherein the camera comprises an imager and a lens, and (Chundrlik – [0009])
wherein the imager comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; (Chundrlik - [0004], [0029])
wherein the camera module comprises a radar sensor, the radar sensor sensing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the radar sensor is operable to capture radar data; (Chundrlik - [0011] Chundrlik does not explicitly teach “camera module comprises a radar sensor”.)
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein image data captured by the camera is transferred to the ECU, and (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein radar data captured by the radar sensor is transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor that is operable to (i) process image data captured by the camera and transferred to the ECU and (ii) process radar data captured by the radar sensor and transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein a field of view of the camera at least partially overlaps a field of sensing of the radar sensor; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
a display disposed within the vehicle and viewable by a driver of the vehicle; (Chundrlik - [0008])
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to processing at the ECU of image data captured by the camera and radar data captured by the radar sensor, fuses the image data and the radar data into fused data; (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20])
wherein, via processing at the ECU of the fused data, the vehicular sensing system detects an object within the field of view of the camera and the field of sensing of the radar sensor and determines height of the detected object relative to the ground; (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20])
wherein the display displays information pertaining to the determined height of the detected object relative to the ground; and (Chundrlik – [0028])
wherein the vehicular sensing system determines, using the determined height, a collision threat with the equipped vehicle, and (Chundrlik – [0024])
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining the collision threat, controls at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) steering of the equipped vehicle and (ii) braking of the equipped vehicle. (Chundrlik – [0024])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Achour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the camera and the radar sensor are accommodated by a single camera module having a housing, and wherein the imager and the radar sensor are co-located within the housing; (Achour – [0032], [0033], [0053])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the hybrid radar and camera modules of Achour in order to further analyze data and forecast processes for a range of applications (Achour – [0028]).
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
camera module comprises a radar sensor (Allan – [0012])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the vision system of Chundrlik with the detection module of Allan in order detect any object on the ground (Allan – [0042]).
determines height of the detected object relative to the ground (Allan – [0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Regarding Claim 22, Chundrlik teaches the following limitations:
A vehicular sensing system, the vehicular sensing system comprising: (Chundrlik - [0004])
a camera disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular sensing system, the camera viewing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the camera is operable to capture image data; (Chundrlik - [0004])
wherein the camera comprises an imager and a lens, and (Chundrlik – [0009])
wherein the imager comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; (Chundrlik - [0004], [0029])
a radar sensor disposed at the equipped vehicle, the radar sensor sensing exterior of the equipped vehicle; wherein the radar sensor is operable to capture radar data; (Chundrlik - [0011])
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein image data captured by the camera is transferred to the ECU, and (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein radar data captured by the radar sensor is transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor that is operable to (i) process image data captured by the camera and transferred to the ECU and (ii) process radar data captured by the radar sensor and transferred to the ECU; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
wherein a field of view of the camera at least partially overlaps a field of sensing of the radar sensor; (Chundrlik - [claim 1])
a display disposed within the vehicle and viewable by a driver of the vehicle; (Chundrlik - [0008])
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to processing at the ECU of image data captured by the camera and radar data captured by the radar sensor, fuses the image data and the radar data into fused data, and (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20])
wherein the vehicular sensing system fuses the image data and the radar data at a head unit disposed within the equipped vehicle; (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20])
wherein, via processing at the ECU of the fused data, the vehicular sensing system detects an object within the field of view of the camera and the field of sensing of the radar sensor and determines height of the detected object relative to the ground; and (Chundrlik – [claim 1], [claim 20])
wherein the vehicular sensing system determines, using the determined height, a collision threat with the equipped vehicle, and (Chundrlik – [0024], [0028])
wherein the vehicular sensing system, responsive to determining the collision threat, generates a warning for the driver of the equipped vehicle, and (Chundrlik – [0024])
wherein the warning comprises the display displaying information pertaining to the determined height of the detected object relative to the ground. (Chundrlik – [0024], [0028])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Achour, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the camera and the radar sensor are accommodated by a single camera module having a housing, and wherein the imager and the radar sensor are co-located within the housing; (Achour – [0032], [0033], [0053])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the hybrid radar and camera modules of Achour in order to further analyze data and forecast processes for a range of applications (Achour – [0028]).
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Allan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determines height of the detected object relative to the ground (Allan – [0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor data of Chundrlik with the vehicle/display data of Allan in order provide notifications to adjust vehicle parameters (Allan – [0039]).
Claims 3-5, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chundrlik (US 20200406909), in view of Achour (US 20210055407), in view of Allan (US 20240351600), as applied to claims 1, 17, 22 above, and further in view of Yu (US 20230038842).
Regarding Claims 3, 18, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the camera module outputs the image data via a first connector, and (Chundrlik – [0027] Optionally, the camera may comprise a “smart camera” that includes the imaging sensor array and associated circuitry and image processing circuitry and electrical connectors and the like as part of a camera module,)
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the camera outputs the radar data via a second connector. (Yu – [Fig. 2], [0058] Prediction 560 can be obtained for multiple pairs of radar data 501 and camera images 503. With reference to FIG. 2, the obtained predictions 560 can be processed by object identification module 220, which can select the prediction with the highest probability of association and provide the selected prediction to object tracking module 230 for tracking as described above in connection with FIG. 2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the combining of radar and image data of Yu in order to make association predictions (Yu – [0058]).
Regarding Claims 4, 19, Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the first connector and the second connector are different. (Yu – [Fig. 2], [0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the combining of radar and image data of Yu in order to make association predictions (Yu – [0058]).
Regarding Claims 5, 20, Chundrlik further teaches:
wherein the camera module outputs, via a connector, (Chundrlik – [0027])
Chundrlik does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the image data embedded with the radar data. (Yu – [Fig. 2], [0051] the input into the radar embedding NN 510 can be a combined image 502 that has the radar data 501 overlaid (superimposed) on the camera image 503,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuitry and connectors of Chundrlik with the combining of radar and image data of Yu in order to make association predictions (Yu – [0058]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-12, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Chundrlik and Allan does not teach “the camera and the radar sensor are accommodated by a single camera module having a housing, and the imager and the radar sensor are co-located within the housing”. These arguments are moot, these limitations are amended to include “accommodated by a single camera module” and are now mapped to the “hybrid camera and radar module” of Achour. Applicant argues that the combination of Chundrlik and Allan does not teach “wherein, via processing at the ECU of the fused data, the vehicular sensing system detects an object within the field of view of the camera and the field of sensing of the radar sensor and determines height of the detected object relative to the ground,”. The examiner disagrees, though Chundrlik makes detections with each sensor independently, this is the same manner in which the applicant acquires the camera and radar data (see instant specification [0016-0018]. Further, Chundrlik then teaches a determination and correction of a misalignment that may be considered a new detection using the fused data processed at the ECU. The combination of Allan is then cited to teach “determines height of the detected object relative to the ground”. Applicant argues “Allan determines height using raw signal data from an individual sensor”. The examiner disagrees, Allan teaches “determine a height of the detected object, determine a ground clearance of the vehicle based on received vehicle data” and the vehicle data includes “at least one of a radar sensor, a lidar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and a camera”. It would then make sense that this data can be refined using the fused data taught by Chundrlik.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 13, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Chundrlik, in view of Achour, in view of Allan, teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648